Letter from Industry Canada Responding to Requests to Delay Stakeholders Session Scheduled for May 23, 2008

May 2, 2008

Mr. Ken Engelhart
Senior Vice President - Regulatory
Rogers Communications Inc.
333 Bloor Street East
Toronto, Ontario
M4W 1G9

Mr. Barry Chapman
Vice President - Regulatory Affairs
Bell Mobility
110 O'Connor St., 6th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 1H1

Mr. Michael Hennessy
Vice-President, Wireless, Broadband and Content Policy
TELUS
215 Slater Street, 8th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 0A6

Dear Sirs:

The following is in response to your letters requesting that the stakeholders session scheduled for May 23, 2008 be postponed until after the upcoming Advanced Wireless Services (AWS) auction, which starts May 27, 2008. In your letters you have also asked that we limit participation at the session to provisional licensees resulting from the auction and current licensees. Further, you raised concerns with respect to the process used by Industry Canada for setting final arbitration rules.

Timing

The stakeholders session is scheduled for May 23, 2008, before the start of the AWS auction. One of Industry Canada's objectives in doing so is to provide as much certainty as possible to bidders who will potentially be making substantial investments in the AWS auction. Furthermore, the Department intends to establish the arbitration rules expeditiously to enable the implementation of the roaming and tower sharing conditions of licence at the earliest possible time.

While the Department realizes that this date coincides with the last day of the AWS mock auction, it is anticipated that the participants for each session would be from different areas of the company, hence representation at both events would cause minimal, if any, conflict. Department officials have spoken to many other stakeholders and the vast majority would like to proceed with the session as planned in order to establish the rules without delay, confirming that this was a higher priority than resolving the conflict of dates.

Stakeholder session participation

The Department recognizes that holding the stakeholders session prior to the auction means that it will not have the advantage of knowing which companies will ultimately be successful in the auction. That being said, the decision which announced the conditions of licence stated that the session would be open to those who submitted comments in the consultation as well as other stakeholders who will be subject to, or affected by, the roaming and sharing conditions of licence. As is the Department's usual practice in consultation processes, all interested parties are welcome to provide comments and written submissions which the Department will post on its website. With respect to attendance at the stakeholders session, the Department had indicated that it may restrict participation to increase the efficiency of the session and ensure that those most affected by the new rules can attend. As such, attendance at the stakeholders session is going to be restricted to those who submitted comments in the consultation (Gazette Notice DGRB-010-07) , qualified bidders in the upcoming AWS auction, and current radiocommunication carriers or their representatives.

Process for setting rules

In Gazette Notice DGRB-002-08- Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements the Department provided amended licence conditions which included a new procedure whereby companies would be sent to binding arbitration to settle any outstanding business disputes relating to mandated roaming and antenna tower sharing. The Notice also announced that Industry Canada would be organizing a stakeholder consultation session to assist the Department in developing arbitration rules and procedures. You have indicated that you consider there to be only limited opportunity for comment during the development of these rules.

The Department will be sending a copy of the draft rules to session participants and interested stakeholders and accepting written comments. A record of the stakeholders session along with all comments received, will be posted on the Department's website. Interested parties will then be provided an opportunity to submit reply comments. Feedback from the session, along with all written submissions received, will then be considered by the Department in formulating the final rules which will be published in the Canada Gazette and incorporated by reference into the conditions of licence. We consider that this will provide ample opportunity for input.

Industry Canada is planning to go ahead with the stakeholders session as planned on May 23, 2008.

Michael D. Connolly
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch

Date modified:

Lettre d'Industrie Canada en réponse aux demandes de reporter la session de consultation du 23 mai 2008 avec les intervenants.

