TRC-49 — Telecommunications and Radio Equipment Service Fees of the Certification and Engineering Bureau

Issue 8
November 2011

Spectrum Management and Telecommunications
Telecommunications Regulation Circular

Foreword

TRC-49 provides information on the application of telecommunications and radio apparatus fees according to Industry Canada’s regulations.

This document will be reviewed and amended from time to time to reflect necessary changes in procedural requirements. The Department encourages comments and suggestions that will enhance the effectiveness of the document. Comments may be forwarded to:

Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K1A 0C8

Issued under the authority
of the Minister of Industry

____________________________________
Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch


Contents

  1. General Information
  2. Related Documents
  3. Schedule of Fees
  4. Payment of Fees

1. General Information

Industry Canada’s Certification and Engineering Bureau (the Bureau) provides a number of services for which fees are charged. These services include listing and registration of compliant equipment, assessment for certification purposes and related technical expertise services for the telecommunications industry. Certified radio apparatus and registered terminal apparatus must be recorded in lists maintained and published by the Department. 1 The purpose of these lists is to inform the public of telecommunications and radio apparatus that comply with technical requirements established by the Minister.

Other services, such as consultations on apparatus designs and modifications to meet specifications and standards, which are a normal part of the services provided by private laboratories and consultants, are not provided by the Department. The procedures for obtaining certification of radio equipment (see RSP-100 and CB-03) outline the process for acquiring these other services through recognized certification bodies (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mra-arm.nsf/eng/nj00094.html) or the Bureau. The Department encourages the use of private certification bodies and testing laboratories for both certification and testing of apparatus.

The Telecommunications and Radio Apparatus Fee Order implementing these new fees was published on September 1, 2007, pursuant to sections 18 and 20 of the Department of Industry Act.

1.1 Public Inquiries

Additional information on fees described herein can be obtained from:

Certification and Engineering Bureau
Industry Canada
P.O. Box 11490, Station H
3701 Carling Avenue
Building 94
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada
K2H 8S2

Telephone: 613-990-4218
Facsimile: 613-990-4752
E-mail: certification.bureau@ic.gc.ca
Website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/certification

2. Related Documents

The relevant procedures and documents are listed below and can be found on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

SMSE-008-07
DC-01(E)
Procedure for Declaration of Conformity and Registration of Terminal Equipment: this document describes the procedure that suppliers of telecommunications terminal equipment must follow to declare conformity to applicable technical specifications and to register their equipment with Industry Canada.

RSP-100
Radio Equipment Certification Procedure: this document specifies the procedural requirements to be followed and the information to be submitted by an applicant wishing to obtain certification of radio equipment to the Department’s standards and specifications by the Bureau or a recognized certification body.

CB-03
Requirements for the Certification of Radio Apparatus to Industry Canada’s Standards and Specifications: this document specifies the applicable requirements which shall be reflected in the radio apparatus certification procedure of recognized certification bodies.

3. Schedule of Fees

Fees are based on the principle of recovery of departmental costs. There are four types of fees applicable in the process: assessment; technical expertise; registration; and listing. For information on the implementation of these fees, see Annex A.

Applicable taxes will be applied to assessment, reassessment, registration and technical expertise services.

3.1 Assessment Fee

The assessment fee relates to administrative costs involved in reviewing certification applications to ensure that the equipment complies with the appropriate technical requirements, specifications or standards. The assessment fee is $1,200 per product model regardless of the number of standards being assessed. The assessment fee includes a charge for the administration of the application, the technical examination, the review of the brief and the issuance of a technical acceptance certificate (TAC).

3.2 Technical Expertise Fee

Technical expertise can be provided by the Bureau for services such as assistance in evaluating the technical competence of conformity assessment bodies, performing reassessment, as well as reviewing applications for multiple listings, family approval or transfer of a (TAC). This fee would also include equipment set-up time, testing time, report preparation, examination and approval of the report by the laboratory supervisor. This fee is calculated at the rate of $150 per person-hour or part thereof. Upon request, the Bureau will provide an estimate of the cost for testing services or technical support to its clients. The Bureau will request full payment of the estimated cost before service is provided. Progress payments will be required for situations where longer than normal test times are needed. In cases where travel is required, travel expenses will also be factored into the estimated cost.

3.3 Listing Fees

The listing fee of $50 is for the administration required in recording equipment in the Radio Equipment List.

This fee applies to each product model listed.

