Archived—Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (2009 Edition)

Section A: Mobile, Aeronautical Mobile, Radiolocation and Radiolocation Services

A1 (AI 1.3) – Radiolocation Service in the 9 000 MHz Band

Background (A)

Upgrade of the Radiolocation Service in the Bands 9 000-9 200 MHz and 9 300-9 500 MHz

As identified in Resolution 747 (WRC-03), there is a need to provide contiguous primary spectrum around the 9 000 MHz band in order for existing and planned radiolocation systems to satisfy their required missions. Changes in technology and emerging requirements for increased image resolution and increased range accuracy necessitate wider contiguous emission bandwidths. Therefore, there is a need to upgrade the status of frequency allocations to the radiolocation service in the frequency range 9 000-9 200 MHz and 9 300-9 500 MHz.

The bands 9 000-9 200 MHz and 9 300-9 500 MHz are allocated on a primary basis to aeronautical radionavigation and radionavigation respectively. Radio Regulation No. 4.10 recognizes radionavigation as a safety service. The radiolocation services and the radionavigation service have demonstrated compatible operations over many years through the use of similar system characteristics such as low-duty cycle emissions, scanning beams and interference reduction techniques. For example, past operational experience in the band 2 900-3 100 MHz as found in Report ITU-R M.2032, Tests illustrating the compatibility between maritime radionavigation radars and emissions from radiolocation radars in the band 2 900-3 100 MHz, confirms that it is possible to mitigate interference from radiolocation radars to maritime radionavigation radars in the band.

Some completed studies within ITU-R WP 8B* characterize the technical performance and protection criteria of radiolocation and radionavigation systems that ensure compatible operations in the bands 9 000-9 200 MHz and 9 300-9 500 MHz. Recommendation ITU-R M.1313 contains the technical characteristics and protection criteria for maritime radars in the band 9 300-9 500 MHz, and Recommendation ITU-R M.1372 identifies interference reduction techniques that enhance compatibility among radar systems.

The completed ITU-R studies on radionavigation radars and emissions from radiolocation radars in the band 9 000-9 500 MHz illustrate compatibility between the two services in this band. These studies indicate that typical radionavigation radars can suppress emissions from other radars, even when the radar receivers operate with very high interference-to-noise (I/N) ratios if the unwanted pulsed waveform is asynchronous and has a low effective duty cycle. These study results support the successful historical sharing experience between the services in the 9 000-9 500 MHz band. Therefore, a primary allocation for radiolocation can be added to the 9 000-9 200 and 9 300-9 500 MHz bands.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table (A)

9 000-9 500 MHz
9 000-9 200 AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION 5.337
Radiolocation RADIOLOCATION

5.473A

9 200-9 300 MARITIME RADIONAVIGATION 5.472
RADIOLOCATION

5.474

9 300-9 500 EARTH EXPLORATION-SATELLITE (active)
Radiolocation RADIOLOCATION
RADIONAVIGATION 5.476
SPACE RESEARCH (active)

5.427 5.474 MOD 5.475 5.475A 5.475B MOD 5.476A

ADD 5.473A In the band 9 000-9 200 MHz, stations operating in the radiolocation service shall not cause harmful interference to, nor claim protection from, systems identified in No. 5.337 operating in the aeronautical radionavigation service, or radar systems in the maritime radionavigation service operating in this band on a primary basis in the countries listed in No. 5.471(WRC-07)
MOD 5.475 The use of the band 9 300-9 500 MHz by the aeronautical radionavigation service is limited to airborne weather radars and ground-based radars. In addition, ground-based radar beacons in the aeronautical radionavigation service are permitted in the band 9 300-9 320 MHz on condition that harmful interference is not caused to the maritime radionavigation service. In the band 9 300-9 500 MHz, ground-based radars used for meteorological purposes have priority over other radiolocation.devices. (WRC-07)
ADD 5.475A See Section A1-B.
ADD 5.475B In the band 9 300-9 500 MHz, stations operating in the radiolocation service shall not cause harmful interference to, nor claim protection from, radars operating in the radionavigation service in conformity with the Radio Regulations. Ground-based radars used for meteorological purposes have priority over other radiolocation uses. (WRC-07)
SUP 5.476 In the band 9 300-9 320 MHz in the radionavigation service, the use of shipborne radars, other than those existing on 1 January 1976, is not permitted until 1 January 2001.  (WRC-07)
ADD MOD 5.476A See Section A1-B.

