Licence Conditions (revised as of November 2008)

Licence Conditions (PDF, 28 KB, 4 pages)

PDF Readers

1. Licence Term

This licence is issued for a 10-year term. The process for issuing licences after this term and any issues relating to renewal will be determined by the Minister of Industry following a public consultation.

2. Licence Transferability and Divisibility

The licensee may apply in writing to transfer its licence in whole or in part (divisibility), in both the bandwidth and geographic dimensions. Departmental approval is required for each proposed transfer of a licence, whether the transfer is in whole or in part. The transferee(s) must also provide an attestation and other supporting documentation demonstrating that it meets the eligibility criteria and all other conditions, technical or otherwise, of the licence.

The Department may define a minimum bandwidth and/or geographic dimension (such as the grid cell) for the proposed transfer. Systems involved in such a transfer shall conform to the technical requirements set forth in the applicable standard.

Licences acquired through the set-aside of spectrum (as defined in Policy Framework for the Auction for Spectrum Licences for Advanced Wireless Services and other Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range) may not be transferred or leased to, acquired by means of a change in ownership or control of the licensee, divided among, or exchanged with companies that do not meet the criteria of a new entrant, for a period of 5 years from the date of issuance. Industry Canada will consider requests from licensees, whether new entrants or incumbents, to exchange spectrum blocks in the same geographic territory, provided that the amount of non-set-aside spectrum is equal to or greater than the set-aside spectrum and the Department may grant such requests based on the merits of the proposal and conformity with the policy objectives.

The licensee may apply to use a subordinate licensing process.

For more information, refer to Industry Canada's Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services, as amended from time to time.

3. Eligibility Criteria

The licensee must comply on an ongoing basis with the eligibility criteria for a radiocommunication carrier including compliance with section 10(2) of the Radiocommunication Regulations. The licensee must notify the Minister of Industry of any change which would have a material effect on its eligibility. Such notification must be made in advance for any proposed transaction within its knowledge. For more information, refer to Industry Canada's Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-15, Canadian Ownership and Control, as amended from time to time.

4. Displacement of Incumbents

The licensee must comply with the transition policy set out in the Consultation on a Framework to Auction Spectrum in the 2 GHz Range Including Advanced Wireless Services, Part I, Section 3, Treatment of Incumbent Licensees (DGTP-002-07) or any such policies related to the displacement of fixed systems as may be issued.

5. Radio Station Installations

While site-specific radio licences will not be required for each radio station, licensees must ensure that each radio station is installed and operated in a manner that complies with Industry Canada's Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, as amended from time to time.

6. Provision of Technical Information

When the Department requests technical information on a particular station or network, the information must be provided by the licensee to the Department according to the definitions, criteria, frequency, and timelines specified by the Department. For more information, refer to Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-23, Licensing Procedure for Spectrum Licences for Terrestrial Services, as amended from time to time.

7. Compliance with Legislation, Regulations and other Obligations

The licensee is subject to, and must comply with, the Radiocommunication Act, the Radiocommunication Regulations and the International Telecommunication Union's Radio Regulations pertaining to its licensed radio frequency bands. The licence is issued on condition that the certifications made in relation to this licence are all true and complete in every respect. The licensees must use the assigned spectrum in accordance with the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations and the stated spectrum policy. Licensees must abide by applicable provisions of other statutes and the rulings of other statutory bodies, such as the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) or the Competition Bureau.

8. Technical Considerations

The licensee must comply on an ongoing basis with the technical aspects of the appropriate Radio Standards Specifications and Standard Radio System Plans, as amended from time to time.

9. International and Domestic Coordination

The licensee must comply with the current (Treaty Series 1962 No. 15 - Coordination and Use of Radio Frequencies – Arrangements H, I and J) and future agreements established with other countries. While frequency assignments are not subject to site licensing, the licensee may be required to furnish all necessary technical data for each relevant site.

The licensee will use its best efforts to enter into mutually acceptable sharing agreements that will facilitate the reasonable and timely development of their respective systems, where applicable, and to coordinate with other licensed users in Canada and internationally, where applicable.

10. Lawful Interception

Licensees using spectrum for circuit-switched voice telephony systems must, from the inception of service, provide for and maintain lawful interception capabilities as authorized by law. The requirements for lawful interception capabilities are provided in the Solicitor General's Enforcement Standards for Lawful Interception of Telecommunications (Rev. Nov. 95). These standards may be amended from time to time.

