Study of Market-based Exclusive Spectrum Rights

1. Executive Summary

The objectives of this report are to provide Industry Canada with a better understanding of international trends in adopting market-based exclusive spectrum rights and the associated benefits. Comparisons with current Canadian policy and practice are made in order to assist Industry Canada in the policy formulation process.

The main trends occurring are the introduction of market-based mechanisms to manage spectrum allocated and assigned on an exclusive-use basis, allowing such exclusive rights to be traded, and permitting increased flexibility in the choice of technologies and services offered. Major changes have already occurred in the United States, Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

In Canada the rationale for market mechanisms is clearly supported in the Spectrum Policy Framework document (June 2007). However, it is evident that the legal means are not in place to facilitate establishing robust flexible secondary markets (e.g., without both parties in secondary trades having to seek specific Ministerial approval).

We have three main recommendations to assist Industry Canada in its policy formulation process:

  1. Industry Canada should accelerate the pace of reform of spectrum management in Canada by specifically adopting policy directives which give greater force to the implementation of secondary markets namely by enabling spectrum trading along with defined, flexible user rights. Tradable licences where they apply should become fully transferable (primary users may replace each other); and sub-leasing/sub-division should be possible. Ministerial approval for every trade should not be required and should be replaced by a self-certification process.
  2. It is our view that the spectrum manager should be constituted as an independent regulatory agency responsible only for the regulation of the spectrum resource and subject to direction from the federal government as to the objectives of spectrum management, but with the power to choose its own means of accomplishing these objectives.
  3. The Department should develop a two-phased implementation plan with annual milestones that detail specific actions to be taken as part of the transition. This will be necessary to ensure that sufficient spectrum is made available at the same time to avoid congestion, hoarding and allegations of unequal treatment.

What is crucial is the establishment of a detailed plan with milestones and annual reviews against these milestones.

Summary of Recommendations

In this section, we summarize recommendations to Industry Canada to assist in the policy formulation process. Detailed recommendations are to be found in Section 6 of this report.

We have three main recommendations which concern: (1) policies related to market-based exclusive spectrum rights; (2) changes to the institutional framework for spectrum management; and (3) the implementation of spectrum trading. For each of the three main recommendations more detailed guidance is also provided.

top of page

1. Spectrum Policy Changes

Industry Canada should accelerate the pace of reform of spectrum management in Canada by specifically adopting policy directives which give greater force to the implementation of secondary markets, namely by enabling spectrum trading along with defined, flexible user rights.

Tradable Licences

Tradable licences, where they apply, should become fully transferable (primary users may replace each other), and sub-leasing/sub-division should be possible. Ministerial approval for every trade should not be required and should be replaced by a self-certification process under which those involved in the trades self-certify that they have met all of the government requirements (which could be enumerated as a check list).

Service and Technological Neutrality

Industry Canada should ensure that licensing policies embrace service and technology neutrality with clear meaning and eliminate all arbitrary service- and technology-based restrictions.

Technical Definitions for Spectrum Usage Rights (SURs)

Industry Canada should move toward adopting spectrum usage rights that provide clear and unambiguous technical characterization of what is allowed under the rights so as to minimize ambiguity regarding what interference protection and obligations are associated with the rights. The OFCOM Spectrum Usage Rights (SUR) proposal and the space-centric approach advocated by Futurepace Solutions building on the Australian model offer useful guidance on how this may be accomplished. While certain details remain to be worked out, both proposals have the merit of closely approximating the goal of technical neutrality while preserving adequate protection against interference for the exclusive licensee and for adjacent licence holders.

top of page

2. Changes to the Institutional Framework for Spectrum Management Structure

It is our view that the spectrum manager should be constituted as an independent regulatory agency responsible only for the regulation of the spectrum resource and subject to direction from the federal government as to the objectives of spectrum management, but with the power to choose its own means of accomplishing these objectives. Such an arrangement removes the details of spectrum management from the political arena.

In the Canadian context, we see advantages in establishing the spectrum regulator in the first instance as a stand-alone body, with a focus on achieving the transition to a market-based method of spectrum management, but subject to review after about five years.

Focus on Interference Management

The focus for the spectrum management organization in a market allocation-based approach should be primarily on interference management. This should be clearly indicated in the framing documents that establish the spectrum management organization.

top of page

3. Implementing Spectrum Trading and Market-based Exclusive Spectrum Rights in Canada

The Department should develop a two-phased implementation plan with annual milestones that detail specific actions to be taken as part of the transition. This will be necessary to ensure that sufficient spectrum is made available at the same time to avoid congestion, hoarding and allegations of unequal treatment.

Our recommendations begin with a discussion of the frequency bands involved in each phase.

