Archived—Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (2009 Edition)

Section B: Space Science Services

B1 (AI 1.2) – Allocations and Regulatory Issues related to the Earth Exploratory Space Service (passive), Space Research Service (passive) and Meteorological Satellite (MetSat) Service

B1 - Part (A) Expansion of the MetSat Allocation by 100 MHz Around 18 GHz

Background

Remote sensing of the Earth from space provides the meteorological community with the critical data required to predict the future state of the environment. With the rapid advances in remote sensing technologies, communication systems, computing capabilities and the increased knowledge of the physical processes involved in the development of weather systems, the meteorological community will take advantage of higher resolution data to observe and predict the motion, development and decay of short-term events, such as severe thunderstorms, for appropriate warnings to the general public.

A primary allocation to the geostationary-satellite orbit (GSO) MetSat (space-to-Earth) service already exists in the band 18.1-18.3 GHz based on RRNo. 5.519. However, it is recognized that the bandwidth of the existing allocation is insufficient to support the required data rates. The next generation GSO MetSat systems are expected to have bandwidth requirements up to 300 MHz.

While sharing between GSO MetSat systems and FSS systems is generally feasible, operating MetSat systems below 18.3 GHz would avoid several potential difficulties with High Density Fixed-Satellite Service (HDFSS). Therefore, Canada supported an expansion of the current allocation by an additional 100 MHz below 18.1 GHz to satisfy the high data rate requirement of MetSat.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

17.8-18.4 GHz

17.8-18.1

FIXED
FIXED-SATELLITE (space-to-Earth) (Earth-to-space) 5.484A 5.516

MOD 5.519 C16D C43

18.1-18.4

FIXED
FIXED-SATELLITE (space-to-Earth) (Earth-to-space) 5.484A
5.516B 5.520

MOD 5.519 C16D C16E C43

MOD 5.519 Additional allocation: the band 18.1-18.3 GHz is also allocated to the meteorological-satellite service (space-to-Earth) on a primary basis. Its use is limited to geostationary satellite and shall be in accordance with the provisions of Article 21, Table 21-4. the bands 18-18.3 GHz in Region 2 and 18.1-18.4 GHz in Regions 1 and 3 are also allocated to the meteorological-satellite service (space-to-Earth) on a primary basis. Their use is limited to geostationary satellites. (WRC-07)

Discussion

The Department believes that the proposed changes to the Canadian Table will satisfy the following needs:

  • the meteorological community will be able to meet its future operational requirement;
  • the fixed service will be protected given that the regulatory measures that currently apply in the existing MetSat allocation in the band 18.1-18.3 GHz will also apply in the expansion band; and
  • the development of HDFSS operating in the band above 18.3 GHz will not be constrained in Region 2, as the MetSat will be operating in the band 18.0-18.3 GHz.

B1 - Part (B) Revision of the Sharing Criteria between Earth Exploration Satellite Service (EESS) (passive) and Fixed and Mobile Services (FS and MS) in the Band 10.60-10.68 GHz

Background

The band 10.6-10.68 GHz is allocated to the passive services on a primary basis, including the EESS (passive), the radio astronomy service (RAS) and the SRS (passive). This band is of prime interest to measure rain, snow, sea state and ocean wind. The retrieved data is part of a set of measurements performed in five interrelated frequency bands (around 6, 10, 18, 24 and 36 GHz). This data is used by and exchanged between meteorological organizations in all Regions.

The 10.6-10.68 GHz band is also allocated to the FS on a primary basis. It is used by the FS for point-to-point and point-to-multipoint systems.

Currently, No. 5.482 limits the equivalent isotropically radiated power (e.i.r.p.) of FS and MS stations in this band to 40 dBW and the transmitter power to –3 dBW, except in the 26 countries listed in the footnote. However, it has been shown that this provision is not sufficient to ensure the protection of the EESS (passive) in the band 10.6-10.68 GHz.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

10.6-10.68 GHz

10.6-10.68

EARTH EXPLORATION-SATELLITE (passive)
FIXED
RADIO ASTRONOMY
SPACE RESEARCH (passive)

