Gazette Notice DGRB-003-08

Department of Industry
Department of Industry Act

Notice No. DGRB-003-08 — Fees for Spectrum in the Radio Frequency Band 4940-4990 MHz for Broadband Public Safety Communications

The Department of Industry is establishing a licence fee for the use of the radio frequency spectrum in the band 4940-4990 MHz for broadband public safety communications. This band will be dedicated primarily for use by public safety agencies to safeguard the lives and security of Canadians.

Introduction

Wireless communications technologies and applications are increasingly playing a crucial role in the ability of public safety agencies to carry out their functions and to deliver enhanced public safety services. The public safety community has reiterated its need for access to dedicated broadband radio frequency spectrum, stating that this band will be critical to the delivery of innovative, advanced applications such as high-speed wireless transfers of large files, images and video. The spectrum may also provide intranet access throughout operating territories. The release of this spectrum will provide public safety agencies with more frequency band options in which to deploy advanced communications applications and services to safeguard the lives and security of Canadians.

In July 2004, the Department added a primary mobile allocation in the band 4940-4990 MHz and designated its use for fixed and mobile systems in support of public safety. Stakeholders were invited to provide comments and suggestions to the Department through two sets of consultations. The first consultation was announced in July 2005 in Canada Gazette Notice DGTP-005-05, Proposed Spectrum Utilization Policy, Technical and Licensing Requirements for Broadband Public Safety in the Band 4940-4990 MHz, and later closed in October 2005. A second consultation was announced in October 2006 in Canada Gazette Notice DGRB-002-06, Spectrum Licence Fees for Broadband Public Safety in the Band 4940-4990 MHz, and concluded in November 2006.

The Department proposed an annual spectrum licence fee of $0.004166 per 50 MHz per population subject to a minimum fee of $250.00Footnote 1 for the provision of broadband public safety communications in this band. The Department also proposed that spectrum licences in this band would have a term of 10 years and fees would be payable to the Department by March 31 of each year.

Both consultations emphasized: the importance of making this spectrum available to the public safety community; the new and enhanced services that the spectrum will support; and the anticipated improvements in the delivery of public safety services. In response to the proposed fee, several stakeholders voiced concerns about charging licence fees to public safety agencies, citing concern that the development and deployment of public safety services, as well as the interoperability between public safety agencies, may be hindered if licensees are unable to afford the fee. However, the Department did not receive a strong negative reaction, as the proposed fee is considered reasonable. Furthermore, no alternate fee level was proposed.

Typically, network systems deployed for wireless communications can cost hundreds of thousands, if not millions of dollars. Based on the review of existing fees in Canada and other countries, the Department believes that this fee will not hinder the ability of public safety agencies to provide essential services, as it represents only a small portion of the total cost to implement and maintain a communications system. In addition, the Department's analysis of its spectrum licence fees has determined that the fee for this band provides a reasonable assessment of the economic value for the use of this spectrum and that it is in line with the fees paid for spectrum in other bands, including those utilized by public safety agencies.

In accordance with the User Fees Act, the fee was presented to both Houses of Parliament and was approved in early 2008 during the 2nd Session of the 39th Parliament.

Fee Schedule

The Minister of Industry, pursuant to section 19 of the Department of Industry Act, hereby fixes the following spectrum licence fee, effective the date of publication of this notice in the Canada Gazette. The fee is applicable to spectrum licences issued by the Minister pursuant to paragraph 5(1)(a) of the Radiocommunication Act to establish broadband public safety communications systems in accordance with the terms of the licence.

Interpretation

1. For the purpose of this fee schedule,

"service area" means the defined geographic area specified on the spectrum licence;

"specified frequencies" means the full 50 MHz of spectrum in the band 4940-4990 MHz specified on the spectrum licence;

"population" means the number of individuals residing in the service area as determined by Statistics Canada and as specified for the service area on the spectrum licence;

"annual fee" means the fee payable for the continuance in force of the spectrum licence until the spectrum licence expires.

Annual Spectrum Licence Fee

2.1 The annual spectrum licence fee, payable with respect to the specified frequencies upon which a public safety entity is authorized to operate, is $0.004166 per 50 MHz per population in the band 4940-4990 MHz for the authorized service area specified on the spectrum licence.

2.2 The minimum annual spectrum licence fee with respect to a spectrum licence issued under subsection 2.1 is $250.00.

2.3 The annual spectrum licence fee is calculated based on 50 MHz of radio frequency spectrum in the band 4940-4990 MHz.

2.4 The applicable annual spectrum licence fee payable pursuant to subsection 2.1 or 2.2 applies to all new and existing licences effective on the date of publication of this notice.