A Two-Phased Approach

Phase 1

In the first phase, there are three main blocks of spectrum which are included:

The first group of spectrum to become fully and flexibly tradable in Phase 1 should be spectrum which has already been assigned through an auction.

The second group includes spectrum for which licences, which today would be subject to an auction process, were awarded using a comparative process that predates the Radiocommunication Act of 1996 when the legal basis for auctions was established. All such spectrum should all be treated in the same manner. This should include cellular and broadcasting spectrum.

The third group includes all other frequencies/bands allocated to space or terrestrial services which are used for the commercial supply of telecom services to the public, including trunked radio frequencies, paging frequencies, and mobile telephony frequencies.

Phase 2

In the second phase, where planning should commence soon, there is a significant part of the spectrum used to provide services in the public interest which should be made tradable, thereby permitting the disposal of any permanent or temporary surpluses.

Furthermore, organizations producing services in the public interest should be required to anticipate the need for more spectrum and be responsible for acquiring (and given the means to acquire) the necessary spectrum by going to the market. Government use of spectrum utilized to provide services similar to those provided by the private sector should be, at a minimum, subject to prices reflecting the market price or opportunity cost and such spectrum should trade in secondary markets.

Long Period but Fixed Licence Term Limits

We have considered both very long-term licences, which safeguard investment in assets over a term of 30–40 years, and long-term licences for, say, 15–20 years, which give the regulator the opportunity to recover spectrum at intervals when it is desirable to do so.

On balance, very long-term arrangements are more favourable on the grounds that they give better investment incentives and involve a clearer definition of licensee's rights. However, departures from this may be appropriate in specific bands.

Public Information (Spectrum Database)

Tradable markets will be facilitated by a database which should include publicly available information on the terms of all licensed spectrum and any sub-leases also in force. The database should register the location and frequencies used by transmitters and receivers which may be entitled to interference protection (see further discussion below) as well as licensee information and financial information on trades made.

Transitional Issues Relating to Windfalls

We recommend that existing licensees be allowed to benefit from the greater freedoms associated with the liberalization of the spectrum management regime, essentially on the grounds that trying to unpick the details of capital gains made in individual cases would prove time-consuming and probably ultimately impossible. It is also the case that all Canadians should benefit from the cheaper services and innovations associated with spectrum markets.

However, we recommend a separate treatment of spectrum freed as a result of the switch-off of analogue terrestrial broadcasting services. Digital switch-over is a co-ordinated government policy which imposes costs on households with TV sets, as well as on broadcasters, in the interest of greater spectrum efficiency. Providing existing broadcasters are supplied with the same or similar transmission capacity in the digital environment, we recommend that the remainder of the spectrum be handed back to the government for auction to provide a 'digital dividend' for all Canadians in the form of new highly valued services, auction revenues and perhaps compensation to consumers for having to switch from analogue to digital receiving capability.

Date modified:

Étude portant sur les droits exclusifs axés sur le marché relativement au spectre

1. Résumé

Le présent rapport vise à mieux faire connaître à Industrie Canada les tendances internationales en matière de droits exclusifs axés sur le marché relativement au spectre ainsi que les avantages qui s'y rattachent. Ces aspects sont comparés à la politique et aux pratiques canadiennes actuelles dans le but d'aider Industrie Canada à élaborer une politique.

Parmi les principales tendances, mentionnons l'introduction de mécanismes de gestion du spectre axés sur le marché qui sont répartis et assignés dans le cadre d'une utilisation exclusive, ce qui permet de transférer les droits exclusifs en question et accroît la souplesse, notamment en ce qui touche le choix des technologies et des services offerts. Des changements majeurs sont déjà survenus aux États-Unis, en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande et au Royaume-Uni.

Au Canada, la justification des mécanismes de marché est clairement exposée dans le document intitulé Cadre de la politique du spectre (juin 2007). Toutefois, il est évident qu'il nous manque les instruments législatifs nécessaires pour favoriser l'établissement de marchés secondaires robustes et souples (p. ex. qui n'exigent pas que les deux parties à une transaction effectuée sur le marché secondaire obtiennent l'approbation du Ministère).