MOD 5.149 MOD 5.482 5.482A

MOD 5.149 See Section F2.
MOD 5.482 In the band 10.6-10.68 GHz, the power delivered to the antenna of stations of the fixed and mobile, except aeronautical mobile, services shall be limited to a maximum equivalent isotropically radiated power of 40 dBW and the power delivered to the antenna shall not exceed dBW. These limitsThis limit may be exceeded, subject to agreement obtained under No. 9.21. However, in Algeria, Saudi Arabia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, China, theEgypt, United Arab Emirates, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, JapanJordan, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Morocco, Mauritania, Moldova, Nigeria, Oman, Uzbekistan, Pakistan, the Philippines, Qatar, the Syrian Arab Republic, Kyrgyzstan, Singapore, Tajikistan and, Tunisia, Turkmenistan and Viet Nam, this restriction, the restrictions on the fixed and mobile, except aeronautical mobile, services areservice is not applicable. (WRC-037)
ADD 5.482A   For sharing of the band 10.6-10.68 GHz between the Earth exploration-satellite (passive) service and the fixed and mobile, except aeronautical mobile, services, Resolution 751 (WRC-07) applies. (WRC-07)

Discussion

The Department is of the view that the proposed modifications will provide a good balance between the operational requirements of the passive and active systems, as appropriate protections will be afforded to future EESS (passive) systems without imposing undue constraints to the development of fixed systems.

B1 – Part (C) Development of Sharing Criteria between Earth Exploration-Satellite Service (EESS) (passive) and Fixed and Mobile Services (FS and MS) in the Band 36-37 GHz

Background

The band 36-37 GHz is allocated on a primary basis to the EESS (passive), SRS (passive), FS and MS. The data gathered by EESS (passive) and SRS (passive) systems operating in the band 36-37 GHz contributes to the estimate of total vapour, total cloud liquid water, sea surface wind speed, sea surface temperature, sea ice extent, snow depth and soil moisture content. These parameters are derived from measurements near 7, 10.7, 18.7, 23.8, 50.3, 52.8 and 89 GHz combined with measurements in the 36-37 GHz band.

Without the appropriate regulatory measures, the FS and MS systems could potentially cause interference to the passive services, and the collection of vital scientific information by EESS (passive) systems could be compromised.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

36-37 GHz

36-37

EARTH EXPLORATION-SATELLITE (passive)
FIXED
MOBILE
SPACE RESEARCH (passive)

MOD 5.149 5.550A

MOD 5.149 See Section F2.
ADD 5.550A For sharing of the band 36-37 GHz between the Earth exploration-satellite (passive) service and the fixed and mobile services, Resolution 752 (WRC-07) shall apply. (WRC-07)

Discussion

The Department is of the view that the mandatory power limits imposed on stations of future fixed and mobile systems, as well as the limitation on some operational characteristics of EESS (passive) systems, will facilitate sharing between future passive and active systems in the band 36-37 GHz without unduly constraining their development.

B2 (AI 1.20) - Protection of Earth Exploratory Space Services (passive) from Unwanted Emissions of Active Services

Background

The compatibility between the EESS (passive) and active services has been discussed since WRC-95. Based on the experience gained from the four previous conferences, WRC-07 was requested to consider the results of the ITU-R compatibility analysis, using band pairs identified in Resolution 738 and the associated proposals for regulatory measures regarding the protection of EESS (passive) from unwanted emissions of active service stations.

In order to address this issue, and taking into consideration the impacts on both the active and the passive services involved, WRC-07 adopted two regulatory measures:

  • impose a limit on the power level of unwanted emissions from the active stations; and
  • recommend compliance with a maximum power level of unwanted emissions from active stations.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

1 350-1 400 MHz
1 350-1 370 AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION  5.334
FIXED C5
MOBILE C5
RADIOLOCATION

MOD 5.149 5.334 5.338A

1 370-1 400

FIXED C5
MOBILE C5
RADIOLOCATION

MOD 5.149 5.338A 5.339 5.339A C27 C27A

1 427-1 452 MHz

1 427-1 429

FIXED
SPACE OPERATION (Earth-to-space)

5.338A 5.341

1 429-1 452

FIXED
MOBILE

5.338A 5.339A 5.341 C27A

22.55-23.55 GHz
22.55-23.55 FIXED
INTER-SATELLITE 5.338A
Mobile

MOD 5.149

30-31.3 GHz

30-31

FIXED-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.338A C49
MOBILE-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) C50
Standard Frequency and Time Signal-Satellite (space-to-Earth)

31-31.3

FIXED 5.338A
MOBILE
Space Research 5.544
Standard Frequency and Time Signal-Satellite (space-to-Earth)

MOD 5.149

48.2-50.2 GHz

48.2-50.2

FIXED
FIXED-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.338A 5.516B 5.552
MOBILE

MOD 5.149 5.340 5.555

50.4-52.6 GHz

50.4-51.4

FIXED
FIXED-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.338A
MOBILE
Mobile-satellite (Earth-to-space)

51.4-52.6

FIXED 5.338A
MOBILE

MOD 5.547 5.556

MOD 5.149 See Section F2.
ADD 5.338A In the bands 1 350-1 400 MHz, 1 427-1 452 MHz, 22.55-23.55 GHz, 30-31.3 GHz, 49.7-50.2 GHz, 50.4-50.9 GHz and 51.4-52.6 GHz, Resolution 750 (WRC-07) applies. (WRC-07)
SUP 5.339A See Section C2.
MOD 5.547 See Section F2.
SUP C27A   See Section C2.

