Archived—Gazette Notice DGRB-004-07

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-004-07 - Release of Issue 2 of CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services

The purpose of this notice is to announce the release of amendments to CPC-2-1-23. These revisions describe the procedures to be used in order that certain licensees may enter into subordinate licensing arrangements in which another party can operate within all, or a portion of their frequency and/or geographic area. All such arrangements are subject to Ministerial approval.

Subordinate licensing allows licensees, who have spectrum licences with transferability and divisibility privileges, to apply (together with a third party) for a third party to be permitted access to their spectrum via a subordinate licence issued by Industry Canada. Such arrangements will allow for a more efficient use of spectrum without licensees having to transfer their spectrum licence(s).

Subordinate licensing supports the Department's policy objective to foster increased reliance on market forces for the provision of telecommunications services. It will facilitate the development of commercial arrangements between operators, and increase the use of the spectrum for the benefit of Canadians. It will also provide a flexible regime that allows spectrum to be effectively utilized as the situation warrants, and respond to the wireless industry's demand to enter into arrangements which allow another party to operate within a portion of their frequency or geographic area.

Further details on how to apply for a subordinate licence are included in CPC-2-1-23 which has been updated as of September 28, 2007. No substantive changes to CPC-2-1-23 have been made other than the addition of text in Section 5.6.1 and Appendix D with regard to subordinate licensing.

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at: www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the notices can be ordered by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

September 20, 2007


_________________________
Michael D. Connolly
Acting Director General
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGRB-004-07

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB -004-07 - Publication de la 2e édition de la CPC-2-1-23, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre

La présente annonce des modifications à la CPC-2-1-23. Ces modifications décrivent les procédures à suivre pour que certains titulaires de licences de spectre puissent contracter des ententes touchant la délivrance de licences subordonnées. Ces ententes autorisent l'exploitation d'une portion ou la totalité des fréquences ou zones géographiques du titulaire par une autre partie et font toutes l'objet d'une approbation ministérielle.

Les licences subordonnées permettent aux titulaires de licences de spectre avec privilèges de transférabilité et de divisibilité de présenter une demande (de concert avec un tiers) pour que le tiers soit autorisé à accéder à leurs fréquences de spectre au moyen d'une licence subordonnée délivrée par Industrie Canada. Des ententes de ce genre favoriseront une utilisation plus efficace du spectre sans que les titulaires aient à transférer leurs licences de spectre.

La délivrance de licences subordonnées corrobore avec l'objectif stratégique du Ministère, visant à accroître la confiance dans les forces du marché en ce qui concerne la prestation des services de télécommunications. Cette formule facilitera la conclusion d'ententes commerciales entre les exploitants et augmentera l'utilisation du spectre, dans l'intérêt des Canadiens. En outre, elle offrira un régime souple (adaptable à chaque cas), permettant une utilisation efficace du spectre et donnera suite à la demande de l'industrie du sans-fil qui voulait conclure des ententes autorisant l'autre partie à exploiter une portion des fréquences ou de la zone géographique des titulaires de licences.

On trouvera plus de détails sur processus de demande de licences subordonnées dans la CPC-2-1-23, qui a été mise à jour le 28 septembre 2007. Sauf pour ce qui est de la section 5.6.1 et de l'ajout de l'Annexe D, qui contiennent du texte se rapportant aux licences subordonnées, la CPC-2-1-23 n'a pas été modifiée de façon importante.

Pour obtenir des copies

On peut obtenir des copies du présent avis et des documents mentionnés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications, à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les versions officielles des avis de la Gazette du Canada peuvent être consultées sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html. Il est possible de commander des copies imprimées des avis en appelant le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada, au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 20 septembre 2007

Le directeur général intérimaire
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion



_________________________
Michael D. Connolly

Date de modification :