3.4 Registration Fees

As part of the declaration of conformity process, all terminal apparatus must be registered with the Bureau and recorded in the Terminal Equipment List. The registration fee of $750 is for the development and maintenance cost of the terminal attachment program and the administration required in recording the equipment on the said list.

This fee applies to each submission. A submission can be a family of products that are electrically identical.

4. Payment of Fees

It should be noted that the fees outlined in TRC-49 are payable before services are rendered. For example, in most cases, the fee is payable at the time of making the application for assessment, reassessment, listing and/or registration.


Annex A — Table of Fee Scenarios

Registration Method Scenario Type of Submission Applicable
fee
Examples
1 Model 4 Models
Application directly to Industry Canada 1. New certification and/or registration (and new family) Radio (1) Flat radio assessment fee of $1,200 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model
$1,250 $1,400
Terminal Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission $750 $750
Dual (1) Flat radio assessment fee of $1,200 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model

(3) Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission
$2000 $2150
2. Family certification and/or registration (without test report)/ multiple listing/ transfer of (TAC) Radio (1) Two hours at hourly rate of $150 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model
$350 $500
Terminal Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission $750 $750
Dual (1) Two hours at hourly rate of $150 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model

(3) Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission
$1,100 $1,250
Application directly to Industry Canada 3. Reassessment — certification and/or registration Radio (1) Two hours at hourly rate of $150 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model
$350 $500
Terminal No cost independent of the number of models included in the submission $0 $0
Dual (1) Two hours at hourly rate of $150 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model

(3) No cost for terminal independent of the number of models included in the submission
$350 $500
4. Family certification and/or registration with test report Radio (1) Three hours at hourly rate of $150 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model
$500 $650
Terminal Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission $750 $750
Dual (1) Three hours at hourly rate of $150 independent of the number of radio standards included in the submission

(2) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model

(3) Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission
$1,250 $1,400
Application through certification bodies 1. New certification and/or registration (and new family)

2. Family certification and/or registration (with or without test report)

3. Multiple listing/transfer of (TAC)
Radio Listing fee of $50 for each radio model $50 $200
Terminal Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission $750 $750
Dual (1) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model

(2) Flat terminal registration fee of $750 independent of the number of models included in the submission
$800 $950
4. Reassessment — certification and/or registration Radio Listing fee of $50 for each radio model $50 $200
Terminal No cost for terminal independent of the number of models included in the submission $0 $0
Dual (1) Listing fee of $50 for each radio model

(2) No cost for terminal independent of the number of models included in the submission
$50 $200

 

1The Radio Equipment List (REL) and the Terminal Equipment List (TEL) are available at http://www.ic.gc.ca/app/sitt/reltel/srch/nwRdSrch.do?lang=eng and http://www.ic.gc.ca/app/sitt/reltel/srch/nwTrmnlSrch.do?lang=eng respectively.


Information on Downloading a PDF Reader
To access the Portable Document Format (PDF) version you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:

CRT-49 — Droits exigés par le Bureau d’homologation et de services techniques et applicables aux appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication

8e édition
Novembre 2011

Circulaire de la réglementation des télécommunications

Avant-propos

La CRT-49 fournit des renseignements sur l’application des droits visant les appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication conformément aux règlements d’Industrie Canada.

Le présent document sera examiné et modifié de temps à autre en fonction des modifications apportées aux exigences concernant la procédure. Le Ministère reçoit avec plaisir les commentaires et suggestions qui pourraient permettre d’améliorer l’efficacité du présent document; prière de les faire parvenir à l’adresse suivante :

Directeur général
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K1A 0C8

Publié avec l’autorisation du ministre de l’Industrie

Le directeur général,
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes

___________
Marc Dupuis


Table des matières

  1. Renseignements généraux
  2. Documents connexes
  3. Barème des droits
  4. Paiement des droits

1. Renseignements généraux

Le Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques (le Bureau) d’Industrie Canada offre un certain nombre de services pour lesquels des droits sont exigés. Ces services, destinés à l’industrie des télécommunications, comprennent l’inscription et l’enregistrement des appareils conformes, l’évaluation à des fins de certification et la fourniture d’expertise technique connexe. Les appareils de radiocommunication homologués et les appareils terminaux enregistrés doivent être inscrits dans des nomenclatures publiées et mises à jour par le Ministère 1. Ces nomenclatures servent à faire connaître au grand public les appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication qui sont conformes aux exigences techniques établies par le Ministre.

