Stakeholders Consultation Session — Setting Arbitration Rules for Mandated Roaming and Antenna Tower Sharing Disputes

In February 2008, following a public consultation process, Industry Canada released Gazette Notice DGRB-002-08. The Notice provided amended licence conditions with respect to mandated roaming and antenna tower and site sharing and to prohibit exclusive site arrangements. It also provided the next steps in the process of ensuring that an arbitration mechanism is in place to facilitate the completion of roaming agreements and site-sharing agreements.

As indicated in the Notice, Industry Canada will be holding a stakeholder consultation session to discuss the procedures and rules that will apply to arbitrations by ADR Chambers regarding mandated roaming and antenna tower sharing. The session will assist Industry Canada in developing the arbitration procedures and rules.

The Process:

Prior to the stakeholders consultation session, draft rules will be sent to participants and non-participants who request a copy.

ADR Chambers will facilitate a full day session with stakeholders to discuss certain sections of a draft of Industry Canada's arbitration rules for roaming and antenna tower disputes.

Following the session, the Department will Gazette the rules and provide an opportunity for final comments. The final version of the arbitration procedures and rules will be incorporated by reference into the conditions of licence.

Where/When:

Tentatively scheduled for May 23, 2008; Downtown Toronto.

Who Can Attend?

Attendance is restricted to those who submitted comments in our consultation as well as other stakeholders who will be subject to, or affected by, the roaming and sharing conditions of licence. These are considered to be current or potential future holders of radiocommunication carrier licences from Industry Canada. Please note that we may restrict the number of participants per company if necessary.

Written Submissions

If you are unable to attend, you may request a copy of the draft rules which will be distributed prior to the session and submit your comments to us electronically. Those attending the session may also submit comments in writing. Those providing written comments are advised that Industry Canada will be posting all written submissions on our Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website.

Registration Required

While there is no fee for attending the session, you must register by return email.

RSVP: by April 18

Who to Contact to register or for further information:

Christine D'Aoust by email at ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

We look forward to your participation.

When registering please provide the following:

Name:
Company Name:
Email:
Telephone:



Heather Hall
Manager, Emerging Networks
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Industry Canada

Date modified:

Consultation des intervenants pour établir des règles d’arbitrage pour disputes concernant l'itinérance obligatoireet le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements

En février 2008, par suite de consultations publiques, Industrie Canada a publié l'avis de la Gazette DGRB-002-08. L'avis fait état des conditions de licence modifiées concernant l'itinérance obligatoire et le partage obligatoire des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs. L'avis énonce également les prochaines étapes du processus pour mettre en place un mécanisme d'arbitrage qui facilitera la conclusion d'ententes sur l'itinérance et le partage des emplacements.

Comme l'indique l'avis, Industrie Canada tiendra une séance de consultation avec les intervenants pour discuter les procédures et règles applicables au processus d'arbitrage qui sera mené par ADR Chambers au sujet de l'itinérance obligatoire et du partage obligatoire de pylônes d'antenne. La séance de consultation aidera à Industrie Canada à élaborer les procédures et règles d'arbitrage.

Le processus :

Une version préliminaire des règles sera envoyée aux intervenants ainsi qu'à ceux qui en feront la demande, avant la session de consultation.

ADR Chambers agira à titre de facilitateur pour la séance d'une journée complète avec les intervenants afin de discuter de certaines sections d'une version préliminaire des règles d'arbitrage d'Industrie Canada qui seront utilisées pour régler les différends à propos de l'itinérance et le partage des emplacements d'antennes.

Suite à la session, le Ministère publiera les règles d'arbitrage dans un Avis de la Gazette et donnera la chance aux intervenants d'y apporter des commentaires. La version finale des procédures et des règles d'arbitrage sera incorporée par renvoi, dans les conditions de licence.

Où/Quand :

Provisoirement prévue pour le 23 mai 2008; centre-ville de Toronto

Qui peux assister?

La participation est restreinte à ceux qui ont soumis des commentaires lors de notre consultation, ainsi qu'à autres intervenants qui seront assujettis ou affectés par les conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance et le partage. Ceux-ci sont considérés comme étant des déteneurs (présents ou futurs) de licences de transporteurs de radiocommunication d'Industrie Canada. Veuillez noter qu'il est possible que nous imposions une restriction au nombre de participants par compagnie.

Observations écrites

Ceux qui ne peuvent assister n'ont qu'à nous demander de leur faire parvenir une copie des règles qui seront distribuées avant la session. Ils pourront ensuite nous faire parvenir leurs commentaires par écrit. Ceux qui assisteront à notre session peuvent aussi nous faire parvenir leurs commentaires par écrit. Industrie Canada publiera tous les commentaires qu'il recevra par écrit sur son site de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications.

Inscriptions requises

La participation à la séance est gratuite, mais nous vous demandons de vous inscrire à l'avance en répondant au présent courriel.

Veuillez répondre au plus tard le 18 avril.

Qui contacter afin de s'inscrire ou pour avoir plus de détails :

Christine D'Aoust au courriel ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Nous espérons que vous pourrez participer à cette séance de consultation.

Pour vous inscrire, veuillez nous faire parvenir l'information suivante :

Nom :
Nom de compagnie :
Courriel :
Téléphone :



Heather Hall
Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents
Direction de la réglementation de la radiocommunication et de la radiodiffusion
Industrie Canada

Date de modification :