Licence Exempt Personal Communications Services in the Frequency Band 1910–1930 MHz

3.0 Spectrum Utilization Policy for Licence Exempt PCS Applications in the 1910–1930 MHz Band

3.1 Policy Provisions for Licence Exempt PCS Devices

3.1.1 Discussion

As indicated in Section 2, Industry Canada has already announced the designation of two sub-bands for asynchronous (e.g. data) and isochronous (e.g. voice) LE-PCS applications in the 1910–1930 MHz band.

The special committee of the RABC endorsed an earlier recommendation (from the RABC) that suggests that the licence exempt spectrum should not be used "for service for profit", except where the use is complementary to licenced PCS service.

Industry Canada supports the use of LE-PCS spectrum for a diverse range of products that work in a stand-alone fashion or as a complementary function of licenced PCS services. The use of LE-PCS equipment for voice and data applications within the premises of a home, office, shop or industrial building are typical applications. The use of the licence exempt band to offer public PCS services will not be permitted. The provision of third party services is limited to the conditions specified in Section 3.1.2. The necessary regulations to define the provision of third party services will be promulgated in the future, if required.

Equipment manufacturers and suppliers of LE-PCS equipment are encouraged to consider the "intended use" of the 1910–1930 MHz band in their plans for development and sale of LE-PCS products.

3.1.2 Policy Provisions

  1. Licence exempt PCS equipment operating in the 1910–1930 MHz band must be certified by Industry Canada.
  2. The deployment of LE-PCS equipment in Canada is subject to the availability of suitable spectrum in the 1910–1930 MHz band. (See Section 3.2, Transition Policy)
  3. The use of LE-PCS spectrum for the provision of public PCS service offerings is not permitted. Operation of licence exempt equipment where private, third party sale of services are offered is permitted where such services are exclusively within the premises owned, leased or managed by the operator.
  4. The sub-band allocations are as follows:

    1910–1920 MHz      Asynchronous communication devices (eg. data)
    1920–1930 MHz      Isochronous applications (eg. voice)

3.2 Transition Policy

3.2.1 Discussion

Industry Canada held extensive public consultations on the introduction of PCS in Canada including the consequential transition of fixed services to make spectrum available in the band 1850–1990 MHz. In November 1994, the Department announced the precise frequency bands for PCS and through Canada Gazette DGTP-006-94 embarked on a major public consultation on licensing matters including the rules for the transition of microwave systems. Of the 27 submissions received, nearly all provided extensive comments on the transition process. The PCS policy, released on June 15, 1995, included general transition principles for both licensed and licenced exempt PCS in the 1850–1990 MHz band. Industry Canada continues to support these principles, which include the following:

  1. The radio frequency spectrum is a national public resource the utilization of which will be allocated and planned to advance public policy objectives. The allocation of, and access to, the radio frequency spectrum will be adapted to meet changing user requirements, to provide spectrum that best meets the needs of the user, and to facilitate new and innovative services.
  2. As a radio licence does not confer ownership nor a continued right to a particular radio frequency, the Department will continue to provide reasonable notice to inform users of any conditions or circumstances which could result in the displacement of their services or systems to other bands.
  3. The PCS policy reconfirms that there is no liability or responsibility or intent by the Department to financially compensate spectrum users being displaced. Furthermore, as new services have been introduced, it has not been the practice of Industry Canada to ask new radio users to compensate existing users being displaced. Of course, private arrangements may be made between new radio users and existing users on a voluntary basis, within the provisions of the spectrum transition policy.

The transition policy for the LE-PCS spectrum should provide reasonable notification periods while ensuring that displacement actions are necessary for the implementation of LE-PCS. The transition rules for the LE-PCS spectrum should reflect the nomadic and non-nomadic nature of various LE-PCS product lines. The non-nomadic equipment can be deployed in many urban areas of Canada, provided that the supplier takes the necessary steps to avoid interference to/from local fixed microwave stations. On the other hand, nomadic equipment, which may be widely available at retail outlets, does not lend itself to any practical coordination mechanism. Industry Canada, in setting the minimum notification periods, has taken a number of factors into account including the following:

  1. The displacement requirements for non-nomadic LE-PCS devices should affect a relatively small number of microwave assignments, given that coordination between LE-PCS suppliers and fixed service operators could eliminate some potential displacements.
  2. The fixed microwave assignments in the 1910–1930 MHz band generally use large channel bandwidths, in the order of 10–29 MHz. Consequently, the displacement of one assignment in a given area can free-up considerable spectrum for LE-PCS devices.
  3. The displacement exercise to make spectrum available for licenced PCS will partially clear the LE-PCS band due to the overlap of fixed microwave channels.
  4. The introduction of nomadic devices will likely require that all or parts of the LE-PCS band be cleared. This may cause hardship to the incumbent microwave operators who could be faced with displacing a large number of assignments at once.

3.2.2 Transition Policy Provisions

The following transition policy provisions apply to the displacement of fixed stations to make available sufficient spectrum for licence exempt PCS devices in the 1910–1930 MHz band:

  1. The displacement of frequency assignments of fixed stations and the date indicated in the notification will be based on demonstrated requirements for frequency spectrum necessary for the deployment of licence exempt PCS devices in Canada.
  2. Non-Nomadic Licence Exempt PCS Devices

    2.1 Non-nomadic LE-PCS devices are defined as wireless devices whose spectrum usage can be identified as and controlled in a defined geographical area. The supplier must have control over the location of operation of such devices.

    2.2 Suppliers of LE-PCS devices, or their representative organization, shall make all reasonable efforts to coordinate the spectrum requirements of non-nomadic LE-PCS products with the existing fixed microwave assignments, in the specific areas of deployment, in order to reduce or eliminate the need for displacement(s).

    2.3 It is the responsibility of the LE-PCS equipment supplier(s), or their representative organization, to ensure that any displacement of fixed station frequency assignment(s) is critical to meet the product release date of the LE-PCS equipment. The Department will consider the issuance of the displacement notice(s) based, in part, on the information submitted.

    2.4 The minimum notification period for the displacement of a fixed station frequency assignment is two (2) years.
  3. Nomadic Licence Exempt PCS Devices

    3.1 Nomadic LE-PCS devices are defined as wireless devices whose deployment is not restricted to any geographical area and consequently, cannot be practically coordinated with fixed station frequency assignments.

    3.2 It is the responsibility of LE-PCS equipment suppliers, or their representative organization, to advise Industry Canada of the planned introduction of nomadic LE-PCS equipment and identify the potentially affected fixed station frequency assignments. The Department will consider the issuance of the displacement notices based, in part, on the justification submitted.

    3.3 The minimum notification period for the displacement of fixed station frequency assignments to make spectrum available for nomadic LE-PCS devices across the country is three (3) years.
  4. The fixed station operator shall cease the operation of the identified frequency assignment(s) on or before the displacement date indicated in the served notice. Where a displacement notice has been issued as a result of the introduction of nomadic LE-PCS devices, and the affected frequency assignment is in a remote location, then, the fixed station operator may elect to delay the displacement indefinitely, provided the continued operation is on a no interference, no protection basis.
  5. LE-PCS suppliers, or their representative organization, and fixed service operators are encouraged to negotiate mutually acceptable displacement dates, and where practical, coordinate displacement requirements with the licensed PCS operators. Industry Canada will retain oversight of the displacement process and will assist, where appropriate, affected fixed operators in identifying new replacement frequency assignments.

4.0 Mandate, Role, Structure and Operational Methods of an Industry Organization in the Introduction of LE-PCS in Canada

4.1 Discussion

Industry Canada supports the establishment of a single industry organization to advance the deployment of licence exempt PCS devices in Canada.

The response from the special committee of the RABC also indicates that such an organization would be in the interest of LE-PCS equipment manufacturers/suppliers and the incumbent fixed service operators. The basic mandate of the organization would be to advise Industry Canada on the fixed service transition and equipment compatibility matters. It would act as a focal point for LE-PCS deployment, collecting and collating industry information on the LE-PCS devices and formulating a national plan that reflects the deployment requirements and spectrum needs. It is recognized that, unlike the fixed service displacement process for licensed PCS, without an industry organization, the transition process would be driven by ad hoc requests from equipment manufacturers and suppliers which could lead to a disjointed transition exercise, which serves neither the fixed operators or the LE-PCS community.

