CPC-2-1-05 — Zone Enhancers

Issue 1
April 2008

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
Spectrum Management and Operations Branch
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

Attention: DOSP

Email: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Table of Contents

  1. Principle
  2. Mandate
  3. Related Documents
  4. Definitions
  5. General
  6. Licensing Policy
  7. Licensing Procedure
  8. Extenders

1. Principle

The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the objectives of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister is responsible for developing national policies and goals for spectrum resource use and ensuring effective management of the radio frequency spectrum.

2. Mandate

Section 5 of the Radiocommunication Act specifies that the Minister may issue radio licences in respect of radio apparatus. Section 6 of the Act specifies that the Governor in Council may exempt a radio apparatus from the requirement to be licensed.

3. Related Documents

Radio Standards Specification 131 - Zone Enhancers for the Land Mobile Service (RSS-131).

Client Procedures Circular 2-1-25 - Radio Station Licensing Procedure for Radiocommunication Service Providers - System Licensing (CPC-2-1-25).

Client Procedures Circular 2-1-23 - Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services (CPC-2-1-23).

4. Definitions

"Radiocommunication Service Provider" means a person, including a radiocommunication carrier, who operates radio apparatus used by that person or another person to provide radiocommunication services for compensation;

"Radiocommunication User" means a person who operates radio apparatus for personal or government use or for a business other than the business of a radiocommunication service provider;

"Spectrum Licence" means a licence issued for the utilization of specified radio frequencies within a defined geographic area.

5. General

Zone enhancers (aka "booster amplifiers") are used to improve the quality of a signal in shadowed locations. They are typically installed at locations where the signal strength of the main station, or the ability of the subscriber/mobile radio to communicate with the main station, is significantly impaired due to topography or building losses. Such locations include valleys, parking garages, larger buildings that have been constructed with materials that tend to inhibit radio frequency penetration, and communities located near fringe coverage areas. They can be deployed as part of cellular/personal communication service (PCS), paging or other land mobile systems; however, they are not intelligent devices, as they do not perform signal hand-offs.

Zone enhancer radio equipment must be certified for use in Canada in accordance with RSS-131, and is subject to licensing pursuant to subsection 4(1) of the Radiocommunication Act.

6. Licensing Policy

6.1 Cellular/PCS Enhancers

Radiocommunication service providers operating cellular/PCS systems may install and operate zone enhancers to improve services in areas of impaired coverage under the authority of their spectrum licence, and without any further authorization requirements from the Department.

Zone enhancers that operate on cellular/PCS frequencies are also available to the public through various outlets. Purchasers of these devices must obtain the consent of the licensed service provider before they can be installed and operated, as these devices have the potential to interfere with the proper operation of the cellular/PCS system, or to cause interference to other users of the radio frequency spectrum, if not installed correctly. Once the consent of the service provider is obtained, the enhancer may be installed and operated under the authority of the service provider's spectrum licence.

6.1.1 Cellular/PCS Mobile Enhancers

Mobile enhancers, also known as in-vehicle cellular amplifiers/repeaters, provide enhanced cellular/PCS signal levels within the confines of a vehicle with no physical connection to the cellular telephone(s) itself. These types of devices utilize two antennas, one external to the vehicle and one internal. The cellular/PCS signal is received by the external antenna, amplified, and then repeated from the internal antenna. Conversely, when the cellular/PCS telephone(s) transmits, the signal is received by the internal antenna, amplified, and then repeated to the cell site via the external antenna.

The licensing policy for cellular/PCS mobile enhancers is identical to the licensing policy for fixed cellular/PCS enhancers (see Section 6.1); purchasers of these devices must obtain the consent of the licensed service provider before they can be installed and operated. As these devices also have the potential to interfere with the proper operation of the cellular/PCS system, or to cause interference to other users of the radio frequency spectrum, they must be installed in accordance with manufacturer's recommendations.

6.2 Non Cellular/PCS Enhancers

Radiocommunication service providers operating systems that provide non cellular/PCS services may also install and operate zone enhancers to improve services in areas of impaired coverage; however, site and frequency-specific radio authorizations are required.

