Letter to Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS)

Mr. David Durward
Chief Commander
Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons
26 Golden Gate Court
Scarborough, ON
M1P 3A5

Dear C/C Durward:

On behalf of the Honourable John Manley, Minister of Industry, I wish to thank you for the offer by Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS) to manage the radio operator certification program, including the issuing or amending of Restricted Operator Certificates (Maritime). Your proposal is consistent with the department's objective of, where practicable, partnering with private organizations to improve services to Canadians.

It is my pleasure to inform you that the Honourable John Manley has delegated CPS the authority to issue or amend Restricted Operator Certificates (Maritime). This delegation shall have effect on September 1, 2000 conditional upon Industry Canada receiving written confirmation from CPS of their acceptance of the terms of the letter entitled, Operating Conditions Concerning the Delegation by the Minister of Industry to Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons of the Power to Issue or Amend Restricted Operator Certificates with Maritime Qualification and shall continue until revoked.

Please find attached the above noted letter that I have signed on behalf of Industry Canada as well as a copy of the delegation order.

I wish you every success in managing the Accredited Examiner Program and issuing Restricted Operator Certificates (Maritime) on behalf of the Minister of Industry.

Yours truly,

Jan Skora
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

top of page

Operating Conditions Concerning the Delegation by the Minister of Industry to Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons of the Power to Issue or Amend Restricted Operator Certificates with Maritime Qualification

TO: Chief Commander Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons

THE ACCOMPANYING DELEGATION is granted on the terms and subject to the conditions hereinafter set out:

Article 1 - Definitions

Section 1.01 - Definitions. For the purposes of this Letter, unless the context otherwise requires, the following terms shall have the respective meanings set out below and grammatical variations of such terms shall have the corresponding meanings:

"Minister" - means the Minister of Industry.

"Restricted Operator Certificate" - means a certificate of qualification as defined in the Radiocommunication Regulations Schedule II Item 3.

"Voluntarily Fitted" - means a vessel which is not required by any legislation, regulation or convention to be equipped with a ship station using radio apparatus to be operated in the Maritime Mobile Service.

Article 2 - Interpretation

Section 2.01 - Day of Notice. If the day on which any act is required to be done or made under this Letter is a day which is not a business day, then such act shall be duly performed or made if done on the next following business day.

Section 2.02 - Statutes Regulations and Rules. Any reference in this Letter to all or any part of any statute, regulation or rule shall, unless otherwise stated, be a reference to that statute, regulation or rule or the relevant part thereof, as amended, substituted, replaced or re-enacted from time to time.

Section 2.03 - Governing Law. This Letter shall be construed, interpreted and enforced in accordance with, and the respective rights and obligations of the parties shall be governed by, the laws of the respective provinces/territories and Canada as applicable. Nothing in this Letter is intended to or shall be construed as limiting, waiving or derogating from any Federal Crown prerogative.

Section 2.04 - Rights or Remedies of Other. Nothing expressed or implied in this Letter is intended to or shall be construed to confer on or to give any person, other than the parties hereto and their respective successors and permitted assigns, any rights or remedies under or by reason of this Letter.

Section 2.05 - No Derogation or Abrogation. Nothing in this Letter shall be construed to abrogate or derogate from any of the duties, rights or responsibilities of the Minister of Industry under law.

Article 3 - Letter on the Management of the Radio Operator Certification Program

Section 3.01 - Radio Operator Certification Program. Subject to the terms and conditions of this Letter, CPS shall manage the radio operator certification program, and issue or amend Restricted Operator Certificates (ROC), for operators of ship radio stations voluntarily fitted, as defined in Section 1.01 of this Letter.

Section 3.02 - Duties of CPS in Radio Operator Certification. In carrying out its delegated function pursuant to the Delegation, CPS shall:

  1. produce, maintain and adhere, to the Minister's satisfaction, to a plan to administer and deliver the programs for the training, examination and designation of CPS examiners, the examination and certification of applicants and the issuance of Restricted Operator Certificates to applicants;
  2. ensure, to the Minister's satisfaction, that CPS personnel are available and competent to perform the duties described in (a);
  3. receive, and provide impartial treatment to, all requests for radio operator examination and/or certification originated by non-CPS entities or the general public;
  4. serve as the point of contact for enquiries by the general public on this program;
  5. provide public enquiry services in both official languages during business hours;
  6. establish procedures to respond to, record and resolve complaints by the public;
  7. maintain information on the Certification program on the CPS Internet site;
  8. maintain and safeguard information obtained in administering this program in CPS databases in compliance with the Privacy Act and the Access to Information Act;
  9. maintain a current course study guide and data bank of examination questions;
  10. maintain a radio operator certification database.

