Archived—Gazette Notice No. DGRB-008-07

List of Available Licences - Updated Appendix 1 of Gazette Notice DGRB-008-07: Available Personal Communications Services (PCS) Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range
August 25, 2009


Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-008-07 - Available Personal Communications Services (PCS) Spectrum in the 2 GHz Frequency Range

Intent

The Department wishes to inform interested parties of the availability of Personal Communications Services (PCS) spectrum in various markets located in Canada.

PCS spectrum currently available for licensing is listed in Appendix 1 of this notice. This appendix will be updated regularly, and interested parties are encouraged to view the latest update on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Background

In December 1995, the Minister of Industry awarded PCS licences to 14 companies following a comparative licensing process: two national 30 MHz licences to two companies; a national 10 MHz licence to another company; and a national 10 MHz licence to 11 regional shareholders of one company for operation within their territories. A number of the available licences were not awarded at that time and some of the 10 MHz regional licences have been returned to the Department.

In January 2001, the Department held an auction for PCS blocks C1, C2, C3 and E. While 52 spectrum licences were awarded using this process, PCS spectrum in a number of service areas was still available at the conclusion of the auction.

In November 2003, and again in July 2005, the Department issued Canada Gazette notices to inform interested parties that it intended to license available PCS spectrum. While some spectrum was licensed via these processes, some spectrum is still available in a few areas of the country.

Process

The Department will use the first-come, first-served (FCFS) process to assign all remaining PCS spectrum. While not expected, should mutually exclusive applications be received, the Department will undertake the necessary process to resolve the issue, which could include providing all parties access, or a competitive licensing process. Licences are subject to the fees established in Canada Gazette notice DGRB-005-03, available at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf08105.html. Fees for cellular and PCS licences are based on the amount of spectrum assigned (i.e. number of MHz) and the total population of the service area. Further information on the licence fees for cellular and PCS licences can be found in CPC-2-1-10, Spectrum Licence Fee Calculations for Cellular and Incumbent Personal Communications Services (PCS) at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01291.html.

Where a licensee intends to operate as a radiocommunication carrier, the entity must meet the eligibility requirements described in subsection 10(2) of the Radiocommunication Regulations and, as such, must meet the related ownership and control requirements (refer to CPC-2-0-15 at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01763.html). Furthermore, licence conditions similar to those applicable to the licences awarded through the 2 GHz PCS auction will also apply to any licence issued using the FCFS process. These licence conditions are available at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf02092.html#licenceconditions.

Application details

Interested parties are asked to contact their local Industry Canada office in order to submit an application. For a full listing which includes district offices, see RIC-66 at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html.

Atlantic Spectrum Regional Office
4th Floor, Unit 103
1045 Main Street
Moncton, New Brunswick
E1C 1H1
spectrum.atlantic.region@ic.gc.ca

Quebec Regional Office
7th Floor
5 Place Ville-Marie
Montréal, Quebec
H3B 2G2
spectre.region.quebec@ic.gc.ca

Ontario Regional Office
4th Floor
151 Yonge Street
Toronto, Ontario
M5C 2W7
spectrum-ontario-region@ic.gc.ca

Prairie and Northern Region
4th Floor
400 St. Mary Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3C 4K5
spectrum.winnipeg.region@ic.gc.ca

Pacific Regional Office
Library Square, Room 2000
300 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, British Columbia
V6B 6E1
spectrum.pacific-pacifique.region@ic.gc.ca

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at: www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the notices can be ordered by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

August 16, 2007

_________________________
Michael D. Connolly
Director General
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch


Appendix 1

The current listing of all available PCS spectrum can be found on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

A description of each service area can be found under the Service Areas for Competitive Licensing, at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf01627.html.