Customers of radiocommunication service providers that choose to obtain a zone enhancer for installation at a specific location to enhance non cellular/PCS service must advise the service provider of their intent and receive appropriate consent. As a zone enhancer is not considered a subscriber station (see RIC-19), the radio authorization for the device must be held by the service provider.

Site and frequency-specific radio authorizations are also required for radiocommunication users (e.g. police, transit, etc.) who choose to install and operate zone enhancers associated with their systems.

6.3 Technical Requirements

  • The zone enhancer's power must respect the following limits: 
    • if the zone enhancer utilizes an internal antenna installation (an antenna located within a building), an effective radiated power (e.r.p.) of 30 watts maximum per channel is permitted;
    • if the zone enhancer utilizes an external antenna installation with a maximum height above ground level of 13.5 metres, an e.r.p. of 10 watts maximum per channel is permitted; and
    • antenna heights greater than 13.5 metres, to a maximum of 30 metres above ground level, require e.r.p. reductions in accordance with the following table: 

      Effective Antenna Height Maximum e.r.p.
      (metres) (feet) (watts) (dBw)
      0-13.5 0-44.3 10 10.0
      14 45.9 9.2 9.6
      15 49.2 7.9 9
      16 52.5 6.8 8.3
      17 55.8 6 7.8
      18 59.1 5.3 7.2
      19 62.3 4.7 6.7
      20 65.6 4.2 6.2
      21 68.9 3.7 5.7
      22 72.2 3.4 5.3
      23 75.5 3 4.8
      24 78.7 2.8 4.5
      25 82 2.5 4
      26 85.3 2.3 3.6
      27 88.6 2.1 3.2
      28 91.9 2 3
      29 95.1 1.8 2.6
      30 98.4 1.7 2.3
  • The coverage area of the zone enhancer must be totally within the coverage area of the main station;
  • The zone enhancer must operate on frequencies in use and licensed at the main station.

7. Licensing Procedure

As noted in Section 6.1, a site-specific radio authorization is not required for an enhancer installed to improve cellular/PCS signal levels. Non cellular/PCS enhancers, however, require the submission of a radio licence application and the issuance of a radio authorization. All zone enhancer authorizations will contain the following condition: 

Authority is granted on a no-interference, no-protection basis and is subject to departmental review and/or withdrawal.

(For Industry Canada Use -- Channel Capacity: 01, Service Category: FB, Fee Code: E)

8. Extenders

An enhancer placed at the edge of a coverage area may increase (or extend) the coverage area of the main station. These types of installations are permitted for cellular/PCS systems in accordance with the same licensing policies provided for enhancers (see Section 6.1). The use of enhancers as extenders in non cellular/PCS systems is subject to departmental review on a case-by-case basis; site-specific radio licensing applies.

Date modified:

CPC-2-1-05 — Enrichisseurs de zone

1re édition
Avril 2008

Les intéressés désireux de faire parvenir leurs observations ou propositions peuvent les adresser à:

Industrie Canada
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

À l'attention de la DOSP

Par courriel : ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Dans nos publications, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

Table des matières

  1. Principe
  2. Mandat
  3. Documents connexes
  4. Définitions
  5. Généralités
  6. Politique de délivrance des licences
  7. Procédure de délivrance des licences
  8. Extenseurs

1. Principe

En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et des objectifs contenus dans la Loi sur les télécommunications, le ministre de l'Industrie est responsable de la gestion du spectre au Canada. À cet égard, il veille à l'élaboration des objectifs et des politiques nationales pour une utilisation efficace du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques.

2. Mandat

L'article 5 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication (la Loi) prévoit que le Ministre peut délivrer des licences radio pour les appareils radio. L'article 6 de la Loi établit que le gouverneur en conseil peut exempter un appareil radio de l'obligation de licence.

3. Documents connexes

Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 131, Enrichisseurs de zone pour le service mobile terrestre (CNR-131).

Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-1-25, Procédure de délivrance de licences à l'égard des stations radio des fournisseurs de services radio - Licences de système (CPC-2-1-25).

Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-1-23, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre (CPC-2-1-23).

