Consultation Letter — Issues Related to the Preliminary Phase of the Antenna Tower and Site-Sharing Process

February 17, 2009

Dear Sir/Madam:

In November 2008, new conditions of licence came into force with respect to mandated tower and site sharing. The specifics of the condition of licence were published as Industry Canada's Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17 Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements.

Industry Canada is not reviewing the conditions of licence set out in CPC-2-0-17 but is seeking comments on all of the issues discussed and the proposals outlined below. Subsequent to this consultation phase, the Department will establish guidelines to be used when asked to respond to a complaint of non-compliance.

Time Lines for Antenna Tower & Site-Sharing Process

It is a condition of licence that existing licensees must negotiate with a Requesting Operator in good faith, with a view to concluding a Site-Sharing Agreement in a timely manner. To provide further clarity on the timing related to the requirement to provide preliminary information in a "timely manner", the Department proposes the following time lines for each of the described stages of the antenna tower and site-sharing process.

The Department has considered the impact of multiple requests being submitted and considers that the time lines described in the licence conditions and the clarifications proposed below would apply to all cases irrespective of workload. Furthermore, Licensees and Requesting Operators are encouraged to negotiate response times which may facilitate the provision of information for all concerned. For example, the Requesting Operators may prefer to prioritize their requests and Licensees are encouraged to accommodate such requests.

Preliminary Site Investigation (CPC-2-0-17 Section 8.0 Licence Condition 3)

  • Request for preliminary technical information package: The request should include at a minimum the licensee's site reference number (if available), site address and/or geographical coordinates and Requesting Operator's reference number.
  • Response to request for preliminary technical information: Within a week of receiving a complete request for preliminary technical information containing the information described above, the Licensee is expected to produce a response including as a minimum: tower loading profile including imminent future use (see Reservations for Future Use below) and contracted third-party lease arrangements, compound layout, tower foundations design, Transport Canada and/or NAV Canada form, site lease summary as well as site access information, such as contact, procedure and any specific restriction relating to a site visit.
  • Site Access: The Licensee is to coordinate and grant access to the site on request. Generally speaking, this access should be granted within one week of the request. Extenuating circumstances, such as access to a remote location, could justify a short delay.

Reservations for Future Use

Section 8.0, Condition 3 states that "…the Licensee shall provide to the Requesting Operator any preliminary technical information for each Site, such as drawings, surveys, technical data, engineering information, future requirement, lease provisions and other information relating to the site relevant to formulating a Proposal to Share that it has in its possession or control; …" (emphasis added)

The Department has reviewed both the value and the additional complexity introduced by the inclusion of future requirements and lease provisions within the preliminary information package. It is hereby proposed that only imminent future use should be considered in the context of the preliminary information package and that "imminent" would include plans which are clearly and specifically identified in the Licensee's annual capital plan.

Where the tower owner is reserving space because there is a plan to install equipment on the tower in the longer term, the companies are expected to deal with this during the negotiation of their commercial arrangements. In addition, any space reserved on a tower for future use by a third party where a contract is in place and fees are being paid, should be identified as part of the preliminary information package. In this situation, the requesting carrier can consider approaching the third party to discuss access to that space.

Requirements for Confidentiality

Industry Canada recognizes the competitiveness of the market and understands the need for confidentiality and non-disclosure agreements between the parties. However, the Department is of the view that non-disclosure agreements should be generic in nature and should not include provisions that are unique to a single operator or group.

Furthermore, with the strict disclosure of only imminent future plans and basic technical information during the preliminary phase, the Department does not consider the signature of a non-disclosure agreement as a reason to delay providing a Preliminary Information Package as described above.

Submitting Your Comments

As this process is time sensitive for the deployment of new systems, Industry Canada invites interested parties to submit written comments with respect to the above guidelines by March 6, 2009 to:

Director, Spectrum Management Operations
Industry Canada
Radiocommunications and
Broadcasting Regulatory Branch
300 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

or by e-mail to: ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Comments received will be published on Industry Canada's website under http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/icgc.nsf/eng/07422.html.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Heather Hall at heather.hall@canada.ca.

Sincerely,

Peter Hill
Director
Spectrum Management Operations

Date modified:

Lettre de consultation — Questions relatives à la phase préliminaire du processus de partage des pylônes d’antennes et des emplacements

Le 17 février 2009

Monsieur/Madame,

En novembre 2008, de nouvelles conditions de licence relatives au partage obligatoire des pylônes et des emplacements sont entrées en vigueur. Les conditions de licence sont expliquées de façon détaillée dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients d'Industrie Canada intitulée CPC-2-0-17 Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs.

Par la présente, Industrie Canada ne révise pas les conditions de licence du CPC-2-0-17 mais sollicite des commentaires au sujet de toutes les questions soulevées dans le présent document et des recommandations décrites ci-dessous. Suite à la présente phase de consultation, le Ministère établira des lignes directrices à suivre lors de la réception de plaintes de non-conformité.