Discussion

After extensive discussion at WRC-07, Resolution 750 (WRC-07) was adopted in an effort to balance the interests of both the EESS (passive) and the active services and to ensure compatibility between these services in some specified band pairs. The Department believes that, with these regulatory measures, collection of vital scientific information through EESS (passive) systems will be protected without putting undue constraint on the deployment and the development of active services in the adjacent bands.

Date modified:

Archivé — Projet de révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (édition 2009)

Section B : Services des sciences spatiales

B1 (AI 1.2) – Attributions et questions réglementaires relatives au service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (passive), au service de recherche spatiale (passive) et au service de météorologie par satellite (MetSat)

B1 – Partie A) Expansion des attributions au service MetSat de 100 MHz aux environs de 18 GHz

Contexte

La télédétection de la Terre à partir de l'espace permet au milieu de la météorologie d'obtenir les données critiques requises pour la prédiction de l'évolution de l'état de l'environnement. Étant donné la rapidité de l'évolution des techniques de télédétection, des systèmes de télécommunications et des capacités des ordinateurs, et compte tenu de l'accroissement des connaissances que l'on a des processus physiques qui se produisent dans le développement des systèmes météorologiques, le milieu de la météorologie pourra tirer parti des données d'une résolution supérieure pour pouvoir observer et prédire le mouvement, le développement et l'évanouissement des événements à court terme, comme les orages violents, pour l'émission d'avertissements appropriés à l'intention du grand public.

Il y a déjà une attribution à titre primaire au service MetSat aux orbites des satellites géostationnaires (OSG) (espace vers Terre) dans la bande 18,1-18,3 GHz, d'après l'Article 5.519 du Règlement des radiocommunications. On reconnaît cependant que la largeur de bande de l'attribution actuelle ne suffit pas à la prise en charge des débits de données requis. On s'attend à ce que les systèmes MetSat OSG de la prochaine génération aient besoin d'une largeur de bande jusqu'à concurrence de 300 MHz.

Bien que le partage entre les systèmes de météorologie par satellite géostationnaire et les systèmes du service fixe par satellite (SFS) soit généralement possible, l'exploitation de systèmes MetSat au-dessous de 18,3 GHz éviterait plusieurs difficultés possibles avec le service fixe par satellite à haute densité (HDFSS). C'est pourquoi le Canada a appuyé une expansion de l'attribution actuelle d'une tranche additionnelle de 100 MHz au-dessous de 18,1 GHz pour satisfaire aux exigences de débit élevé du service MetSat.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

17,8-18,4 GHz

17,8-18,1

FIXE
FIXE PAR SATELLITE (espace vers Terre) (Terre vers espace) 5.484A 5.516

MOD 5.519 C16D C43

18,1-18,4

FIXE
FIXE PAR SATELLITE (espace vers Terre) (Terre vers espace) 5.484A 5.516B 5.520

MOD 5.519 C16D C16E C43

MOD 5.519 Attribution additionnelle : la bande 18,1-18,3 GHz est, de plus, attribuée au service de météorologie par satellite (espace vers Terre) à titre primaire. Son utilisation est réservée aux satellites géostationnaires et sera conforme aux dispositions de l'article 21, Tableau 21-4.les bandes 18-18,3 GHz dans la Région 2 et 18,1-18,4 GHz dans les Régions 1 et 3 sont, de plus, attribuées au service de météorologie par satellite (espace vers Terre) à titre primaire. Leur utilisation est réservée aux satellites géostationnaires. (CMR-07)

Discussion

Le Ministère croit que les modifications proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution permettront de satisfaire aux besoins suivants :

  • le milieu de la météorologie sera en mesure de satisfaire à ses besoins opérationnels futurs;
  • le service fixe sera protégé, du fait que les mesures réglementaires qui s'appliquent à l'attribution actuelle au service de météorologie par satellite dans la bande 18,1-18,3 GHz s'appliqueront également dans la bande d'expansion;
  • l'essor du HDFSS fonctionnant dans la bande au-dessus de 18,3 GHz ne sera pas restreint dans la Région 2, puisque le service MetSat fonctionnera dans la bande 18,0-18,3 GHz.

