Archived—Gazette Notice - DGTP-002-08

Department of Industry

Telecommunications Act

Notice No. DGTP-002-08 - Petition to the Governor in Council Concerning Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-6

Subsection 12(1) of the Telecommunications Act provides that, within one year after a decision by the Commission, the Governor in Council may, on petition in writing presented to the Governor in Council within ninety days after the decision, or on the Governor in Council's own motion, by order, vary or rescind the decision or refer it back to the Commission for reconsideration of all or a portion of it.

Notice is hereby given that a petition from Imagine Canada and the Association of Fundraising Professionals has been received by the Governor in Council (GIC) under subsection 12(1) of the Telecommunications Act with respect to the following decision issued by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC): Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-6, Delegation of the Commission's investigative powers with regard to Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules complaints. In Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-6, the Commission amended the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules established in Telecom Decision 2007-48, by adding a requirement that all telemarketers and clients of telemarketers, including those exclusively making unsolicited telecommunications that are exempt from the National Do Not Call List Rules, register with, and provide information to, the National Do Not Call List operator and pay applicable fees that may be charged by the Complaints Investigator delegate.

The petitioners are asking the Governor in Council to direct the CRTC to vary or rescind a narrow and particular aspect of Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-6 in order to exempt charities from the application of a new unsolicited telecommunications rule. The reasons for the request are included in the petition.

Submissions regarding this petition should be filed within 60 days of the publication of this notice in the Canada Gazette. All comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Submitting Comments

Submissions should be addressed to: Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet, Langevin Block, 80 Wellington Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0A3.

A copy of all submissions should also be sent to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, preferably in electronic format, (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following email address: telecom@ic.gc.ca. Written copies can be sent to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, 16th Floor, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, publication date, title, and notice reference number (DGTP-002-2008).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of all relevant petitions and submissions received in response may be obtained electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum under Gazette Notices and Petitions. It is the responsibility of interested parties to check the public record from time to time to keep abreast of submissions received.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of notices can be ordered by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

May 13, 2008


_______________
Leonard St-Aubin
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette - DGTP-002-08

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur les télécommunications

Avis no DGTP-002-08 - Pétition présentée au gouverneur en conseil concernant la Décision de télécom CRTC 2008-6

En vertu du paragraphe 12(1) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, dans l'année qui suit la prise d'une décision par le Conseil, le gouverneur en conseil peut, par décret, soit de sa propre initiative, soit sur demande écrite présentée dans les quatre-vingt-dix jours de cette prise, modifier ou annuler la décision ou la renvoyer au Conseil pour réexamen de tout ou partie de celle-ci.

Avis est par la présente donné que le gouverneur en conseil a reçu de Imagine Canada et de l'Association of Fundraising Professionals en vertu du paragraphe 12(1) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, une pétition concernant la décision suivante rendue par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) : Décision de télécom CRTC 2008-6, Délégation des pouvoirs d'enquête du Conseil concernant les plaintes déposées en vertu des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Dans la Décision de télécom 2008-6, le Conseil a modifié les Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées établies dans la Décision de télécom 2007-48, en ajoutant l'exigence que tous les télévendeurs et les clients de télévendeurs, y compris ceux qui effectuent exclusivement des télécommunications non sollicitées qui ne sont pas visées par les Règles sur la liste nationale de numéros de télécommunications exclus (LNNTE), s'inscrivent auprès de l'administrateur de la LNNTE pour lui donner les renseignements requis et qu'ils versent les frais applicables que pourrait leur imposer l'enquêteur délégataire.

Les pétitionnaires demandent au gouverneur en conseil d'ordonner au CRTC de modifier ou d'annuler un aspect particulier et précis de la Décision de télécom 2008-6 afin d'exempter les organismes de bienfaisance de l'application de la nouvelle règle sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Les raisons justifiant la demande sont incluses dans la pétition.

Les commentaires relatifs à cette pétition doivent être présentés dans les 60 jours suivant la date de publication de l'avis de celle-ci dans la Gazette du Canada. Tous les commentaires reçus seront affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Pour soumettre des commentaires

Les commentaires doivent être adressés au : Greffier du conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet, édifice Langevin, 80, rue Wellington, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A3.

Une copie de tous les commentaires doit également être transmise au directeur général, Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications, préférablement sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse électronique suivante : telecom@ic.gc.ca. Les copies écrites peuvent être envoyées au directeur général, Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications, 16e étage, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent porter la date de publication de la pétition dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, le titre de la pétition, ainsi que le numéro de référence de l'avis la concernant (DGTP-002-2008).

Comment obtenir des copies

Des copies de toutes les pétitions pertinentes et de tous les commentaires pertinents reçus à leur sujet peuvent être obtenues par voie électronique sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum, à la rubrique intitulée Avis de la Gazette et demandes. Il incombe aux parties intéressées de consulter le dossier public de temps à autre afin de se tenir au courant des commentaires reçus.

Des copies officielles des avis publiés dans la Gazette du Canada peuvent être obtenues sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Il est possible de commander les copies papier en appelant le comptoir de vente des Éditions du Gouvernement du Canada au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 13 mai 2008

Le directeur général,
Direction générale
de la politique des télécommunications


_______________
Leonard St-Aubin

Date de modification :