Discussion

Given the potential allocation to other services in the upper band 9 300-9 500 MHz, and because of similarity of services in the two bands, the agenda item focused on the upgrade of radiolocation from the secondary to the primary status. Radiolocation systems in these bands have been operating compatibly with the radionavigation service, allocated on a primary basis as it is a safety of life service.

Canada joined the CITEL Inter-American Proposal (IAP) on this agenda item, which supported the upgrade to a primary status on condition that a new footnote be created to maintain the relative status between radiolocation and radionavigation, recognizing that radionavigation is used for safety of life.

Because the ITU-R studies and extensive experience had shown compatibility, there was opposition to establishing super-primary status. The agreed upon solution was to refer to systems of the service. This way, one service would not have a higher status, but specific systems could claim extra protection.

In the case of the band 9 000-9 200 MHz, systems that can be deployed are already limited to those listed in No. 5.337. The new footnotes also conveyed protection to the maritime radionavigation systems operating in this band under a primary allocation in specific countries. Consequently, new footnotes were created that provided the required protection for the specific systems under the radionavigation service.

Regarding the modification to No. 5.475, the priority of the meteorological ground-based radars is included in added provision No. 5.473B for housekeeping purposes.

Background (B)

200 MHz Extension of the Primary EESS (Active) and SRS (Active) Allocations

The band 9 500-9 800 MHz is allocated on a primary basis to the Earth exploration-satellite (EESS) (active), space research (SRS) (active), radiolocation and radionavigation services. In order to satisfy global environmental monitoring requirements for increased resolution, the EESS (active) and the SRS (active) allocations require an increase of 200 MHz.

The ITU-R studied the compatibility between the EESS (active) and the existing services in the two bands identified by Resolution 747 (WRC-03) for consideration as extension bands.
 
Results of ITU-R tests and measurements indicate that representative radiolocation and radionavigation radars do not suffer any performance degradation due to any of the representative EESS (active) waveforms. These various ITU-R compatibility studies combined with tests and measurements indicate that sharing is feasible in the additional 200 MHz of spectrum between the EESS (active) and existing services in either the 9 300-9 500 MHz band or the 9 800-10 000 MHz band. In addition, these studies demonstrate that narrow band (less than 300 MHz) synthetic aperture radars (SAR s) present higher interference potential compared to wide band (300 MHz or greater) SAR s extending over the whole 9 300-9 800 MHz band. With respect to sharing between the EESS (active) and the fixed service, ITU-R studies have shown that interference from a distribution of FS transmitters operating in the 9 800-10 000 MHz band did not exceed the interference threshold of a spaceborne SAR.

Recognizing further that narrow bandwidth (less than 300 MHz) SAR can operate in the existing frequency band (9 500-9 800 MHz) and that the requested extension is only justified for SAR systems requiring more than 300 MHz bandwidth, a limitation of such 200 MHz extension to these wideband (300 MHz or greater) SAR systems could limit the risk of interference to meteorological radars while responding to the need for 200 MHz EESS extension.