The licensee may request the Minister of Industry to forbear from enforcing certain assistance capability requirements for a limited period. The Minister, following consultation with Public Safety Canada, may exercise the power to forbear from enforcing a requirement or requirements where, in the opinion of the Minister, the requirement is not reasonably achievable. Requests for forbearance must include specific details and dates indicating when compliance to the requirement can be expected.

11. Research and Development (R&D)

All licensees must invest, as a minimum, 2 percent of their adjusted gross revenues resulting from their operations in this spectrum, averaged over the 10-year term of the licence, in eligible research and development activities related to telecommunications. Eligible research and development activities are those which meet the definition of scientific research and experimental development adopted in the Income Tax Act. Adjusted gross revenues are defined as total service revenues, less inter-carrier payments, bad debts, third-party commissions, and provincial and goods and services taxes collected. Businesses with less than $5 million in annual gross operating revenues are exempt from research and development expenditure requirements, except where they have affiliations with licensees that hold other licences with the research and development condition of licence and where the total annual gross revenues of the affiliated licensees are greater than $5 million.

To facilitate compliance with this condition of licence, the licensee should consult the Department's Guidelines for Compliance with the Radio Authorization Condition of Licence Relating to Research and Development (GL-03).

12. Implementation of Spectrum Usage

The Department will take into account the roll-out targets listed in Appendix C of the AWS Licensing Framework (DGRB-011-07), both in considering eventual renewal of AWS licences and in considering any application from a national new entrant for extension of in-territory roaming beyond the initial 5 years as discussed in the AWS Policy Framework.

13. Mandatory Antenna Tower and Site Sharing

The licensee must comply with the mandatory antenna tower and site sharing requirements set out in Industry Canada's Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17 Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements, as amended from time to time.

14. Mandatory Roaming

PCS and AWS licensees must comply with the mandatory roaming requirements set out in Industry Canada's Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17 Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements, as amended from time to time.

15. Annual Reporting

Licensees must submit an annual report for each year of the licence term including the following information:

  • a statement indicating continued compliance with all conditions of licence;
  • an update on the implementation and spectrum usage of Advanced Wireless Services, Personal Communications Services and/or services in the band 1670-1675 MHz, within the area covered by the licence;
  • existing audited financial statements with an accompanying Auditor's Report;
  • audited Statement of Research and Development Expenditures with an accompanying Auditor's Report (where licensees are claiming an exemption based on an adjusted gross revenue of less than $5 million, supporting financial statements must be provided); and
  • a copy of any existing corporate annual report for the licensee's fiscal year with respect to the authorization.

The reports are to be submitted, in writing, to Industry Canada at the address below within 120 days of the licensee's fiscal year-end. Where a licensee holds multiple licences, the reports should be broken down by service area. Confidential information provided will be treated in accordance with section 20(1) of the Access to Information Act.

Manager, Emerging Networks
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street, 15th floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

16. Amendments

The Minister of Industry retains the discretion to amend these terms and conditions of licence at any time.

Date modified:

Conditions de licence (révisées en novembre 2008)

Conditions de licence (PDF, 32 Ko, 5 pages)

Lecteurs PDF

1. Période de validité des licences

Les licences délivrées seront valides pendant dix ans. Le processus de délivrance des licences après cette période et, le cas échéant, les questions liées au renouvellement seront déterminés par le ministre de l'Industrie après des consultations publiques.

2. Transférabilité et divisibilité des licences

Les titulaires de licence peuvent demander par écrit le transfert de leurs licences en tout ou en partie (divisibilité), tant à l'égard de la largeur de bande qu'à l'égard de la zone géographique. L'approbation du Ministère est requise pour chaque transfert proposé d'une licence, que ce soit en tout ou en partie. Les cessionnaires doivent également fournir une attestation et d'autres documents justificatifs prouvant qu'ils répondent aux critères d'admissibilité et à toutes les autres conditions, techniques ou autres, de la licence.

Le Ministère peut définir, pour le transfert proposé, une largeur de bande minimale ou une zone géographique minimale (comme la cellule de grille spectrale). Les systèmes visés par un tel transfert doivent être conformes aux exigences techniques énoncées dans la norme applicable.

