Canadian Municipalities and the Regulation of Radio Antennae and their Support Structures

This study was performed pursuant to Research Contract 36100-7-0027 between the Department of Communications for Canada and the University of New Brunswick (U.N.B.).

Principal Investigator was Professor David Townsend of the U.N.B. Faculty of Law.

Preface

Radio antennae and their supporting structures are the most visible features of the physical manifestations of a vast network of mass-media, commercial and private radiocommunications systems which integrally affect the economic, social, political and cultural development of this country. Since the first two external antennae in Canada were approved in 1901, their number has steadily grown until there are approximately 230,000 licensed antennae in Canada today. Most antennae, whether licensed or licence-exempt, are sited (location, height, antenna system and tower type) with the fullest regard to the technical issues which affect their ability to radiate and/or receive radio signals. Traditionally, accorded rather low regard is the extent to which the antenna may negatively impact upon the community near which, or within which, it may be located. Despite the potential for negative health, safety and aesthetic impact, most antennae are sited with little or no objection from any quarter. Indeed, the history of the siting of broadcasting antennae in Canada is very much a study of local pressure for more, larger and more powerful facilities.

Recently, attitudes about the appearance and safety of the local environment have begun to change. Residents and municipal governments have started to demand that local interests be considered within authorization processes when facilities which can negatively impact upon them may be located in their midst. Local and area land-use planning has evolved to a highly developed state. Today, almost all buildings, structures and facilities which are to be located within municipal boundaries are planned in advance and integrated into the community so as to minimize any undesirable impact.

Constitutional authority over certain buildings, structures and facilities is vested exclusively with the federal or provincial governments. When these are to be sited within a municipal district, a formal or informal consultative mechanism is usually in place so that local opinions and interests will play a significant role within the authorization process, either as relevant or controlling factors for consideration.

Currently, when radio antennae are located and erected in this country, no consultation occurs and municipalities, with increasing frequency, are requesting that the federal government clarify the extent to which local by-laws may regulate radio antennae and their support structures. In March of 1987, the federal Department of Communications commissioned this study to provide the historical, technical, political and legal background material necessary to provide an answer to this question. Objectives set for the project required that it culminate with detailed guidelines which would be of assistance to municipalities desirous of drafting by-laws which relate to the siting and operation of radio antennae.

The study was performed during May and June of 1987. Over that period, a number of cities were visited and over 30 persons, representing federal, provincial, municipal and industry interests, were interviewed. Research was performed at the Faculty of Law of the University of New Brunswick and at the Department of Communications headquarters in Ottawa.

I am grateful to Mary Hatherly, Professor of Constitutional Law at the University of New Brunswick, who performed consultant services under the contract and drafted the section on the constitutional division of powers regarding radiocommunication. Her work was assisted by David Cameron and Angela Crandall, both students-at-law at the University of New Brunswick. Linda Hansen, of the University Archives section of the Harriet Irving Library at U.N.B., researched 85 years of radiocommunication history using parliamentary and archival sources.

As Principal Investigator, I accept full responsibility for omissions or inaccuracies.

Professor David Townsend
Faculty of Law
University of New Brunswick
July, 1987

Acknowledgements

I am grateful to the many individuals who made themselves and their expertise available throughout this study. I am especially thankful to the following government and industry people who were consulted, in person or by telephone, about the political, policy, technical and legal issues raised within this study. In alphabetical order these people were:

Jack Anderson, District Manager, Victoria, B.C., Department of Communications, Canada; Anne Bastedo, Legislative Draftsperson, Community Planning Division, Nova Scotia Department of Municipal Affairs; Pierre Beckmans, Senior Planner, Ontario Association of Municipal Affairs; Robert Benson, Q.C. Counsel, Canadian Radio Relay League; Ronald Begley, Director General, Broadcasting Regulation, Department of Communications, Canada; Norman Blumenthal, Member, FCC Review Board, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Ralph Cameron, Instruments and Communications Group, Tektronics Canada Inc.; Michael Caine, President, Central Canada Broadcasters' Association; Dr. Robert Cleveland, Office of Engineering and Technology, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; William Cochrane, Municipal Clerk, District of Oak Bay, B.C.; John (Harry) Eldson, Director of Building and Planning, District of Oak Bay, B.C.; A.G. (Sandy) Day, Engineering Consultant, Ottawa; Maucice DuPont, Private Radio Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Fred Finn, Legal Counsel, Satellite Television Industry Association (Space), Washington, D.C.; Martha Fletcher, Manager, Broadcasting Office, Ontario Ministry of Transportation and Communications; Richard Gensiorek, Supervisor, Mobile Services, Central Region, Department of Communications, Canada; Rosealee Gorman, Policy Analyst, Satellite Radio Branch, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Terry Haines, General Attorney's Advisor, Policy and Rules, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Milton Harmelink, Director, Broadcasting and Cable, Ontario Ministry of Transportation and Communications; R.J. (Bob) Harrison, President, Nowell Communications, Winnipeg, Manitoba; Donald Marshall, Director of Engineering, LeBlanc & Royle Communications, Inc.; John Howard, Manager, Engineering, Pacific Region, Department of Communications, Canada; Christopher Imlay, General Counsel, American Radio Relay League; David Lyon, Director General, Ontario Region, Department of Communications, Canada; John McKendry, Assistant Secretary, Radio Frequency Management Division, Department of Communications, Australia (on exchange with DOC, Canada); Christopher Nation, Municipal Solicitor, District of Saanich, British Columbia; Eileen Overend, Legislative Draftsperson, Aeronautical Legislation and Regulations, Transport Canada; Kevin Patterson, Regional Manager, Authorization, Central Region, Department of Communications, Canada; John Quigley, Director General, Pacific Region, Department of Communications, Canada; Linda Rankin, V.P. Telecommunication Services, Telesat Canada; Joseph Robertson, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of New Brunswick; Wayne Stacey, Consulting Engineer, Canadian Association of Broadcasters; Merle Styles, Manager, Spectrum Control, Pacific Region, Department of Communications, Canada; Richard Taylor, Executive Director, Union of B.C. Municipalities; Bruce Tonner, Technical Officer, Operations Development, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation; Kenneth Vance, Policy Analyst, Union of B.C. Municipalities.

Table of Contents


Canadian Municipalities and the Regulation of Radio Antennae and their Support Structures
(PDF, 380 KB, 79 pages) – PDF Readers


I. General Introduction

Radiocommunication, by its very nature and definition, involves the creation, transmission and reception of radio frequency energy which travels through space from one radio apparatus to another without artificial guides such as wires or cables.1 While the frequency, power, type, size, shape, height and support structure of the particular radio antenna involved may vary a great deal, an antenna is required at both the point of transmission and reception of the radio energy. For over 55 years it has been a settled matter of Canadian constitutional law that the technical regulation of the properties and characteristics of both the transmitting and receiving devices, antennae included, is exclusively within the legislative authority of the federal government.

Almost invariably, municipal governments in Canada possess authority, delegated from their respective provincial government, to regulate the health, safety and aesthetics of buildings and other structures within the confines of their physical boundaries. Such land use regulation is achieved through the use of plans, by-laws and other rules which are legally enforceable upon those who wish to develop private property within the municipality. Legally speaking, municipalities possess only such power as is expressly delegated to them and provincial governments may only delegate powers with which they are lawfully vested.

The siting, construction and operation of radio antennae can, in some cases, cause substantial health, safety, economic, environmental and aesthetic concerns for those who live and work in close proximity to them. Some of these concerns are specifically addressed through existing federal regulation, but many are not. Historically, in relation to radiocommunications, the federal government through its various agents (currently the Department of Communications), has been concerned primarily with ensuring that all authorized radiocommunication systems operate effectively and efficiently within the technical limits imposed by the radio frequency spectrum.