4.2 Mandate and Role

The principal mandate of the industry organization is to provide advice to support the orderly introduction of licence exempt PCS devices in Canada in the 1910–1930 MHz band. The scope would include the following aspects:

  • the coordination for industry of the transition of fixed station frequency assignments;
  • the roll-out plan or deployment plan for LE-PCS devices; and
  • the development of LE-PCS and fixed service coordination criteria.

The industry organization would act in an advisory capacity to the Department with no direct authority to displace existing licensees or to establish equipment compliance standards. Matters of displacement of fixed station frequency assignments will be handled in accordance with the Transition Policy as outlined in Section 3 of this document. The industry organization shall be open to all interested parties. The recommendations to Industry Canada should reflect a consensus view and, where appropriate, include dissenting opinions that have arisen during deliberations. Other points that further define the mandate and role of the industry organization include the following:

  1. The organization should develop and maintain a deployment plan for nomadic and non-nomadic LE-PCS equipment. This plan shall denote the type of equipment, areas of deployment, spectrum requirements, deployment time frames and the identification of the affected fixed station frequency assignments.
  2. The role of the organization is that of a facilitator and coordinator. Without input from interested parties such as manufacturers and users, it cannot suggest or recommend to Industry Canada any displacement action. It will be the responsibility of the industry organization to determine if substantive needs exist that warrant displacement of fixed service assignments. It is expected that the organization will adopt appropriate benchmarks to assist in the assessment of, or the need for, the displacement of any fixed station assignment(s). Any displacement action must be justified and deemed critical to the deployment of LE-PCS devices.
  3. The organization should identify specific sub-bands, and operating conditions, in areas where non-nomadic devices could operate without potential interference to existing fixed service stations.
  4. The organization should support private arrangements between LE-PCS equipment manufacturers/suppliers and affected fixed service operators for the early displacement of assignments in the 1910–1930 MHz band.
  5. Note that the Department considers premature displacement of fixed station frequency assignment(s) a serious breach of public policy.

4.3 Structure

The creation, structure and funding of the industry organization would be the responsibility of the LE-PCS equipment manufacturers, or their agents. Industry Canada does not view this matter as requiring specific policy directions from government, however, on the question of membership the following points are offered as guidance:

  1. Fixed service operators with assignments in the 1910–1930 MHz band, or their agent(s), be afforded full access to the proceedings and activities of the industry organization.
  2. Industry Canada should be afforded observer status.
  3. In general, any interested party should be permitted observer status at meetings of the industry organization.

The legal structure, including liability issues, of the industry organization should be established and well understood amongst the membership before any displacement requests are made.

4.4 Operational Methods

The operational methods are considered matters of the industry organization and, as such, do not require specific policy directives.

The industry organization should make specific recommendations to Industry Canada on fixed station assignment displacement requirements. The displacement guidelines, released by Industry Canada, entitled Displacement of Fixed Service Stations Operating in the 2 GHz Frequency Range to Accommodate Licensed Personal Communications Services (PCS), (CPC-2-1-09) provide details on the displacement process. Although this document was written primarily for licensed PCS operations, the process is generally applicable to licence exempt PCS.

The industry organization should forward recommendations dealing with equipment compatibility, sub-band designations and coordination criteria to the appropriate bodies in Industry Canada and the Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC).

5.0 Implementation

It is suggested that applicants contact the nearest office of Industry Canada regarding radio licensing in the bands covered in this policy document. General inquiries about the policy provisions may be addressed to:

Spectrum and Radio Services Directorate
Telecommunication Policy Branch
300 Slater  St.,
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8
Phone: 613-998-4470/3974
Fax: 613-952-0567

Issued under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act

 

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


Date modified:

Services de communications personnelles exempts de licence dans la bande de fréquence 1910–1930 MHz

3.0 Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les demandes de SCP exempts de licence dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz

3.1 Dispositions de la politique relatives aux dispositifs SCP exempts de licence

3.1.1 Présentation

Comme cela est indiqué à la section 2, Industrie Canada a déjà annoncé la désignation de deux sous-bandes pour les utilisations asynchrones (données, par exemple) et isochrones (voix, par exemple) dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz.

