Treaty Series 1962 No. 15 — Coordination and Use of Radio Frequencies — Exchange of Notes between Canada and the United States of America

Ottawa, October 24, 1962
Entered into force October 24, 1962

Exchange of Notes (October 24, 1962) Between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America Concerning the Coordination and Use of Radio Frequencies Above Thirty Megacycles per Second

I

The Chargé d'Affaires, a.i. of the United States  Embassy in Canada to the Secretary of State for External Affairs

Embassy of the United States of America

Ottawa, October 24, 1962

№ 107

Dear Sir:

I have the honour to refer to discussions which have taken place between representatives of the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America relating to the coordination and use of radio frequencies above thirty megacycles per second. In the course of these discussions, the sovereign right of each country to regulate its use of radio frequencies was acknowledged. Also, the desirability of providing for adequate spectrum space to meet equitably the requirements of the radio services of both Canada and the United States, now and in the future, was recognized. In addition, the representatives recognized that it was the mutual advantage of both countries to avoid harmful interference to each other's radio services and they noted the major developments that have taken place and are taking place in both countries in that part of the radio frequency spectrum allocated internationally by the International Telecommunication Union from thirty megacycles per second (30 Mc/s) up to forty gigacycles per second (40 Gc/s).

In the interest of efficient spectrum management the representatives have made the following proposals and drafted the attached Technical Annex which constitutes a part of them:

  1. The two countries will continue to recognize those frequency arrangements already in effect for bands above 30 Mc/s as described in the Technical Annex;
  2. They will establish, where mutually determined as being feasible and desirable, arrangements for the coordination of radio frequency assignments in those bands above 30 Mc/s for which there are no existing procedures;
  3. Where mutually determined as being feasible and desirable, and in order to facilitate development in both countries, joint frequency allotment plans should be developed by Canada and the United States for particular frequency bands and radio services above 30 Mc/s;
  4. The arrangements referred to in sub-paragraphs (2) and (3) above shall be as specified in the Technical Annex;
  5. Additional frequency bands, in which frequency coordination procedures should be developed or in which frequency allotment plans should be developed, may be added from time to time to the Technical Annex by listing them in the Index thereto, together with the designation of the Agencies responsible for such development;
  6. (a) The procedure to be followed in amending the Index to the Technical Annex as envisaged in sub-paragraph (5) would be that specified in sub-paragraph (12) (a) below;

    (b) The modification of frequency coordination procedures or joint frequency allotment plans in a particular band shall be the responsibility of the Agencies specified in the Index to the Technical Annex;
  7. (a) Radio broadcasting shall continue to be the subject of separate agreements and therefore is excluded from the provisions of this Note;

    (b) The coordination and use of frequencies by the amateur radio service are excluded from the provisions of this Note;
  8. In those bands where frequency coordination procedures have been established, when it is considered that the use of frequencies at locations not included in such procedures might result in harmful interference to the radio services of the other country, the assignment of the frequencies involved may, to the extent practicable, be the subject of special coordination by the Agencies authorized by the two Governments as specified in the Technical Annex;
  9. The authorized Agencies shall be responsible in their respective countries for the implementation of the frequency coordination procedures and joint frequency allotment plans provided for in this Note, as specified in the Technical Annex;
  10. It is recognized that existing coordination channels are adequate and nothing in this Note is intended to be construed as indicating a need for change in such channels unless and until such change is considered desirable by both parties hereto;
  11. This Note shall not be deemed to affect or supersede any other international agreements in the field of telecommunications in force for either country;
  12. (a) This Note may be amended by an Exchange of Notes between authorized representatives of the two Governments;

    (b) Any amendments or modifications to the Technical Annex other than those provided for in sub-paragraph (5) will be effected administratively by the Agencies specified either in the Technical Annex or in the Exchange of Notes provided for under sub-paragraph (6) (a);

    (c) All amendments or modifications made pursuant to sub-paragraph (12) (b) above shall be notified to the Department of External Affairs of Canada and the Department of State of the United States of America by the respective Agencies of each country.

Accordingly, I propose that this Note with the Technical Annex and your reply shall constitute an Agreement for the coordination and use of radio frequencies above thirty megacycles per second between our two Governments, effective from the date of your reply. Furthermore, because of its nature, I propose that, if you concur, this Agreement may only be terminated by either country giving twelve months' notice, in writing, of its intention to terminate the Agreement.

