Archived—Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (2009 Edition)

A3 (AI 1.5) – Spectrum Requirements for Aeronautical Telecommand and High Bit-Rate Aeronautical Telemetry

Background

This agenda item addressed a growing demand for spectrum allocated for aeronautical telemetry and associated telecommand. There was an increasingly significant shortfall in spectrum necessary to conduct aeronautical telemetry. The shortfall was exacerbated by the loss of telemetry spectrum diverted to other applications and services. Without access to additional spectrum, aeronautical development would be subject to escalating delays and costs, and the growth of the aerospace industry would be impaired (including equipment manufacturers, civilian programs and test ranges, as well as airlines).

Aeronautical mobile telemetry (AMT) is an application within the aeronautical mobile service. The new allocations enabling aeronautical mobile telemetry applications include the band 4400-4940 MHz through the new footnote 5.440A, the band 4825-4935 MHz through Mod 5.442, the band 5091-5150 MHz through the new footnote 5.444B and the band 5925-6700 MHz through the new footnote 5.457C. These aeronautical mobile telemetry applications will only be for transmission of telemetry information for flight test purposes in the air-to-ground direction inasmuch as telecommand functions (i.e. ground-to-air transmissions) can be accommodated in existing bands. Consequently, in these bands, AMT in the aeronautical mobile service is not considered an application of a safety service as defined in RR No. 1.59. These international footnotes are instrumental in the establishment of spectrum sharing conditions and Canada-US cross-border coordination arrangements. The department plans to hold public consultations in the near future to develop spectrum utilization policies to address the spectrum requirements of the aeronautical community and AMT in particular.

Hence, AMT applications in new spectrum will not require the level of protection associated with operations in existing telemetry bands. However, the new AMT application may share spectrum with other services such as fixed and fixed satellite services. The World Radio Conference has considered ITU-R studies that have determined conditions under which AMT for flight test purposes can be implemented without adversely affecting the operation of existing systems and allocated services.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

4 400-4 990 MHz

4 400-4 500

FIXED
MOBILE 5.440A

C25

4 500-4 800

FIXED
FIXED-SATELLITE (space-to-Earth) 5.441
MOBILE 5.440A

C16A C25

4 800-4 825

FIXED
MOBILE 5.440A
Radio astronomy

C25

4 825-4 835

FIXED
MOBILE 5.440A MOD 5.442
RADIO ASTRONOMY 5.443

MOD 5.149 5.443 C25

4 835-4 950

FIXED
MOBILE 5.440A
Radio Astronomy

C25

4 950-4 990

FIXED
MOBILE MOD 5.442
RADIO ASTRONOMY 5.443

MOD 5.149 5.339 5.443

5 030-6 700 MHz

5 030–5 1505 091

AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION

5.367 MOD 5.444 5.444A

5 091-5 150

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE 5.444B
AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION

5.367 MOD 5.444 MOD 5.444A

5 150-5 250

AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION
FIXED-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.447A
MOBILE except aeronautical mobile MOD 5.446A 5.446B

5.446 5.447B 5.447C C39B

 

5 650-5 725

MOBILE except aeronautical mobile MOD 5.446A 5.450A
RADIOLOCATION
Amateur
Space Research (deep space)

5.282 C39B

 

5 925-6 700

FIXED
FIXED-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space) 5.457A
MOBILE 5.457C