D’autres services, comme les consultations sur la conception des appareils et les modifications à y apporter pour les rendre conformes aux cahiers des charges et aux normes, normalement fournis par les laboratoires et les experts-conseils du secteur privé, ne sont pas offerts par le Ministère. Les procédures de certification du matériel de radiocommunication (PNR-100 et OC-01) décrivent le processus d’obtention de ces services par l’intermédiaire des organismes de certification reconnus (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/mra-arm.nsf/fra/nj00094.html) ou du Bureau. Le Ministère encourage le recours aux organismes de certification et aux laboratoires d’essais privés tant pour la certification que pour l’essai des appareils.

Le Décret sur les droits applicables aux appareils de télécommunication et de radiocommunication, qui vise la mise en œuvre des nouveaux droits, a été publié le 1er septembre 2007 en vertu des articles 18 et 20 de la Loi sur le ministère de l’Industrie.

1.1 Demandes de renseignements du public

On peut obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les droits décrits aux présentes à l’adresse suivante :

Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques
Industrie Canada
C.P. 11490, succursale H
3701, avenue Carling
Immeuble 94
Ottawa (Ontario)
Canada
K2H 8S2

Téléphone : 613-990-4218
Télécopieur : 613-990-4752

Courriel : ic.certificationbureau-bureauhomologation.ic@canada.ca
Site Web : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ceb-bhst.nsf/fra/accueil

2. Documents connexes

Les procédures et les règlements applicables à la présente CRT, énumérés ci-dessous, sont disponibles sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse http://ic.gc.ca/spectre :

DC-01(F)
Procédures de déclaration de conformité et d’enregistrement du matériel terminal : ce document décrit la procédure que les fournisseurs de matériel terminal de télécommunications doivent suivre pour déclarer la conformité aux spécifications techniques applicables et enregistrer leur équipement auprès d’Industrie Canada.

PNR-100
Procédure d’homologation du matériel radio : ce document précise les exigences de procédure à respecter et l’information à donner par tout requérant désireux de faire certifier du matériel radio conformément aux normes et aux spécifications du Ministère par le Bureau ou un organisme de certification reconnu.

OC-01
Critères applicables aux organismes de certification : ce document décrit les critères applicables aux organismes de certification (OC) canadiens et étrangers qui seront autorisés à certifier le matériel radio conformément aux règlements d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

3. Barème des droits

Les droits sont établis en fonction du principe de recouvrement des coûts du Ministère. Quatre types de droits sont applicables dans le processus : droits d’évaluation, d’expertise technique, d’enregistrement et d’inscription. De plus amples renseignements sur l’application de ces droits sont donnés à l’Annexe A.

Les taxes applicables seront appliquées pour les services d’évaluation, de réévaluation, d’enregistrement et d’expertise technique.

3.1 Droits d’évaluation

Les droits d’évaluation englobent les frais administratifs d’examen de la demande de certification en vue de garantir qu’un appareil est conforme aux exigences techniques, aux spécifications ou aux normes techniques appropriés. Ils sont de 1 200 $ par modèle de produit, indépendamment du nombre de normes par rapport auxquelles il est évalué. Ils englobent les frais d’administration de la demande, d’examen technique, de révision du mémoire et de délivrance d’un certificat d’approbation technique (CAT).

3.2 Droits d’expertise technique

Des services d’expertise technique peuvent être fournis par le Bureau, par exemple pour aider à évaluer les compétence techniques des organismes d’évaluation de la conformité, effectuer des réévaluations et examiner les demandes d’inscription multiple, de certification de famille ou de transfert d’un CAT. Les droits exigés à l’égard de ces services peuvent aussi comprendre les frais relatifs au temps consacré au montage de l’équipement, aux essais, à la rédaction du rapport à son contrôle, à son examen et à son approbation par le surveillant du laboratoire. Ils s’élèvent à 150 $ par heure-personne ou fraction d’heure. Sur demande, le Bureau fournit à ses clients une évaluation des coûts des services d’essai ou de soutien technique. Le Bureau demande aux clients de verser intégralement les frais prévus avant la prestation des services. Un acompte est exigé lorsqu’il faut procéder à des essais d’une durée inhabituelle. Les frais des déplacements nécessaires, le cas échéant, entrent aussi en ligne de compte dans l’établissement des coûts prévus.

