Archived—Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (2009 Edition)

Section C: Fixed-Satellite, Mobile-Satellite and Broadcasting Satellite Services Below 3 GHz

C1 (AI 1.7) - Sharing between Mobile-Satellite Service (MSS) and Space Research Service (SRS) (1 668-1 668.4 MHz) and Mobile Service (1 668.4-1 675 MHz)

Background

Issue A:

The band 1 668-1 668.4 MHz is allocated to the space research (passive) service (SRS (passive)) and the MSS (Earth-to-space).

WRC-07 was requested to take appropriate measures to ensure the protection of space research (passive) space stations from harmful interference from mobile earth stations in the band 1 668-1 668.4 MHz, taking care to avoid undue constraints on either service's stations.

WRC-07 adopted conditions to trigger the coordination procedure between MSS and SRS (passive) systems.

Issue B:

The band 1 668.4-1 675 MHz is allocated to the fixed and mobile services. Since WRC-03, the band 1 670-1 675 MHz has also been allocated to the MSS (Earth-to-space). WRC-07 was requested to address the sharing issue between the mobile-satellite service and the fixed and mobile services.

The Conference decided to limit the use of the mobile service allocation to transportable radio-relay systems and recommended compliance with specific power levels for stations in these systems, except in two countries, Canada and the United States.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

1 668-1 675 MHz

1 668-1 668.4

MOBILE-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.348C MOD 5.351A
MOD 5.379B 5.379C C31
RADIO ASTRONOMY
SPACE RESEARCH (passive)
Fixed

MOD 5.149 5.341 5.379A 5.379D

1 668.4-1 670

FIXED
METEOROLOGICAL AIDS
MOBILE-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.348C MOD 5.351A
MOD 5.379B 5.379C C31
RADIO ASTRONOMY

MOD 5.149 5.341 MOD 5.379D 5.379E

1 670-1 675

FIXED
METEOROLOGICAL AIDS
METEOROLOGICAL-SATELLITE (space-to-Earth)
MOBILE (Except aeronautical mobile)
MOBILE-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.348C MOD 5.351A MOD 5.379B C31

5.341 MOD 5.379D 5.379E MOD 5.380A C33

1 755-1 850 MHz

1 755-1 850

FIXED
Mobile MOD 5.384A C5

5.386 C33 C37

MOD 5.149 See Section F2.
SUP 5.348C See Section A2.
ADD MOD 5.351A See Section A2.
MOD 5.379B The use of the band 1 668-1 675 MHz by the mobile-satellite service is subject to coordination under No. 9.11A. In the band 1 668-1 668.4 MHz, Resolution 904 (WRC-07) shall apply. (WRC-0307)
MOD 5.379D For sharing of the band 1 668.4-1 675 MHz between the mobile-satellite service and the fixed and mobile and space research (passive) services, Resolution 744 (Rev. WRC-0307) shall apply. (WRC-0307)
SUP 5.380*  The bands 1 670-1 675 MHz and 1 800-1 805 MHz are intended for use, on a worldwide basis, by administrations wishing to implement aeronautical public correspondence. The use of the band 1 670-1 675 MHz by stations in the systems for public correspondence with aircraft is limited to transmissions from aeronautical stations and the use of the band 1 800-1 805 MHz is limited to transmissions from aircraft stations.(WRC-07)

* Although there is no reference to this footnote in the 2005 edition of the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations, it is listed in the International Footnotes section.

MOD 5.380A See Section F2.
MOD 5.384A See Section A2.
SUP C33 In the bands 1 670-1 675 MHz and 1 800-1 805 MHz, the use of aeronautical public correspondence in accordance with international footnote 5.380 may be the subject of a future policy review.

Discussion

During WRC-07 discussions, Canada did not have any preference on the approach to be considered to ensure the protection of SRS (passive) under Issue A. Concerning Issue B, the objective was to guarantee a complete access to the band 1 670-1 675 MHz for mobile and fixed service systems in Canada, noting the non-practicability of an MSS deployment in Canada. This has been achieved through modification of footnote No. 5.379D and Resolution 744 (Rev. WRC-07).

C2 (AI 1.17) - Sharing Between Fixed Satellite Service (FSS) and Mobile-Satellite Service (MSS) Feeder Links in the 1.4 GHz Band and Other Services

Background

WRC-03 allocated the bands 1 390-1 392 MHz and 1 430-1 432 MHz to the FSS on a secondary basis limited to feeder links of non-GSO satellite systems in the MSS operating below 1 GHz. WRC-03 also recognized the need to delay the use of these bands until the completion of the studies requested by Resolution 745 (WRC-03) and their consideration by WRC-07.