Given that the SRS (active) systems operate in the vicinity of planets and celestial bodies other than the Earth or as experimental platforms for future EESS (active) systems, SRS (active) systems were not studied for compatibility with any Earth-based systems. Another possible use of the SRS (active) is as an experimental platform for a future EESS (active) system. However, in this case, the SRS (active) system and the EESS (active) system would be essentially the same. With respect to other types of EESS (active) systems other than SAR s, it should be noted that precipitation radars and cloud profile radars cannot operate in this frequency range due to the physical characteristics of their intended applications. Altimeters, which are wideband EESS (active) systems operating at relatively low-power levels, have been shown to not cause interference to radiodetermination systems in the 9 500-9 800 MHz band. Results for any extension band should be analogous.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table (B)

9 300-10 000 MHz
9 300-9 500 EARTH EXPLORATION-SATELLITE (active)
Radiolocation RADIOLOCATION
RADIONAVIGATION 5.476
SPACE RESEARCH (active)

5.427 5.474 MOD 5.475 5.475A 5.475B MOD 5.476A

9 500-9 800 EARTH EXPLORATION-SATELLITE (active)
RADIOLOCATION
RADIONAVIGATION
SPACE RESEARCH (active)

MOD 5.476A

9 800-10 000 9 900 RADIOLOCATION
Earth exploration-satellite (active)
Fixed
Space Research (active)

5.478A 5.478B 5.479

9 900-10 000 RADIOLOCATION
Fixed

5.479

MOD 5.475 See Section A1-A.
ADD 5.475A The use of the band 9 300-9 500 MHz by the Earth exploration-satellite service (active) and the space research service (active) is limited to systems requiring necessary bandwidth greater than 300 MHz that cannot be fully accommodated within the 9 500-9 800 MHz band. (WRC-07)
ADD 5.475B See Section A1-A.
SUP 5.476 See Section A1-A.
MOD 5.476A In the band 9 5300-9 800 MHz, stations in the Earth exploration-satellite service (active) and space research service (active) shall not cause harmful interference to, or constrain the use and development of nor claim protection from, stations of the radionavigation and radiolocation services. (WRC-9707)
ADD 5.478A The use of the band 9 800-9 900 MHz by the Earth exploration-satellite service (active) and the space research service (active) is limited to systems requiring necessary bandwidth greater than 500 MHz that cannot be fully accommodated within the 9 300-9 800 MHz band. (WRC-07)
ADD 5.478B In the band 9 800-9 900 MHz, stations in the Earth exploration-satellite service (active) and space research service (active) shall not cause harmful interference to, nor claim protection from stations of the fixed service to which this band is allocated on a secondary basis. (WRC-07)

Discussion

This issue addressed the extension of the primary allocations to EESS (active) and SRS (active) for a total of 500 MHz of contiguous spectrum, for systems that could not be accommodated within the 300 MHz in 9 500-9 800 MHz because of an operating bandwidth greater than 300 MHz. The radionavigation and radiolocation services will continue to be protected from EESS (active) and SRS (active) systems.

The extension of these allocations up to 200 MHz, in the downward direction, was not controversial. However, the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) also wanted to extend the allocation by another 100 MHz from 9 800-9 900 MHz for the operation of a 600 MHz bandwidth satellite system, for better resolution. This was considered outside the scope of the agenda item and the WRC refused to address the issue until the very last days of the Conference. As a last-minute compromise, EESS and SRS were granted a secondary allocation that must also protect the status of the FS even though the FS is allocated a secondary status. This addition was supported by Canadian stakeholders who can make use of the data provided by this additional extension to EESS and SRS, while not harming the other services to which the band is allocated.


*As a result of ITU-R re-structuring, ITU-R WP 8B is now known as ITU-R WP 5B

Date modified:

Archivé — Projet de révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (édition 2009)

Section A : Services mobiles, mobile aéronautique, de radionavigation et de radiolocalisation

A1 (AI 1.3) – Service de radiolocalisation dans la bande de 9 000 MHz

Contexte A)
Relèvement du service de radiolocalisation dans les bandes 9 000-9 200 MHz et 9 300-9 500 MHz

Comme l'indique la Résolution 747 (CMR-03), il faut assurer des attributions contiguës à titre primaire dans la bande de 9 000 MHz pour que les systèmes de radiolocalisation en place et prévus puissent s'acquitter de leurs missions prescrites. L'évolution de la technologie et les exigences émergentes en vue d'une meilleure résolution d'image et de l'accroissement de la précision de la portée rendent nécessaires l'élargissement des largeurs de bande d'émission contiguës. C'est pourquoi il faut relever le statut des fréquences attribuées au service de radiolocalisation dans les bandes 9 000-9 200 MHz et 9 300‑9 500 MHz.