For some time, and with increasing frequency, municipalities, their provincial and national associations and some provincial government departments have complained that, on occasion, the siting and operation of certain radio antennae have resulted in substantial impact at the local level which the federal regulatory process has not taken, or adequately taken, into account2. They haveresponded by asking the Department of Communications to explain the legal limits of its jurisdiction over radiocommunications so that they may determine if the Canadian constitution has reserved to provincial governments, authority which could be delegated to local governments to minimize or eliminate the undesirable impact caused by the siting and operation of particular radio antennae.

For over a decade, the Department of Communications has responded to requests for clarification on their constitutional authority by citing from a legal opinion rendered by the Federal Department of Justice on this issue in the mid 1970's. It is stated in part:

"Since radiocommunications is a field exclusively within the legislative competence of the federal government, then a province or municipality does not have jurisdiction to enact legislation or pass by-laws respectively which relate directly to radiocommunications. However, a properly framed municipal by-law dealing with local zoning and relating only incidentally to radiocommunications may co-exist with federal legislation provided the by-law neither prohibits nor unduly restricts the conduct of radio services or the operation of federally licensed radio stations." (emphasis added)

Accepting for the moment that this legal principle correctly states the current law, the problem with it is that it is too general to be of practical use to those who must draft constitutionally valid municipal by-laws. One cannot differentiate between direct or incidental relation or impact unless the federal interest surrounding the siting and operation of radiocommunications is explained in some detail. Such explanation has not been forthcoming because the extent and nature of federal interest in radiocommunications is tied to the effective and efficient use of the radio frequency spectrum and that may vary with the technical, legal and political issues which surround particular uses and even particular users of the spectrum.3 Therefore, if municipalities are to regulate incidentally to radiocommunications, they must be provided with general principles and explanatory material which incorporate these technical, legal and political issues as well as detailed information about the operational requirements of the particular categories of antennae and support structures which municipalities are interested in controlling for their local impact.

It is the purpose of this study to undertake this task. To achieve it, the paper is divided into the following components: General Introduction, Introduction to Radio Antennae and their Support Structures, Analysis of Constitutional Jurisdiction in Relation to Radiocommunication, Regulation of Radio Antennae and their Support Structures in the U.S.A., Guidance for Municipal By-Laws, and Conclusion.

Email to a Friend

Your email address has not been added to any list, and has not been retained on our site.

Les municipalités canadiennes et la réglementation des antennes radio et des bâtis d'antennes

Étude effectuée conformément au contrat de recherche 36100-7-0027 entre le ministère des Communications du Canada et l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (U.N.-B.).

Chercheur principal : le professeur David Townsend, Faculté de droit, (U.N.-B.).

Préface

Les antennes et les bâtis d'antennes sont les éléments physiques les plus apparents d'un immense réseau de systèmes de diffusion mass-média et de systèmes de radiocommunications commerciaux et privés qui, ensemble, ont une incidence sur le développement économique, social, politique et culturel du pays. Depuis l'autorisation des deux premières antennes extérieures au Canada en 1901, le nombre d'antennes n'a cessé de croître et il y a aujourd'hui environ 230 000 antennes autorisées au Canada. La plupart des antennes, autorisées en vertu d'une licence ou exemptes de licence, sont localisées en tenant compte de toutes les questions techniques (emplacement, hauteur, système d'antennes et type de pylône) qui ont une incidence sur leur capacité de rayonner ou de capter des signaux radioélectriques. Traditionnellement, on a fait relativement peu de cas de leurs répercussions négatives possibles sur la collectivité où elles sont implantées ou près de laquelle elles sont implantées. Malgré leurs répercussions négatives possibles sur la santé, la sécurité et le patrimoine esthétique, leur implantation fait généralement l'objet d'aucune opposition ou d'une opposition restreinte. De fait, l'histoire de l'implantation d'antennes de radiodiffusion au Canada en est une de pressions locales pour obtenir des installations de plus en plus nombreuses, grandes et puissantes.