B1 – Partie B) Révision des critères de partage entre le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (SETS) (passive), le service fixe (SF) et le service mobile dans la bande 10,60‑10,68 GHz

Contexte

La bande 10,6-10,68 GHz est attribuée à titre primaire aux services passifs, y compris le SETS (passive), le service de radioastronomie et le service de recherche spatiale (passive). Cette bande présente un intérêt capital pour les mesures de la pluie, de la neige, de l'état de la mer et des vents de l'océan. Les données recueillies font partie d'une série de mesures prises dans cinq bandes de fréquences interreliées (c'est‑à‑dire aux environs de 6 GHz, de 10 GHz, de 18 GHz, de 24 GHz et de 36 GHz). Elles sont utilisées et échangées entre divers services de météorologie de toutes les Régions.

La bande 10,6-10,68 GHz est aussi attribuée à titre primaire au service fixe (SF), qui s'en sert pour les systèmes point à point et point multipoints.

À l'heure actuelle, le renvoi 5.482 limite à 40 dBW la p.i.r.e. des stations du SF et du service mobile fonctionnant dans cette bande et à -3 dBW leur puissance d'émission, sauf dans les 26 pays énumérés dans le renvoi. On a cependant montré que cette disposition ne suffit pas à assurer la protection du SETS (passive) dans la bande 10,6-10,68 GHz.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

10,6-10,68 GHz

10,6-10,68

EXPLORATION DE LA TERRE PAR SATELLITE (passive)
FIXE
RADIOASTRONOMIE
RECHERCHE SPATIALE (passive)

MOD 5.149 MOD 5.482 5.482A

MOD 5.149 Voir la section F2.
MOD 5.482 Dans la bande 10,6-10,68 GHz, la puissance appliquée à l'antenne des stations des services fixe et mobile, sauf mobile aéronautique, la p.i.r.e. maximale est limitée à 40 dBW ne doit pas dépasser –3 dBW. Ces limites Cette limite peut être dépassée sous réserve de l'accord obtenu au titre du numéro 9.21. Cependant, cette restriction imposée aux services fixe et mobile, sauf mobile aéronautique, ne s'applique pas dans les pays suivants: Algérie, Arabie saoudite, Arménie, Azerbaïdjan, Bahreïn, Bangladesh, Bélarus, Chine Egypte, Emirats arabes unis, Géorgie, Inde, Indonésie, Iran (République islamique d'), Iraq, Japon, Jordanie, Jamahiriya arabe libyenne, Kazakhstan, Koweït, Lettonie, Liban, Maroc, Mauritanie, Moldova, Nigéria, Oman, Ouzbékistan, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, République arabe syrienne, Kirghizistan, Singapour, Tadjikistan, Tunisie, Turkménistan et Viet Nam. (CMR-037)
ADD 5.482A Pour le partage de la bande 10,6-10,68 GHz entre le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (passive) et les services fixe et mobile, sauf mobile aéronautique, la Résolution 751 (CMR-07) s'applique. (CMR-07)

Discussion

Le Ministère croit que les modifications proposées permettront d'établir un bon équilibre entre les besoins opérationnels des systèmes passifs et actifs, puisqu'une protection appropriée sera assurée aux futurs systèmes du SETS (passive) sans que des contraintes indues ne soient imposées à l'essor des systèmes fixes.

B1 – Partie C) Élaboration de critères de partage entre le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (SETS) (passive), le service fixe et le service mobile dans la bande 36‑37 GHz

Contexte

La bande 36-37 GHz est attribuée à titre primaire au SETS (passive), au service de recherche spatiale (passive), au SF et au service mobile. Les données recueillies par les systèmes du SETS (passive) et du service de recherche spatiale (passive) fonctionnant dans la bande 36-37 GHz contribuent à l'estimation de la vapeur totale, de l'eau liquide totale dans les nuages, de la vitesse du vent à la surface de la mer, de la température à la surface de la mer, de l'importance de la glace en mer, de l'épaisseur de la neige et du contenu du sol en humidité. Ces paramètres sont dérivés des mesures prises près de 7 GHz, de 10,7 GHz, de 18,7 GHz, de 23,8 GHz, de 50,3 GHz, de 52,8 GHz et de 89 GHz combinées aux mesures prises dans la bande 36-37 GHz.

