Archived—Proposed Revisions to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations (2009 Edition)

E2 (AI 1.14) - Operational Procedures and Requirements of the Global Maritime Distress and Safety System (GMDSS) and New Technologies in the VHF Maritime Mobile Band

Background

WRC-07 agenda item 1.14 addressed mainly two issues: the transition to the GMDSS and the introduction of new technologies in the VHF maritime mobile band. The development of GMDSS began more than two decades ago, and its global implementation for vessels subject to the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) became effective on 1 February 1999. The transition to GMDSS, however, remains ongoing for the foreseeable future, as there are many vessels not subject to SOLAS that are not yet fitted with GMDSS. To reflect the current status of the transition to the GMDSS, WRC-07 updated the associated regulatory procedures and requirements, including some Article 5 footnotes.

WRC-07 was also asked to consider necessary changes to Appendix 18 in order to enable the use of new technologies by the maritime mobile service (in the VHF maritime mobile band). Some of these changes necessitated additional modifications to Article 5.

Summary of Proposed Changes to the Canadian Table

415-525 kHz

415-495

MARITIME MOBILE 5.79 MOD 5.79A

5.78 5.80 MOD 5.82

495-505

MOBILE (distress and calling) 5.82A

5.83 5.82B

505-510

MARITIME MOBILE 5.79

510-525

AERONAUTICAL RADIONAVIGATION
MOBILE MOD 5.79A MOD 5.84
2 173.5-2 190.5 kHz

2 173.5-2 190.5

MOBILE (distress and calling)

MOD 5.108 5.109 5.110 MOD 5.111

2 850-3 025 kHz

2 850-3 025

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE (R)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.115

4 063-4 438 kHz

4 063-4 438

MARITIME MOBILE MOD 5.79A 5.109 5.110 MOD 5.130
5.131 5.132

5.128 5.129

5 480-5 680 kHz

5 480-5 680

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE (R)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.115

5 680-5 730

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE (OR)
MOD 5.111 MOD 5.115 C5
6 200-6 525 kHz

6 200-6 525

MARITIME MOBILE 5.109 5.110 MOD 5.130 5.132

C4

8 195-8 815 kHz

8 195-8 815

MARITIME MOBILE 5.109 5.110 5.132 MOD 5.145

MOD 5.111

9 995-10 100 kHz

9 995-10 003

STANDARD FREQUENCY AND TIME SIGNAL
(10 000 kHz)

MOD 5.111

10 003-10 005

STANDARD FREQUENCY AND TIME SIGNAL
Space Research

MOD 5.111

10 005-10 100

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE (R)

MOD 5.111

12 230-13 200 kHz

12 230-13 200

MARITIME MOBILE 5.109 5.110 5.132 MOD 5.145
14 990-15 005 kHz

14 990-15 005

STANDARD FREQUENCY AND TIME SIGNAL
(15 000 kHz)

MOD 5.111

16 360-17 410 kHz

16 360-17 410

MARITIME MOBILE 5.109 5.110 5.132 MOD 5.145
19 990-20 010 kHz

19 990-19 995

STANDARD FREQUENCY AND TIME SIGNAL
Space Research

MOD 5.111

19 995-20 010

STANDARD FREQUENCY AND TIME SIGNAL (20 000 kHz)

MOD 5.111

117.975-137 MHz

117.975-137

AERONAUTICAL MOBILE (R)

MOD 5.111 5.198 5.199 MOD 5.200 5.203

150.05-174 MHz

150.05-156.48757625

MOBILE
Fixed

MOD 5.226 5.227

156.4875-156.5625

MOBILE
Fixed

MARITIME MOBILE (distress and calling via DSC)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.226 5.227 CAxy

156.5625-156.7625

MOBILE
Fixed

MOD 5.226 5.227

156.7625-156.8375

MARITIME MOBILE (distress and calling)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.226

156.8375-174

MOBILE
Fixed

MOD 5.226 5.227A

235-273 MHz

235-273

FIXED
MOBILE

MOD 5.111 5.199 5.254 MOD 5.256 5.256A C5

406-406.1 MHz

406-406.1

MOBILE-SATELLITE (Earth-to-space)