Schedule I

Table 4: Examples of Annual Spectrum Licence Fees for Select Canadian Service Areas
Service Area Population* Spectrum Fee
($0.004166/50 MHz/pop)
National 31,612,897 $131,699
Province of Quebec 7,546,131 $31,437
Greater Toronto Area 5,113,149 $21,301
Montréal 3,635,571 $15,146
Vancouver 2,116,581 $8,818
Calgary 1,079,310 $4,496
Halifax 372,858 $1,553
Charlottetown
(minimum fee)
58,625 $250

* 2006 Census population data.

Prorated Spectrum Licence Fees

3. For new spectrum licensees, the month that the Minister issues the initial spectrum licence determines the applicable prorated fee.

4. The prorated fee is 1/12 of the total applicable annual licence fee, for each month until March 31 of the current fiscal year.

5. The prorated fee for the current fiscal year's spectrum licence is due on the date of licence issuance.

General Notes

6. Spectrum licences issued for the frequency band 4940-4990 MHz are for shared use.

7. The aggregate fees are rounded to the nearest dollar.

8. The annual licence renewal fees are due on or before March 31 for the subsequent year commencing on April 1.

9. These fees may be revised from time to time.

May 12, 2008

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., Q.C., M.P.
Minister of Industry

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The minimum licence fee is $250.00 for service areas with populations of 60,000 people or less.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Date modified:

Avis de la Gazette DGRB-003-08

Ministère de l'Industrie
Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie

Avis no DGRB-003-08 — Droits de licences de spectre pour les communications de sécurité publique à large bande dans la gamme de radiofréquences 4 940-4 990 MHz

Par les présentes, le ministère de l'Industrie établit des droits de licences pour l'utilisation du spectre des radiofréquences dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz pour les communications de sécurité publique à large bande. Cette bande sera principalement réservée à l'usage des organismes de sécurité publique afin de préserver la vie et la sécurité des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

Introduction

De plus en plus, les technologies et les applications de communication sans fil jouent un rôle crucial dans la capacité des organismes de sécurité publique d'exercer leurs fonctions et de fournir des services de sécurité publique améliorés. La communauté de la sécurité publique a exprimé de nouveau son besoin d'avoir accès à une bande de radiofréquences réservées pour les communications à large bande, en faisant valoir que cette bande sera essentielle pour la mise en œuvre d'applications novatrices et évoluées, comme le transfert sans fil à haute vitesse de gros fichiers, d'images et de vidéo. Cette bande pourrait également fournir un accès à l'intranet partout dans le territoire d'opération. La libération de ces fréquences offrira plus d'options de bandes de fréquences aux organismes de sécurité publique pour élaborer des applications et des services de communication évolués afin de préserver la vie et la sécurité des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

En juillet 2004, le Ministère a ajouté une attribution primaire au service mobile dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz et a désigné son utilisation pour les systèmes fixes et mobiles à l'appui de la sécurité publique. Les intéressés ont été invités à faire leurs commentaires et leurs suggestions au Ministère au cours de deux périodes de consultation. La première consultation a été annoncée en juillet 2005 dans l'avis DGTP-005-05 de la Gazette du Canada, Projet de politique d'utilisation du spectre et exigences techniques relatives à la délivrance des licences pour les services de sécurité publique large bande dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz, et s'est terminée en octobre 2005. La seconde consultation a été annoncée en octobre 2006 dans l'avis DGRB-002-06 de la Gazette du Canada, Droits de licences de spectre pour les services de sécurité publique à large bande dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz, et a pris fin en novembre 2006.

Le Ministère a proposé des droits annuels de licences de spectre de 0,004166 $ par 50 MHz par population, avec des droits minimum de 250,00 $Note en bas de page 1 pour la prestation, dans cette bande, de communications de sécurité publique à large bande. Le Ministère a également proposé que les licences de spectre dans cette bande aient une durée de 10 ans et que les droits soient acquittés au Ministère au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année.

Les deux consultations ont mis en évidence : l'importance de rendre ces fréquences disponibles pour la communauté de la sécurité publique; les services nouveaux et améliorés que ces fréquences appuieront; et les améliorations anticipées dans la prestation des services de sécurité publique. En ce qui a trait aux droits proposés, plusieurs intéressés ont exprimé des réserves sur l'idée d'imposer des droits de licences aux organismes de sécurité publique, en faisant remarquer que le développement et la mise en œuvre de services de sécurité publique et l'interopérabilité entre les organismes de sécurité publique pourraient être entravés si les titulaires de licence étaient incapables de payer les droits. Toutefois, le Ministère n'a pas reçu de réaction négative importante, car les droits proposés sont considérés comme étant raisonnables. De plus, aucun autre tarif de remplacement n'a été proposé.