Section 3.03 - Default, Recovery and Remedies

Section 3.03.1 - Notice of Default. Where there is an event of default or where, in the Minister's opinion, there is likely to be a default under this Letter, the Minister may give CPS 90 days notice in writing to cure the default and to notify the Minister in writing that the default has been cured, failing which the Minister may terminate this Letter.

Section 3.04 - Duties of the Minister. The Minister shall:

  1. continue to respond to public inquiries not related to the functions delegated to CPS;
  2. represent Canada internationally and provide national policy regarding radio operator certification and advise CPS of any related regulatory changes;
  3. at the commencement date of this Letter, provide to CPS a copy of the existing radio operator certification database;
  4. provide copies of the existing examination syllabus, examination database, and any related documentation; and,
  5. provide information in the Industry Canada Internet site that CPS is now issuing Restricted Operator Certificates for operators of ship radio stations voluntarily fitted and appropriate cross links to the CPS Internet site.

Section 3.05 - Audit.

  1. The Minister may request that CPS, which shall act promptly, produce at no cost to the Minister, any information, records or databases determined by the Minister, acting reasonably, to be necessary to enable the Minister to determine if CPS is performing its duties under this Letter, or to comply with requests under the Access to Information Act.
  2. For the duration of the Delegation, CPS shall, at its own expense, ensure access by the Minister and designated departmental staff to its premises for audit and evaluation purposes, at all reasonable times upon 30 days notice by the Minister.

Section 3.06 - Service Standard. CPS shall issue the Restricted Operator Certificate within 60 working days of a candidate's successful examination.

Article 4 - Term

The Minister may revoke the delegation if CPS is in material breach of any of the terms of this Letter upon 90 days notice. CPS may end their delegation upon 90 days notice if the Minister or Industry Canada is in material breach of any of the terms of this Letter. In so doing the Delegation shall be terminated in such a manner so as not to disrupt the radio operator certification program and CPS shall at its expense provide the Minister with all of the records and databases associated with the program under this Letter.

Article 5 - Indemnity

Section 5.01 – Indemnity. CPS shall indemnify and save harmless Her Majesty and Her servants, agents, officials and employees from any and all claims, suits, liabilities, damages, losses, judgments, costs and expenses (hereinafter called "claims") sustained or incurred by Her Majesty as a result of any act or failure to act by CPS under the terms of this Letter except to the extent that CPS's act or failure to act is caused by an act or failure to act on the part of Her Majesty or the Minister provided such claims are:

  1. attributable to physical or mental injury, sickness, disease, or death or to injury to or destruction of tangible property, and
  2. caused by negligent acts or omissions by CPS or anyone for whose acts CPS may be liable.

CPS will have in place and maintain public liability insurance which will provide funding for the risks outlined above. CPS will also supply proof of up-to-date insurance upon request by the Minister.

Article 6 - General Provisions

Section 6.01 – Notice. All notices or other communications necessary for the purposes of this Letter (each a "Notice") shall be in writing and shall be delivered personally or by courier, or shall be sent by registered mail or by prepaid post or sent by facsimile, addressed,

  1. in the case of the Minister, to:

    Director General
    Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
    300 Slater Street
    Ottawa, Ontario
    KlA 0C8
    Facsimile: 613-993-4433

    or to such other address or facsimile number or addressed to such other person as the
    Minister may, from time to time, designate by notice to CPS; and

  2. in the case of CPS, to:

    Chief Commander
    Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons
    26 Golden Gate Court
    Scarborough, Ontario
    M1P 3A5
    Facsimile: 416-293-2445

    or to such other address or facsimile number or addressed to such other person as CPS may, from time to time, designate by notice to the Minister.

