Archived—Gazette Notice DGTP-001-07

Industry Canada

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP -001-07 - Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada (2007)

Intent

This Notice announces the publication of a new Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada (Framework). The new Framework is a timely updating and modernization of the existing document that communicates the underlying principles which the Department and the Minister will rely upon in exercising their authority under the Radiocommunication Act.

Discussion

The new Framework has been streamlined, shortened, updated, and reoriented to reflect current practices and current government policy. The update takes into account comments received during an extensive public process over the past year. Its effect will be to consolidate and clearly communicate to all spectrum stakeholders evolutionary changes in the Department's approach to spectrum stewardship, which have taken place over the past several years.

The Framework provides the policy and spectrum management direction for wireless applications, services and uses, which range from national defence, security and public safety through to commercial, consumer, scientific and private radio.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of the new Spectrum Policy Framework for Canada are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at: www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of notices can be ordered by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

June 13, 2007



____________________________
Leonard St-Aubin
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGTP-001-07

Industrie Canada

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGTP-001-07 - Cadre de la politique du spectre pour le Canada (2007)

Intention

Par le présent avis, le Ministère annonce la publication d'un nouveau cadre de la politique du spectre pour le Canada (Cadre). Le nouveau Cadre est une mise à jour et une modernisation opportunes du document existant qui énonce les principes sous-jacents sur lesquels le Ministère et le Ministre s'appuieront pour exercer leur pouvoir en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Discussion

Le nouveau Cadre a été simplifié, raccourci, mis à jour et réorienté de manière à refléter les pratiques et la politique gouvernementale actuelles. La mise à jour tient compte des observations recueillies lors d'un vaste processus de consultation publique mené l'année dernière. Ce cadre aura pour effet de renforcer les changements évolutifs qui se sont produits au cours des dernières années dans l'approche du Ministère en ce qui concerne l'administration du spectre et de communiquer clairement ces changements à tous les intervenants du spectre.

Le Cadre contient l'orientation en matière de politique et de gestion du spectre pour les applications sans fil qui vont de la défense nationale à la sécurité publique en passant par les services et utilisations liés au commerce, au consommateur, à la science et à la radio privée.

Obtention d'exemplaires

Des exemplaires du nouveau Cadre de la politique du spectre pour le Canada sont disponibles en version électronique sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les versions officielles des avis de la Gazette du Canada sont affichées sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 613-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 13 juin 2007



____________________________
Leonard St-Aubin
Directeur général
Politique des télécommunications

Date de modification :