MOD 5.266 5.267

456-459 MHz

456-459

MOBILE 5.286AA MOD 5.287 Cxx
Fixed

5.288

460-470 MHz

460-470

MOBILE 5.286AA MOD 5.287 Cxx
Fixed

5.289

SUP 5.78 See Section F3
MOD 5.79A When establishing coast stations in the NAVTEX service on the frequencies 490 kHz, 518 kHz and 4 209.5 kHz, administrations are strongly recommended to coordinate the operating characteristics in accordance with the procedures of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) (see Resolution 339 (Rev. WRC-9707)). (WRC 9707)
SUP 5.80 See Section F3
MOD 5.82 In the maritime mobile service, the frequency 490 kHz is from the date of full implementation of the GMDSS (see Resolution 331 (Rev. WRC-97)), to be used exclusively for the transmission by coast stations of navigational and meteorological warnings and urgent information to ships, by means of narrow-band direct-printing telegraphy. The conditions for use of the frequency 490 kHz are prescribed in Articles 31 and 52. In using the band 415-495 kHz for the aeronautical radionavigation service, administrations are requested to ensure that no harmful interference is caused to the frequency 490 kHz. (WRC-9707)
ADD 5.82A The use of the band 495-505 kHz is limited to radiotelegraphy. (WRC-07)
ADD 5.82B Administrations authorizing the use of frequencies in the band 495-505 kHz by services other than the maritime mobile service shall ensure that no harmful interference is caused to the maritime mobile service in this band or to the services having allocations in the adjacent bands, noting in particular the conditions of use of the frequencies 490 kHz and 518 kHz, as prescribed in Articles 31 and 52. (WRC-07)
SUP 5.83 The frequency 500 kHz is an international distress and calling frequency for Morse radiotelegraphy. The conditions for its use are prescribed in Articles 31 and 52, and in Appendix 13. (WRC-07)
MOD 5.84 The conditions for the use of the frequency 518 kHz by the maritime mobile service are prescribed in Articles 31 and 52 and in Appendix 13. (WRC-9707)
MOD 5.108 The carrier frequency 2 182 kHz is an international distress and calling frequency for radiotelephony. The conditions for the use of the band 2 173.5-2 190.5 kHz are prescribed in Articles 31 and 52 and in Appendix 13. (WRC-07)
MOD 5.111

The carrier frequencies 2 182 kHz, 3 023 kHz, 5 680 kHz, 8 364 kHz and the frequencies 121.5 MHz, 156.525 MHz, 156.8 MHz and 243 MHz may also be used, in accordance with the procedures in force for terrestrial radiocommunication services, for search and rescue operations concerning manned space vehicles. The conditions for the use of the frequencies are prescribed in Article 31 and in Appendix 13. The same applies to the frequencies 10 003 kHz, 14 993 kHz and 19 993 kHz, but in each of these cases emissions must be confined in a band of ±3 kHz about the frequency. (WRC-07)

MOD 5.115 The carrier (reference) frequencies 3 023 kHz and 5 680 kHz may also be used, in accordance with Article 31 and Appendix 13 by stations of the maritime mobile service engaged in coordinated search and rescue operations. (WRC-07)
ADD 5.128 Frequencies in the bands 4 063-4 123 kHz and 4 130-4 438 kHz may be used exceptionally by stations in the fixed service, communicating only within the boundary of the country in which they are located, with a mean power not exceeding 50 W, on condition that harmful interference is not caused to the maritime mobile service. In addition, in Afghanistan, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Botswana, Burkina Faso, the Central African Rep., China, the Russian Federation, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Mali, Niger, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Chad, Turkmenistan and Ukraine, in the bands 4 063-4 123 kHz, 4 130-4 133 kHz and 4 408-4 438 kHz, stations in the fixed service, with a mean power not exceeding 1 kW, can be operated on condition that they are situated at least 600 km from the coast and that harmful interference is not caused to the maritime mobile service. (WRC-07)
SUP 5.129   On condition that harmful interference is not caused to the maritime mobile service, the frequencies in the bands 4 063-4 123 kHz and 4 130-4 438 kHz may be used exceptionally by stations in the fixed service communicating only within the boundary of the country in which they are located with a mean power not exceeding 50 W. (WRC-07)
MOD 5.130 The conditions for the use of the carrier frequencies 4 125 kHz and 6 215 kHz are prescribed in Articles 31 and 52 and in Appendix 13. (WRC-07)
MOD 5.145 The conditions for the use of the carrier frequencies 8 291 kHz, 12 290 kHz and 16 420 kHz are prescribed in Articles 31 and 52 and in Appendix 13. (WRC-07)
SUP 5.198    See Section A4.
SUP 5.199 The bands 121.45-121.55 MHz and 242.95-243.05 MHz are also allocated to the mobile-satellite service for the reception on board satellites of emissions from emergency position-indicating radiobeacons transmitting at 121.5 MHz and 243 MHz (see Appendix 13). (WRC-07)
MOD 5.200 In the band 117.975-137 MHz, the frequency 121.5 MHz is the aeronautical emergency frequency and, where required, the frequency 123.1 MHz is the aeronautical frequency auxiliary to 121.5 MHz. Mobile stations of the maritime mobile service may communicate on these frequencies under the conditions laid down in Article 31 and Appendix 13 for distress and safety purposes with stations of the aeronautical mobile service. (WRC-07)
SUP 5.203 See Section A4.
MOD 5.226