Récemment, les attitudes à l'égard de l'aspect esthétique et de la sécurité du milieu local ont commencé à changer. Les populations locales et les administrations municipales ont commencé à demander que l'on tienne compte des intérêts locaux dans le processus d'autorisation d'installations qui pourraient avoir des répercussions négatives sur leur milieu. La planification locale et régionale de l'utilisation des terrains est maintenant très évoluée. Aujourd'hui, presque tous les immeubles, structures et installations qui doivent être implantés à l'intérieur des limites d'une ville font l'objet d'une planification préalable et sont intégrés au milieu pour minimiser les répercussions négatives.

Cependant, certains immeubles, structures et installations relèvent exclusivement de la compétence des gouvernements fédéral ou provinciaux. Quand l'un de ceux-ci doit être implanté à l'intérieur des limites d'une municipalité, un mécanisme de consultation, officiel ou non, est généralement intégré au processus d'autorisation pour s'assurer que l'on tienne pleinement compte des opinions et des intérêts locaux, à titre soit de facteur important, soit de facteur déterminant.

Actuellement, quand des antennes radio sont implantées et érigées au Canada, il n'y a pas de consultations et, de plus en plus souvent, les administrations municipales demandent au gouvernement fédéral de préciser dans quelle mesure les règlements municipaux s'appliquent aux antennes radio et à leurs bâtis. En mars 1987, le ministère fédéral des Communications a commandé la présente étude dans le but de recueillir les données historiques, techniques, politiques et juridiques qui lui permettraient de répondre à cette question. L'un des objectifs de l'étude était l'élaboration de lignes directrices détaillées à l'intention des administrations municipales intéressées à rédiger des règlements municipaux concernant l'implantation et l'exploitation d'antennes radio.

L'étude a été effectuée en mai et juin 1987. Certaines municipalités ont été visitées et plus de 30 personnes, représentant les administrations fédérale, provinciales et municipales et l'industrie, ont été interrogées. Des recherches ont été menées à la faculté de droit de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick et à l'administration centrale du ministère des Communications à Ottawa.

Je tiens à remercier Mary Hatherly, professeur de droit constitutionnel à l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, qui a agi à titre de conseil aux termes du contrat et qui a rédigé la section consacrée à la division constitutionnelle des pouvoirs en matière de radiocommunications. David Cameron et Angela Crandall, étudiants à la faculté de droit de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, l'ont assistée dans ses travaux. Linda Hansen, de la section des archives universitaires de la bibliothèque Harriet-Irving de l'U.N.-B., a mené des recherches sur quatre-vingt-cinq années de l'histoire des radiocommunications à l'aide de documents parlementaires et de documents d'archives.

À titre de directeur des recherches, j'assume l'entière responsabilité de toute omission ou erreur.

Professeur David Townsend
Faculté de droit
Université du Nouveau-Brunswick
Juillet 1987

haut de la page

Remerciements

Je tiens à remercier tous ceux et celles qui ont mis leurs compétences au service de la présente étude. Je tiens à remercier spécialement les représentants des gouvernements et de l'industrie qui ont été consultés, en personne ou par téléphone, relativement aux questions politiques, stratégiques, techniques et juridiques soulevées en cours de l'étude, et dont le nom apparaît ci-dessous, par ordre alphabétique.