Any notice or communication will be considered to have been received:

  1. in the case of facsimile, on the day transmitted, and
  2. in all other cases, on the date of the courier delivery or postal date.

If the postal service is interrupted, or threatened to be interrupted, or is substantially delayed, any notice shall be delivered personally or by facsimile.

Article 7 – Commencement Date

Section 7.01 – Commencement Date. This agreement will come into force as of September 1, 2000 conditional upon Industry Canada receiving written confirmation from CPS of their acceptance of the terms described herein.

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN
IN RIGHT OF CANADA

space to insert signature

Jan Skora
Director General, Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Delegation accepted this space to insert day day of space to insert month , 2000
by Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons

By:

space to insert signature

David Durward
Chief Commander
Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons


Letter to Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS)
(PDF, 270 KB, 8 pages)

PDF Readers

Date modified:

Lettre aux Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance (ECP)

Monsieur David Durward
Commandant en chef
Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance
26 Golden Gate Court
Scarborough (Ontario)
M1P 3A5

Monsieur,

Au nom de l'honorable John Manley, ministre de l'Industrie, je tiens à vous remercier de l'offre faite par Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance (ECP), visant à gérer le Programme de délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio, y compris la délivrance ou la modification de certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (compétence maritime). Votre proposition correspond à l'objectif du Ministère qui consiste à créer, lorsqu'il est possible, des partenariats avec des organismes privés afin d'améliorer les services offerts aux Canadiens.

Je suis heureux de vous informer que l'honorable John Manley a délégué à ECP le pouvoir de délivrer ou de modifier des certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (compétence maritime). Cette délégation prendra effet au 1er septembre 2000, à condition qu'Industrie Canada reçoive une confirmation écrite de la part d'ECP, précisant que ce dernier accepte les modalités énoncées dans la lettre intitulée Conditions d'utilisation concernant la délégation par le ministre de l'Industrie aux Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance du pouvoir de délivrer ou de modifier des certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (compétence maritime), et elle continuera jusqu'à ce qu'elle soit annulée.

Vous trouverez ci–joint la lettre mentionnée ci–dessus que j'ai signée au nom d'Industrie Canada, ainsi qu'une copie de l'ordonnance de délégation de pouvoirs.

Je vous souhaite tout le succès pour la gestion du programme des examinateurs accrédités et la délivrance des certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (compétence maritime) au nom du ministre de l'Industrie.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, mes meilleures salutations.

Le directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion

Jan Skora

haut de la page

Conditions d'utilisation concernant la délégation par le ministre de l'Industrie aux Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance du pouvoir de délivrer ou de modifier des certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (compétence maritime)

À : Commandant en chef
Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance

LA DÉLÉGATION CI–JOINTE est accordée aux conditions ci–aprs énoncées :

Article premier – Définitions

Paragraphe 1.01 – Définitions. À moins d'indication contraire du contexte, les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent à la présente lettre, les changements grammaticaux nécessaires étant tenus pour avoir été entièrement apportés.

« certificat restreint d'opérateur radio » – Certificat de compétence selon la définition du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, annexe II, article 3.

« installation volontaire » – S'entend d'un bateau qui n'a pas, en vertu de quelque loi, règlement ou convention, à être doté d'une station radio de navire pour fonctionner au sein du service mobile maritime.

« ministre » – Le ministre de l'Industrie.

Article 2 – Interprétation

Paragraphe 2.01 – Jour ouvrable. Si le jour où un acte doit être accompli conformément à la présente lettre n'est pas un jour ouvrable, cet acte est valablement fait s'il est accompli ou effectué le jour ouvrable suivant.

Paragraphe 2.02 – Lois, règlements et règles. Dans la présente lettre, toute référence à une loi, à un règlement ou à une règle ou à une partie de ceux–ci constitue, à moins de stipulation contraire, un renvoi à cette loi, à ce règlement ou à cette règle ou à la partie pertinente de ceux–ci, tels que modifiés, remplacés ou remis en vigueur de temps à autre.

Paragraphe 2.03 – Lois applicables. La présente lettre et les droits et obligations des parties doivent être interprétés conformément aux lois applicables de la province ou du territoire compétent et aux lois fédérales. Aucune stipulation dans la présente lettre n'emporte de restriction, de renonciation ou de dérogation à la prérogative de la Couronne fédérale.