The frequency 156.525 MHz is the international distress, safety and calling frequency for the maritime mobile VHF radiotelephone service using digital selective calling (DSC). The conditions for the use of this frequency and the band 156.4875-156.5625 MHz are contained in Articles 31 and 52, and in Appendix 18.

The frequency 156.8 MHz is the international distress, safety and calling frequency for the maritime mobile VHF radiotelephone service. The conditions for the use of this frequency and the band 156.7625-156.8375 MHz are contained in Article 31 and Appendix 18.

In the bands 156-156.4875 MHz, 156.5625-156.7625 MHz, 156.8375-157.45 MHz, 160.6-160.975 MHz and 161.475-162.05 MHz, each administration shall give priority to the maritime mobile service on only such frequencies as are assigned to stations of the maritime mobile service by the administration (see Articles 31 and 52, and Appendix 18).

Any use of frequencies in these bands by stations of other services to which they are allocated should be avoided in areas where such use might cause harmful interference to the maritime mobile VHF radiocommunication service.

However, the frequencies 156.8 MHz and 156.525 MHz and the frequency bands in which priority is given to the maritime mobile service may be used for radiocommunications on inland waterways subject to agreement between interested and affected administrations and taking into account current frequency usage and existing agreements. (WRC-07)

SUP 5.227*

In the maritime mobile VHF service the frequency 156.525 MHz is to be used exclusively for digital selective calling for distress, safety and calling. The conditions for the use of this frequency are prescribed in Articles 31 and 52, and Appendices 13 and 18. (WRC-07)

* Footnote 5.227 was modified by WRC-07; however, the Department has opted to suppress the existing No. 5.227 and to maintain primary land mobile service and secondary fixed service allocations in the bands 156.4875-156.5125 MHz and 156.5375-156.5625 MHz in accordance with a new Canadian footnote CAxy.

ADD 5.227A 

Additional allocation: the bands 161.9625-161.9875 MHz and 162.0125-162.0375 MHz are also allocated to the mobile-satellite service (Earth-to-space) on a secondary basis for the reception of automatic identification system (AIS) emissions from stations operating in the maritime-mobile service (see Appendix 18). (WRC-07)

MOD 5.256 The frequency 243 MHz is the frequency in this band for use by survival craft stations and equipment used for survival purposes (see Appendix 13). (WRC-07)
SUP 5.256A See Section F3.
MOD 5.266 The use of the band 406-406.1 MHz by the mobile-satellite service is limited to low power satellite emergency position-indicating radiobeacons (see also Article 31 and Appendix 13). (WRC-07)
ADD 5.286AA See Section A2.
MOD 5.287 In the maritime mobile service, the frequencies 457.525 MHz, 457.550 MHz, 457.575 MHz, 467.525 MHz, 467.550 MHz and 467.575 MHz may be used by on-board communication stations. Where needed, equipment designed for 12.5 kHz channel spacing, also using the additional frequencies 457.5375 MHz, 457.5625 MHz, 467.5375 MHz and 467.5625 MHz, may be introduced for on-board communications. The use of these frequencies in territorial waters may be subject to the national regulations of the administration concerned. The characteristics of the equipment used shall conform to those specified in Recommendation ITU-R M.1174-2. (see Resolution 341 (WRC-97)). (WRC-9707)
SUP 5.288 See Section F3.
ADD CAxy (CAN-09) Additional allocation: the bands 156.4875-156.5125 MHz and 156.5375-156.5625 MHz are also allocated to the land mobile service on a primary basis and to the fixed service on a secondary basis. The use of these bands by the land mobile and fixed services shall not cause harmful interference to nor claim protection from the maritime mobile VHF radiocommunication service.
ADD Cxx See Section A2.