Les bandes 9 000-9 200 MHz et 9 300-9 500 MHz sont attribuées à titre primaire respectivement au service de radionavigation aéronautique et au service de radionavigation. L'article 4.10 du Règlement sur les radiocommunications reconnaît la radionavigation comme service de sécurité. Les services de radiolocalisation et les services de radionavigation ont démontré la compatibilité de leurs opérations pendant de nombreuses années par l'utilisation de systèmes ayant des caractéristiques similaires, comme un faible coefficient d'utilisation, des faisceaux battants et des techniques de réduction du brouillage. Par exemple, l'expérience en matière d'exploitation dans la bande 2 900-3 100 MHz relevée dans le Rapport UIT-R M.2032, intitulé Essais illustrant la compatibilité entre les radars de radionavigation maritime et les émissions de radars de radiolocalisation dans la bande 2 900-3 100 MHz, confirme qu'il est possible d'atténuer le brouillage causé par des radars de radiolocalisation à des radars de radionavigation maritime dans la bande.

Le GT 8B* de l'UIT-R a complété certaines études qui établissent les caractéristiques des critères de protection et le rendement technique des systèmes de radiolocalisation et de radionavigation pour assurer la compatibilité de leurs opérations dans les bandes 9 000-9 200 MHz et 9 300-9 500 MHz. La Recommandation UIT-R M.1313 contient les caractéristiques techniques et les critères de protection des radars du service de radionavigation maritime dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz, et la Recommandation UIT-R M.1372 identifie les techniques de réduction du brouillage de nature à renforcer la compatibilité entre les systèmes de radar.

Les études de l'UIT-R qui ont été complétées sur les radars de radionavigation et les émissions des radars de radiolocalisation dans la bande 9 000-9 500 MHz illustrent la compatibilité entre les deux services dans cette bande. Ces études indiquent que les radars de radionavigation typiques peuvent supprimer les émissions d'autres radars, même lorsque les radars reçoivent du brouillage selon un rapport brouillage/bruit (I/N) très élevé, si la forme d'onde pulsée non désirée est asynchrone et a un coefficient d'utilisation efficace faible. Ces résultats d'étude étayent les antécédents de partage réussi entre les services dans la bande 9 000-9 500 MHz. Par conséquent, une attribution à titre primaire à la radiolocalisation peut être ajoutée dans les bandes 9 000-9 200 MHz et 9 300-9 500 MHz.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien A)
9 000-9 500 MHz  
9 000-9 200 RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE 5.337
Radiolocalisation  RADIOLOCALISATION
5.473A
9 200-9 300 RADIONAVIGATION MARITIME 5.472
RADIOLOCALISATION 5.474
9 300-9 500 RADIONAVIGATION 5.476
Radiolocalisation  RADIOLOCALISATION
EXPLORATION DE LA TERRE PAR SATELLITE (active)
RECHERCHE SPATIALE (active)