Trois principales recommandations sont destinées à aider Industrie Canada à élaborer une politique :

  1. Industrie Canada devrait accélérer le rythme de la réforme de la gestion du spectre au Canada en adoptant des directives stratégiques précises qui renforceront la mise en place de marchés secondaires, en permettant, entre autres, la commercialisation du spectre assortie de droits d'utilisation définis et souples. Lorsqu'une licence est négociable, son titulaire devrait être en droit de la transférer (les utilisateurs principaux pouvant se remplacer les uns les autres); la sous-location et la sous-division devraient être possibles. On ne devrait pas exiger l'approbation ministérielle pour chaque opération, mais plutôt instaurer un processus d'autocertification.
  2. Selon nous, le gestionnaire du spectre devrait être constitué à titre d'organisme de réglementation indépendant, uniquement responsable de la réglementation des ressources du spectre; il serait assujetti aux directives du gouvernement fédéral en ce qui concerne les objectifs relatifs à la gestion du spectre, mais pourrait choisir les moyens par lesquels réaliser ces objectifs.
  3. Le Ministère devrait élaborer un plan de mise sur pied en deux étapes, assorti de jalons annuels décrivant les mesures précises à prendre dans le cadre de la transition. Cette pratique sera nécessaire pour fournir aux utilisateurs, simultanément, suffisamment de fréquences pour éviter la congestion, la thésaurisation et les allégations de traitement inéquitable.

Il est essentiel d'établir un plan détaillé comportant des jalons et prévoyant des examens annuels en fonction de ces jalons.

Résumé des recommandations

Dans cette section, nous résumons les recommandations présentées à Industrie Canada pour l'aider à élaborer sa politique. Les recommandations détaillées figurent au chapitre 6 du présent rapport.

Nos trois principales recommandations concernent : (1) les politiques liées aux droits exclusifs axés sur le marché relativement au spectre; (2) les modifications du cadre de travail institutionnel visant à gérer le spectre; (3) la mise en œuvre du commerce du spectre. Pour chacune des trois principales recommandations, des lignes directrices plus détaillées sont également fournies.

haut de la page

1. Modifications de la politique relative au spectre

Industrie Canada devrait accélérer le rythme de la réforme de la gestion du spectre au Canada en adoptant des directives stratégiques précises qui renforceront la mise en place de marchés secondaires, en permettant, entre autres, la commercialisation du spectre assortie de droits d'utilisation définis et souples.

 Licences négociables

Lorsqu'une licence est négociable, son titulaire devrait être en plein droit de la transférer (les utilisateurs principaux peuvent se remplacer entre eux); et la sous-location/sous-division devrait être possible. On ne devrait pas exiger l'approbation ministérielle pour chaque opération, mais plutôt instaurer un processus d'autocertification selon lequel tous les participants au commerce garantissent qu'ils ont répondu à toutes les exigences gouvernementales (qui devraient être énumérées sur une liste de contrôle).

Neutralité sur le plan des services et de la technologie

Industrie Canada devrait s'assurer que ses politiques sur les licences sont réellement en harmonie avec l'objectif de neutralité sur le plan des services et de la technologie et éliminent toutes les restrictions arbitraires liées aux services et à la technologie.

Définitions techniques des droits d'utilisation du spectre

Industrie Canada devrait envisager d'adopter des droits d'utilisation du spectre qui offrent une définition technique claire et sans équivoque de ce qui est permis, selon ces droits, afin de limiter les ambiguïtés à l'égard de la protection contre le brouillage et des responsabilités qui découlent des droits. La proposition de l'Ofcom relative aux droits d'utilisation du spectre et l'approche axée sur l'espace, inspirée du modèle australien, mise de l'avant par Futurepace Solutions sont des lignes directrices judicieuses quant à la manière d'atteindre cet objectif. Certains détails restent à établir, mais les deux propositions ont le mérite de nous rapprocher considérablement de notre but de neutralité technique tout en offrant des mesures de protection adéquates contre le brouillage aux titulaires de licences exclusives et aux titulaires de licences de bande de fréquences adjacente.

haut de la page

2. Changements du cadre institutionnel de la structure de gestion du spectre

Selon nous, le gestionnaire du spectre devrait être constitué à titre d'organisme de réglementation indépendant, uniquement responsable de la réglementation des ressources du spectre; il serait assujetti aux directives du gouvernement fédéral en ce qui concerne les objectifs relatifs à la gestion du spectre, mais pourrait choisir les moyens par lesquels réaliser ces objectifs. Une telle entente écarte de la scène politique les discussions sur les détails de la gestion du spectre.

Dans le contexte canadien, nous voyons des avantages à l'établissement d'un organisme autonome qui ferait office d'autorité de réglementation de première instance et serait axé sur la réussite de la transition vers une méthode de gestion du spectre axée sur le marché; il devrait toutefois être assujetti à un examen après environ cinq ans.

Concentration sur la gestion du brouillage

La structure de gestion du spectre, dans le cadre d'une approche fondée sur la répartition du marché, devrait s'articuler principalement autour de la gestion du brouillage. Cette disposition devrait être clairement indiquée dans la documentation qui encadre la structure de la gestion du spectre.

haut de la page

3. Mise en œuvre du commerce du spectre et des droits exclusifs axés sur le marché relativement au spectre au Canada

Le Ministère devrait élaborer un plan de mise sur pied en deux étapes, assorti de jalons annuels décrivant les mesures précises à prendre dans le cadre de la transition. Cette pratique sera nécessaire pour fournir aux utilisateurs, simultanément, suffisamment de fréquences pour éviter la congestion, la thésaurisation et les allégations de traitement inéquitable.

