Archived—Gazette Notice DGRB-010-07

Department of Industry

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGRB-010-07 — Consultation on Proposed Conditions of Licence to Mandate Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements

Intent

In the policy document entitled Policy Framework for the Auction for Spectrum Licences for Advanced Wireless Services and other Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range, published on November 28, 2007, the Minister announced his decision to mandate roaming among cellular, PCS (Personal Communications Services), and AWS licensees, to mandate antenna tower and site sharing, and to prohibit exclusive site arrangements for all licensees.

Since these policy measures require amendments to existing conditions of licence or other authorizations, this consultation is being undertaken to obtain input regarding the necessary conditions to implement the policies of mandatory roaming and mandatory antenna tower and site sharing, including the prohibition of exclusive site arrangements. Consequential amendments to Client Procedures Circular 2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems (CPC-2-0-03) may also be effected pursuant to this consultation exercise.

It should be noted that these conditions of licence would not supplant nor obviate any existing or pending rulings, decisions, or tariffs approved by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) or any existing agreements between licensees insofar as they are consistent with this policy.

Background

Under section 5(1)(b) of the Radiocommunication Act, the Minister may, taking into account all matters that the Minister considers relevant for ensuring the orderly establishment or modification of radio stations and the orderly development and efficient operation of radiocommunication in Canada, amend the terms and conditions of any licence, certificate or authorization.

The requirement for licensees to share supporting structures and sites was a recommendation of the National Antenna Tower Policy Review and the Telecommunications Policy Review Panel. Consistent with the recommendations in their reports, the updated version of Industry Canada's CPC-2-0-03, which comes into force on January 1, 2008, requires proponents of new antenna towers to search for existing sites and supporting structures, and requires licensees and site owners/operators to enter into good faith negotiations to share sites where technically feasible. This decision is pursuant to comments received in the National Antenna Tower Policy Review and the Consultation on a Framework to Auction Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range including Advanced Wireless Services.

Aside from questions of technical feasibility, it is recognized that coming to a negotiated business agreement can delay roaming and sharing. Therefore, the proposed conditions which follow state that where it is technically feasible, but where licensees cannot finalize negotiations, parties will submit their business disputes to independent binding arbitration in order to finalize the matter. Most provincial and territorial arbitration legislation provides that, unless otherwise specified by agreement: 

  1. if no other mode of arbitration is suggested, the matter will be referred to a single arbitrator;
  2. the Court can appoint an arbitrator if the parties cannot agree upon one;
  3. arbitrators can ask for reports, submissions, and evidence under oath and can generally set the procedural rules for the arbitration in the absence of agreement upon these points;
  4. in the absence of an agreement to deal with costs, the arbitrator can make an award of costs; and
  5. the decision of an arbitrator is binding and legally enforceable through the courts.

There are also various model arbitration agreements which can be referred to in default of a specific agreement between the parties.

Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and Prohibition of Exclusive Site Arrangements

Industry Canada proposes to add the following conditions of licence for mandating antenna tower and site sharing and prohibiting exclusive site arrangements to all spectrum licences, radio licences and broadcasting certificates (Licensees).