5.427 5.474 MOD 5.475 5.475A 5.475B MOD 5.476A

MOD 5.475 Dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz, le service de radionavigation aéronautique est limité aux radars météorologiques d'aéronefs et aux radars au sol. De plus, les balises radar au sol du service de radionavigation aéronautique sont autorisées dans la bande 9 300‑9 320 MHz à condition qu'aucun brouillage préjudiciable ne soit causé au service de radionavigation maritime. Dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz, les radars au sol utilisés pour les besoins de la météorologie ont priorité sur les autres dispositifs de radiolocalisation. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.473A Dans la bande 9 000-9 200 MHz, les stations du service de radiolocalisation ne doivent pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable aux systèmes du service de radionavigation aéronautique indiqués au numéro 5.337, ou aux systèmes radar du service de radionavigation maritime fonctionnant dans cette bande à titre primaire dans les pays énumérés au numéro 5.471, ni demander à être protégées vis-à-vis de ces systèmes. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.475A L'utilisation de la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz par le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (active) et le service de recherche spatiale (active) est limitée aux systèmes ayant besoin d'une largeur de bande nécessaire de plus de 300 MHz qui ne peuvent pas être totalement pris en charge dans la bande 9 500-9 800 MHz. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.475B Dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz, les stations du service de radiolocalisation ne doivent pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable aux radars exploités dans le service de radionavigation conformément au Règlement des radiocommunications, ni demander à être protégées vis-à-vis de ces radars. Les radars au sol utilisés pour les besoins de la météorologie ont priorité sur les autres utilisations aux fins de la radiolocalisation. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.476A Dans la bande 9 5300-9 800 MHz, les stations du service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (active) et du service de recherche spatiale (active) ne doivent pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable aux stations des services de radionavigation et de radiolocalisation, ni demander à être protégées vis-à-vis de ces stations. (CMR-9707)
Discussion

En raison de l'attribution possible de fréquences à d'autres services dans la bande supérieure 9 300‑9 500 MHz et de la similarité des services dans les deux bandes, le point de l'ordre du jour portait sur le relèvement des attributions à la radiolocalisation du titre secondaire au titre primaire. Les systèmes de radiolocalisation fonctionnant dans ces bandes sont compatibles avec le service de radionavigation auquel des fréquences sont attribuées à titre primaire du fait qu'il s'agit d'un service assurant la sauvegarde de la vie humaine.

Le Canada a adhéré à la Proposition interaméricaine de la Commission interaméricaine des télécommunications (CITEL) sur ce point de l'ordre du jour, qui venait à l'appui du relèvement de l'attribution à titre primaire à la condition qu'un nouveau renvoi soit formulé pour maintenir le statut relatif entre la radiolocalisation et la radionavigation, reconnaissant que la radionavigation sert à la sauvegarde de la vie humaine.

Les études de l'UIT-R et les antécédents exhaustifs ayant fait ressortir la compatibilité des deux services, aucune opposition n'a été manifestée à l'établissement d'un statut primaire supérieur. La solution convenue a été le renvoi aux systèmes du service. De cette façon, un service n'acquiert pas de statut plus élevé, mais des systèmes particuliers pourraient demander une protection additionnelle.

Dans le cas de la bande 9 000-9 200 MHz, les systèmes pouvant être déployés sont déjà limités à ceux qui sont énumérés dans le numéro 5.337. Le nouveau renvoi assure aussi une protection aux systèmes de radionavigation maritime fonctionnant dans la bande à des fréquences attribuées à titre primaire dans des pays précis. Par conséquent, de nouveaux renvois ont été formulés pour assurer la protection requise à des systèmes précis du service de radionavigation.

En ce qui concerne la modification du numéro 5.475, la priorité des radars météorologiques au sol est comprise dans la disposition ajoutée no 5.473B aux fins de service.

Contexte B)
Extension de 200 MHz des attributions à titre primaire au SETS (active) et au service de recherche spatiale (active)

La bande 9 500-9 800 MHz est attribuée à titre primaire aux services d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (SETS) (active), de recherche spatiale (active), de radiolocalisation et de radionavigation. Dans le but de satisfaire aux besoins de résolution accrue pour la surveillance mondiale de l'environnement, les attributions au SETS (active) et au service de recherche spatiale (active) doivent être étendues de 200 MHz. Cette largeur de bande additionnelle permettra d'améliorer grandement la résolution des caractéristiques de surveillance mondiale et aux fins environnementales et rattachées à l'utilisation du sol.