Discussion

In view of the transition to the GMDSS and consistent with the intent that the ITU's Radio Regulations reflect current maritime operations, WRC-07 reallocated the 500 kHz Morse code international distress and calling frequency given that it was no longer used for radiotelegraphy (e.g. NAVTEX). Although the band 495-505 kHz was modified to reflect a primary mobile service allocation, the maritime mobile service maintained its priority through footnote 5.82B.

The review of GMDSS requirements also revealed that the GMDSS digital selective calling (DSC) frequency, 156.525 MHz (channel 70), was not afforded the same international recognition and protection in Article 5 as the pre-GMDSS distress and calling frequency, 156.8 MHz (channel 16). With this in mind, WRC-07 modified the International Table to provide an exclusive maritime mobile service allocation for the DSC frequency similar to the allocation provided for the maritime VHF channel 16 frequency. The impact to incumbent services, however, was minimized by maintaining existing fixed and mobile allocations in the guard bands of the DSC channel through footnotes with appropriate conditions.

Given the status of the transition to the GMDSS, WRC-07 agreed to integrate some non-GMDSS provisions from Appendix 13 into the GMDSS provisions in Chapter VII and to suppress Appendix 13. Consequentially, several Article 5 footnotes were modified to remove references to Appendix 13 and to reflect other required updates and corrections based on the regulatory review of maritime-related provisions.

In the context of introducing new technologies in the VHF maritime mobile band, significant interest was expressed in the development and advancement of satellite-based reception of Automatic Identification System (AIS) signals to permit identification and tracking of vessels at much greater distances than currently possible by terrestrial means. In response, WRC-07 added a secondary mobile satellite service (Earth-to-space) allocation to provide for satellite reception of the AIS signals on the existing AIS 1 and AIS 2 channels, 161.975 MHz and 162.025 MHz respectively.

Date modified:

Archivé — Projet de révision du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences (édition 2009)

E2 (AI 1.14) - Exigences et procédures opérationnelles du système mondial de détresse et de sécurité en mer (SMDSM) et des nouvelles technologies dans la bande à ondes métriques pour le service mobile maritime

Contexte

Le point 1.14 de l'ordre du jour de la CMR-07 portait principalement sur deux questions, soit la transition au SMDSM et l'introduction de nouvelles technologies dans la bande à ondes métriques pour le service mobile maritime. Le développement du SMDSM a commencé il y a plus de deux décennies, et sa mise en œuvre mondiale pour les navires assujettis à la Convention SOLAS (sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer) est entrée en vigueur le 1er février 1999. La transition au SMDSM, cependant, se poursuit dans l'avenir prévisible, du fait qu'il y a de nombreux navires non assujettis à la Convention SOLAS qui ne sont pas encore munis du matériel requis en vertu du SMDSM. Dans le but de refléter l'état actuel de la transition au SMDSM, la CMR-07 a mis à jour les exigences et les procédures réglementaires connexes, y compris certaines dispositions de l'Article 5.

La CMR-07 a aussi été chargée d'examiner les modifications nécessaires à l'Appendice 18 afin de permettre l'utilisation de nouvelles technologies par le service mobile maritime (dans la bande à ondes métriques du service mobile maritime). Certaines de ces modifications ont nécessité des modifications additionnelles à l'Article 5.