Le comité spécial du CCCR a endossé une recommandation antérieure (du CCCR) qui suggérait que la bande de fréquences exempte de licence ne devait pas servir à des fins lucratives, sauf là où l'utilisation était complémentaire au service SCP avec licence.

Industrie Canada appuie l'utilisation des fréquences SCP-EL pour une gamme variée de produits fonctionnant de façon autonome ou de façon complémentaire aux services SCP avec licence. L'utilisation de matériel SCP-EL pour des applications vocales et de données et dans les locaux d'une maison, d'un bureau, d'un atelier ou d'un bâtiment industriel constitue des utilisations typiques. L'utilisation de la bande exempte de licence pour offrir des services SCP publics ne sera pas autorisée. La fourniture de services à des tiers est sujette aux conditions spécifiées à la section 3.1.2. Les règlements nécessaires pour définir la fourniture de services à des tiers seront promulgués dans le futur, si nécessaire.

Les fabricants et les fournisseurs de matériel SCP-EL sont incités à tenir compte de l'« usage prévu » de la bande 1910–1930 MHz dans leurs programmes de mise au point et de vente de produits SCP-EL.

3.1.2 Dispositions de la politique

  1. Le matériel SCP exempt de licence, fonctionnant dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz, doit être certifié par Industrie Canada.
  2. Le déploiement du matériel SCP-EL au Canada dépend de la disponibilité d'une bande de fréquence convenable dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz. (Voir section 3.2, Politique de transition)
  3. L'utilisation des fréquences SCP-EL pour la fourniture de services SCP publics est interdite. L'utilisation de matériel exempt de licence dans les endroits où des services privés sont offerts à des tiers est autorisée là où de tels services sont exclusivement à l'intérieur de locaux possédés, loués ou gérés par l'exploitant.
  4. L'attribution des sous-bandes est la suivante :

    1910–1920 MHz      Dispositifs de communications asynchrones (par ex. données)
    1920–1930 MHz      Applications isochrones (par ex. voix).

3.2 Politique de transition

3.2.1 Présentation

Industrie Canada a tenu d'intensives consultations publiques sur l'introduction des SCP au Canada, y compris sur la transition de services fixes qui en découle pour libérer des fréquences dans la bande 1850–1990 MHz. En novembre 1994, le Ministère annonçait les bandes de fréquences précises réservées aux SCP et, par l'intermédiaire de l'avis public DGTP-006-94 publié dans la Gazette du Canada, amorçait une consultation publique majeure sur les questions de délivrance de licence, y compris les règles de transition pour les systèmes à micro-ondes. Des 27 soumissions reçues, pratiquement toutes incluaient de longs commentaires sur le processus de transition. La politique sur les SCP, publiée le 15 juin 1995, incluait des principes généraux relatifs à la transition à la fois pour les SCP avec licence et ceux exempts de licence dans la bande 1850–1990 MHz. Industrie Canada continue d'appuyer ces principes dont ceux qui suivent :

  1. Le spectre des fréquences radioélectriques est une ressource publique nationale dont l'utilisation sera attribuée et planifiée de manière à atteindre les objectifs des politiques gouvernementales. L'attribution et l'accès au spectre seront adaptés afin de satisfaire les exigences changeantes des utilisateurs, de fournir les bandes de fréquences qui répondront le mieux aux besoins des utilisateurs, et de favoriser des services nouveaux et innovateurs.
  2. Puisqu'une licence radio ne confère pas de droit de propriété ni un droit continu à une fréquence particulière, le Ministère continuera de fournir un préavis raisonnable afin d'informer les utilisateurs de toute condition ou circonstance qui pourrait entraîner le déplacement de leurs services ou systèmes vers d'autres bandes.
  3. La politique sur les SCP reconfirme que le Ministère n'a aucunement l'obligation, la responsabilité ou l'intention d'indemniser financièrement les utilisateurs du spectre qui seront déplacés. De plus, lorsque de nouveaux services sont introduits, il n'est pas d'usage à Industrie Canada de demander aux nouveaux utilisateurs radio d'indemniser les utilisateurs existants qui sont déplacés. Bien sûr, des ententes privées peuvent être conclues sur une base volontaire entre les nouveaux utilisateurs et les utilisateurs existants à l'intérieur des dispositions de la politique de transition du spectre.

