Dealer - Information Letter

October 11, 2002

Dear Sir/Madame:

Industry Canada is very concerned about the continuing sale and use of illegal satellite decoding equipment. By writing you we hope to raise awareness of this issue and encourage electronic equipment retailers to refrain from participating in this unlawful type of business activity.

The Supreme Court of Canada has confirmed that decoding without authorization is illegal. Significant losses are being suffered by the Canadian broadcast industry due to illegal decoding. In addition, certain illegal decoding cards are causing radio interference to public safety services.

The Government of Canada through the efforts of the RCMP, Canada Customs and Revenue Agency, and Industry Canada is pursuing enforcement action against commercial ventures engaged in the selling of illegal decoding equipment.

The enclosed attachment provides background on these issues. Additional information on this subject is available on the Industry Canada Internet site: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum under Consumer Information, Direct-to-Home (DTH) Satellite TV.

Should you have any questions, please contact the local Industry Canada office.

Attachment

Illegal Satellite Signal Decoding / Supreme Court of Canada Decision

The Supreme Court of Canada confirmed that this type of activity is illegal, when it rendered its decision on the case of Bell ExpressVu Limited Partnership v. Richard Rex on April 26, 2002. In its decision, the Court confirmed that the Radiocommunication Act does in fact prohibit the unauthorized decoding of encrypted satellite television signals even where the signal is distributed from outside Canada.

Only lawful distributors such as Bell ExpressVu and Star Choice, have the right to distribute and authorize the decoding of encrypted satellite television broadcasting signals in Canada. Thus, any person who offers to sell equipment, devices or components intended to facilitate the decoding of subscription-based encrypted satellite television broadcasting signals without obtaining an authorization from the lawful distributor, is in contravention of the Act.

Radio Interference Generated by Illegal Decoding "Pirate" Cards

The Department of Industry has received complaints of interference to the wireless communications systems of law enforcement agencies and emergency response teams across Canada and has conducted tests of suspect equipment. These tests have demonstrated that certain devices, referred to as AVR or "pirate" cards, when used with DTH satellite receivers to receive satellite television programming without the payment of subscription fees, cause the emission of spurious radio signals that can interfere with other radiocommunication services.

Accordingly, under section 50 of the Radiocommunication Regulations, it is illegal to manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale, sell, install or use such AVR cards.

Illegal Decoding - Canadian Broadcasting Losses

The Canadian broadcasting industry, together with the related film and video making sector, are suffering financially because of the illegal satellite equipment market. Canadian broadcasters purchase, at significant expense, the licence copyright to distribute programming. Broadcasters incur a loss, not dissimilar to shoplifting, when consumers use illegal decoding equipment or

U.S. satellite equipment/subscriptions to receive their television signal without payment being made to the rightful broadcast distributor in Canada, such as a local cable television provider, Bell ExpressVu, Star Choice or Look TV. This has a cascade effect which results in less revenue being made available to fund distinctive Canadian productions, improve facilities and create Canadian jobs within its associated sectors.

Simply put - it's theft.


Dealer - Information Letter
(PDF, 11 KB, 2 pages)

PDF Readers
Date modified:

Lettre de renseignements destinée au commerçant

le 11 octobre, 2002

Madame, Monsieur,

Industrie Canada se préoccupe beaucoup du fait que la vente et l'utilisation illégales d'équipement de décodage de signaux satellite persistent. Par la présente, nous espérons sensibiliser les gens à cet enjeu et encourager les détaillants d'équipement électronique à s'abstenir de se livrer à ce type d'activité commerciale illégale.

La Cour suprême du Canada a confirmé que le décodage sans autorisation est illégal. L'industrie canadienne de la radiodiffusion subit des pertes de revenus importantes en raison du décodage illégal. De plus, certaines cartes de décodage illégales causent de l'interférence aux fréquences radio des services de sécurité publique.

Le gouvernement du Canada, par l'intermédiaire de la GRC, de l'Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada et d'Industrie Canada, prend des mesures coercitives contre les entreprises commerciales qui vendent de l'équipement de décodage illégal.

Le document ci-joint donne des renseignements généraux sur ces raisons. Des renseignements supplémentaires se trouvent sur le site Internet d'Industrie Canada à http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre sous la rubrique Information aux consommateurs, Radiodiffusion directe à domicile par satellite (SRD).

Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec le bureau local d'Industrie Canada.

Pièce jointe

Décodage illégal de signaux satellite / Décision de la Cour suprême du Canada

La Cour suprême du Canada a confirmé que ce type d'activité était illégal lorsqu'elle a rendu sa décision dans la cause de Bell ExpressVu, société en commandite c. Richard Rex, le 26 avril 2002. Dans sa décision, la Cour confirme que la Loi sur la radiocommunication interdit le décodage non autorisé des signaux de télévision par satellite, même si le signal provient de l'extérieur du Canada.

Seuls les distributeurs légitimes comme Bell ExpressVu et Star Choice ont le droit de diffuser des signaux par satellite et d'autoriser le décodage de signaux de radiodiffusion par satellite au Canada. Par conséquent, toute personne qui offre de vendre de l'équipement, des appareils ou des composantes visant à faciliter le décodage de signaux de radiodiffusion par satellite que l'on reçoit seulement par abonnement, sans avoir obtenu au préalable l'autorisation du distributeur légitime, contrevient à la Loi.

Interférence aux fréquences radio causée par les cartes de décodage illégales « pirates »

Le ministère de l'Industrie a reçu des plaintes concernant le brouillage des systèmes de communications sans fil des organismes d'application de la loi et des équipes d'intervention d'urgence partout au Canada, et il a effectué des tests sur de l'équipement suspect. Ces tests ont démontré que l'utilisation de certains dispositifs, connus comme des cartes AVR ou « pirates », avec des récepteurs de signaux satellite à domicile en vue de recevoir des émissions de télévision par satellite sans abonnement, entraîne l'émission de signaux non essentiels qui peuvent brouiller d'autres services de radiocommunication.

Par conséquent, selon l'article 50 du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, la fabrication, l'importation, la distribution, la location, la mise en vente, la vente, l'installation ou l'utilisation de telles cartes AVR sont illégales.

Décodage illégal - Les pertes de l'industrie canadienne de la radiodiffusion

L'industrie canadienne de la radiodiffusion de même que le secteur de la production de films et de vidéos subissent des pertes de revenus en raison du marché des appareils illégaux de réception de signaux satellite. Les radiodiffuseurs canadiens paient très cher les licences pour diffuser des émissions. Ils encourent des pertes, comme s'ils étaient victimes de vol à l'étalage, lorsque les consommateurs utilisent de l'équipement de décodage illégal, des antennes américaines ou lorsqu'ils s'abonnent à un service américain pour recevoir les signaux de télévision sans payer les distributeurs légitimes au Canada, c.-à-d. les entreprises locales de câblodistribution, Bell ExpressVu, Star Choice ou Look TV. Cela produit un effet cascade qui entraîne une baisse des revenus qui pourraient servir à financer des productions typiquement canadiennes, à améliorer les installations et à créer des emplois dans les secteurs connexes au Canada.

C'est tout simplement du vol.


Lettre de renseignements destinée au commerçant
(PDF, 11 KB, 3 pages)

Lecteurs PDF
Date de modification :