3.3 Droits d’inscription

Les droits d’inscription de 50 $ englobent les frais d’administration associés à l’inscription du matériel dans la Nomenclature du matériel radio.

Ils s’appliquent à chacun des modèles de produits inscrits.

3.4 Droits d’enregistrement

Dans le cadre du processus de déclaration de conformité, tout le matériel terminal doit être enregistré auprès du Bureau et inscrit dans la Nomenclature du matériel terminal. Les droits d’enregistrement de 750 $ englobent les frais de développement et d’entretien du Programme de raccordement de matériel terminal et les frais d’administration associés à l’inscription du matériel dans la Nomenclature du matériel terminal.

Ils s’appliquent à chaque demande. Une demande peut porter sur une famille de produits identiques du point de vue de l’électricité.

4. Paiement des droits

Il est à noter que les droits décrits dans la CRT-49 sont payables avant que les services soient fournis. Par exemple, dans la plupart des cas, les droits sont payables au moment de la présentation d’une demande d’évaluation de réévaluation, d’inscription et/ou d’enregistrement.


Annexe A — Tableau de scénarios possibles pour les droits

Annexe A - Tableau de scénarios possibles pour les droits
Méthode d’enregistrement Scénario Type de demande Droits applicables Exemples
1 modèle 4 modèles
Présentation de la demande directement à Industrie Canada 1. Certification et/ou enregistrement de nouveaux produits (et d’une nouvelle famille) Radio (1) Droits fixes d’évaluation de 1 200 $ indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio
1 250 $ 1 400 $
Terminal Droits fixes d’enregistrement de 750 $, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande 750 $ 750 $
Double (1) Droits fixes d’évaluation de 1 200 $ indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio

(3) Droits fixes d’enregistrement de 750 $, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande
2000 $ 2150 $
2. Certification et/ou enregistrement d’une famille (sans rapport d’essai)/ enregistrement multiple/transfert de CAT Radio (1) Deux heures au taux de 150 $ l’heure, indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio
350 $ 500 $
Terminal Droits fixes d’enregistrement de 750 $, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande 750 $ 750 $
Double (1) Deux heures au taux de 150 $ l’heure, indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio

(3) Droits fixes d’enregistrement de 750 $, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande
1 100 $ 1 250 $
Présentation de la demande directement à Industrie Canada 3. Réévaluation — certification et/ou enregistrement Radio (1) Deux heures au taux de 150 $ l’heure, indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio
350 $ 500 $
Terminal Aucuns droits, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande 0 $ 0 $
Double (1) Deux heures au taux de 150 $ l’heure, indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio

(3) Aucuns droits pour les terminaux, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande
350 $ 500 $
4. Certification et/ou enregistrement d’une famille avec rapport d’essai Radio (1) Trois heures au taux de 150 $ l’heure, indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio
500 $ 650 $
Terminal Droits fixes d’enregistrement de 750 $, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande 750 $ 750 $
Double (1) Trois heures au taux de 150 $ l’heure, indépendamment du nombre de normes applicables au matériel radio comprises dans la demande

(2) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio

(3) Droits fixes d’enregistrement de 750 $, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande
1 250 $ 1 400 $
Présentation d’une demande par l’entremis d’organismes de certification 1. Certification et/ou enregistrement d’un nouveau produit (et d’une nouvelle famille)

2. Certification et/ou enregistrement d’une famille (avec ou sans rapport d’essai)

3. Enregistrement multiple/transfert de CAT
Radio Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio 50 $ 200 $
Terminal Droits fixes d’enregistrement de 750 $, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande 750 $ 750 $
Double (1) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio 800 $ 950 $
4. Réévaluation — certification et/ou enregistrement Radio Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio $50 $200
Terminal Aucuns droits pour les terminaux, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande 0 $ 0 $
Double (1) Droits d’enregistrement de 50 $ pour chaque modèle d’appareil radio

(2) Aucuns droits pour les terminaux, indépendamment du nombre de modèles compris dans la demande
50 $ 200 $

1 La Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR) et la Nomenclature du matériel terminal (NMT) sont disponibles respectivement à l’adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/app/sitt/reltel/srch/nwRdSrch.do?lang=fra et à l’adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/app/sitt/reltel/srch/nwTrmnlSrch.do?lang=fra.


Comment télécharger un lecteur PDF
Pour consulter la version PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet :

Date de modification :