MOD 5.149 5.440 5.458 C39D

MOD 5.149 See Section F2.
ADD 5.440A In Region 2 (except Brazil, Cuba, French Overseas Departments and Communities, Guatemala, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela), and in Australia, the band 4 400-4 940 MHz may be used for aeronautical mobile telemetry for flight testing by aircraft stations (see No. 1.83). Such use shall be in accordance with Resolution 416 (WRC-07) and shall not cause harmful interference to, nor claim protection from, the fixed-satellite and fixed services. Any such use does not preclude the use of these bands by other mobile service applications or by other services to which these bands are allocated on a co-primary basis and does not establish priority in the Radio Regulations. (WRC-07)
MOD 5.442 In the bands 4 825-4 835 MHz and 4 950-4 990 MHz, the allocation to the mobile service is restricted to the mobile, except aeronautical mobile, service. In Region 2 (except Brazil, Cuba, Guatemala, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela), and in Australia, the band 4 825-4 835 MHz is also allocated to the aeronautical mobile service, limited to aeronautical mobile telemetry for flight testing by aircraft stations. Such use shall be in accordance with Resolution 416 (WRC-07) and shall not cause harmful interference to the fixed service(WRC-07)
MOD 5.444 See Section A4.
MOD 5.444A See Section A4.
ADD 5.444B See Section A4.
MOD 5.446A The use of the bands 5 150-5 350 MHz and 5 470-5 725 MHz by the stations in the mobile, except aeronautical mobile, service shall be in accordance with Resolution 229(WRC-03)(WRC-0307)
ADD5.457C In Region 2 (except Brazil, Cuba, French Overseas Departments and communities, Guatemala, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela), the band 5 925-6 700 MHz may be used for aeronautical mobile telemetry for flight testing by aircraft stations (see No. 1.83). Such use shall be in accordance with Resolution 416 (WRC-07) and shall not cause harmful interference to, nor claim protection from, the fixed-satellite and fixed services. Any such use does not preclude the use of these bands by other mobile service applications or by other services to which these bands are allocated on a co-primary basis and does not establish priority in the Radio Regulations. (WRC-07)

Discussion

The Department believes that the proposed changes to the Canadian Table will help address the needs for AMT for flight test purposes in Canada while providing protection to the existing services and systems. It will also provide adequate regulatory mechanisms to ensure the protection of Canadian systems from AMT for flight test purposes to be deployed by the United States in border areas in the 4/6 GHz band.

Date modified:

Archivé — Projet de révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (édition 2009)

A3 (AI 1.5) – Besoins en fréquences des opérations de télécommande aéronautique et des systèmes de télémesure aéronautique à haut débit

Contexte

Ce point de l'ordre du jour porte sur la demande croissante d'attribution de fréquences aux systèmes de télémesure aéronautique et aux opérations connexes de télécommande. On note une pénurie grave et croissante des fréquences nécessaires à la conduite de la télémesure aéronautique. La pénurie a été exacerbée par la perte des fréquences attribuées à la télémesure, mais réaffectées à d'autres applications et services. Sans accès à des fréquences additionnelles, l'essor du service aéronautique serait assujetti à des retards et à des frais croissants, et la croissance de l'industrie aérospatiale (y compris les fabricants d'équipement, les polygones d'essai et les programmes civils, ainsi que les compagnies aériennes) serait freinée.

La télémesure mobile aéronautique (TMA) est une application du service mobile. Les nouvelles fréquences qui lui sont attribuées comprennent la bande 4400-4940 MHz en vertu du nouveau renvoi 5.440A, la bande 4825-4935 MHz en vertu de la modification au renvoi 5.442, la bande 5091-5150 MHz en vertu du nouveau renvoi 5.444B, et la bande 5925-6700 MHz en vertu du nouveau renvoi 5.457C. Ces applications serviront uniquement à la transmission air-sol de données de télémesure aux fins d'essais en vol, car les fonctions de télécommande (émissions sol-air) peuvent être exécutées dans les bandes où des fréquences leur ont déjà été attribuées. Par conséquent, dans ces bandes, la télémesure mobile aéronautique du service mobile aéronautique n'est pas considérée comme une application d'un service de sécurité au sens du numéro 1.59 du Règlement des radiocommunications (RR). Ces renvois internationaux jouent un rôle déterminant dans l'établissement de conditions de partage du spectre et d'ententes de coordination transfrontalières entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Le ministère entend tenir bientôt des consultations publiques qui auraient pour but de développer des politiques d'utilisation du spectre afin de rencontrer les besoins en spectre de la communauté aéronautique et tout particulièrement les besoins pour la télémétrie mobile aéronautique.

Les applications de TMA dans les nouvelles bandes de fréquences n'exigeront donc pas le niveau de protection associé à l'exploitation des bandes de télémesure existantes. Elles pourront toutefois partager des fréquences avec d'autres services, p. ex. les services fixes et fixes par satellite. La Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications a tenu compte des études de l'UIT-R qui ont déterminé les conditions auxquelles la TMA aux fins d'essais en vol peut être mise en oeuvre sans nuire à l'exploitation des systèmes en place et aux services auxquels des fréquences sont déjà attribuées.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