On the basis of ITU-R studies, WRC-07 unanimously decided to suppress the secondary FSS allocation in the bands 1 390-1 392 MHz and 1 430-1 432 MHz. WRC-07 took into consideration the incompatibility between the protection requirements of incumbent services and services operating in the adjacent bands, as well as the operational requirements of FSS stations.

Summary of Proposed Table Changes

1 370-1 400 MHz

1 370-1 400

FIXED C5
MOBILE C5
RADIOLOCATION

MOD 5.149 5.338A 5.339 5.339A C27 C27A

1 429-1 452 MHz

1 429-1 452

FIXED
MOBILE

5.338A 5.339A 5.341  C27A

MOD 5.149 See Section F2.
ADD 5.338A   See Section B2.
SUP 5.339A Additional allocation: the band 1 390-1 392 MHz is also allocated to the fixed-satellite service (Earth-to-space) on a secondary basis and the band 1 430-1 432 MHz is also allocated to the fixed-satellite service (space-to-Earth) on a secondary basis. These allocations are limited to use for feeder links for non-geostationary-satellite networks in the mobile-satellite service with service links below 1 GHz, and Resolution 745 (WRC-03) applies. (WRC-03) (WRC-07)
SUP C27A (CAN-04) In the bands 1 390-1 392 MHz and 1 430- 1 432 MHz, the fixed-satellite service, in accordance with 5.339A, (WRC-03) is withheld in Canada.

Discussion

At WRC-07, there was a unanimous agreement among administrations to remove the secondary allocation to FSS in the bands 1 390-1 392 and 1 430-1 432 MHz. In Canada, the implementation of this WRC-07 decision will help to avoid an increase in interference as a result of the addition of a service in bands that are heavily used by other services.

Date modified:

Archivé — Projet de révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (édition 2009)

Section C : Service fixe par satellite, service mobile par satellite et service de radiodiffusion par satellite au-dessous de 3 GHz

C1 (AI 1.7) - Partage entre le service mobile par satellite et le service de recherche spatiale (1 668‑1 668,4 MHz) et le service mobile par satellite (1 668,4‑1 675 MHz)

Contexte

Question A :

La bande 1 668-1 668,4 MHz est attribuée au service de recherche spatiale (passive) et au service mobile par satellite (Terre-espace).

La CMR-07 a été invitée à prendre les mesures appropriées pour assurer la protection des stations du service de recherche spatiale (passive) contre le brouillage préjudiciable en provenance des stations terriennes mobiles fonctionnant dans la bande 1 668‑1 668,4 MHz, en prenant soin d'éviter d'imposer des restrictions indues aux stations de l'un ou de l'autre service.

La CMR-07 a adopté les conditions à satisfaire pour déclencher la procédure de coordination entre le service mobile par satellite et le service de recherche spatiale (passive).

Question B :

La bande 1 668,4-1 675 MHz est attribuée au service fixe et au service mobile. Depuis la CMR-03, la bande 1 670-1 675 MHz est aussi attribuée au service mobile par satellite (Terre-espace). La CMR-07 a été invitée à se pencher sur la question du partage entre le service mobile par satellite, le service fixe et le service mobile.

La Conférence a décidé de limiter l'utilisation de l'attribution au service mobile aux systèmes hertziens transportables et de recommander la conformité à une puissance précise dans le cas des stations de ces systèmes, sauf dans deux pays : le Canada et les États-Unis.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

1 668-1 675 MHz

1 668-1 668,4

MOBILE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.348C MOD 5.351A MOD 5.379B 5.379C C31
RADIOASTRONOMIE
RECHERCHE SPATIALE (passive)
Fixe

MOD 5.149 5.341 5.379A 5.379D

1 668,4-1 670

AUXILIAIRES DE LA MÉTÉOROLOGIQUE
FIXE
MOBILE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.348C MOD 5.351A MOD 5.379B 5.379C C31
RADIOASTRONOMIE

MOD 5.149 5.341 MOD 5.379D 5.379E

1 670-1 675

AUXILIAIRES DE LA MÉTÉOROLOGIQUE
FIXE
MÉTÉOROLOGIE PAR SATELLITE (espace vers Terre)
MOBILE (sauf mobile aéronautique)
MOBILE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.348C MOD 5.351A  MOD 5.379B C31