Les licences obtenues grâce au spectre réservé (défini dans la Politique-cadre pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchères relatives aux services sans fil évolués et autres bandes de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz) ne pourront, pendant une période de cinq ans à partir de la date de délivrance, être transférées ni louées à des entreprises qui ne respectent pas les critères d'un nouveau venu. Ces licences ne pourront pas non plus être acquises par changement de propriété ou de contrôle du titulaire de licence ni divisées ou échangées entre ces entreprises. Industrie Canada étudiera les demandes des titulaires de licence, peu importe s'ils sont des nouveaux venus ou des titulaires, pour échanger des blocs de spectre dans la même zone géographique à la condition que la quantité de spectre non réservé soit égale ou plus grande au spectre réservé et que le Ministère puisse accepter de telles demandes d'après le bien-fondé de la proposition et la conformité aux objectifs de la politique.

Les titulaires de licence peuvent faire une demande pour utiliser un processus de délivrance de licences subordonnées.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-23 d'Industrie Canada, Procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre, modifiée de temps à autre.

3. Critères d'admissibilité

Les titulaires de licence doivent se conformer en permanence aux critères d'admissibilité applicables à un transporteur de radiocommunications, y compris au paragraphe 10(2) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Les titulaires de licence doivent notifier le ministre de l'Industrie de tout changement qui aurait une incidence notable sur leur admissibilité. Une telle notification doit être effectuée à l'avance pour toute transaction proposée dont le titulaire est au courant. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-15 d'Industrie Canada, Propriété et contrôle canadiens, qui peut être modifiée de temps à autre.

4. Déplacement de l'assignation des titulaires

Les titulaires de licence doivent respecter la politique de transition énoncée dans la Consultation sur un cadre de mise aux enchères de fréquences dans la gamme de 2 GHz, y compris pour les services sans fil évolués, Partie I, section 3, Traitement des titulaires de licence (DGTP-002-07), ou toute politique semblable qui pourrait être émise sur le déplacement de l'assignation des systèmes fixes.

5. Installations de stations radio

Bien que des licences radio propres au site ne soient pas nécessaires pour chaque station radio, les titulaires de licence doivent veiller à ce que chaque station radio soit installée et exploitée d'une manière qui soit conforme à la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-03 d'Industrie Canada, Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunication et de radiodiffusion, qui peut être modifiée de temps à autre.

6. Communication de renseignements techniques

Lorsque le Ministère demande des renseignements techniques concernant une station ou un réseau donné, le titulaire de licence doit fournir ces renseignements au Ministère conformément aux définitions, aux critères, à la fréquence et aux échéances précisés par le Ministère. Pour en savoir davantage, consulter la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-23, Procédures de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les services de Terre, qui peut être modifiée de temps à autre.

7. Conformité aux lois, aux règlements et aux autres obligations

Les titulaires de licence sont assujettis et doivent se conformer à la Loi sur la radiocommunication, au Règlement sur la radiocommunication et au Règlement des radiocommunications de l'Union internationale des télécommunications à l'égard des bandes de radiofréquences visées par leur licence. La licence est délivrée à la condition que les certifications fournies dans le matériel de demande soient toutes vraies et complètes à tous les égards. Les titulaires de licence doivent utiliser les fréquences attribuées conformément au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et à la politique du spectre spécifiée. Les titulaires de licence doivent aussi se conformer aux dispositions applicables d'autres lois ainsi qu'aux décisions d'autres organismes de droit public, par exemple le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) ou le Bureau de la concurrence.

8. Facteurs techniques

Les titulaires de licence doivent se conformer en permanence aux aspects techniques des Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques et des Plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens appropriés, qui peuvent être modifiés de temps à autre.

9. Coordination nationale et internationale

Les titulaires de licence doivent respecter les accords actuels (Recueil des traités 1962 no 15 – Coordination et utilisation des fréquences radiophoniques – Arrangements A, H, I et J) et futurs conclus avec d'autres pays. Bien que les attributions de fréquences ne soient pas soumises à la délivrance de licences pour chaque emplacement, les titulaires de licence pourraient devoir fournir toutes les données techniques nécessaires pour chaque emplacement pertinent.

Les titulaires de licence seront invités à conclure des accords de partage mutuellement acceptables qui faciliteront le développement raisonnable et opportun de leurs systèmes respectifs, le cas échéant, et à assurer la coordination avec d'autres utilisateurs titulaires de licence au Canada et à l'étranger, le cas échéant.

10. Interception licite

Les titulaires de licence qui utiliseront les fréquences pour la téléphonie à commutation de circuits doivent, dès la conception du service, prévoir et maintenir des fonctions d'interception licite, comme la loi l'autorise. Les exigences relatives aux fonctions d'interception licite sont énoncées dans les Normes d'application du Solliciteur général sur l'interception licite des télécommunications (rév. nov. 1995). Ces normes peuvent être modifiées de temps à autre.

