Archived—Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (2009 Edition)

A4 (AI 1.6) - Aeronautical Mobile (R) Service in Bands 108– MHz - 6 GHz and Modernization of Civil Aviation Systems

Background

Resolution 414 (WRC-03)

Existing AM(R)S bands are nearing saturation in high-traffic areas. In addition, new applications and concepts in air traffic management put further pressure on existing AM(R)S bands that do not conform to the definition of aeronautical radionavigation in the Radio Regulations.

ITU-R Working Party 8B* (WP 8B) and the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) developed a draft operational concept, as well as technology selection criteria and procedures for new aviation technology requiring two distinct categories of AM(R)S spectrum. The first category for surface applications at airports could support high data throughput over moderate transmission distances. There is a high degree of reuse of this spectrum. The second category for bidirectional air-to-ground applications could support a moderate data throughput over longer propagation distances out to radio line-of-sight. These applications require a number of distinct channels to allow for sector-to-sector assignments.

WRC-07 addressed these issues under Agenda Item 1.6 and Resolution 414 (WRC-03). Consequential modifications to No. 5.444A were also considered.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

108-137 MHz

108-117.975

AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION
MOD 5.197A

117.975-137

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE (R)
MOD 5.111 5.198 5.199 MOD 5.200 5.203
960-1 164 MHz

960-1 164

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE (R) 5.327A
AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION 5.328
5 030-5 150 MHz

5 030–5 1505 091

AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION

5.367 MOD 5.444 5.444A

5 091-5 150

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE 5.444B
AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION

5.367 MOD 5.444 MOD 5.444A

MOD 5.111 See Section E2.
MOD 5.197A Additional allocation: the band 108-117.975 MHz may also be used by is also allocated on a primary basis to the aeronautical mobile (R) service on a primary basis, limited to systems that transmit navigational information in support of air navigation and surveillance functions operating in accordance with recognized international aeronautical standards. Such use shall be in accordance with Resolution 413 (RevWRC-037) and shall not cause harmful interference to nor claim protection from stations operating in the aeronautical radionavigation service which operate in accordance with international aeronautical standards. The use of the band 108-112 MHz by the aeronautical mobile (R) service shall be limited to systems composed of ground-based transmitters and associated receivers that provide navigational information in support of air navigation functions in accordance with recognized international aeronautical standards. (WRC-0307)
SUP 5.198 Additional allocation: the band 117.975-136 MHz is also allocated to the aeronautical mobilesatellite (R) service on a secondary basis, subject to agreement obtained under No. 9.21. (WRC-97) (WRC-07)
SUP 5.199 See Section E2.
SUP 5.203 In the band 136-137 MHz, existing operational meteorological satellites may continue to operate, under the conditions defined in No. 4.4 with respect to the aeronautical mobile service, until 1 January 2002. Administrations shall not authorize new frequency assignments in this band to stations in the meteorological satellite service. (WRC-97) (WRC-07)
ADD 5.327A  The use of the band 960-1 164 MHz by the aeronautical mobile (R) service is limited to systems that operate in accordance with recognized international aeronautical standards. Such use shall be in accordance with Resolution 417 (WRC-07). (WRC-07)
MOD 5.444 The band 5 030-5 150 MHz is to be used for the operation of the international standard system (microwave landing system) for precision approach and landing. In the band 5 030-5 091 MHz, the requirements of this system shall take precedence over other uses of this band. For the use of the band 5 091-5 150 MHz, No. 5.444A and Resolution 114 (Rev. WRC-03) apply. (WRC-0307)
MOD 5.444A Additional allocation: the band 5 091-5 150 MHz is also allocated to the fixed-satellite service (Earth-to-space) on a primary basis. This allocation is limited to feeder links of non-geostationary satellite systems in the mobile-satellite service and is subject to coordination under No. 9.11A.

In the band 5 091-5 150 MHz, the following conditions also apply:

  • prior to 1 January 2018, the use of the band 5 091-5 150 MHz by feeder links of non-geostationary-satellite systems in the mobile-satellite service shall be made in accordance with Resolution 114 (Rev. WRC-03);
  • prior to 1 January 2018, the requirements of existing and planned international standard systems for the aeronautical radionavigation service which cannot be met in the 5 000 – 5 091 MHz band, shall take precedence over other uses of this band;
  • after 1 January 2016, no new assignments shall be made to earth stations providing feeder links of non-geostationary mobile-satellite systems;
  • after 1 January 2018, the fixed-satellite service will become secondary to the aeronautical radionavigation service. (WRC-0307)
ADD 5.444B The use of the band 5 091-5 150 MHz by the aeronautical mobile service is limited to:
  • systems operating in the aeronautical mobile (R) service and in accordance with international aeronautical standards, limited to surface applications at airports. Such use shall be in accordance with Resolution 748 (WRC-07);
  • aeronautical telemetry transmissions from aircraft stations (see No. 1.83) in accordance with Resolution 418 (WRC-07);
  • aeronautical security transmissions. Such use shall be in accordance with Resolution 419 (WRC-07)(WRC-07)