4 400-4 990 MHz

4 400-4 500

FIXE
MOBILE 5.440A

C25

4 500-4 800

FIXE
FIXE PAR SATELLITE (espace vers Terre) 5.441
MOBILE 5.440A

C16A C25

4 800-4 825

FIXE
MOBILE 5.440A
Radioastronomie

C25

4 825-4 835

FIXE
MOBILE 5.440A MOD 5.442
RADIOASTRONOMIE 5.443 

MOD 5.149 5.443 C25 

4 835-4 950

FIXE
MOBILE 5.440A
Radioastronomie

C25

4 950-4 990

FIXE
MOBILE MOD 5.442
RADIOASTRONOMIE 5.443

MOD 5.149 5.339 5.443

5 030-6 700 MHz

5 030–5 1505 091

RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE

5.367 MOD 5.444 5.444A

5 091-5 150

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE 5.444B
RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE

5.367 MOD 5.444 MOD 5.444A

5 150-5 250

FIXE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.447A
MOBILE sauf mobile aéronautique MOD 5.446A 5.446B
RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE

5.446 5.447B 5.447C C39B

5 650-5 725

MOBILE sauf mobile aéronautique MOD 5.446A 5.450A
RADIOLOCALISATION
Amateur
Recherche spatiale (espace lointain)

5.282 C39B

5 925-6 700

FIXE
FIXE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace) 5.457A
MOBILE 5.457C

MOD 5.149 5.440 5.458 C39D

MOD 5.149 Voir la section F2.
ADD 5.440A Dans la Région 2 (sauf Brésil, Cuba, Départements et collectivités d'outre-mer français, Guatemala, Paraguay, Uruguay et Venezuela) et en Australie, la bande 4 400‑4 940 MHz peut être utilisée pour la télémesure mobile aéronautique pour les essais en vol effectués par des stations d'aéronef (voir le numéro 1.83). Cette utilisation doit être conforme à la Résolution 416 (CMR-07) et ne doit pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable au service fixe par satellite et au service fixe, ni demander à être protégée vis-à-vis desdits services. Cette utilisation n'exclut pas l'utilisation de ces bandes par d'autres applications du service mobile et par d'autres services auxquels les bandes en question sont attribuées à titre primaire avec égalité des droits et n'établit pas de priorité dans le Règlement des radiocommunications. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.442 Dans les bandes 4 825-4 835 MHz et 4 950-4 990 MHz, l'attribution au service mobile est limitée au service mobile, sauf mobile aéronautique. Dans la Région 2 (sauf Brésil, Cuba, Guatemala, Paraguay, Uruguay et Venezuela) et en Australie, la bande 4 825-4 835 MHz est, de plus, attribuée au service mobile aéronautique, cette attribution étant limitée à la télémesure mobile aéronautique pour les essais en vol effectués par des stations d'aéronef. Cette utilisation doit être conforme à la Résolution 416 (CMR-07) et ne doit pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable au service fixe. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.444 Voir la section A4.
MOD 5.444A Voir la section A4.
ADD 5.444B Voir la section A4.
MOD 5.446A L'utilisation des bandes 5 150-5 350 MHz et 5 470-5 725 MHz par les stations du service mobile, sauf mobile aéronautique, doit être conforme à la Résolution 229 (CMR-03). (CMR-0307)
ADD 5.457C Dans la Région 2 (sauf Brésil, Cuba, Départements et Collectivités d'outre-mer français, Guatemala, Paraguay, Uruguay et Venezuela), la bande 5 925-6 700 MHz peut être utilisée pour la télémesure mobile aéronautique pour les essais en vol effectués par des stations d'aéronef (voir le numéro 1.83). Cette utilisation doit être conforme à la Résolution 416 (CMR-07) et ne doit pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable au service fixe par satellite et au service fixe, ni demander à être protégée vis-à-vis desdits services. Cette utilisation n'exclut pas l'utilisation de ces bandes par d'autres applications du service mobile ou par d'autres services auxquels les bandes en question sont attribuées à titre primaire avec égalité des droits et n'établit pas de priorité dans le Règlement des radiocommunications. (CMR-07)

Discussion

Le Ministère croit que les modifications proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution permettront de satisfaire aux besoins de la télémesure mobile aéronautique aux fins d'essais en vol au Canada et, en même temps, d'assurer une protection aux services et aux systèmes en place. Elles permettront aussi d'établir des mécanismes réglementaires adéquats pour assurer la protection des systèmes canadiens de télémesure mobile aéronautique aux fins d'essais en vol devant être déployés par les États-Unis dans les zones frontalières dans la bande de 4/6 GHz.

Date de modification :