Paragraphe 2.04 – Droits ou recours des tiers. Aucune disposition expresse ou implicite de la présente lettre ne vise à conférer à une autre personne que les parties, leurs successeurs et ayants droit autorisés, les droits et les recours prévus par la présente lettre, et ne doit être interprétée de cette façon.

Paragraphe 2.05 – Absence de dérogation ou de renonciation. Aucune disposition de la présente lettre ne doit être interprétée de façon à déroger ou à renoncer aux attributions conférées par la loi au ministre de l'Industrie.

Article 3 – Lettre relative à la gestion du programme de délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio

Paragraphe 3.01 – Programme de délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio. Sous réserve des modalités de la présente lettre, ECP gère et administre le Programme de délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio. Il délivre et modifie les certificats restreints d'opérateur radio (CRO) en ce qui concerne les opérateurs de stations radio de navire à installation volontaire, au sens du paragraphe 1.01 de la présente lettre.

Paragraphe 3.02 – Fonctions d'ECP dans le cadre de la délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio. Dans le cadre de l'exécution des fonctions qui lui sont déléguées, il incombe à ECP de :

  1. produire et de maintenir, à la satisfaction du ministre, un plan pour la gestion et la prestation des programmes de formation et de désignation des examinateurs, l'administration des examens et la délivrance des certificats aux candidats;
  2. veiller, à la satisfaction du ministre, à ce que le personnel compétent d'ECP soit disponible aux fins de l'exécution des fonctions visées à l'alinéa a) ci–dessus;
  3. traiter de façon impartiale toutes les demandes provenant d'entités autres qu'ECP ou du grand public dans le cadre de l'administration des examens et de la délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio;
  4. agir comme point de contact pour les demandes de renseignements du grand public en ce qui concerne ledit programme;
  5. répondre, durant les heures ouvrables, aux demandes de renseignements venant du public dans les deux langues officielles;
  6. établir une procédure pour consigner les plaintes venant du public, pour y donner suite et pour les régler;
  7. maintenir les renseignements à jour sur le site Internet d'ECP en ce qui concerne le programme de délivrance des certificats;
  8. maintenir et protéger les renseignements personnels obtenus dans le cadre de l'application du présent programme, dans les banques de données d'ECP, en conformité avec la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur l'accès à l'information;
  9. conserver un plan de cours à jour et maintenir une banque de données dans laquelle sont versées les questions d'examen;
  10. conserver une banque de données relatives à la délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio.

Paragraphe 3.03 – Défaut, recours et recouvrement des coûts

Paragraphe 3.03.1 – Avis de défaut. Advenant un cas de défaut ou si, de l'avis du ministre, il est probable qu'il y ait un défaut en application de la présente lettre, le ministre peut donner un préavis écrit de 90 jours à ECP lui enjoignant de remédier au défaut et d'aviser, par écrit, le ministre que le défaut a été corrigé, sinon le ministre peut résilier la présente lettre.

Paragraphe 3.04 – Fonctions du ministre. Les tâches suivantes incombent au ministre :

  1. continuer de répondre aux demandes de renseignements du public qui ne concernent pas les fonctions déléguées à ECP;
  2. représenter le Canada sur le plan international et établir la politique nationale en matière de délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio et informer ECP de toute modification réglementaire connexe;
  3. fournir à ECP, dès l'entrée en vigueur de la présente lettre, une copie de la banque de données existantes relatives à la délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio;
  4. fournir des copies du plan de cours et de la banque de données relatives aux examens, ainsi que toute documentation connexe.
  5. indiquer, sur le site Internet d'Industrie Canada, qu'ECP délivre désormais les certificats restreints d'opérateur radio aux opérateurs de stations radio de navires à installation volontaire et créer les liens appropriés vers le site Internet d'ECP.

Paragraphe 3.05 – Vérification.