4. Définitions

« Fournisseur de services radio » désigne la personne, notamment un transporteur de radiocommunications, qui fait fonctionner un appareil radio au moyen duquel elle ou une autre personne fournit des services de radiocommunications moyennant contrepartie.

« Usager radio » désigne la personne qui fait fonctionner un appareil radio à des fins personnelles ou gouvernementales, ou pour une entreprise autre que celle d'un fournisseur de services radio.

« Licence de spectre » désigne la licence délivrée pour l'exploitation de fréquences radioélectriques particulières dans une zone géographique définie.

5. Généralités

Les enrichisseurs de zone (« suramplificateurs ») servent à améliorer la qualité des signaux dans les zones d'ombre. Ils sont en général installés là où la topographie ou des immeubles diminuent sensiblement l'intensité du signal de la station principale ou la capacité de l'abonné ou de la station mobile de communiquer avec la station principale, par exemple dans des vallées, des parcs de stationnement couverts, de grands immeubles construits avec des matériaux qui tendent à empêcher la pénétration des signaux RF, et dans des localités situées aux limites d'une zone de couverture. Ils peuvent être déployés dans le cadre de services cellulaires ou de communications personnelles, de radiotéléappel ou d'autres services mobiles terrestres, mais ce ne sont pas des dispositifs intelligents et ils n'assurent donc pas le transfert d'une liaison.

L'équipement radio enrichisseur de zone doit être certifié pour utilisation au Canada conformément au CNR-131 et faire l'objet d'une licence conformément au paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

6. Politique de délivrance des licences

6.1 Enrichisseurs pour systèmes cellulaires et de communications personnelles

Les fournisseurs de services radio qui exploitent des systèmes cellulaires et de communications personnelles peuvent installer et exploiter des enrichisseurs de zone afin d'améliorer le service dans des zones où la couverture est dégradée, en vertu de leur licence de spectre et sans autre autorisation du Ministère.

Les enrichisseurs de zone qui utilisent les fréquences des services cellulaires et de communications personnelles sont également accessibles au public en divers points de service. Les acheteurs doivent obtenir le consentement du fournisseur de service autorisé avant de pouvoir installer et exploiter leurs dispositifs, car ceux-ci pourraient entraver le bon fonctionnement du système cellulaire ou de communications personnelles, ou causer du brouillage à d'autres utilisateurs du spectre s'ils ne sont pas bien installés. Une fois que le fournisseur de service a donné son consentement, l'enrichisseur peut être installé et exploité en vertu de la licence de spectre dudit fournisseur.

6.1.1 Enrichisseurs mobiles cellulaires/SCP

Les enrichisseurs mobiles, appelés aussi « amplificateurs/répéteurs cellulaires de véhicule », émettent un signal cellulaire/SCP amélioré à l'intérieur d'un véhicule sans connexion physique au(x) téléphone(s) cellulaire(s) proprement dits. Ces types de dispositifs utilisent deux antennes, l'une extérieure au véhicule, et l'autre intérieure. Le signal cellulaire/SCP est reçu par l'antenne extérieure, amplifié, puis retransmis par l'antenne intérieure. Inversement, lorsque le(s) téléphone(s) cellulaire(s) émet ou émettent, le signal est reçu par l'antenne intérieure, amplifié, puis retransmis par l'antenne extérieure vers la station cellulaire.

La politique de délivrance de licences pour les enrichisseurs mobiles cellulaires/SCP est identique à celle qui s'applique aux enrichisseurs fixes cellulaires/SCP (voir la section 6.1); les acheteurs de ces dispositifs doivent obtenir le consentement du fournisseur de service autorisé avant de procéder à l'installation et à l'exploitation. Comme ces dispositifs peuvent gêner le bon fonctionnement du système cellulaire/SCP ou causer du brouillage à d'autres utilisateurs du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques, il est impératif qu'ils soient installés conformément aux recommandations du fabricant.