La politique de transition pour les fréquences SCP-EL doit prévoir des périodes de préavis raisonnables et garantir que la mise en oeuvre des SCP-EL nécessite vraiment les déplacements. Les règles de transition relatives aux fréquences SCP-EL doivent refléter la nature nomade et non nomade des diverses gammes de produits SCP-EL. Le matériel non nomade peut être déployé dans de nombreuses zones urbaines du Canada, pourvu que le fournisseur prenne les mesures nécessaires pour éviter le brouillage avec les stations à micro-ondes fixes locales. Cependant, le matériel nomade, que l'on peut facilement se procurer dans les points de vente de services au détail, ne se prête à aucun mécanisme pratique de coordination. En fixant les périodes de préavis minimales, Industrie Canada a tenu compte de nombreux facteurs, y compris ceux qui suivent :

  1. Les exigences de déplacement pour les dispositifs SCP-EL non nomades devraient affecter un nombre relativement minime d'assignations à des stations à micro-ondes, étant donné que la coordination entre les fournisseurs SCP-EL et les exploitants de services fixes pourrait éliminer certains déplacements potentiels.
  2. Les assignations à des stations à micro-ondes fixes dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz utilisent généralement des largeurs de bande importantes, de l'ordre de 10 à 29 MHz. Par conséquent, le déplacement d'une assignation dans une région donnée peut libérer une largeur de bande considérable pour les dispositifs SCP-EL.
  3. L'exercice de déplacement en vue de rendre disponible une bande du spectre pour les SCP avec licence dégagera partiellement la bande SCP-EL en raison du chevauchement des voies micro-ondes fixes.
  4. L'introduction de dispositifs nomades nécessitera probablement que la bande SCP-EL au complet ou une partie de celle-ci soit dégagée. Cela pourrait causer des problèmes aux exploitants de stations à micro-ondes existantes qui pourraient devoir déplacer un grand nombre d'assignations d'un seul coup.

3.2.2 Dispositions de la politique de transition

Les dispositions suivantes de la politique de transition s'appliquent au déplacement de stations fixes visant à rendre disponible une portion de spectre pour les dispositifs SCP exempts de licence dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz :

  1. Le déplacement des assignations de fréquence des stations fixes et la date indiquée dans le préavis seront basés sur les besoins prouvés en matière de fréquence nécessaire au déploiement des dispositifs SCP exempts de licence au Canada.
  2. Dispositifs SCP non nomades exempts de licence

    2.1 Les dispositifs SCP-EL non nomades sont définis comme des dispositifs sans fil dont l'utilisation du spectre peut être identifiée et contrôlée dans une région géographique donnée. Le fournisseur doit avoir le contrôle de l'emplacement de l'exploitation de ces dispositifs.

    2.2 Les fournisseurs de dispositifs SCP-EL, ou l'organisme qui les représente, devront faire tous les efforts raisonnables pour coordonner les besoins en fréquences des produits SCP-EL non nomades avec les assignations à des stations à micro-ondes fixes existantes dans les zones spécifiques de déploiement, afin de réduire ou d'éliminer le besoin de déplacement(s).

    2.3 Les fournisseurs de matériel SCP-EL, ou l'organisme qui les représente, ont la responsabilité de s'assurer que tout déplacement d'assignation(s) de fréquence de station fixe est critique pour le respect de la date de mise en marché du matériel SCP-EL. Le Ministère examinera la délivrance des avis de déplacement en s'appuyant, en partie, sur les informations présentées.

    2.4 La période de préavis minimale pour le déplacement d'une assignation de fréquence de station fixe est de deux (2) ans.

  3. Dispositifs SCP nomades exempts de licence

    3.1 Les dispositifs SCP-EL nomades sont définis comme des dispositifs sans fil dont le déploiement n'est restreint à aucune zone géographique et qui, par conséquent, ne peut en pratique faire l'objet d'une coordination avec les assignations de fréquence aux stations fixes.