  1. Licensees must facilitate sharing of antenna sites, including rooftops, and supporting structures ("Site(s)") and not cause or contribute to the exclusion of other radiocommunication antenna operators ("Operator(s)") from gaining access to Sites. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, where a Licensee is party to an agreement that includes a provision excluding other Operators from the use of a Site, then, in order to facilitate the sharing of Sites, the Licensee must consent to waiving that portion of the agreement to facilitate a request to share. Further, Licensees must not enter into or renew agreements that exclude other Operators from using a Site.
  2. Licensees must share where technically feasible except where national security concerns exist or the Site is used solely for personal enjoyment.
  3. In order to fulfill the condition of sharing in accordance with this licence, the Licensee must respond to a request to share by any other Operator within 30 days as follows:
    1. In the event that the request to share is technically feasible, the Licensee must provide the requesting Operator with a response and an offer to enter into a sharing agreement. The department expects that Site-sharing arrangements would be offered at commercial rates that are reasonably comparable to rates currently charged to others for similar access.
    2. In the event that the request to share is not technically feasible, the Licensee must provide the requesting Operator with a response detailing the reasons why it is not feasible (accompanied by any applicable technical information) in accordance with CPC-2-0-03.
  4. Site-sharing arrangements will be negotiated expeditiously and in good faith. If after 90 days from the initial request, the Licensee and the Operator requesting a Site-sharing arrangement cannot agree to the terms of the arrangement, the Licensee must agree to submit the matter to an arbitrator as agreed upon by the parties in accordance with the provisions of the applicable provincial arbitration legislation. The Licensee agrees that the arbitrator shall have all necessary powers to determine all of the questions in dispute (including those relating to determining the appropriate terms of the Site-sharing arrangement and those relating to procedural matters under the arbitration) and that any arbitration under this section shall be legally binding. The Licensee must participate fully in such an arbitration and follow all directions of the arbitrator in accordance with any arbitration agreement or with the applicable legislation. At any time, the Licensee and the Operator requesting antenna tower and site sharing may agree to specific terms with regard to submitting their dispute to an arbitrator and may withdraw their arbitration, on agreed terms, so long as they agree to a Site-sharing arrangement.

Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming

The conditions of licence described below will apply to all licences in the cellular, PCS and AWS bands.

Where the conditions of licence refer to a "new entrant" or "national new entrant", definitions can be found in the document entitled Policy Framework for the Auction for Spectrum Licences for Advanced Wireless Services and other Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range (November 2007).

Where technically feasible, Licensees must offer automatic digital roaming on their cellular, PCS and AWS networks as follows: 

  1. Roaming is to be offered: 
    1. To all cellular, PCS and AWS Licensees outside of their licensed area, for at least the 10-year term of AWS licences;
    2. To all new entrants, in their licensed areas for a period of 5 years commencing with the date of issuance of their licence; and
    3. To national new entrants who have substantially met the 5-year roll-out requirements outlined on their licence, as determined by Industry Canada, for an additional 5 years.
  2. In order to fulfill the condition of offering roaming in accordance with this licence: 
    1. The services offered must include digital voice and data services such as Internet access, email, and other data services;
    2. When requested, Licensees will provide an offer to enter into a roaming arrangement to provide roaming services on reasonable terms within 30 days. Industry Canada expects that roaming would be offered at commercial rates that are reasonably comparable to rates that are currently charged to others for similar services; and
    3. Roaming arrangements will be negotiated expeditiously and in good faith. If after 90 days from the initial request, the Licensee and the party requesting a roaming arrangement cannot agree to the terms of the roaming arrangement, the Licensee must agree to submit the matter to an arbitrator as agreed upon by the parties or in accordance with the provisions of the applicable provincial arbitration legislation. The Licensee agrees that the arbitrator shall have all necessary powers to determine all of the questions in dispute (including those relating to determining the appropriate terms of the roaming arrangement and those relating to procedural matters under the arbitration) and that any arbitration under this section shall be legally binding. The Licensee must participate fully in such an arbitration and follow all directions of the arbitrator in accordance with any arbitration agreement or with the applicable legislation. At any time, the Licensee and the party requesting roaming may agree to specific terms with regard to submitting their dispute to an arbitrator and may withdraw their arbitration, on agreed terms, so long as they agree to a roaming arrangement.

Comments Invited

Comments are invited on the proposed conditions of licence, specifically:

  1. Are the timelines for responding to requests to share and roam and for submitting agreements that have not been finalized to an arbitrator appropriate? Are there other timelines that should be considered?
  2. Specific provisions regarding arbitration may vary from province to province. Would it be useful to adopt a national code such as the ADR Institute of Canada's National Arbitration Rules in default of any specific arbitration agreement? Are there any special provisions which should be made applicable to the arbitrators concerning sharing and roaming?
  3. Are there any other licence conditions required to facilitate sharing and roaming?