6.2 Enrichisseurs pour systèmes autres que cellulaires et de communications personnelles

Les fournisseurs de services radio qui exploitent des systèmes offrant des services autres que cellulaires et de communications personnelles peuvent également installer et exploiter des enrichisseurs de zone afin d'améliorer le service dans des zones où la couverture est dégradée; ils sont toutefois tenus d'obtenir à cette fin des autorisations radio particulières pour l'emplacement et la fréquence.

Les clients de fournisseurs de services radio qui comptent acquérir un enrichisseur de zone pour l'installer à un emplacement particulier afin d'améliorer des services autres que cellulaires et de communications personnelles doivent en informer leur fournisseur de service et obtenir son consentement. Étant donné qu'un enrichisseur de zone n'est pas considéré comme une station d'abonné (voir CIR-19), l'autorisation radio du dispositif doit être détenue par le fournisseur de service.

Les usagers radio (police, transport en commun, etc.) qui décident d'installer et d'exploiter des enrichisseurs de zone associées à leurs systèmes doivent également obtenir des autorisations radio particulières pour l'emplacement et la fréquence.

6.3 Exigences techniques

  • Un enrichisseur de zone doit respecter les limites de puissance suivantes :
    • dans le cas d'un enrichisseur de zone qui utilise une installation d'antenne intérieure (c.-à-d. une antenne installée à l'intérieur d'un immeuble), la puissance apparente rayonnée (p.a.r.) ne doit pas dépasser 30 watts par canal;
    • dans le cas d'un enrichisseur de zone qui utilise une installation d'antenne extérieure dont la hauteur au-dessus du niveau du sol ne dépasse pas 13,5 mètres, la puissance apparente rayonnée (p.a.r.) ne doit pas dépasser 10 watts par canal;
    • dans le cas d'une antenne dont la hauteur au-dessus du niveau du sol est supérieure à 13,5 mètres, sans toutefois dépasser la hauteur maximale de 30 mètres, la p.a.r. doit être réduite conformément aux valeurs du tableau ci-dessous :
      Hauteur d'antenne équivalente p.a.r. maximale
      (mètres) (pieds) (watts) (dBw)
      0-13,5 0-44,3 10 10,0
      14 45,9 9,2 9,6
      15 49,2 7,9 9
      16 52,5 6,8 8,3
      17 55,8 6 7,8
      18 59,1 5,3 7,2
      19 62,3 4,7 6,7
      20 65,6 4,2 6,2
      21 68,9 3,7 5,7
      22 72,2 3,4 5,3
      23 75,5 3 4,8
      24 78,7 2,8 4,5
      25 82 2,5 4
      26 85,3 2,3 3,6
      27 88,6 2,1 3,2
      28 91,9 2 3
      29 95,1 1,8 2,6
      30 98,4 1,7 2,3
  • La zone de couverture de l'enrichisseur doit être entièrement incluse dans la zone de couverture de la station principale;
  • L'enrichisseur de zone doit utiliser les fréquences autorisées, exploitées par la station principale.

7. Procédure de délivrance des licences

Comme l'indique la section 6.1, une autorisation radio pour un emplacement en particulier n'est pas requise dans le cas d'un enrichisseur installé pour améliorer la qualité de signaux des services cellulaires et de communications personnelles. Toutefois, dans le cas des autres enrichisseurs, il faut présenter une demande de licence radio et obtenir une autorisation radio. Toutes les autorisations d'enrichisseurs de zone doivent comporter la condition suivante :

L'exploitation d'un enrichisseur de zone est autorisée en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection. L'autorisation pourra être revue et/ou retirée par le Ministère.

(À l'usage d'Industrie Canada -- capacité en canaux : 01, catégorie de service : FB, code de droits : E)

8. Extenseurs

Un enrichisseur placé en limite de couverture peut augmenter (ou étendre) la zone de couverture de la station principale. Ces types d'installations sont permis pour les systèmes cellulaires et de communications personnelles conformément aux politiques de délivrance de licences visant les enrichisseurs en général (voir section 6.1). L'utilisation d'enrichisseurs comme extenseurs dans des systèmes autres que cellulaires et de communications personnelles est assujettie à un examen ponctuel par le Ministère; la politique de délivrance de licences radio pour un emplacement particulier est alors applicable.

Date de modification :