Nos recommandations sont précédées d'une analyse des bandes de fréquences associées à chaque étape. 

Une approche en deux étapes

Étape 1

La première étape concerne trois principaux blocs du spectre.

Le premier bloc du spectre à devenir pleinement négociable en toute souplesse à l'étape 1 devrait déjà avoir été assigné dans le cadre d'une vente aux enchères.

Le second bloc comprend les fréquences pour lesquelles les licences, qui seraient aujourd'hui soumises à un processus de vente aux enchères, ont été accordées en vertu du processus comparatif qui a précédé la Loi sur la radiocommunication de 1996, parallèlement à laquelle on a établi le cadre juridique des enchères. Toutes les fréquences concernées devraient être traitées selon les mêmes règles. Cette disposition devrait inclure les fréquences réservées aux téléphones cellulaires et à la radiodiffusion.

Le troisième bloc comprend toutes les autres fréquences et bandes réservées aux services spatiaux ou terrestres utilisées pour la fourniture commerciale de services de télécommunications au public, notamment les fréquences radio, les fréquences de téléappel et les fréquences de téléphonie mobile partagées.

Étape 2

À la deuxième étape, au moment où la planification devrait bientôt commencer, une partie importante du spectre utilisé pour fournir des services d'intérêt public devrait devenir échangeable, pour ainsi permettre l'accès aux surplus temporaires ou permanents.

De plus, les organisations qui fournissent des services d'intérêt public devraient être tenues de prévoir leurs besoins en fréquences supplémentaires et être chargées de les acquérir sur le marché (et se voir donner les moyens de le faire). La partie du spectre utilisée par le gouvernement pour offrir des services semblables à ceux fournis par le secteur privé devrait être, à tout le moins, assujettie à des prix qui reflètent ceux du marché ou le coût de renonciation, et cette partie du spectre devrait être négociable dans les marchés secondaires.

Période d'application de la licence : à long terme, mais fixe

Nous avons examiné des licences à très long terme, qui protègent les investissements dans les actifs sur une période de 30 à 40 ans, et les licences à long terme, d'environ 15 à 20 ans, qui fournissent l'occasion à l'organisme de réglementation de récupérer une partie du spectre aux intervalles opportuns.

Tout compte fait, les ententes à très long terme sont à favoriser, parce qu'elles constituent un meilleur incitatif et supposent une définition plus claire des droits du titulaire de licence. Toutefois, on peut s'écarter de ce principe dans le cas de bandes de fréquences précises.

Information au public (base de données du spectre)

Les marchés secondaires seront soutenus par une base de données qui devrait comprendre de l'information accessible au public concernant les conditions inhérentes à toutes les fréquences visées par une licence et à tous les sous-baux en vigueur. La base de données devrait aussi indiquer l'emplacement et les fréquences utilisées par les émetteurs et les récepteurs qui pourraient être admissibles à la protection contre le brouillage (voir exposé plus loin) aussi bien que les données relatives aux titulaires de licence et les renseignements financiers à l'égard des échanges commerciaux effectués.

Questions de transition et circonstances avantageuses

Nous recommandons qu'on permette aux détenteurs de licences actuels de profiter des nouvelles latitudes découlant de la libéralisation du régime de gestion du spectre, surtout parce qu'il serait fastidieux et probablement impossible de décortiquer les détails relatifs au gain en capital de chaque particulier. D'autant plus que tous les Canadiens devraient bénéficier de la baisse de tarif des services et des innovations qui se rattachent aux marchés du spectre.

Toutefois, nous recommandons de réserver un traitement différent pour les fréquences libérées en raison de l'arrêt des services de radiodiffusion terrestre analogiques. Le passage au numérique est une stratégie gouvernementale coordonnée qui impose des coûts aux foyers qui possèdent un téléviseur aussi bien qu'aux diffuseurs au profit d'une exploitation plus efficace du spectre. Si les diffuseurs actuels disposent de la même capacité de transmission ou d'une capacité semblable, dans l'environnement numérique, nous recommandons que les fréquences du spectre restantes reviennent au gouvernement, qui les vendra aux enchères pour offrir à tous les Canadiens un « dividende numérique » sous forme de nouveaux services à valeur accrue, de recettes tirées de la vente aux enchères et, peut-être, de compensations aux consommateurs qui ont dû passer d'une capacité de réception analogique à une capacité numérique.

Date de modification :