Jack Anderson, gestionnaire du bureau de district, Victoria, C.-B., ministère des Communications, Canada; Anne Bastedo, rédactrice de textes législatifs, Community Planning Division, Nova Scotia Department of Municipal Affairs; Pierre Beckmans, planificateur principal, Ontario Association of Municipal Affairs; Robert Benson, conseil de la reine, Ligue canadienne de la radio amateur; Ronald Begley, directeur général, Réglementation de la radiodiffusion, ministère des Communications, Canada; Norman Blumenthal, membre, F.C.C. Review Board, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Ralph Cameron, Instruments and Communications Group, Tektronics Canada Inc.; Michael Caine, président, Central Canada Broadcasters' Association; Robert Cleveland, Office of Engineering and Technology, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; William Cochrane, greffier municipal, District of Oak Bay, C.-B.; John (Harry) Eldson, directeur, Building and Planning, District of Oak Bay, C.-B.; A.G. (Sandy) Day, conseil technique, Ottawa; Maurice DuPont, Private Radio Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Fred Finn, avocat, Satellite Television Industry Association (Space), Washington, D.C.; Martha Fletcher, gestionnaire, Bureau de radiotélédiffusion, ministère des Transports et des Communications de l'Ontario; Richard Gensiorek, superviseur, Services mobiles, région du Centre, ministère des Communications, Canada; Rosealee Gorman, analyste des politiques, Satellite Radio Branch, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Terry Haines, General Attorney's Advisor, Policy and Rules, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.; Milton Harmelink, directeur, Radiodiffusion et Câblodistribution, ministère des Transports et des Communications de l'Ontario; R.J. (Bob) Harrison, président, Nowell Communications, Winnipeg, Manitoba; Donald Marshall, directeur du génie, LeBlanc & Royle Communications, Inc.; John Howard, gestionnaire, Services techniques, région du Pacifique, ministère des Communications, Canada; Christopher Imlay, avocat général, American Radio Relay League; David Lyon, directeur général, région de l'Ontario, ministère des Communications, Canada; John McKendry, secrétaire adjoint, Radio Frequency Management Division, Department of Communications, Australie, (au MDC, Canada, dans le cadre d'un programme d'échange); Christopher Nation, avocat de la ville, District of Saanich, C-B; Eileen Overend, rédactrice de textes législatifs, Législation et règlements aéronautiques, Transports Canada; Kevin Patterson, gestionnaire régional, Autorisation, région du Centre, ministère des Communications, Canada; John Quigley, directeur général, région du Pacifique, ministère des Communications, Canada; Linda Rankin, V.-P., Services de télécommunications, Télésat Canada; Joseph Robertson, professeur, faculté de droit, Université du Nouveau-Brunswick; Wayne Stacey, ingénieur-conseil, Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs; Merle Styles, gestionnaire, Contrôle du spectre, région du Pacifique, ministère des Communications, Canada; Richard Taylor, directeur exécutif, Union of B.C. Municipalities; Bruce Tonner, agent technique, Perfectionnement des méthodes d'exploitation, Société Radio-Canada; Kenneth Vance, analyste des politiques, Union of B.C. Municipalities.

haut de la page

Table des matières


Les municipalités canadiennes et la réglementation des antennes radio et des bâtis d'antennes
(PDF, 442 Ko, 83 pages) – Lecteurs PDF


I. Introduction

La radiocommunication, de par sa définition même, implique l'émission, la transmission et la réception d'énergie à haute fréquence se déplaçant dans l'espace, d'un appareil radio à l'autre sans guide artificiel tel que fil ou câble.1 Cette transmission requiert une antenne au point d'émission et une autre au point de réception, bien que la fréquence, la puissance, le type, la taille, la forme, la hauteur et le bâti des antennes puissent varier beaucoup en espèce. Depuis plus de 55 ans, il est admis, en droit constitutionnel canadien, que la réglementation des propriétés et des caractéristiques techniques des appareils d'émission et de réception, antennes comprises, relève exclusivement du gouvernement fédéral.

Par ailleurs, presque toutes les administrations municipales du Canada, par délégation du gouvernement provincial respectif, ont le pouvoir d'édicter des règlements en matière de santé, de sécurité et d'esthétique des bâtiments et des constructions diverses sur leur territoire. Cette réglementation foncière s'effectue par le moyen de plans d'aménagement et de règlements ayant force exécutoire et oblige toute personne voulant bâtir une propriété dans la municipalité. Légalement, la municipalité ne possède que les pouvoirs qui lui sont expressément délégués, et le gouvernement provincial ne peut déléguer que les pouvoirs qui lui appartiennent légalement.