Submitting Comments

Interested parties are invited to submit comments on the proposals outlined in the consultation no later than January 11, 2008, in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following e-mail address: aws@ic.gc.ca, with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director, Spectrum Management Operations, Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (DGRB-010-07).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of this notice and documents referred to are available electronically on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at: www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of notices can be ordered by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

November 28, 2007



_________________
Michael D. Connolly
Director General
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGRB-010-07

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no DGRB-010-07 — Consultation au sujet de la proposition visant à rendre obligatoires l'itinérance, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi qu'à interdire l'exclusivité des emplacements

Intention

Dans le document de politique intitulé Politique-cadre pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchères relatives aux services sans fil évolués et autres bandes de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz, publié le 28 novembre 2007, le Ministre a annoncé sa décision de rendre obligatoire l'itinérance pour les titulaires de licences de cellulaires, de SCP (service de communications personnelles) et de SSFE; de rendre obligatoire le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements et d'interdire l'exclusivité des emplacements pour tous les titulaires.

Comme ces mesures exigent que les conditions actuelles des licences soient modifiées, ou d'autres autorisations, la présente consultation vise à recueillir une contribution au sujet des conditions nécessaires pour rendre obligatoires l'itinérance, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, et pour interdire l'exclusivité des emplacements. La Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-0-03, Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunication et de radiodiffusion (CPC-2-0-03) pourrait aussi être modifiée par suite de ces consultations.

Il faut noter que ces conditions de l'octroi de licence ne supplanteraient pas les règlements, décisions ou tarifs approuvés ou sur le point de l'être par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC), ni aucune entente existante entre titulaires de licence, dans la mesure où il y a concordance avec la politique.

Contexte

En vertu de l'alinéa 5(1) b) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le Ministre peut prendre en compte toutes les questions qu'il juge pertinentes pour garantir l'établissement ou la modification ordonnée de station radio, le développement ordonné et le fonctionnement efficient de la radiocommunication au Canada, modifier les modalités d'une licence, d'un certificat ou d'une autorisation.

L'obligation pour les titulaires de licence de partager l'infrastructure et les emplacements avait été recommandée dans le cadre de L'examen de la politique nationale sur les pylônes d'antenne et par le Groupe d'étude sur le cadre réglementaire des télécommunications. Conformément aux recommandations contenues dans leurs rapports, la version actualisée de la CPC-2-0-03 d'Industrie Canada, qui entre en vigueur le 1er janvier 2008, exige que les promoteurs de nouveaux pylônes d'antennes recherchent une infrastructure et des emplacements existants, et oblige les titulaires de licence et les propriétaires-exploitants des emplacements à négocier de bonne foi le partage des emplacements dans la mesure où cela est faisable techniquement. Cette décision est conforme aux commentaires reçus dans le cadre L'examen de la politique nationale sur les pylônes d'antenne et de la Consultation sur un cadre de mise aux enchères de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz, y compris pour les services sans fil évolués.

Indépendamment des questions de faisabilité technique, il est reconnu que la négociation d'une entente peut retarder l'itinérance et le partage. C'est pourquoi les conditions proposées qui suivent précisent que, lorsque c'est faisable techniquement, mais que les titulaires de licence ne peuvent mener à terme les négociations, les parties soumettent leurs différends à l'arbitrage exécutoire indépendant pour régler la question. La plupart des textes législatifs provinciaux et territoriaux prévoient que, sauf indication contraire dans l'entente,

  1. si aucun autre mode d'arbitrage n'est proposé, la question est renvoyée à un seul arbitre;
  2. le tribunal peut nommer un arbitre si les parties ne s'entendent pas sur le choix d'un arbitre;
  3. les arbitres peuvent demander que leur soient présentés des rapports, soumissions et des éléments de preuve sous serment et ils peuvent généralement établir les règles de procédures pour l'arbitrage, en l'absence d'entente sur ces questions;
  4. en l'absence d'une entente sur la question des coûts, l'arbitre peut décider comment les répartir;
  5. la décision de l'arbitre est exécutoire par l'intermédiaire des tribunaux.