L'UIT-R a étudié la compatibilité entre le SETS (active) et les services en place dans les deux bandes identifiées par la Résolution 747 (CMR-03) en vue d'un examen pour les bandes d'extension.

Les résultats des essais et des mesures de l'UIT-R indiquent que des radars représentatifs de radiolocalisation et de radionavigation ne subissent pas de dégradation de leur rendement en raison de formes d'ondes représentatives du SETS (active). Ces études de compatibilité de l'UIT-R, combinées aux essais et aux mesures, indiquent que le partage est possible dans les 200 MHz additionnels entre le SETS (active) et les services en place dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz ou la bande 9 800-10 000 MHz. En outre, ces études démontrent que les systèmes SAR à bande étroite (moins de 300 MHz) présentent des risques plus élevés de brouillage que les systèmes SAR à large bande (300 MHz ou plus) dans toute la bande 9 300-9 800 MHz. En ce qui concerne le partage entre le SETS (active) et le service fixe (SF), des études menées par l'UIT-R ont montré que le brouillage en provenance d'une distribution des émetteurs du SF fonctionnant dans la bande 9 800-10 000 MHz n'a pas dépassé le seuil de brouillage d'un système SAR spatial.

Reconnaissant en outre que les systèmes SAR à bande étroite (moins de 300 MHz) peuvent fonctionner dans la bande de fréquence actuelle (9 500-9 800 MHz) et que l'extension demandée est justifiée uniquement dans le cas des systèmes SAR ayant besoin d'une largeur de bande supérieure à 300 MHz, une limitation d'une telle extension de 200 MHz à ces systèmes SAR à large bande (300 MHz ou plus) pourrait limiter les risques de brouillage dans le cas des radars météorologiques, tout en répondant à la nécessité d'une extension de 200 MHz au SETS. exprimée plus tôt dans la présente section (« …d'améliorer grandement la résolution des caractéristiques de surveillance mondiale et aux fins environnementales et rattachées à l'utilisation du sol ».

Comme les systèmes du service de recherche spatiale (active) fonctionnent à proximité de planètes et de corps célestes autres que la Terre ou comme plates-formes expérimentales de futurs systèmes du SETS (active), les systèmes du service de recherche spatiale (active) n'ont pas fait l'objet d'études de compatibilité avec des systèmes de Terre. Une autre utilisation possible du service de recherche spatiale (active) est l'utilisation comme plate-forme expérimentale d'un futur système du SETS (active). Toutefois, dans ce cas-ci, le système du service de recherche spatiale (active) et le système du SETS (active) seraient essentiellement les mêmes. En ce qui concerne d'autres types de systèmes du SETS (active) autres que les systèmes SAR, il est à noter que les radars de mesure des précipitations et les radars profileurs de nuage ne peuvent pas fonctionner dans cette gamme de fréquences, en raison de la nature physique de leurs applications prévues. Les altimètres, des systèmes SETS (active) à large bande qui fonctionnent à des niveaux de puissance assez bas, ont montré qu'ils ne causent pas de brouillage aux systèmes de radiorepérage dans la bande 9 500-9 800 MHz. Les résultats d'études sur une bande d'extension devraient être analogues.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien B)
9 300-10 000 MHz  
9 300-9 500 RADIONAVIGATION 5.476
Radiolocalisation RADIOLOCALISATION
EXPLORATION DE LA TERRE PAR SATELLITE (active)
RECHERCHE SPATIALE (active)

5.427 5.474 MOD 5.475 5.475A 5.475B MOD 5.476A

9 500-9 800  EXPLORATION DE LA TERRE PAR SATELLITE (active)
RADIOLOCALISATION
RADIONAVIGATION
RECHERCHE SPATIALE (active)