Le choix de l'emplacement, ainsi que la construction et l'exploitation d'antennes radio peuvent être, dans certains cas, cause d'inquiétude, en ce qui touche la santé, la sécurité, l'économie, l'environnement et l'esthétique, pour ceux qui demeurent et travaillent à proximité. La réglementation fédérale y fait explicitement référence, mais d'autres aspects controversés sont passés sous silence. Historiquement, dans le domaine des radiocommunications, le gouvernement fédéral, par l'intermédiaire de ses divers représentants (aujourd'hui le ministère des Communications), a surtout veillé à ce que tous les systèmes de radiocommunication autorisés fonctionnent efficacement et sans accrocs, eu égard aux limitations techniques imposées par le spectre des fréquences radioélectriques.

Depuis quelque temps et de plus en plus souvent, les municipalités, leurs porte-parole sur le plan provincial et national, ainsi que certains ministères provinciaux, se plaignent du fait que le choix de l'emplacement et que l'exploitation de certaines antennes radio ont parfois sur leur milieu immédiat des répercussions considérables à l'égard desquelles les règlements fédéraux sont muets ou inadéquats.2 On a donc demandé au ministère des Communications d'expliciter les limites légales de sa compétence en matière de radiocommunication, de sorte qu'on puisse déterminer si la constitution canadienne a réservé aux gouvernements provinciaux certains pouvoirs pouvant être délégués aux administrations locales afin de réduire au minimum ou d'éliminer les effets indésirables causés par le choix de l'emplacement et par l'exploitation de certaines antennes radio.

Depuis plus de 10 ans, le ministère des Communications répond en citant une opinion juridique rendue par le ministère fédéral de la Justice sur cette question au milieu des années 70. On peut y lire, entre autres :

« Puisque la législation sur les radiocommunications est du ressort exclusif du gouvernement fédéral, les provinces et les municipalités ne peuvent adopter de lois ou de règlements, selon le cas, ayant trait directement aux radiocommunications. Cependant, un règlement municipal en bonne et due forme traitant du zonage local et n'ayant trait qu'incidemment aux radiocommunications peut coexister avec les lois fédérales à condition qu'il n'interdise ni ne restreigne indûment la prestation de services radio ou le fonctionnement de stations radio détenant une licence fédérale. » (italique ajouté) (traduction)

En admettant pour le moment que l'énoncé illustre correctement l'état actuel de la législation, le problème que pose cette décision réside dans le fait qu'elle est trop générale pour servir effectivement aux personnes appelées à rédiger des règlements municipaux constitutionnellement valides. On ne peut pas savoir si une relation ou un effet se présente directement ou seulement incidemment, tant qu'on n'a pas cerné avec un certain degré de précision les intérêts fédéraux entourant le choix de l'emplacement et l'exploitation d'installations de radiocommunications. Or, ces précisions n'ont jamais été apportées parce que l'étendue et la nature des intérêts fédéraux en matière de radiocommunication sont liées à l'utilisation effective et pertinente du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques et peuvent donc varier selon les aspects techniques, juridiques et politiques propres à chacune des utilisations, voire à chacun des utilisateurs du spectre.3 Ainsi, pour pouvoir édicter des règlements ayant une incidence sur les radiocommunications, les municipalités doivent disposer de principes généraux et de précisions au sujet de ces aspects techniques, juridiques et politiques, et détenir nombre de renseignements détaillés sur les exigences relatives à l'exploitation des divers types d'antennes et de bâtis dont elles veulent régir les effets locaux.

La présente étude est destinée à combler ces lacunes. À cet effet, le présent document se subdivise comme suit : Introduction, Les antennes radio et les bâtis d'antennes, Analyse des compétences constitutionnelles en matière de radiocommunication, La réglementation en matière d'antennes radio et de bâtis d'antennes aux États-Unis, Indications concernant les règlements municipaux et Conclusion.

Date de modification :