Il existe également divers modèles d'ententes d'arbitrage qui peuvent être consultés en l'absence d'une entente spécifique entre les parties.

Conditions de licence relatives au partage obligatoire des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements et interdiction de l'exclusivité des emplacements

Industrie Canada propose d'assortir les licences des conditions suivantes pour rendre obligatoire le partage des pylônes d'antennes et du partage des emplacements, ainsi que pour interdire l'exclusivité des emplacements, dans le cas de toutes les licences du spectre, les licences radio et les certificats de radiodiffusion (titulaires de licence).

  1. Les titulaires de licence doivent faciliter le partage des emplacements choisis pour les antennes, y compris les toits, et l'infrastructure de soutien (« Emplacements ») et ne pas empêcher ou contribuer à empêcher d'autres exploitants d'antennes de radiocommunication (« Exploitants ») d'avoir accès aux emplacements. Sans limiter le caractère général de ce qui précède, dans le cas où un titulaire de licence est partie à une entente contenant une disposition interdisant à tout autre exploitant de se servir d'un emplacement, le titulaire de la licence doit alors consentir à renoncer à cette partie de l'entente pour faciliter le partage des emplacements ainsi qu'une éventuelle demande de partage. De plus, les titulaires de licence ne doivent pas conclure ni renouveler des ententes de manière à empêcher d'autres exploitants de se servir d'un emplacement;
  2. Les titulaires de licence doivent procéder au partage chaque fois que c'est techniquement faisable, sauf en cas de préoccupations relatives à la sécurité nationale ou si l'emplacement ne sert qu'à la jouissance personnelle;
  3. Afin de satisfaire le critère de partage conformément à la présente licence, le titulaire doit donner suite dans les 30 jours aux demandes de partage présentées par n'importe quel autre exploitant :
    1. s'il est techniquement possible d'accéder à la demande, le titulaire doit fournir à l'exploitant une réponse et une offre relative à une entente de partage. Le Ministère s'attend à ce que les arrangements de partage d'emplacements soient offerts à un tarif commercial, raisonnablement comparable aux tarifs actuels d'autres exploitants pour un accès analogue.
    2. s'il est techniquement impossible d'accéder à la demande de partage, le titulaire de licence doit fournir à l'exploitant une réponse décrivant en détail les raisons de cette impossibilité (accompagnées de toute l'information technique applicable) conformément à la CPC-2-0-03.
  4. Les arrangements de partage d'emplacements seront négociés rapidement et de bonne foi. Si, 90 jours après la demande initiale, le titulaire de la licence et l'exploitant qui demande un arrangement de partage d'emplacements ne peuvent s'entendre sur l'arrangement, le titulaire de la licence doit accepter de soumettre la question à un arbitre, comme convenu par les parties, conformément aux dispositions de la législation provinciale applicable sur l'arbitrage. Le titulaire de la licence reconnaît que l'arbitre aura tous les pouvoirs nécessaires pour trancher toutes les questions litigieuses (y compris celles qui ont trait à la détermination des conditions appropriées concernant l'arrangement de partage des emplacements et celles qui ont trait aux questions de procédure soumises à l'arbitrage) et que l'arbitrage conformément à la présente section sera exécutoire. Le titulaire doit participer pleinement à cet arbitrage et suivre toutes les instructions de l'arbitre, conformément à une éventuelle entente d'arbitrage ou à la législation applicable. À tout moment, le titulaire de la licence et l'exploitant qui demande le partage de pylônes d'antennes et d'emplacements peuvent accepter des conditions particulières en rapport avec la présentation du différend à un arbitre et ils peuvent mettre fin à l'arbitrage, d'un commun accord, du moment qu'ils s'entendent sur un arrangement relatif au partage des emplacements.

Conditions de licence relatives à l'itinérance obligatoire

Les conditions de licence décrites ci-après s'appliquent à toutes les licences dans les bandes de cellulaires, de SCP et de SSFE.

Dans le cas où les conditions de licence mentionnent la définition de « nouveau venu » ou de « nouveau venu national », les définitions se trouvent dans le document intitulé Politique-cadre pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchères relatives aux services sans fil évolués et autres bandes de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz, (Novembre 2007).