Sans les mesures réglementaires appropriées, les systèmes du SF et du service mobile pourraient causer du brouillage aux services passifs, et la collecte de données scientifiques vitales par les systèmes du SETS (passive) pourrait être compromise.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

36-37 GHz

36-37

EXPLORATION DE LA TERRE PAR SATELLITE (passive)
FIXE
MOBILE
RECHERCHE SPATIALE (passive)

MOD 5.149 5.550A

MOD 5.149 Voir la section F2.
ADD 5.550A Pour le partage de la bande 36-37 GHz entre le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (passive) et les services fixe et mobile, la Résolution 752 (CMR-07) s'applique. (CMR-07)

Discussion

Le Ministère croit que les limites obligatoires imposées à la puissance des stations des futurs systèmes fixes et mobiles, ainsi que la restriction imposée en ce qui concerne certaines caractéristiques opérationnelles des systèmes du SETS (passive), faciliteront le partage de la bande 36-37 GHz entre les futurs systèmes passifs et actifs, sans en restreindre indûment le développement.

B2 (AI 1.20) – Protection du service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (passive) contre les rayonnements non désirés des services actifs

Contexte

La compatibilité entre le service d'exploration de la Terre par satellite (SETS) passive et les services actifs a fait l'objet de discussions depuis la CMR-95. Compte tenu de l'expérience acquise lors des quatre Conférences antérieures, la CMR-07 a été invitée à tenir compte des résultats de l'analyse de la compatibilité faite par l'UIT-R, limitée à certaines bandes appariées précises identifiées dans la Résolution 738 et les propositions connexes de mesures réglementaires en ce qui concerne la protection du SETS (passive) contre les rayonnements non désirés de la part de stations des services actifs.

Pour aborder cette question et tenir compte des incidences sur les services actifs et passifs en question, la CMR-07 a adopté deux types de mesures réglementaires :

  • imposer une limite à la puissance des rayonnements non désirés en provenance des stations actives,
  • recommander la conformité à une puissance maximale des rayonnements non désirés en provenance des stations actives.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

1 350-1 400 MHz

1 350-1 370

FIXE C5
MOBILE C5
RADIOLOCALISATION
RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE  5.334

MOD 5.149 5.334 5.338A

1 370-1 400

FIXE C5
MOBILE C5
RADIOLOCALISATION

MOD 5.149 5.338A 5.339 5.339A C27 C27A 

1 427-1 452 MHz

1 427-1 429

EXPLOITATION SPATIALE (Terre vers espace)
FIXE

5.338A 5.341 

1 429-1 452

FIXE
MOBILE

5.338A 5.339A 5.341 C27A 

22,55-23,55 GHz

22,55-23,55

FIXE
INTER-SATELLITE  5.338A
Mobile

MOD 5.149

30-31,3 GHz

30-31

FIXE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.338A C49
MOBILE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) C50
Fréquences étalons et signaux horaires par satellite (espace vers Terre)

31-31,3

FIXE 5.338A
MOBILE
Fréquences étalons et signaux horaires par satellite (espace vers Terre)
Recherche spatiale 5.544

MOD 5.149

48,2-50,2 GHz

48,2-50,2

FIXE
FIXE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.338A 5.516B 5.552
MOBILE

MOD 5.149 5.340 5.555

50,4-52,6 GHz

50,4-51,4

FIXE
FIXE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.338A
MOBILE
Mobile par satellite (Terre vers espace)

51,4-52,6

FIXE 5.338A
MOBILE

MOD 5.547 5.556

MOD 5.149 Voir la section F2.
ADD 5.338A Dans les bandes 1 350-1 400 MHz, 1 427-1 452 MHz, 22,55-23,55 GHz, 30-31,3 GHz, 49,7-50,2 GHz, 50,4-50,9 GHz et 51,4-52,6 GHz, la Résolution 750 (CMR-07) s'applique. (CMR-07)
SUP 5.339A Voir la section C2.
MOD 5.547 Voir la section F2.
SUP C27A Voir la section C2.

Discussion

Au terme d'une longue discussion à la CMR-07, la Résolution 750 (CMR-07) a été adoptée dans un effort pour établir un équilibre entre les intérêts du SETS (passive) et des services actifs et assurer la compatibilité entre ces services dans certaines bandes appariées précises. Le Ministère croit que ces mesures réglementaires permettront d'assurer la protection de la collecte de données scientifiques vitales au moyen des systèmes du SETS (passive), sans imposer de restrictions indues au déploiement et au développement des services actifs dans les bandes adjacentes.

Date de modification :