    3.2 Les fournisseurs de matériel SCP-EL, ou l'organisme qui les représente, ont la responsabilité d'aviser Industrie Canada du programme d'introduction du matériel SCP-EL nomade et d'identifier les assignations de fréquence de stations fixes qui seront potentiellement touchées. Le Ministère examinera la délivrance des avis de déplacement en se basant, en partie, sur les justifications qui lui seront présentées.

    3.3 La période de préavis minimale pour le déplacement des assignations de fréquence des stations fixes en vue de rendre disponible une partie du spectre pour les dispositifs SCP-EL nomades à travers le pays est de trois (3) ans.

  4. L'exploitant d'une station fixe cessera d'exploiter les assignations de fréquence identifiées à la date de déplacement indiquée dans le préavis donné, ou avant. Lorsque l'avis de déplacement est émis suite à l'introduction de dispositifs SCP-EL nomades et que l'assignation de fréquence concernée se trouve dans une région éloignée, l'exploitant de la station fixe peut choisir de retarder indéfiniment le déplacement, sous réserve que la poursuite de l'exploitation ne cause aucun brouillage et ne comporte aucune protection.
  5. Les fournisseurs de SCP-EL, ou l'organisme qui les représente, et les exploitants de services fixes sont incités à négocier des dates de déplacement mutuellement acceptables et, là où c'est possible, de coordonner les exigences de déplacement avec les exploitants de SCP avec licence. Industrie Canada surveillera le processus de déplacement et aidera, le cas échéant, les exploitants de services fixes affectés à identifier de nouvelles assignations de fréquence de remplacement.

4.0 Mandat, rôle, structure et méthodes opérationnelles d'un organisme de l'industrie dans l'introduction de SCP-EL au Canada

4.1 Présentation

Industrie Canada appuie la création d'un organisme unique de l'industrie chargé de faire progresser le déploiement de dispositifs SCP exempts de licence au Canada.

La réponse du comité spécial du CCCR indique également qu'un tel organisme serait dans l'intérêt des fabricants et des fournisseurs de matériels SCP-EL et des exploitants de services fixes existants. Le mandat principal de l'organisme serait de conseiller Industrie Canada en matière de transition de services fixes et de compatibilité du matériel. Cet organisme agirait comme centre de liaison pour le déploiement des SCP-EL, recueillant et rassemblant les informations de l'industrie sur les dispositifs SCP-EL et formulant ensuite un plan national qui reflète les exigences de déploiement et les besoins de fréquences. Sans un organisme de l'industrie, il est admis que, contrairement au processus de déplacement des services fixes pour les SCP avec licence, le processus de transition serait dirigé par des demandes ad hoc provenant des fabricants et fournisseurs de matériel, ce qui pourrait conduire à un exercice de transition chaotique, qui ne serait dans l'intérêt ni des exploitants de services fixes, ni dans celui de la communauté SCP-EL.

4.2 Mandat et rôle

Le principal mandat de l'organisme de l'industrie est de fournir des avis en vue d'appuyer l'introduction ordonnée des dispositifs SCP exempts de licence au Canada dans la bande 1910–1930MHz. La portée du mandat comprendrait les aspects suivants :

  • la coordination, pour l'industrie, de la transition des assignations de fréquence des stations fixes;
  • le plan de mise en oeuvre ou le plan de déploiement relatifs aux dispositifs SCP-EL; et
  • la mise au point de critères de coordination entre SCP-EL et services fixes.

L'organisme aurait un rôle consultatif auprès du Ministère mais sans pouvoir direct de déplacement des titulaires existants ou d'établissement de normes de conformité du matériel. Les questions de déplacement des assignations de fréquence de stations fixes seront traitées conformément à la politique de transition exposée à la section 3 du présent document. L'organisme de l'industrie devra être accessible à toutes les parties intéressées. Les recommandations faites à Industrie Canada devraient refléter l'opinion générale et, le cas échéant, inclure les opinions dissidentes émises au cours des délibérations de l'organisme. Voici d'autres points qui définissent davantage le mandat et le rôle de l'organisme de l'industrie :