Délais pour le processus de partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements

C'est une condition de licence que les titulaires de licence existants doivent négocier de bonne foi avec un exploitant requérant, en vue de conclure en temps opportun une entente de partage d'emplacements. Pour clarifier davantage l'exigence de fournir des renseignements préliminaires en « temps opportun », le Ministère propose les délais suivants.

Le Ministère a considéré l'incidence de la présentation de multiples demandes et estime que les délais établis dans les conditions de licence et les clarifications proposées ci-dessous s'appliquent à tous les cas, peu importe la charge de travail. En outre, les titulaires de licence et les exploitants requérants sont encouragés à négocier des délais qui peuvent faciliter la communication de l'information à tous les intéressés. Par exemple, l'exploitant requérant peut préférer prioriser ses demandes, et les titulaires de licence sont encouragés à satisfaire de telles demandes.

Examen préliminaire d'un emplacement (CPC-2-0-17 - Section 8.0 - Condition de licence 3)

  • Demande de renseignements techniques préliminaires - La demande devrait comprendre à tout le moins le numéro de référence de l'emplacement du titulaire de licence (s'il est disponible), l'adresse ou les coordonnées géographiques de l'emplacement et le numéro de référence de l'exploitant requérant.
  • Réponse à une demande de renseignements techniques préliminaires - Dans la semaine suivant la réception d'une demande complète de renseignements techniques préliminaires, contenant l'information décrite ci-dessus. Le titulaire de licence devrait produire une réponse comportant à tout le moins de ce qui suit : le profil de chargement du pylône, y compris les utilisations futures imminentes (voir Réservation d'espace pour utilisations futures ci-dessous) et les baux conclus avec des tiers, le plan du complexe et la conception des fondations du pylône, le formulaire de Transports Canada ou de NAV Canada, le résumé du bail de l'emplacement de même que l'information relative à l'accès au site, tel que le contact, la procédure et toute restriction spécifique à la visite de ce site.
  • Accès à l'emplacement - Le titulaire de licence doit coordonner et accorder l'accès à l'emplacement sur demande. En général, cet accès devrait être accordé dans la semaine suivant la demande. Des circonstances particulières, comme l'accès à un endroit éloigné, peuvent justifier un léger retard.

Réservation d'espace pour utilisations futures

Dans la Section 8.0, la condition 3 stipule que : « le titulaire de licence doit fournir à l'exploitant requérant des renseignements techniques préliminaires pour chaque emplacement, comme les dessins techniques, les levés, les données techniques, les informations en matière d'ingénierie, les exigences futures de réseau, les dispositions du bail et d'autres renseignements relatifs à l'emplacement qu'il possède ou contrôle et qui sont pertinent pour formuler une proposition de partage. » (caractères gras ajoutés pour mettre de l'emphase).

Le Ministère a examiné à la fois la valeur et la complexité accrue qu'ajoute l'inclusion des exigences futures et des dispositions du bail dans l'ensemble de renseignements préliminaires. Il propose que seule l'utilisation future imminente soit considérée dans le contexte de l'ensemble de renseignements préliminaires et que, par « imminent », on entende les plans qui sont exposés clairement et expressément dans le plan annuel d'immobilisations du titulaire de licence.

Lorsque le propriétaire du pylône réserve de l'espace parce qu'il est prévu d'y installer de l'équipement à long terme, on s'attend à ce que les entreprises discutent de cet aspect durant la négociation de leurs accords commerciaux. De plus, tout espace réservé sur un pylône pour utilisation future par un tiers lorsqu'un contrat est en place et que des droits sont payés, devrait être indiqué dans l'ensemble de renseignements préliminaires. Dans une telle situation, l'entreprise requérante peut envisager de communiquer avec le tiers pour discuter de l'accès à cet espace.

Exigences en matière de confidentialité

Industrie Canada reconnaît la compétitivité du marché et comprend la nécessité pour les parties de conclure des accords de confidentialité et de non-divulgation. Toutefois, le Ministère est d'avis que les accords de non-divulgation devraient être de nature générique et ne devraient pas comporter des dispositions qui sont uniques à un exploitant ou à un groupe.

En outre, avec la stricte divulgation de seulement les plans futurs imminents et les renseignements techniques de base durant la phase préliminaire, le Ministère estime que la signature d'un accord de non-divulgation ne constitue pas une obligation légitime empêchant de fournir l'ensemble des renseignements préliminaires décrits ci-dessus.

Présentation de vos commentaires

Comme ce processus influe sur le calendrier de déploiement de nouveaux systèmes, Industrie Canada invite les parties intéressées à soumettre leurs commentaires écrits à l'égard des lignes directrices précitées d'ici le 6 mars 2009 à :

Directeur, Exploitation de la gestion du spectre
Industrie Canada
Direction générale de la réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion
300, rue Slater
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

ou par courriel à : ic.spectrumoperations-operationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Les commentaires reçus seront publiés sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/icgc.nsf/fra/07422.html.

Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec Heather Hall à l'adresse courriel suivante : heather.hall@canada.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur/Madame, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Peter Hill
Directeur
Exploitation de la gestion du spectre

Date de modification :