Archived—Frequently Asked Questions, updated June 6, 2008

(1) Legal and Regulatory Advice

Separate applicants may receive legal and regulatory advice from the same law firm provided that the law firm complies with the conflict of interest and confidential information requirements of the Law Society of Upper Canada and that all applicants comply with the provisions of the Licensing Framework for the Auction for Spectrum Licences for Advanced Wireless Services and other Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range.

(2) Reducing Eligibility Points Prior to the Auction

In the event that an applicant wishes to significantly decrease its number of eligibility points and replace its Letter of Credit to reflect this lower number of eligibility points prior to the commencement of the auction, it must submit a written request along with a new Letter of Credit. This must be received by the AWS Auction Manager no later than May 2, 2008. The Department will return the original Letter of Credit only after the receipt of the new one.

(3) Communications between Applicants

As stated in Section 5.2 of the Licensing Framework for the Auction for Spectrum Licences for Advanced Wireless Services and other Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf08856.html:

"Applicants are prohibited from co-operating, collaborating, discussing or negotiating settlement agreements with competitors, relating to the licences being auctioned or relating to the post-auction market structure, until the deadline for the final payment on high bids.

Prospective bidders will note that the auction application form contains a declaration that the applicant will be required to sign certifying that the applicant has not entered into and will not enter into any agreements or arrangements of any kind with any competitor regarding the amount to be bid, bidding strategies or the particular licence(s) on which the applicant or competitors will or will not bid. For the purposes of this certification the word competitor means any entity, other than the applicant, its Affiliates or Associated Entities, which could potentially be a bidder in this auction based on its qualifications, abilities or experience."

The application deadline to participate in the auction has passed. On Friday, March 14, 2008, the list of all potential bidders was made public. The auction rules referenced above preclude an applicant (or one of its affiliates/associates) from discussing agreements, or arrangements with anyone else who is an applicant (or one of its affiliates/associates) relating to the licences being auctioned or relating to the post-auction market structure, until the deadline for the final payment on high bids. The rules do not govern discussions with parties who are completely unrelated to the auction.

Industry Canada reiterates that an applicant (or one of its affiliates/associates) cannot discuss agreements, or arrangements with any other applicant (or applicant of its affiliates/associates) relating to the licences being auctioned or relating to the post-auction market structure, until the deadline for the final payment on high bids. Any discussions of a change of beneficial ownership during this period involving two applicants or any of their affiliates or associates would fall into the area of prohibited discussions and be considered as contrary to the auction rules.

However, an applicant may discuss changes in beneficial ownership with parties who are completely unrelated to other applicants and therefore effect a change in their beneficial ownership as long as:

(1) any change in beneficial ownership of the applicant be effected prior to May 14, 2008; and
(2) the applicant informs Industry Canada immediately in writing of any change in beneficial ownership.

Industry Canada will publish any updates in beneficial ownership that it receives on the auction website.

Applicants are not permitted to change their beneficial ownership after May 14, 2008, until after the cessation of bidding.

Companies will not be allowed to have discussions about roaming and/or tower and site sharing prior to the cessation of bidding.

(Addendum)
The prohibition on discussions pertaining to tower sharing only relates to the planned deployment of spectrum from this AWS auction. For greater certainty, discussions concerning the expansion of existing sharing arrangements for other than AWS spectrum or for new arrangements for non AWS spectrum are not prohibited.

(4) Communications with Local Exchange Carriers that are Qualified Bidders in the AWS Auction

The auction rules preclude a qualified bidder (or one of its affiliates/associates) from discussing agreements, or arrangements with anyone else who is a qualified bidder (or one of its affiliates/associates) relating to the licences being auctioned or relating to the post-auction market structure, until the deadline for the final payment on high bids. This preclusion does not include discussions on interconnection with a local exchange carrier (LEC) that is a qualified bidder (or one of its affiliates/associates). This is based on the fact that the Carrier Services Group (CSG) of each LEC is prohibited from communicating information about competitors seeking interconnection services to other persons within the LEC. As a result, assuming that the CSG respects these requirements, such communications should in no way affect the integrity of the auction.