5.341 MOD 5.379D 5.379E MOD 5.380A C33

1 755-1 850 MHz

1 755-1 850

FIXE
Mobile MOD 5.384A C5

5.386 C33 C37

MOD 5.149 Voir la section F2.
SUP 5.348C Voir la section A2.
ADD
MOD 5.351A
Voir la section A2.
MOD 5.379B L'utilisation de la bande 1 668-1 675 MHz par le service mobile par satellite est subordonnée à la coordination au titre du numéro 9.11A. Dans la bande 1 668-1 668,4 MHz, la Résolution 904 (CMR-07) s'applique. (CMR-0307)
MOD 5.379D Pour le partage de la bande 1 668,4-1 675 MHz entre le service mobile par satellite et les services fixe et mobile et recherche spatiale (passive), la Résolution 744 (Rév.CMR-0307) s'applique. (CMR-0307)
SUP 5.380* Les bandes 1 670-1 675 MHz et 1 800-1 805 MHz sont destinées à être utilisées, à l'échelle mondiale, par les administrations qui souhaitent mettre en oeuvre un service de correspondance publique aéronautique. L'utilisation de la bande 1 670-1 675 MHz par des stations des systèmes de correspondance publique avec les aéronefs est limitée aux émissions des stations aéronautiques et l'utilisation de la bande 1 800-1 805 MHz est limitée aux émissions des stations d'aéronef.
*Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de référence à ce renvoi dans l'édition 2005 du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, il apparaît dans la section Renvois internationaux.
MOD 5.380A Voir la section F2.
MOD 5.384A Voir la section A2.
SUP C33 Dans les bandes 1 670-1 675 MHz et 1 800-1 805 MHz, l'utilisation de la correspondance publique aéronautique conformément au renvoi 5.380 pourra faire l'objet d'un examen de politique à une date ultérieure.

Discussion

Durant les discussions tenues lors de la CMR-07, le Canada n'avait pas de préférence quant à l'approche à envisager pour assurer la protection du service de recherche spatiale (passive) en vertu de la question A. En ce qui concerne la question B, l'objectif était de garantir un accès complet à la bande 1 670‑1 675 MHz aux systèmes du service mobile et du service fixe au Canada, l'impossibilité d'un déploiement du service mobile par satellite au Canada étant notée. L'objectif a été atteint par le renvoi 5.379D et la Résolution 744 (Rév. CMR-07).

C2 (AI 1.17) - Partage entre les liaisons de connexion du service fixe par satellite et du service mobile par satellite dans la bande de 1,4 GHz et d'autres services

Contexte

La CMR-03 a attribué les bandes 1 390-1 392 MHz et 1 430-1 432 MHz à titre secondaire au service fixe par satellite, exclusivement pour les liaisons de connexion de système à satellites non géostationnaires du service mobile par satellite fonctionnant au-dessous de 1 GHz. La CMR-03 a aussi reconnu le besoin de retarder l'utilisation de ces bandes jusqu'à l'achèvement des études demandées en vertu de la Résolution 745 (CMR-03) et leur examen par la CMR-07.

Étant donné les études unanimes de l'UIT-R, la CMR-07 a décidé de supprimer l'attribution à titre secondaire au service fixe par satellite dans les bandes 1 390-1 392 MHz et 1 430-1 432 MHz, compte tenu de l'incompatibilité entre les besoins de protection des services en place et des services fonctionnant dans les bandes adjacentes et les besoins opérationnels des stations du service fixe par satellite.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

1 370-1 400 MHz

1 370-1 400

FIXE C5
MOBILE C5
RADIOLOCALISATION

MOD 5.149 5.338A 5.339 5.339A C27 C27A

1 429-1 452 MHz

1 429-1 452

FIXE
MOBILE

5.338A  5.339A  5.341  C27A

MOD 5.149 Voir la section F2.
MOD 5.338A Voir la section B2.
SUP 5.339A Attribution additionnelle : la bande 1 390-1 392 MHz est, de plus, attribuée à titre secondaire au service fixe par satellite (Terre vers espace) et la bande 1 430-1 432 MHz est, de plus, attribuée à titre secondaire au service fixe par satellite (espace vers Terre). L'utilisation de ces attributions est limitée aux liaisons de connexion des réseaux à satellite non géostationnaire du service mobile par satellite ayant des liaisons de service au-dessous de 1 GHz et la Résolution 745 (CMR-03) s'applique. (CMR-03) (CMR-07)
SUP C27A (CAN-04) Dans les bandes 1 390-1 392 MHz et 1 430-1 432 MHz, le service fixe par satellite, conformément au renvoi 5.339A (CMR-2003), est suspendu au Canada.

Discussion

À la CMR-07, il s'est dégagé un accord général parmi les Administrations afin de supprimer l'attribution à titre secondaire au service fixe par satellite dans les bandes 1 390‑1 392 et 1 430‑1 432 MHz. Au Canada, la mise en œuvre de cette décision de la CMR-07 permettra d'éviter un accroissement des risques de brouillage suite à l'ajout d'un service dans des bandes fortement utilisées par d'autres services.

Date de modification :