Lorsque c'est techniquement faisable, les titulaires de licence doivent offrir l'itinérance numérique automatique sur leurs réseaux de cellulaires, SCP et SSFE, comme suit :

  1. L'itinérance doit être offerte :
    1. à tous les titulaires de licence de services cellulaires, de SCP et de SSFE à l'extérieur de leurs zones de desserte autorisées, pendant au moins la période de validité de dix ans des licences de SSFE.
    2. à tous les nouveaux venus, dans leurs zones de desserte autorisées , pour une période de cinq ans, à compter de la date de délivrance de leur licence;
    3. pour une période additionnelle de cinq ans à un nouveau venu national qui a, selon Industrie Canada, respecté dans une large mesure, les exigences de déploiement de cinq ans.
  2. Pour remplir la condition relative à l'itinérance, conformément à cette licence:
    1. les services offerts doivent comprendre les services de transmission numérique de la voix et des données comme l'accès Internet, le courriel et d'autres services de transmission des données;
    2. sur demande, les titulaires offriront un arrangement d'itinérance dans des conditions raisonnables, dans les 30 jours. Industrie Canada s'attend à ce que l'itinérance soit offerte à des taux commerciaux raisonnablement comparables aux tarifs en vigueur ailleurs pour des services analogues;
    3. les arrangements d'itinérance seront négociés rapidement et de bonne foi. Si, 90 jours après la demande initiale, le titulaire et la partie qui demande un arrangement d'itinérance ne s'entendent pas sur les modalités d'itinérance, le titulaire doit accepter de soumettre la question à un arbitre, comme convenu par les parties ou conformément aux dispositions de la législation provinciale applicable à l'arbitrage. Le titulaire de la licence convient que l'arbitre disposera de tous les pouvoirs nécessaires pour trancher toutes les questions litigieuses (y compris la détermination des modalités de l'entente d'itinérance et les questions de procédure soumises à l'arbitrage) et que l'arbitrage dont il est ici question sera exécutoire. Le titulaire de la licence doit participer pleinement à l'arbitrage et suivre toutes les instructions de l'arbitre, conformément à une quelconque entente d'arbitrage ou à la législation applicable. À tout moment, le titulaire de la licence et la partie qui demande l'itinérance peuvent s'entendre sur des conditions spécifiques pour soumettre leur différend à un arbitre et ils peuvent mettre fin à l'arbitrage, d'un commun accord, du moment qu'ils s'entendent sur un arrangement d'itinérance.

Appel de commentaires

On demande des commentaires au sujet des conditions proposées de la licence, à savoir :

  1. si les délais de réponse aux demandes de partage et d'itinérance et l'arbitrage dans le cas de la non-finalisation des demandes sont adéquats? D'autres délais devraient-ils être envisagés?
  2. les dispositions particulières relatives à l'arbitrage peuvent varier d'une province à l'autre. Serait-il utile d'adopter un code national comme le Règles nationales d'arbitrage de l'ADR Institute of Canada en l'absence d'une entente spécifique relative à l'arbitrage? Des dispositions particulières devraient-elles être applicables aux arbitres en ce qui concerne le partage et l'itinérance?
  3. Devrait-on ajouter d'autres conditions au niveau des licences, pour faciliter le partage et l'itinérance?

Présentation des commentaires

Les intéressés sont invités à envoyer leurs commentaires au sujet des propositions décrites dans la consultation, au plus tard le 11 janvier 2008 sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : aws@ic.gc.ca. Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au directeur, Gestion du spectre, Opérations, Direction générale de la réglementation, de la radiocommunication et de la radiodiffusion, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGRB-010-07).

Pour obtenir des copies

L'avis de la Gazette du Canada ainsi que les documents cités sont disponibles électroniquement sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les versions officielles des avis de la Gazette du Canada sont affichées sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html, ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 28 novembre 2007

Le directeur général
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion

_________________
Michael D. Connolly

Date de modification :