Qualified bidders that are seeking further information about interconnection arrangements should be aware that for the termination of wireless calls on the public switched telephone network, there are standard terms for interconnection which are stipulated in CRTC approved tariffs for each LEC. All competitive LECs will also have Commission approved tariffs for interconnection. Rates for interconnection provided by competitive LECs do not exceed (and are generally equal to) the rates in the Competitive Local Exchange Carrier Model Tariff. For the terms under which they generally offer wireless interconnection, refer to Section D of the Competitive Local Exchange Carrier Model Tariff available at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/public/cisc/c-docs/clecv29_e.doc, or contact Ms. Suzanne Bédard, Senior Manager, Tariffs Competition, Implementation and Technology, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission at 819-994-6134.

Qualified bidders (or one of their affiliates/associates) will not be allowed to have discussions about roaming and/or tower and site sharing prior to the cessation of bidding.

(5) Changes in Ownership

The ownership structure can change at anytime after the cessation of bidding even if Industry Canada has not yet completed the ownership and control review.

If applicants make any arrangements, such arrangements must be concluded prior to May 14, 2008. All communication on non-finalized commercial arrangements must then cease until after the cessation of bidding.

Date modified:

Archivé — Foire aux questions, mise à jour le 6 juin 2008

(1) Conseils juridiques et en matière de réglementation

Des requérants distincts peuvent recevoir des conseils juridiques et en matière de réglementation du même cabinet d'avocats à la condition que ce dernier se conforme aux exigences relatives aux conflits d'intérêts et aux renseignements confidentiels du Barreau du Haut-Canada et que tous les requérants se conforment aux dispositions du Cadre pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchères relatives aux services sans fil évolués et autres bandes de fréquences dans la gamme de fréquences de 2 GHz.

(2) Réduction des points d'admissibilité avant la tenue des enchères

Dans le cas où un requérant souhaite réduire considérablement son nombre de points d'admissibilité et remplacer sa lettre de crédit pour qu'elle reflète la réduction de ses points d'admissibilité avant la tenue d'enchères, il doit en faire la demande par écrit et y joindre une nouvelle lettre de crédit. Le gestionnaire des enchères des SSFE doit recevoir le tout au plus tard le 2 mai 2008. Le Ministère ne retournera la lettre de crédit originale que sur réception de la nouvelle lettre de crédit.

(3) Communications entre les demandeurs

Comme on l'a indiqué dans la section 5.2 du Cadre pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchères relatives aux services sans fil évolués et autres bandes de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf08856.html :

« Il est interdit que les requérants coopèrent, collaborent, discutent ou négocient des ententes de règlement au sujet des licences offertes aux enchères ou de la structure de marché après les enchères avec leurs concurrents, et ce, jusqu'au paiement final des soumissions retenues.

Les soumissionnaires éventuels noteront que le formulaire de demande de participation aux enchères contient une déclaration à signer indiquant que le requérant n'a pas conclu et ne conclura pas d'entente ou d'arrangement de quelque nature que ce soit avec tout concurrent en ce qui a trait au montant de la soumission, aux stratégies de soumission, ou aux licences spécifiques pour lesquelles le requérant ou d'autres concurrents présenteront ou non des soumissions. Aux fins de cette attestation, le terme concurrent signifie toute entité, autre que le requérant, ses affiliés ou les entités associées, qui pourrait éventuellement être soumissionnaire dans la présente vente aux enchères, compte tenu de ses compétences, de ses aptitudes ou de son expérience. »

La date limite pour participer à l'enchère est passée. Le vendredi 14 mars 2008, on a rendue publique la liste de tous les soumissionnaires potentiels. Les règles de l'enchère mentionnées ci-dessus empêchent un demandeur (ou l'un de ses affiliés/associés) de discuter des ententes ou des arrangements avec tout autre demandeur (ou l'un de ses affiliés/associés) au sujet des licences mises à l'enchère ou de la structure du marché après l'enchère, et ce, jusqu'à la date limite pour le dernier versement des soumissions les plus élevées. Les règles ne régissent pas les discussions avec les parties qui n'ont aucun lien avec l'enchère.

Industrie Canada rappelle qu'un demandeur (ou l'un de ses affiliés/associés) ne peut discuter des ententes ou des arrangements conclus avec tout autre demandeur (ou avec les demandeurs de ses affiliés/associés) au sujet des licences mises à l'enchère ou de la structure du marché après l'enchère, et ce, jusqu'à la date limite pour le dernier versement des soumissions les plus élevées. Toute discussion portant sur un changement de la propriété effective au cours de cette période, tenue par deux demandeurs ou par leurs affiliés ou associés, serait considérée comme une discussion interdite et contraire aux règles de l'enchère.