Résumé des modifications proposées au Tableau canadien

415-525 kHz

415-495

MOBILE MARITIME 5.79 MOD 5.79A

5.78 5.80 MOD 5.82

495-505

MOBILE (détresse et appel) 5.82A

5.83 5.82B

505-510

MOBILE MARITIME 5.79

510-525

MOBILE MOD 5.79A MOD 5.84
RADIONAVIGATION AÉRONAUTIQUE
2 173,5-2 190,5 kHz

2 173,5-2 190,5

MOBILE (détresse et appel)

MOD 5.108 5.109 5.110 MOD 5.111

2 850-3 025 kHz

2 850-3 025

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE (R)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.115

4 063-4 438 kHz

4 063-4 438

MOBILE MARITIME MOD 5.79A 5.109 5.110 MOD 5.130
5.131 5.132

5.128 5.129

5 480-5 680 kHz

5 480-5 680

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE (R)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.115

5 680-5 730

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE (OR)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.115 C5

6 200-6 525 kHz

6 200-6 525

MOBILE MARITIME 5.109 5.110 MOD 5.130 5.132

C4

8 195-8 815 kHz

8 195-8 815

MOBILE MARITIME 5.109 5.110 5.132 MOD 5.145

MOD 5.111

9 995-10 100 kHz

9 995-10 003

FRÉQUENCE ÉTALON ET SIGNAUX HORAIRES
(10 000 kHz)

MOD 5.111

10 003-10 005

FRÉQUENCE ÉTALON ET SIGNAUX HORAIRES
Recherche spatiale

MOD 5.111

10 005-10 100

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE (R)
MOD 5.111
12 230-13 200 kHz

12 230-13 200

MOBILE MARITIME 5.109 5.110 5.132 MOD 5.145
14 990-15 005 kHz

14 990-15 005

FRÉQUENCE ÉTALON ET SIGNAUX HORAIRES
 (15 000 kHz)

MOD 5.111

16 360-17 410 kHz

16 360-17 410

MOBILE MARITIME 5.109 5.110 5.132 MOD 5.145
19 990-20 010 kHz

19 990-19 995

FRÉQUENCE ÉTALON ET SIGNAUX HORAIRES
Recherche spatiale

MOD 5.111

19 995-20 010

FRÉQUENCE ÉTALON ET SIGNAUX HORAIRES
 (20 000 kHz)

MOD 5.111

117,975-137 MHz

117,975-137

MOBILE AÉRONAUTIQUE (R)

MOD 5.111 5.198 5.199 MOD 5.200 5.203

150,05-174 MHz

150,05-156,48757625

MOBILE
Fixe

MOD 5.226 5.227

156,4875-156,5625

MOBILE
Fixe

MOBILE MARITIME (détresse et appel via ASN)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.226 5.227 CAxy

156,5625-156,7625

MOBILE
Fixe

MOD 5.226 5.227

156,7625-156,8375

MOBILE MARITIME (détresse et appel)

MOD 5.111 MOD 5.226

156,8375-174

MOBILE
Fixe

MOD 5.226 5.227A

235-273 MHz

235-273

FIXE
MOBILE

MOD 5.111 5.199 5.254 MOD 5.256 5.256A C5

406-406,1 MHz

406-406,1

MOBILE PAR SATELLITE (Terre vers espace)

MOD 5.266 5.267

456-459 MHz

456-459

MOBILE 5.2866AA MOD 5.287 Cxx
Fixe

5.288

460-470 MHz

460-470

MOBILE 5.2866AA MOD 5.287 Cxx
Fixe

5.289

SUP 5.78 Voir la section F3
MOD 5.79A Lorsqu'elles établissent des stations côtières du service NAVTEX sur les fréquences 490 kHz, 518 kHz et 4 209,5 kHz, les administrations sont instamment invitées à en coordonner les caractéristiques opérationnelles conformément aux procédures de l'Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) (voir la Résolution 339 (Rév.CMR9707)). (CMR-9707)
SUP 5.80 Voir la section F3
MOD 5.82  Dans le service mobile maritime, la fréquence 490 kHz à partir de la date de mise en oeuvre intégrale du Système mondial de détresse et de sécurité en mer (voir la Résolution 331 (Rév. CMR-97)),doit être utilisée exclusivement pour l'émission par les stations côtières d'alertes concernant la navigation et la météorologie et de renseignements urgents destinés aux navires, à l'aide de la télégraphie à impression directe à bande étroite. Les conditions d'emploi de la fréquence 490 kHz sont prescrites dans les Articles 31 et 52. En utilisant la bande 415-495 kHz pour le service de radionavigation aéronautique, les administrations sont priées de faire en sorte qu'aucun brouillage préjudiciable ne soit causé à la fréquence 490 kHz. (CMR-9707)
ADD 5.82A L'utilisation de la bande 495-505 kHz est limitée à la radiotélégraphie. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.82B Les administrations autorisant l'utilisation de fréquences dans la bande 495-505 kHz par des services autres que le service mobile maritime doivent s'assurer qu'aucun brouillage préjudiciable n'est causé au service mobile maritime dans cette bande, ni aux services bénéficiant d'attributions dans les bandes adjacentes, compte tenu en particulier des conditions d'emploi des fréquences 490 kHz et 518 kHz, telles qu'elles sont énoncées dans les Articles 31 et 52. (CMR-07)
SUP 5.83 La fréquence 500 kHz est une fréquence internationale de détresse et d'appel en radiotélégraphie Morse. Les conditions d'emploi de cette fréquence sont fixées dans les articles 31, 52 et dans l'appendice 13. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.84 Les conditions d'emploi de la fréquence 518 kHz par le service mobile maritime sont fixées dans les Articles 31 et 52 et dans l'appendice 13. (CMR-9707)
MOD 5.108 La fréquence porteuse 2 182 kHz est une fréquence internationale de détresse et d'appel en radiotéléphonie. Les conditions d'emploi de la bande 2 173,5-2 190,5 kHz sont fixées dans les Articles 31 et 52 et dans l'appendice 13. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.111