Area Descriptive Name Population Frequency Spectrum Block MHz Annual Fee (Note 1)
Quebec Region
2-07 Northern Quebec 187,081 A PCS C1 10 $65,710
2-07 Northern Quebec 187,081 B PCS C2 10 $65,710
2-07 Northern Quebec 187,081 C PCS C3 10 $65,710
Prairie and Northern Region
2-11 Saskatchewan 975,717 B PCS C2 10 $342,707
2-14 Yukon, N.W.T., Nunavut 92,707 Note 2 PCS C1 5 $16,281
2-14 Yukon, N.W.T., Nunavut 92,707 B PCS C2 10 $32,562
2-14 Yukon, N.W.T., Nunavut 92,707 C PCS C3 10 $32,562

Notes:

  1. The minimum yearly fee is $1,000. If the licence is issued after April, it will be prorated for the month when it occurs.

  2. Only the 1897.5-1900/1977.5-1980 MHz portion of block C1 is available in market area 2-14.

Frequency A: Block C1     1895-1900/1975-1980 MHz

Frequency B: Block C2     1900-1905/1980-1985 MHz

Frequency C: Block C3     1905-1910/1985-1990 MHz

Frequency D: Block E      1885-1890/1965-1970 MHz

Frequency F: Block B3     1880-1985/1960-1965 MHz

Frequency G: Block D      1865-1870/1945-1950 MHz

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGRB-008-07

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Liste de licences disponibles – mise à jour de l’Annexe 1 de l'Avis de la Gazette DGRB-008-07 : Spectre des services de communications personnelles (SCP) disponible dans la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz
Le 25 août 2009


Ministère de l'industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-008-07 - Spectre des services de communications personnelles (SCP) disponible dans la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz

Intention

Le Ministère souhaite informer les intéressés qu'il y a du spectre des services de communications personnelles (SCP) en disponibilité sur divers marchés situés au Canada.

Le spectre des SCP actuellement libre et pouvant faire l'objet d'une licence est indiqué dans l'Annexe 1 du présent avis. Cette Annexe sera mise à jour régulièrement, et on encourage les intéressés à en consulter la version la plus récente sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications, à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Contexte

En décembre 1995, au terme d'un processus comparatif de délivrance de licences, le ministre de l'Industrie a octroyé des licences de SCP à 14 entreprises, soit deux licences nationales de 30 MHz à deux entreprises, une licence nationale de 10 MHz à une autre entreprise et une licence nationale de 10 MHz à 11 actionnaires régionaux d'une entreprise, aux fins d'exploitation sur leur territoire. Toutefois, un certain nombre des licences disponibles n'ont pas été octroyées alors, et des licences régionales de 10 MHz ont été retournées au Ministère.

En janvier 2001, le Ministère a tenu des enchères en vue d'attribuer les blocs de SCP C1, C2, C3 et E. Au terme des enchères, il a délivré 52 licences de spectre, mais du spectre des SCP était encore disponible dans un certain nombre de zones de service.

En novembre 2003, et de nouveau en juillet 2005, le Ministère a publié des avis dans la Gazette du Canada en vue d'informer les intéressés qu'il entendait délivrer des licences pour le spectre disponible des SCP. Il a ainsi délivré des licences de spectre pour certaines fréquences, mais du spectre des SCP reste disponible dans quelques régions au pays.

Processus

Le Ministère appliquera le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi pour assigner toutes les fréquences restantes des SCP. Bien qu'il ne s'attende pas à une telle situation, s'il reçoit des demandes mutuellement exclusives, le Ministère entamera un processus pour résoudre la question, ce qui pourrait comporter l'octroi d'un accès à toutes les parties ou la mise en œuvre d'un processus concurrentiel de délivrance de licences. Les licences sont assujetties aux droits établis dans l'avis de la Gazette DGRB-005-03, disponible à http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf08105.html. Les droits applicables aux titulaires de licence de téléphonie cellulaire et de SCP sont basés sur la quantité de spectre attribué (c.-à-d. le nombre de MHz) et sur la population totale de la zone de service. Pour obtenir davantage d'information au sujet des droits de licence pour la téléphonie cellulaire et les SCP, il suffit de consulter la CPC-2-1-10, Calcul des droits de licence de spectre applicables aux systèmes cellulaires et aux services de communications personnelles (SCP) en place, à http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01291.html.