Cependant, un demandeur peut discuter des changements de la propriété effective avec des parties qui n'ont aucun lien avec d'autres demandeurs, et qui ne peuvent par conséquent avoir une incidence sur la propriété effective, pour autant que :

(1) tout changement de la propriété effective du demandeur entre en vigueur avant le 14 mai 2008;
(2) le demandeur informe immédiatement Industrie Canada par écrit de tout changement de la propriété effective.

Industrie Canada publiera les mises à jour de tout changement concernant la propriété effective sur le site Web des enchères du spectre.

Les bénéficiaires ne sont pas autorisés à modifier leur propriété effective après le 14 mai 2008, et ce, jusqu'à la fin des soumissions.

Les sociétés ne seront pas autorisées à tenir des discussions au sujet de l'itinérance et/ou du partage des tours ou des sites avant la fin des soumissions.

(Addenda)
L'interdiction ne s'applique qu'aux discussions concernant le partage des pylônes d’antenne et au déploiement du spectre dans le cadre des présentes enchères (SSFE). Pour être plus précis, il n’est pas interdit de discuter du déploiement des arrangements de partage actuels n’ayant pas trait aux enchères du spectre (SSFE) ni à de nouveaux arrangements sans rapport avec les (SSFE).

(4) Communications avec les entreprises de services locaux qui sont des soumissionnaires qualifiés dans le cadre des enchères de fréquences pour les services sans fil évolués (SSFE)

Les règles sur les enchères empêchent un soumissionnaire qualifié (ou un de ses affiliés/associés) de discuter d'ententes ou d'arrangements avec toute autre personne qui est un soumissionnaire qualifié (ou un de ses affiliés/associés) en ce qui concerne les licences mises aux enchères ou la structure de marché adoptée après les enchères, et ce, jusqu'à la date limite du paiement final pour les offres les plus élevées. Ne sont pas visées les discussions sur l'interconnexion avec une entreprise de services locaux (ESL) qui est également un soumissionnaire qualifié (ou un de ses affiliés/associés). La raison étant qu'il est interdit au groupe de services de télécommunication de chaque ESL de communiquer de l'information sur les concurrents demandant des services d'interconnexion à d'autres personnes de l'ESL. Par conséquent, si le groupe de services de télécommunication respecte ces exigences, les communications de ce genre ne nuisent aucunement à l'intégrité des enchères.

Les soumissionnaires qualifiés qui veulent davantage d'information sur des arrangements d'interconnexion doivent savoir que la cessation d'appels sans fil sur le réseau téléphonique commuté public est soumise à des modalités normatives d'interconnexion stipulées dans les tarifs approuvés du CRTC pour chaque ESL. Toutes les ESL concurrentes seront également soumises aux tarifs du Conseil pour l'interconnexion. Les taux pour l'interconnexion fournie par des ESL concurrentes ne dépassent pas les taux stipulés dans le Modèle tarifaire pour les entreprises de service locaux concurrentielles (et y sont généralement égaux). Pour les modalités selon lesquelles les ESL offrent généralement une interconnexion sans fil, consulter la section D du Modèle à http://www.crtc.gc.ca/public/cisc/c-docs/clecv29_f.doc, ou communiquer avec madame Suzanne Bédard, gestionnaire supérieure, Concurrence des tarifs, Mise en oeuvre et technologie, Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, au 819-994-6134.

Il sera interdit aux soumissionnaires qualifiés (ou à un de leurs affiliés/associés) d'avoir des discussions sur l'itinérance ou sur le partage des pylônes et des emplacements de pylône avant la fin de l'appel d'offres.

(5) Changements à la propriété

La structure de propriété peut changer à tout moment après la fin de l'appel d'offres, même si Industrie Canada n'a pas encore terminé l'examen relatif à la propriété et au contrôle.

Si les demandeurs prennent des arrangements, ceux-ci doivent être conclus avant le 14 mai 2008. Toutes les communications relatives à des arrangements commerciaux non finalisés doivent alors être suspendues jusqu'après la fin de l'appel d'offres.

Date de modification :