Les fréquences porteuses 2 182 kHz, 3 023 kHz, 5 680 kHz et 8 364 kHz, ainsi que les fréquences 121,5 MHz, 156,525 MHz, 156,8 MHz et 243 MHz peuvent, de plus, être utilisées, conformément aux procédures en vigueur pour les services de radiocommunication de Terre, pour les opérations de recherche et de sauvetage des véhicules spatiaux habités. Les conditions d'emploi de ces fréquences sont fixées dans l'Article 31 et dans l'appendice 13.

Il en est de même pour les fréquences 10 003 kHz, 14 993 kHz et 19 993 kHz, mais pour chacune de celles-ci, les émissions doivent être limitées à une bande de ± 3 kHz de part et d'autre de la fréquence. (CMR-07)

MOD 5.115 Les fréquences porteuses (fréquences de référence) 3 023 kHz et 5 680 kHz peuvent, de plus, être utilisées par les stations du service mobile maritime qui participent à des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage coordonnées, dans les conditions prévues dans l'Article 31 et dans l'appendice 13. (CMR-07)
ADD 5.128 Les fréquences des bandes 4 063-4 123 kHz et 4 130-4 438 kHz peuvent être utilisées exceptionnellement par des stations du service fixe, d'une puissance moyenne ne dépassant pas 50 W, pour communiquer uniquement à l'intérieur des frontières du pays dans lequel elles sont situées, à condition que des brouillages préjudiciables ne soient pas causés au service mobile maritime. En outre, dans les pays suivants: Afghanistan, Argentine, Arménie, Azerbaïdjan, Bélarus, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Centrafricaine (Rép.), Chine, Fédération de Russie, Géorgie, Inde, Kazakstan, Mali, Niger, Kirghizistan, Tadjikistan, Tchad, Turkménistan et Ukraine, dans les bandes 4 063-4 123 kHz, 4 130-4 133 kHz et 4 408-4 438 kHz, les stations du service fixe, d'une puissance moyenne ne dépassant pas 1 kW, peuvent être exploitées, à condition qu'elles soient situées à au moins 600 km des côtes et qu'aucun brouillage préjudiciable ne soit causé au service mobile maritime. (CMR-07)
SUP 5.129 A condition qu'aucun brouillage préjudiciable ne soit causé au service mobile maritime, les fréquences des bandes 4 063-4 123 kHz et 4 130-4 438 kHz peuvent être utilisées exceptionnellement par des stations du service fixe, d'une puissance moyenne ne dépassant pas 50 W, communiquant seulement à l'intérieur des frontières nationales. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.130 Les conditions d'emploi des fréquences porteuses 4 125 kHz et 6 215 kHz sont fixées dans les Articles 31 et 52 et dans l'appendice 13. (CMR-07)
MOD 5.145 Les conditions d'emploi des fréquences porteuses 8 291 kHz, 12 290 kHz et 16 420 kHz sont fixées dans les Articles 31 et 52 et dans l'appendice 13. (CMR-07)
SUP 5.198 Voir la section A4.
SUP 5.199 Les bandes 121,45-121,55 MHz et 242,95-243,05 MHz sont, de plus, attribuées au service mobile par satellite pour la réception, à bord des satellites, d'émissions en provenance de radiobalises de localisation des sinistres fonctionnant à 121,5 MHz et 243 MHz (voir l'appendice 13). (CMR-07)
MOD 5.200 Dans la bande 117,975-137 MHz, la fréquence 121,5 MHz est la fréquence aéronautique d'urgence et, si nécessaire, la fréquence 123,1 MHz est la fréquence aéronautique auxiliaire de 121,5 MHz. Les stations mobiles du service mobile maritime peuvent communiquer sur ces fréquences pour la détresse et la sécurité avec les stations du service mobile aéronautique, dans les conditions fixées dans l'Article 31 et dans l'appendice 13. (CMR-07)
SUP 5.203 Voir la section A4.
MOD 5.226