Pour exploiter une entreprise de radiocommunication, un titulaire de licence doit satisfaire aux exigences d'admissibilité décrites au paragraphe 10(2) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et respecter à ce titre les exigences connexes de propriété et de contrôle (voir la CPC-2-0-15, à http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01763.html). De plus, des conditions de licence similaires à celles qui s'appliquent aux licences délivrées dans le cadre des enchères des SCP à 2 GHz s'appliqueront aussi à toute licence délivrée dans le cadre du processus du PAPS. Ces conditions de licence sont disponibles à http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf02092.html#Conditions.

Détails relatifs à la présentation des demandes

Les intéressés sont priés de communiquer avec leur bureau local d'Industrie Canada pour présenter une demande. La CIR-66 en dresse une liste complète, incluant les bureaux de districts. On peut consulter ce document sur http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01742.html.

Bureau régional du spectre - Atlantique
1045 Main Street
4e étage, Unité 103
Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E1C 1H1
spectrum.atlantic.region@ic.gc.ca

Bureau régional du Québec
5, Place Ville-Marie
7e étage
Montréal (Québec)
H3B 2G2
spectre.region.quebec@ic.gc.ca

Bureau régional de l'Ontario
151, rue Yonge
4e étage
Toronto (Ontario)
M5C 2W7
spectrum-ontario-region@ic.gc.ca

Région des Prairies et du Nord
400, avenue St. Mary
4e étage
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
R3C 4K5
spectrum.winnipeg.region@ic.gc.ca

Bureau régional du Pacifique
Library Square, Bureau 2000
300, rue West Georgia
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
V6B 6E1
spectrum.pacific-pacifique.region@ic.gc.ca

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette du Canada ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les versions officielles des avis de la Gazette du Canada sont affichées sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html, ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des éditions du gouvernement du Canada au
613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 16 août 2007

Le directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion



_________________________
Michael D. Connolly


Annexe 1

La liste la plus récente des fréquences disponibles des SCP se trouve sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications.

Une description de chaque zone de service se trouve sous Zones de service visant l'autorisation concurrentielle, à http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf01627.html.

Zone Nom descriptif Population Fréquence Bloc de spectre MHz Droits annuels (Note 1)
Région du Québec
2-07 Nord du Québec 187 081 A SCP C1 10 65 710 $
2-07 Nord du Québec 187 081 B SCP C2 10 65 710 $
2-07 Nord du Québec 187 081 C SCP C3 10 65 710 $
Région des Prairies et du Nord
2-11 Saskatchewan 975 717 B SCP C2 10 342 707 $
2-14 Yukon, T. N.-O., Nunavut 92 707 Note 2 SCP C1 5 16 281 $
2-14 Yukon, T. N.-O., Nunavut 92 707 B SCP C2 10 32 562 $
2-14 Yukon, T. N.-O., Nunavut 92 707 C SCP C3 10 32 562 $

Notes :

  1. Les droits minimaux annuels s'élèvent à 1 000 $. Si la licence est délivrée après avril, le montant des droits sera établi au prorata, selon le mois délivrance.

  2. Seule la partie 1 897,5-1 900/1 977,5-1 980 MHz du bloc C1 est disponible dans la zone de marché 2-14.

Fréquence A : Bloc C1   1 895-1 900/1 975-1 980 MHz

Fréquence B : Bloc C2   1 900-1 905/1 980-1 985 MHz

Fréquence C : Bloc C3   1 905-1 910/1 985-1 990 MHz

Fréquence D : Bloc E    1 885-1 890/1 965-1 970 MHz

Fréquence F : Bloc B3   1 880-1 985/1 960-1 965 MHz

Fréquence G : Bloc D    1 865-1 870/1 945-1 950 MHz