Les titulaires de licence peuvent demander au ministre de l'Industrie de s'abstenir d'appliquer, pour une durée limitée, certaines exigences relatives à la capacité d'assistance. Le Ministre, après avoir consulté Sécurité publique Canada, pourra exercer son pouvoir de s'abstenir d'appliquer une ou plusieurs exigences lorsque, selon le Ministre, l'exigence n'est pas raisonnable. Les demandes d'abstention doivent comprendre des détails particuliers et des dates indiquant à quel moment on s'attend à ce que l'exigence soit respectée.

11. Recherche et développement (R-D)

Tous les titulaires de licence doivent investir, à titre d'exigence minimale, deux pour cent de leur revenu brut ajusté résultant de l'exploitation des fréquences en cause dans des activités de recherche et développement admissibles en lien avec les télécommunications, la moyenne étant calculée sur la période de validité de la licence de dix ans. Les activités de recherche et développement admissibles sont celles qui correspondent aux définitions de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental adoptées dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Le revenu brut ajusté se définit comme des revenus de service totaux, moins les paiements entre transporteurs, les mauvaises créances, les commissions payées à des tiers et la taxe provinciale et la taxe sur les produits et services perçues. Les titulaires de licence ayant des recettes d'exploitation brutes annuelles inférieures à cinq millions de dollars sont exemptés des exigences de dépenses en R-D, sauf s'ils ont des affiliations avec des titulaires détenant d'autres licences faisant l'objet d'une condition de licence en matière de recherche et de développement et dont les recettes d'exploitation brutes annuelles totales sont supérieures à cinq millions de dollars.

Pour faciliter la conformité à cette condition de licence, les titulaires de licence devraient consulter les Lignes directrices sur le respect de la condition relative à la recherche-développement pour les licences d'autorisation de radiocommunication (LD-03) du Ministère.

12. Mise en service des fréquences

Le Ministère prendra en considération les objectifs de déploiement exposés à l'annexe C du Cadre pour la délivrance de licences SSFE (DGRB-011-07), en examinant à la fois le renouvellement éventuel des licences de SSFE et toute demande émanant d'un nouveau venu national concernant la prolongation de la période d'itinérance dans le territoire au-delà des cinq années initiales, comme traité dans la Politique-cadre relative aux SSFE.

13. Partage obligatoire d'emplacement et de pylônes d'antennes

Les titulaires de licence doivent se conformer aux exigences relatives au partage obligatoire d'emplacement et de pylônes d'antennes énoncées dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-17 d'Industrie Canada, Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs, qui peut être modifiée de temps à autre.

14. Itinérance obligatoire

Les titulaires de licence de SCP et de SSFE doivent se conformer aux exigences relatives à l'itinérance obligatoire énoncées dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-17 d'Industrie Canada, Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs, qui peut être modifiée de temps à autre.

15. Rapport annuel

Les titulaires de licence doivent soumettre un rapport annuel pour chaque année de la période de validité de la licence comprenant les renseignements suivants :

  • une déclaration indiquant la conformité continue avec tous les conditions de licence
  • l'information actualisée concernant la mise en service et l'utilisation du spectre pour les services sans fil évolués, les services de communications personnelles ou les services dans la bande 1670-1675 MHz, dans la zone couverte par la licence;
  • les états financiers existants vérifiés accompagnés d'un rapport du vérificateur;
  • l'état vérifié des dépenses en recherche et développement accompagné d'un rapport du vérificateur (lorsque les titulaires de licence revendiquent une exemption basée sur un revenu brut ajusté inférieur à cinq millions de dollars, il faut fournir des états financiers à l'appui);
  • une copie de tout rapport annuel d'entreprise existant pour l'exercice financier du titulaire de licence et portant sur l'autorisation.

Les rapports doivent être soumis par écrit à Industrie Canada à l'adresse ci-dessous dans les cent vingt jours suivant la fin de l'exercice financier du titulaire de licence. Lorsqu'un titulaire détient plusieurs licences, les rapports devraient être ventilés par zone de service. Les renseignements confidentiels fournis seront traités conformément au paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents
Direction générale de la réglementation
des radiocommunications et de la radiodiffusion
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater, 15e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8

16. Modifications

Le ministre de l'Industrie conserve le pouvoir discrétionnaire de modifier en tout temps les présentes conditions de licence.

Date de modification :