La fréquence 156,525 MHz est la fréquence internationale utilisée pour la détresse, la sécurité et l'appel par le service mobile maritime radiotéléphonique à ondes métriques utilisant l'appel sélectif numérique (ASN). Les conditions d'emploi de cette fréquence et de la bande 156,4875-156,5625 MHz sont fixées dans les Articles 31 et 52 et dans l'Appendice 1318.

La fréquence 156,8 MHz est la fréquence internationale utilisée pour la détresse, la sécurité et l'appel par le service mobile maritime radiotéléphonique à ondes métriques. Les conditions d'emploi de cette fréquence et de la bande 156,7625-156,8375 MHz sont fixées dans l'Article 31 et l'Appendice 18.

En ce qui concerne les bandes 156-156,4875 MHz, 156,5625-156,7625 MHz, 156,8375-157,45 MHz, 160,6-160,975 MHz et 161,475-162,05 MHz, les administrations doivent accorder la priorité au service mobile maritime uniquement sur les fréquences assignées par ces administrations aux stations du service mobile maritime (voir les Articles 31 et 52 et l'Appendice 18).

Il convient d'éviter que les autres services auxquels la bande est attribuée utilisent des fréquences de l'une quelconque des bandes mentionnées ci-dessus, dans toute région où cet emploi pourrait causer des brouillages préjudiciables aux radiocommunications du service mobile maritime à ondes métriques.

Toutefois, les fréquences 156,8 MHz et 156,525 MHz et les fréquences des bandes dans lesquelles la priorité est accordée au service mobile maritime peuvent être utilisées pour les radiocommunications sur les voies d'eau intérieures, sous réserve d'accords entre les administrations intéressées et celles dont les services auxquels la bande est attribuée sont susceptibles d'être affectés et en tenant compte de l'utilisation courante des fréquences et des accords existants. (CMR-07)

SUP 5.227* Dans le service mobile maritime à ondes métriques, la fréquence 156,525 MHz doit être utilisée exclusivement pour les communications de détresse et de sécurité et les appels courants utilisant les techniques d'appel sélectif numérique). Les conditions d'emploi de cette fréquence sont fixées dans les Articles 31 et 52 et dans les Appendices 13 et 18.

* Le renvoi 5.227 a été modifié par la CMR-07; cependant, le Ministère a choisi de supprimer le renvoi existant 5.227 et de maintenir les attributions à titre primaire au service mobile terrestre et à titre secondaire au service fixe dans les bandes 156,4875-156,5125 MHz et 156,5375-156,5625 MHz, conformément au nouveau renvoi canadien CAxy.