Le 2 mai 2008

[traduction]

Monsieur Ken Engelhart
Vice-président principal - Réglementation
Rogers Communications Inc.
333, rue Bloor Est
Toronto (Ontario)
M4W 1G9

Monsieur Barry Chapman
Vice-président - Affaires réglementaires
Bell Mobilité
110, rue O'Connor, 6e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 1H1

Monsieur Michael Hennessy
Vice-président - Large bande, sans fil et politique du contenu
TELUS
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1P 0A6

Messieurs,

Par la présente, je viens répondre à votre demande de reporter la séance des intervenants fixée au 23 mai 2008 à une date postérieure à la prochaine vente aux enchères du spectre réservé aux services sans fil évolués (SSFE) qui débute le 27 mai 2008. Dans vos lettres, vous demandez également que la participation à la séance soit limitée aux titulaires provisoires de licences obtenues à l'enchère et aux titulaires actuels. De plus, vous exprimez des préoccupations sur le mécanisme mis en place par Industrie Canada pour l'établissement des règles finales d'arbitrage.

Choix des dates

La séance à l'intention des intervenants doit avoir lieu le 23 mai 2008, avant le début de la vente aux enchères des SSFE. Industrie Canada vise ainsi à assurer autant de certitudes que possible aux soumissionnaires qui pourraient investir de façon substantielle dans la vente aux enchères. De plus, le Ministère compte établir promptement les règles d'arbitrage pour accélérer l'application des conditions d'itinérance et de partage des pylônes d'antennes.

Bien que le Ministère sache que cette date coïncide avec la dernière journée des enchères des SSFE simulée, on sait aussi que les participants aux deux activités proviennent de différents services d'une entreprise, ce qui risque peu de causer un conflit en ce qui a trait à la participation. Des dirigeants ministériels se sont entretenus avec de nombreux autres intervenants et la majorité d'entre eux souhaitent que la séance se déroule au moment initialement prévu, ce qui nous a confirmé que la priorité était accordée à l'établissement rapide des règles plutôt qu'au débat sur les dates.

Participation à la séance des intervenants

Le Ministère reconnaît que la tenue de la séance des intervenants avant la vente aux enchères signifie qu'il n'aura pas l'avantage de savoir quelles entreprises auront réussi aux enchères. Cela étant dit, la décision annonçant les conditions de licences établissait que la séance serait ouverte aux intervenants qui formuleraient des commentaires au moment des consultations ainsi qu'aux autres intervenants visés ou touchés par les conditions de licence sur l'itinérance et le partage. Conformément aux pratiques ministérielles habituelles en matière de consultation, toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à formuler des commentaires et des observations écrites que le Ministère affichera sur son site Web. En ce qui a trait à la présence à la séance des intervenants, le Ministère a indiqué qu'il pourrait restreindre la participation pour augmenter l'efficacité de la séance et faire en sorte que ceux qui sont le plus touchés par les nouvelles règles puissent y assister. C'est pourquoi, la participation à la séance des intervenants sera limitée à ceux qui ont formulé des commentaires dans le cadre des consultations (Avis de la Gazette DGRB-010-07), aux soumissionnaires qualifiés pour la prochaine vente aux enchères de SSFE et aux transporteurs de radiocommunications actuels.

Processsus d'établissement des règles

Dans l'Avis de la Gazette DGRB-002-08- Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs, le Ministère a prévu des conditions de licences modifiées et une nouvelle procédure par laquelle les entreprises devront se soumettre à un mécanisme d'arbitrage exécutoire pour régler les conflits liés à l'itinérance obligatoire et au partage des pylônes d'antennes. L'Avis annonçait également qu'Industrie Canada tiendrait une consultation auprès des intervenants pour l'aider dans son élaboration des règles et procédures. Vous avez indiqué que selon vous, il y aura peu d'occasions de présenter des observations durant l'élaboration des règles.

Le Ministère fera parvenir une copie de la version préliminaire des règles aux participants à la séance et aux intervenants intéressés et acceptera les commentaires écrits. Le compte rendu de la séance des intervenants et tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web du Ministère. Les parties intéressées auront alors l'occasion de répondre aux commentaires. La rétroaction à la séance, ainsi que toutes les observations écrites reçues, seront prises en compte par le Ministère dans son élaboration des règles finales, lesquelles seront publiées dans la Gazette du Canada et intégrées par renvoi aux conditions de licence. Nous estimons que ces modalités prévoient amplement d'occasions de formuler des commentaires.

Industrie Canada compte aller de l'avant avec la séance des intervenants comme prévu, le 23 mai 2008.

Michael D. Connolly
Directeur général
Réglementation des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion

Date de modification :