  1. L'organisme devra mettre au point et maintenir un plan de déploiement pour le matériel SCP-EL nomade et non nomade. Ce plan devra indiquer le type de matériel, les zones de déploiement, les besoins en fréquences, les délais de déploiement et l'identification des assignations de fréquence des stations fixes touchées.
  2. L'organisme a un rôle de facilitateur et de coordonnateur. Sans la collaboration des parties intéressées, tels les fabricants et les utilisateurs, il ne peut suggérer ou recommander à Industrie Canada aucune mesure de déplacement. L'organisme de l'industrie aura la responsabilité de déterminer si des besoins substantiels existent et nécessitent le déplacement d'assignations de services fixes. On s'attend à ce que l'organisme adopte des données de référence appropriées pour faciliter l'évaluation d'un déplacement ou du besoin de déplacement de toute assignation de fréquence de station fixe. Toute mesure de déplacement doit être justifiée et jugée essentielle au déploiement des dispositifs SCP-EL.
  3. L'organisme devra identifier les sous-bandes particulières et les conditions d'exploitation dans les régions où des dispositifs non nomades pourraient fonctionner sans danger de brouillage avec les stations de services fixes existantes.
  4. L'organisme devra favoriser la conclusion d'ententes privées entre les fabricants et fournisseurs de matériel SCP-EL et les exploitants de services fixes affectés en vue d'un déplacement rapide des assignations dans la bande 1910–1930 MHz.
  5. Il faut remarquer que le Ministère considère le déplacement prématuré d'assignation(s) de fréquence(s) de stations fixes comme un manquement sérieux à la politique gouvernementale.

4.3 Structure

La responsabilité de la création, de la structure et du financement de l'organisme de l'industrie reviendrait aux fabricants de matériel SCP-EL ou à leurs agents. Industrie Canada ne considère pas que cette question nécessite des directives d'orientation spécifiques de la part du gouvernement; au sujet de la composition de l'organisme, les points suivants pourraient cependant servir de base à la réflexion :

  1. Les exploitants de services fixes dont les assignations se situent dans la bande 1910–1930MHz, ou leur(s) agent(s), devraient avoir entièrement accès aux travaux et activités de l'organisme de l'industrie.
  2. Le statut d'observateur devrait être accordé à Industrie Canada.
  3. En général, toute partie intéressée devrait se voir accorder le statut d'observateur aux rencontres de l'organisme de l'industrie.

Les obligations légales de l'organisme de l'industrie, y compris les questions relatives à la responsabilité, devraient être établies et bien comprises par les membres avant que toute demande de déplacement ne soit formulée.

4.4 Méthodes opérationnelles

Les méthodes opérationnelles sont jugées comme relevant de l'organisme de l'industrie et, comme telles, ne requièrent pas de directive d'orientation spécifique.

L'organisme de l'industrie devrait faire des recommandations spécifiques à Industrie Canada concernant les besoins de déplacement d'assignations de stations fixes. Les lignes directrices de déplacement publiées par Industrie Canada sous le titre Déplacement de stations assurant un service fixe dans la bande 2 GHz pour permettre l'exploitation des services de communications personnelles (SCP) autorisés, (CPC-2-1-09) donnent les détails relatifs au processus de déplacement. Bien que ce document ait été d'abord écrit pour l'exploitation des SCP avec licence, le processus s'applique en général aux SCP exempts de licence.

L'organisme de l'industrie devrait transmettre des recommandations concernant la compatibilité des matériels, les désignations des sous-bandes et les critères de coordination aux organismes appropriés d'Industrie Canada et du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR).

5.0 Mise en oeuvre

Il est suggéré que les requérants communiquent avec le bureau le plus rapproché d'Industrie Canada pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l'autorisation de licence dans les bandes de fréquences élaborées dans ce document de politique du spectre. Des renseignements sur les dispositions de politiques peuvent être obtenus en s'adressant à

Spectre et Services de radiocommunication
Direction de la politique des télécommunications
300, rue Slater
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8
Téléphone : 613-998-4470/3974
Facsimile : 613-952-0567

Publié selon l'autorisation
de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

 

Larry Shaw
Directeur général
Politique des télécommunications


Date de modification :