Discussion

The Department believes that the proposed changes to the Canadian Table will satisfy the needs for Aeronautical Mobile (En route) Service (AM(R)S) growth and requirements while providing protection to the existing services and systems. The Department also believes that the modification of the status of microwave landing systems (MLS) in the band 5 091-5 150 MHz is acceptable to permit the introduction of the new AM(R)S systems, as the protection of future MLS deployment has been considered in the applicable Resolutions.

A5 (AI 1.9) – to review the technical, operational and regulatory provisions applicable to the use of the band 2 500-2 690 MHz by space services in order to facilitate sharing with current and future terrestrial services without placing undue constraint on the services to which the band is allocated.

The use of the 2 500 MHz band in Canada will be the subject of a forthcoming consultation that will address, among other issues, proposals for modifications to the Canadian Table, including the adoption of WRC-07 decisions related to the 2 500 MHz band.


*As a result of ITU-R re-structuring, ITU-R WP 8B is now known as ITU-R WP 5B

Date modified:

Archivé — Projet de révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (édition 2009)

A4 (AI 1.6) - Service mobile aéronautique (R) dans les bandes 108 MHz - 6 GHz et modernisation des systèmes de l'aviation civile

Contexte

Résolution 414 (CMR-03)

Les bandes attribuées au service mobile aéronautique le long des routes (SMA(R)) sont presque saturées dans les zones où la circulation est élevée. En outre, les nouvelles applications et les nouveaux concepts en gestion de la circulation aérienne ont pour effet d'accroître les pressions exercées sur les bandes attribuées au SMA(R) qui ne sont pas conformes à la définition de radionavigation aéronautique donnée dans le Règlement des radiocommunications.

Le Groupe de travail 8B* (GT 8B) de l'UIT-R et l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI) ont élaboré une ébauche de concept de fonctionnement, de même que les procédures et les critères de sélection de la nouvelle technologie de l'aviation qui requiert deux catégories distinctes de fréquences pour le SMA(R). La première catégorie des applications de surface aux aéroports pourrait prendre en charge le débit élevé de données à des distances d'émission modérées. Il y a un degré élevé de réutilisation de ces fréquences. La seconde catégorie d'applications air-sol bidirectionnelles pourrait prendre en charge un débit modéré de données à des distances de propagation plus longues en visibilité directe. Ces applications requièrent un certain nombre de canaux distincts pour permettre les assignations d'un secteur à l'autre.

La CMR-07 a abordé ces questions au point 1.6 de l'ordre du jour et dans la Résolution 414 (CMR-03). Les modifications en conséquence au numéro 5.444A ont aussi été abordées.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

108-137 MHz

108-117.975

RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE
MOD 5.197A

117.975-137

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE (R)
MOD 5.111 5.198 5.199 MOD 5.200 5.203 
960-1 164 MHz

960-1 164

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE (R) 5.327A
RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE 5.328
5 030-5 150 MHz

5 030–5 1505 091

RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE

5.367 MOD 5.444 5.444A

5 091-5 150

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE 5.444B
RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE

5.367 MOD 5.444 MOD 5.444A

MOD 5.111 Voir la section E2.
MOD 5.197 Attribution additionnelle : la bande 108-117,975 MHz peut est, de plus, attribuée être utilisée par le service mobile aéronautique (R) à titre primaire limité aux systèmes qui transmettent des informations de navigation pour la surveillance et la navigation aérienne, au service mobile aéronautique (R), cette utilisation étant limitée aux systèmes fonctionnant conformément aux normes aéronautiques internationales reconnues. Cette utilisation doit être conforme à la Résolution 413. (Rév.CMR-07) et ne doit pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable aux stations du service de radionavigation aéronautique qui fonctionnent conformément aux normes aéronautiques internationales, ni demander à être protégée vis-à-vis de ces stations. (CMR-03) L'utilisation de la bande 108‑112 MHz par le service mobile aéronautique (R) est limitée aux systèmes composés d'émetteurs au sol et de récepteurs associés qui fournissent des informations de navigation pour la navigation aérienne, conformément aux normes aéronautiques internationales reconnues. (CMR-0307)
SUP 5.198 Attribution additionnelle : la bande 117,975-136 MHz est, de plus, attribuée au service mobile aéronautique par satellite (R) à titre secondaire, sous réserve de l'accord obtenu au titre du numéro 9.21. (CMR-97) (CMR-07)
SUP 5.199 Voir la section E2.
SUP 5.203 Les satellites météorologiques fonctionnant actuellement dans la bande 136-137 MHz peuvent continuer d'être exploités dans les conditions définies au numéro 4.4 vis-à-vis du service aéronautique jusqu'au 1er janvier 2002. Les administrations ne doivent pas autoriser de nouvelles assignations de fréquence dans cette bande aux stations du service de météorologie par satellite. (CMR-97) (CMR-07)
ADD 5.327A L'utilisation de la bande 960-1 164 MHz par le service mobile aéronautique (R) est limitée aux systèmes exploités conformément aux normes aéronautiques internationales reconnues. Cette utilisation doit être conforme à la Résolution 417 (CMR-07). (CMR-07)
MOD 5.444 La bande 5 030-5 150 MHz doit être utilisée pour l'exploitation du système international normalise (système d'atterrissage aux hyperfréquences) pour l'approche et l'atterrissage de précision. Dans la bande 5 030-5 091 MHz, les besoins de ce système ont priorité sur les autres utilisations de cette bande. Pour l'utilisation de la bande 5 091-5 150 MHz, le numéro 5.444A et la Résolution 114 (Rév. CMR-03) s'appliquent. (CMR-0307)
MOD 5.444A

Attribution additionnelle : la bande 5 091-5 150 MHz est, de plus, attribuée au service fixe par satellite (Terre vers espace) à titre primaire. Cette attribution est limitée aux liaisons de connexion des systèmes à satellites non géostationnaires du service mobile par satellite et est subordonnée à la coordination au titre du numéro 9.11A.

Dans la bande 5 091-5 150 MHz, les dispositions suivantes s'appliquent également :

  • avant le 1er janvier 2018, l'utilisation de la bande 5 091-5 150 MHz par les liaisons de connexion des systèmes à satellites non géostationnaires du service mobile par satellite doit être conforme aux dispositions de la Résolution 114 (Rév.CMR-03);
  • avant le 1er janvier 2018, les besoins des systèmes internationaux normalisés existants ou en projet pour le service de radionavigation aéronautique, qui ne peuvent être satisfaits dans la bande 5 000-5 091 MHz, auront priorité sur les autres utilisations de cette bande;
  • après le 1er janvier 2016, aucune nouvelle assignation ne devra être faite aux stations terriennes assurant des liaisons de connexion de systèmes à satellites non géostationnaires du service mobile par satellite;
  • après le 1er janvier 2018, le service fixe par satellite deviendra secondaire par rapport au service de radionavigation aéronautique. (CMR-0307)
ADD 5.444B L'utilisation de la bande 5 091-5 150 MHz par le service mobile aéronautique est limitée:
  • aux systèmes fonctionnant dans le service mobile aéronautique (R) et conformément aux normes aéronautiques internationales, cette utilisation étant limitée aux applications de surface dans les aéroports. Cette utilisation doit être conforme à la Résolution 748 (CMR-07);
  • aux transmissions de télémesure aéronautique des stations d'aéronef (voir le numéro 1.83), conformément à la Résolution 418 (CMR-07);
  • aux transmissions pour la sécurité aéronautique. Cette utilisation doit être conforme à la
  • Résolution 419 (CMR-07). (CMR-07)

Discussion

Le Ministère croit que les modifications proposées au Tableau canadien d'attribution permettront de satisfaire aux besoins et à la croissance du service mobile aéronautique (le long des routes) (SMA(R)) et, en même temps, d'assurer une protection aux services et aux systèmes en place. Le Ministère croit aussi que la modification du statut du système d'atterrissage micro-ondes (MLS) dans la bande 5 091‑5 150 MHz est acceptable pour permettre l'introduction des nouveaux systèmes du SMA(R) dans cette bande, du fait que la protection du déploiement ultérieur du système MLS entre en ligne de compte dans les Résolutions applicables.

A5 (AI 1.9) – Examiner les dispositions techniques, opérationnelles et réglementaires applicables à l'utilisation de la bande 2 500-2 690 MHz par les services spatiaux dans le but de faciliter le partage avec les services de Terre actuels et futurs sans placer de restriction indue à l'égard des services auxquels la bande est attribuée

L'utilisation de la bande de 2 500 MHz au Canada fera l'objet d'une consultation prochaine, qui portera notamment sur les projets de modification du Tableau canadien, y compris l'adoption des décisions de la CMR-07 relatives à la bande de 2 500 MHz.


1Suite à la restructuration de l'UIT-R, le GT 8B de l'UIT-R est maintenant connu sous GT 5B de l'UIT-R.

Date de modification :