Accept, Sir, the renewed assurances of my highest consideration.

Chargé d'Affaires ad interim

IVAN B. WHITE

The Honourable
Howard C. Green, P.C., Q.C., M.P.
Secretary of State for External Affairs
Ottawa

top of page

II

The Secretary of State for External Affairs
to the Chargé d'Affaires, a.i. of the United States Embassy in Canada

Department of External Affairs

Ottawa, October 24, 1962

No. 215

Sir,

I have the honour to refer to your Note of October 24, 1962, with its Technical Annex, proposing an Agreement between our two Governments concerning the coordination and use of radio frequencies above thirty megacycles per second.

The arrangements set forth in your Note and its Technical Annex are acceptable to the Government of Canada which concurs in the proposal that your Note with Technical Annex and this reply shall constitute an Agreement for the coordination and use of radio frequencies above thirty megacycles per second between the Government of Canada and the Government of the United States of America to be effective from the date of this reply. Furthermore, it is agreed that because of its nature and the Agreement concluded by these Notes may only be terminated by either party giving twelve months' notice, in writing, of its intention to terminate the Agreement.

Accept, Sir, the renewed assurances of my highest consideration.

H.C. GREEN

Secretary of State for External Affairs

The Honourable Ivan B. White
Chargé d'Affaires a.i.
Embassy of the United States of America
Ottawa

Date modified:

Recueil des traités 1962 No. 15 — Coordination et utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques — Échange de Notes entre le Canada et les États‑Unis d'Amérique

Ottawa le 24 octobre 1962
En vigueur le 24 octobre 1962

Échange de Notes (le 24 octobre 1962) entre le Gouvernement canadien et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique relatif à la coordination et à l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde

I

Le Chargé d'Affaires a.i. de l'Ambassade des États-Unis d'Amérique au Canada au Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures

Ambassade des États-Unis d'Amérique

Ottawa, le 24 octobre 1962

№ 107

Monsieur le Secrétaire d'État,

J'ai l'honneur de me référer aux entretiens qui ont eu lieu entre les représentants du Gouvernement canadien et du Gouvernement des État-Unis au sujet de la coordination et de l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde. Au cours de ces entretiens, on a reconnu le droit souverain de chaque pays de régler sa propre utilisation des fréquences. On a également admis la nécessité d'un espace spectral suffisant afin de satisfaire équitablement aux besoins présents et futurs des services radiophoniques du Canada et des États-Unis. En outre, les représentants ont reconnu que les deux pays avaient mutuellement intérêt à éviter une interférence nuisible pour leurs services, et ils ont constaté les développements majeurs qui ont eu lieu et se poursuivent au Canada et aux États-Unis en ce qui concerne la partie du spectre des fréquences radiophoniques allouée par l'Union internationale des télécommunications et qui s'étend de trente mégacycles par seconde (30 Mc/s) à quarante gigacycles par seconde (40 Gc/s).

En vue d'une exploitation efficace du spectre, les représentants ont soumis les propositions suivantes et ont rédigé l'Annexe technique ci-jointe qui renferme une partie de ces propositions :

  1. Les deux pays continueront de reconnaître les ententes déjà en vigueur relativement aux bandes de fréquences de plus de 30 Mc/s telles qu'elles sont désignées dans l'Annexe technique;
  2. Lorsqu'ils le jugeront possible et souhaitable pour les deux parties, ils établiront des ententes visant à coordonner les attributions de fréquences radiophoniques dans les bandes de plus de 30 Mc/s pour lesquelles n'existe aucune procédure;
  3. Lorsqu'ils le jugeront possible et souhaitable, et afin de faciliter le développement des services radiophoniques dans les deux pays, le Canada et les États-Unis devraient dresser des plans communs d'attribution des fréquences en ce qui concerne les bandes et les services radiophoniques de plus de 30 Mc/s;
  4. Les ententes mentionnées aux alinéas (2) et (3) ci-dessus seront telles que spécifiées dans l'Annexe technique;
  5. Des bandes supplémentaires, pour lesquelles on doit élaborer des procédures de coordination ou des plans d'attribution des fréquences, pourront être ajoutées de temps à autre à l'Annexe technique; à cet effet, elles devront être énumérées dans l'index, avec mention des organismes chargés d'élaborer ces plans ou ces procédures;
  6. (a) En amendant l'index à l'Annexe technique de la façon envisagée à l'alinéa (5), on devra suivre la procédure spécifiée à l'alinéa (12) (a) ci-dessous;