ADD 5.227A Attribution additionnelle: les bandes 161,9625-161,9875 MHz et 162,0125‑162,0375 MHz sont, de plus, attribuées au service mobile par satellite (Terre vers espace) à titre secondaire pour la réception des émissions du système d'identification automatique (AIS), depuis des stations fonctionnant dans le service mobile maritime (voir l'Appendice 18). (CMR-07)
MOD 5.256 La fréquence 243 MHz est la fréquence à utiliser dans cette bande par les engins de sauvetage et par les dispositifs utilisés aux fins de sauvetage. (voir l'appendice 13) (CMR-07)
SUP 5.256A Voir la section F3.
MOD 5.266 L'utilisation de la bande 406-406,1 MHz par le service mobile par satellite est limitée aux stations de radiobalises de localisation des sinistres par satellite à faible puissance (voir aussi l'Article 31 et l'appendice 13). (CMR-07)
ADD 5.286AA Voir la section A2.
MOD 5.287 Dans le service mobile maritime, les fréquences 457,525 MHz, 457,550 MHz, 457,575 MHz, 467,525 MHz, 467,550 MHz et 467,575 MHz peuvent être utilisées par les stations de communications de bord. Au besoin, il est possible d'employer pour les communications de bord des équipements conçus pour un espacement des canaux de 12,5 kHz et utilisant également les fréquences additionnelles 457,5375 MHz, 457,5625 MHz, 467,5375 MHz et 467,5625 MHz. L'utilisation de ces fréquences peut être soumise à la réglementation nationale de l'administration intéressée lorsque ces fréquences sont utilisées dans les eaux territoriales de son pays. Les caractéristiques des appareils utilisés doivent être conformes aux spécifications de la Recommandation UIT-RM.1174-2. (voir la Résolution 341 (CMR-97)). (CMR-9707)
SUP 5.288 Voir la section F3.
ADD CAxy (CAN-09) Attribution additionnelle :les bandes 156,4875-156,5125 MHz et 156,5375‑156,5625 MHz sont également attribuées au service mobile terrestre à titre primaire et au service fixe à titre secondaire. L'utilisation de ces bandes par le service mobile terrestre et le service fixes ne doit pas causer de brouillage préjudiciable au service de radiocommunications mobile maritime à ondes métriques, ni demander de protection à l'égard du service de radiocommunications mobile maritime à ondes métriques.
ADD Cxx Voir la section A2.

Discussion

Conformément à l'intention de veiller à ce que le Règlement des radiocommunications reflète les opérations et les exigences actuelles du service maritime dans le contexte de la transition au SMDSM, la CMR-07 a réattribué la fréquence internationale de détresse et d'appel en code Morse de 500 kHz, étant donné que cette fréquence n'était plus utilisée par la radiotélégraphie (c'est‑à‑dire le service NAVTEX). Bien que la bande 495-505 kHz ait été modifiée pour refléter une attribution à titre primaire au service mobile, la priorité au service mobile maritime a été maintenue dans le nouveau renvoi 5.82B.

L'examen des exigences du SMDSM a également fait ressortir le fait que la fréquence d'appel sélectif numérique (ASN) du SMDSM, 156,525 MHz (canal 70), n'a pas obtenu la même reconnaissance et la même protection internationale dans l'Article 5 que la fréquence de détresse et d'appel antérieure au SMDSM, 156,8 MHz (canal 16). Notant le bien-fondé de cette reconnaissance et de cette protection, la CMR-07 a modifié le Tableau international d'attribution des fréquences pour prévoir une attribution exclusive au service mobile maritime à l'égard de la fréquence ASN d'une façon semblable à l'attribution pour la fréquence du canal 16 à ondes métriques du service maritime. L'incidence sur les services en place a cependant été réduite au minimum par le maintien des attributions existantes aux services fixe et mobile dans les bandes de gardes du canal ASN au moyen d'un renvoi exposant les conditions appropriées.

Compte tenu de l'état de la transition au SMDSM, la CMR-07 a adopté l'intégration de certaines dispositions autres que celles du SMDSM de l'Appendice 13 aux dispositions du SMDSM du Chapitre VII et la suppression de l'Appendice 13. Par conséquent, plusieurs renvois de l'Article 5 ont été modifiés pour supprimer des renvois à l'Appendice 13 et refléter d'autres mises à jour et corrections requises, suite à l'examen réglementaire des dispositions relatives au service maritime.

Dans le contexte de l'introduction de nouvelles technologies dans la bande à ondes métriques du service mobile maritime, un intérêt considérable a été manifesté à l'égard du développement de la réception par satellite des signaux du système d'identification automatique (AIS) pour permettre l'identification et la poursuite de navires à des distances beaucoup plus grandes que le permettent les moyens de Terre, ainsi que pour faciliter l'évolution des applications mondiales de l'AIS. La CMR-07 a traité cette question en ajoutant une attribution à titre secondaire au service mobile par satellite (Terre vers espace) pour assurer la réception par satellite des signaux du système d'identification automatique (AIS) aux canaux actuels AIS 1 et AIS 2, c'est-à-dire respectivement aux fréquences 161,975 MHz et 162,025 MHz.

Date de modification :