MOD 5.476A
9 800-10 000 9 900 RADIOLOCALISATION
Exploration de la terre par satellite (active)
Recherche spatiale (active)
Fixe

5.478A 5.478B 5.479
9 900-10 000 RADIOLOCALISATION
Fixe

5.479
MOD 5.475 Dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz, le service de radionavigation aéronautique est limité aux radars météorologiques d'aéronefs et aux radars au sol. De plus, les balises radar au sol du service de radionavigation aéronautique sont autorisées dans la bande 9 300‑9 320 MHz à condition qu'aucun brouillage préjudiciable ne soit causé au service de radionavigation maritime. Dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz, les radars au sol utilisés pour les besoins de la météorologie ont priorité sur les autres dispositifs de radiolocalisation. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.475A L'utilisation de la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz par le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (active) et le service de recherche spatiale (active) est limitée aux systèmes ayant besoin d'une largeur de bande nécessaire de plus de 300 MHz qui ne peuvent pas être totalement pris en charge dans la bande 9 500-9 800 MHz. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.475B Dans la bande 9 300-9 500 MHz, les stations du service de radiolocalisation ne doivent pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable aux radars exploités dans le service de radionavigation conformément au Règlement des radiocommunications, ni demander à être protégées vis-à-vis de ces radars. Les radars au sol utilisés pour les besoins de la météorologie ont priorité sur les autres utilisations aux fins de la radiolocalisation. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.476A Dans la bande 9 5300-9 800 MHz, les stations du service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (active) et du service de recherche spatiale (active) ne doivent pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable aux stations des services de radionavigation et de radiolocalisation, ni limiter leur utilisation et leur développement. (CMR-9707)
ADD 5.478A L'utilisation de la bande 9 800-9 900 MHz par le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (active) et le service de recherche spatiale (active) est limitée aux systèmes ayant besoin d'une largeur de bande nécessaire de plus de 500 MHz qui ne peuvent être pleinement pris en charge dans la bande 9 300-9 800 MHz. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.478B Dans la bande 9 800-9 900 MHz, les stations du service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (active) et du service de recherche spatiale (active) ne doivent pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable aux stations du service fixe auxquelles cette bande est attribuée à titre secondaire ni demander à être protégées vis-à-vis de ces stations. (CMR-07)
Discussion

Cette question porte sur l'extension des fréquences attribuées à titre primaire au SETS (active) et au service de recherche spatiale (active) pour une partie contiguë totale de 500 MHz du spectre dans le cas des systèmes dont on ne peut pas tenir compte dans la partie de 300 MHz de la bande 9 500-9 800 MHz à cause d'une largeur de bande de fonctionnement supérieure à 300 MHz. Les services de radionavigation et de radiolocalisation continueront à être protégés contre les systèmes du SETS (active) et du service de recherche spatiale (active).

L'extension de ces attributions jusqu'à 500 MHz (compatibilité avec réduction) n'a pas donné lieu à controverse. Toutefois, la CEPT voulait également étendre l'attribution d'une autre tranche de 100 MHz dans la bande 9 800‑9 900 MHz pour l'exploitation d'un système à satellites à largeur de bande de 600 MHz en vue d'une meilleure résolution. Cette proposition a été considérée à l'extérieur de la portée du point de l'ordre du jour, et la Conférence a refusé d'examiner la question jusqu'aux toutes dernières journées. Une solution de dernière minute a été l'octroi d'une attribution à titre secondaire au SETS et au service de recherche spatiale, attribution qui doit aussi protéger toute station du SF, même si le SF a des fréquences attribuées à titre secondaire. Cette addition a été appuyée par les intérêts canadiens en mesure d'utiliser les données découlant de cette extension additionnelle du SETS et du service de recherche spatiale et, en même temps, elle ne nuit pas aux autres services auxquels la bande est attribuée.


*Suite à la restructuration de l'UIT-R, le GT 8B de l'UIT-R est maintenant connu sous GT 5B de l'UIT-R.

Date de modification :