    (b) Il incombera aux organismes mentionnés dans l'index à l'Annexe technique de modifier au besoin les procédures de coordination ou les plans communs d'attribution des fréquences dans une bande déterminée;
  7. (a) La radiodiffusion continuera de faire l'objet d'accords séparés; elle se trouve donc exclue des dispositions de la présente Note;

    (b) La coordination et l'utilisation des fréquences par les services radiophoniques d'amateurs sont exclues des dispositions de la présente Note;
  8. Lorsque, dans les bandes où des procédures de coordination ont été établies, l'emploi de fréquences à des endroits non visés par ces procédures pourrait produire, estime-t-on, une interférence nuisible pour les services radiophoniques de l'autre pays, l'attribution des fréquences en jeu pourra, si la chose est praticable, faire l'objet d'une coordination spéciale par les organismes autorisés par les deux gouvernements, tel que le spécifie l'Annexe technique;
  9. Les organismes autorisés seront chargés d'appliquer dans leurs pays respectifs les procédures de coordination et les plans communs d'attribution des fréquences prévus dans la présente Note, tels qu'ils sont spécifiés dans l'Annexe technique;
  10. Il est reconnu que les voies existantes de coordination sont suffisantes, et rien, dans la présente Note, ne doit être interprété comme indiquant la nécessité d'une modification de ces voies, à moins et jusqu'à ce que les deux parties jugent souhaitable une telle modification;
  11. La présente Note ne devra être considérée comme affectant ni remplaçant aucun autre accord international applicable au domaine des télécommunications dans l'un ou l'autre des deux pays;
  12. (a) La présente Note peut être amendée au moyen d'un Échange de Notes entre les représentants autorisés des deux Gouvernements;

    (b) Les amendements ou les changements à apporter à l'Annexe technique, autres que les modifications prévues à l'alinéa (5) seront effectués administrativement par les organismes nommés soit dans l'annexe technique soit dans l'Échange de Notes prévu à l'alinéa (6) (a);

    (c) Tout amendement ou changement effectué conformément à l'alinéa (12) (b) ci-dessus devra être annoncé au ministère des Affaires extérieures du Canada et au Département d'État des États-Unis d'Amérique par les organismes respectifs de chacun des deux pays.

En conséquence, je propose que la présente Note et son Annexe technique, ainsi que votre réponse, constituent un accord entre nos Gouvernements relatif à la coordination et à l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde, accord qui entrera en vigueur à la date de votre réponse. En raison de sa nature, je propose en outre que, si vous y donnez votre assentiment, ledit Accord ne puisse être résilié que si l'une des parties donne avis à l'autre douze mois à l'avance, par écrit, de son intention de mettre fin audit Accord.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Secrétaire d'État, les assurances renouvelées de ma très haute considération.

Le Chargé d'Affaires ad interim,

Ivan B. White

L'honorable Howard C. Green
Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures
Ottawa

haut de la page

II

Le Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures
au Chargé d'Affaires a.i. de l'Ambassade des États–Unis d'Amérique au Canada

Ministère des Affaires extérieures

Ottawa, le 24 octobre 1962

No 215

Monsieur le Chargé d'affaires,

J'ai l'honneur de me référer à votre Note no 107, en date du 24 octobre 1962, ainsi qu'à son Annexe technique, par lesquelles était proposé un Accord entre nos gouvernements respectifs au sujet de la coordination et de l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde.

Le Gouvernement du Canada souscrit aux dispositions énoncées dans votre Note et dans son Annexe technique, et accepte la proposition que ladite Note et son Annexe, ainsi que la présente réponse, constituent un Accord entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement des États-Unis d'Amérique relatif à la coordination et à l'utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques de plus de trente mégacycles par seconde, Accord qui doit entrer en vigueur à la date de la présente réponse. Il est en outre convenu que, en raison de sa nature, l'Accord conclu par ces Notes ne peut être résilié que si l'une des parties donne avis à l'autre, par écrit et douze mois à l'avance, de son intention de mettre fin audit Accord.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Chargé d'affaires, les assurances renouvelées de ma très haute considération.

Le Secrétaire d'État aux Affaires extérieures,

H.C. GREEN

L'honorable Ivan B. White
Chargé d'Affaires a.i.
Ambassade des États-Unis d'Amérique
Ottawa

Date de modification :