Les systèmes en réseau mis en œuvre pour la communication sans fil peuvent souvent coûter des centaines de milliers, parfois même des millions de dollars. Après avoir examiné les droits en vigueur au Canada et dans d'autres pays, le Ministère croit que ces droits n'entraveront pas la capacité des organismes de sécurité publique de fournir les services essentiels puisqu'ils ne représentent qu'une petite partie du coût total d'implantation et de maintenance d'un système de communication. De plus, le Ministère a analysé ses droits de licence de spectre et a conclu que les droits pour cette bande représentent une évaluation raisonnable de la valeur économique de l'utilisation de ces fréquences et qu'ils concordent avec les droits exigés pour le spectre dans d'autres bandes, y compris celles qui sont utilisées par des organismes de sécurité publique.

Conformément à la Loi sur les frais d'utilisation, les droits ont été présentés aux deux chambres du Parlement et approuvés au début de 2008, durant la 2e session de la 39e législature.

Barème de droits

Aux termes de l'article 19 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, le ministre de l'Industrie fixe les droits de licence de spectre ci-après, en date de publication du présent avis dans la Gazette du Canada. Les droits sont applicables aux licences de spectre émises par le Ministre aux termes de l'alinéa 5(1)a) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication en vue d'établir des systèmes de communication de sécurité publique à large bande conformément aux conditions de la licence.

Interprétation

1. Aux fins du présent barème de droits,

« zone de service » désigne la zone géographique définie qui est spécifiée dans la licence de spectre;

« fréquences spécifiées » désigne toutes les fréquences d'une bande de 50 MHz dans la gamme 4 940-4 990 MHz qui sont spécifiées dans la licence de spectre;

« population » désigne le nombre de personnes dans la zone de service tel que déterminé par Statistique Canada et tel que précisé pour la zone de service dans la licence de spectre;

« droits annuels » désigne les droits à acquitter pour que la licence de spectre demeure en vigueur, jusqu'à l'expiration de cette licence.

Droits annuels de licences de spectre

2.1 Les droits annuels de licences de spectre, à acquitter pour les fréquences spécifiées qu'un organisme de sécurité publique est autorisé à utiliser, s'élèvent à 0,004166 $ par 50 MHz par population dans la bande de 4 940-4 990 MHz pour la zone de service autorisée qui est spécifiée dans la licence de spectre.

2.2 Les droits annuels minimaux de licences de spectre applicables à une licence délivrée conformément au paragraphe 2.1 s'élèvent à 250,00 $.

2.3 Le calcul des droits annuels de licences de spectre est basé sur 50 MHz du spectre de radiofréquences dans la bande de 4 940-4 990 MHz.

2.4 Les droits annuels pour les licences de spectre doivent être acquittés conformément au paragraphe 2.1 ou 2.2 et ils affectent toutes les licences (nouvelles et existantes) à compter de la date de publication du présent avis.

Annexe I

Tableau 4 : Exemples de droits annuels de licences de spectre pour certaines zones de services au Canada

Zone de service Population * Droits
(0,004166 $/50 MHz/pop.)
Canada 31 612 897 131 699 $
Province de Québec 7 546 131 31 437 $
Région du Grand Toronto 5 113 149 21 301 $
Montréal 3 635 571 15 146 $
Vancouver 2 116 581 8 818 $
Calgary 1 079 310 4 496 $
Halifax 372 858  1 553 $
Charlottetown
(droits minimaux)
58 625 250 $

* Données du recensement de 2006

Droits de licences de spectre au prorata

3. Les droits au prorata applicables aux nouveaux titulaires de licences seront basés sur le mois pendant lequel le Ministre a délivré la licence de spectre initiale.

4. Les droits établis au prorata correspondent à 1/12 des droits annuels totaux de licences de spectre, applicables chaque mois jusqu'au 31 mars de l'année financière en cours.

5. Les droits établis au prorata pour l'année financière en cours sont dus à la date de délivrance de la licence.

Notes générales 

6. Les licences de spectre dans la bande 4 940-4 990 MHz visent l'usage partagé.

7. Les droits cumulatifs sont arrondis au dollar le plus près.

8. Les droits de renouvellement de licences annuels sont dus au plus tard le 31 mars pour l'année financière subséquente commençant le 1er avril.

9. Ces droits pourront être revus au besoin.

Le 12 mai 2008

Le ministre de l'Industrie
L'honorable Jim Prentice, c.p., c.r., député

Notes en bas de page

Note en bas de page 1

Les droits minimaux de 250,00 $ s'appliqueraient aux zones de service d'une population de 60 000 ou moins.

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1