  1. Le ministre peut demander à ECP, qui doit répondre promptement, de remettre sans frais au ministre tout renseignement, document ou banque de données déterminé par le ministre, agissant raisonnablement, afin que celui–ci puisse vérifier si ECP exécute ses fonctions visées par la présente lettre et se conformer à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
  2. En tout temps raisonnable et sur préavis de 30 jours du ministre, pendant la durée de la présente entente, ECP, à ses frais, veille à fournir l'accès à ses locaux au ministre et au personnel désigné du Ministère à des fins de vérification et d'évaluation.

Paragraphe 3.06 – Norme de service.

ECP délivre les certificats restreints d'opérateur radio dans les 60 jours ouvrables suivant l'examen.

Article 4 – Durée

Le ministre peut révoquer la délégation sur préavis de 90 jours, si ECP fait défaut de façon importante à l'une ou l'autre des modalités de la présente lettre. ECP peut mettre fin à la délégation sur préavis de 90 jours, si le ministre ou Industrie Canada fait défaut de façon importante à l'une ou l'autre des modalités de la présente lettre. L'annulation ou la résiliation de la délégation ne doit pas nuire au programme de délivrance des certificats d'opérateur radio, et ECP doit, à ses frais, remettre au ministre tous les dossiers et les banques de données liés au programme visé par la présente lettre.

Article 5 – Indemnisation

Paragraphe 5.01 – Indemnisation. ECP exonère et indemnise Sa Majesté, ses préposés, mandataires, fonctionnaires et employés à l'égard de tout dommage, réclamation, perte, coût, dépenses, action et jugement (ci–après désignés « demandes ») attribuables à un acte ou à une omission d'agir de la part d'ECP en application de la présente lettre, sauf dans la mesure où l'acte ou l'omission d'agir de la part d'ECP est causé par un acte ou une omission d'agir de la part de Sa Majesté ou du ministre, à la condition que lesdites demandes soient :

  1. afférentes à un dommage corporel ou d'ordre mental, à la maladie ou au décès, à un dommage matériel ou à la destruction d'un bien matériel;
  2. causées par la négligence ou des omissions de la part d'ECP ou de toute personne dont ECP est responsable.

ECP souscrit et maintient en vigueur une assurance de responsabilité civile couvrant les risques susmentionnés. À la demande du ministre, ECP fournit la preuve qu'une telle police d'assurance est en vigueur.

Article 6 – Dispositions générales

Paragraphe 6.01 – Avis. Tout avis ou autre communication devant être donné en application de la présente lettre (réputé être un « avis ») doit être donné par écrit et livré au destinataire en personne ou par messageries, par courrier recommandé, par courrier affranchi ou par télécopieur, à l'adresse suivante :

  1. s'il est destiné au ministre :

    Directeur général
    Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
    300, rue Slater
    Ottawa (Ontario)
    K1A 0C8

    Télécopieur : 613–993–4433

    ou à toute autre adresse ou numéro de télécopieur que le ministre peut indiquer par écrit à ECP;

  2. s'il est destiné à ECP :

    Commandant en chef
    Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance
    26, Golden Gate Court
    Scarborough (Ontario)
    M1P 3A5

    Télécopieur : 416–293–2445

    ou à toute autre adresse ou numéro de télécopieur que ECP peut indiquer par écrit au ministre.

Tout avis est réputé avoir été reçu :

  1. en ce qui concerne celui qui est transmis par télécopieur, le jour où il est transmis;
  2. dans tous les autres cas, le jour où il est livré ou le jour du timbre dateur apposé.

En cas d'interruption, de menace d'interruption ou de retard substantiel du service postal, les avis seront livrés au destinataire en personne ou transmis par télécopieur.

Article 7 – Entre en vigueur

Paragraphe 7.01 – Date d'entrée en vigueur. La présente entente entre en vigueur le 1er septembre 2000, lorsque Industrie Canada aura reçu d'ECP la confirmation écrite de son acceptation des conditions des présentes.

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE
DU CHEF DU CANADA

Champ de saisie de la signature Jan Skora
Directeur général,
Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion

Délégation acceptée le Champ de saisie du jour de la semaine jour de Champ de saisie du mois 2000
par les Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance

Par : Champ de saisie de la signature
David Durward
Commandant en chef
Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance


Lettre aux Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance (ECP)
(PDF, 548 Ko, 8 pages)

Lecteurs PDF

Date de modification :