Archived—Consultation on the Auction of Spectrum Licences for Wireless Communication Services in the 2300 MHz Band and Fixed Wireless Access in the 3500 MHz Band - Proposed Policy, Licensing Procedures and Technical Considerations

Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Policy

Gazette Notice No. DGRB-006-01

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Telecommunications Policy Objectives
  3. Spectrum Policy for WCS Band - 2300 MHz (2305 - 2320 MHz and 2345 - 2360 MHz)
  4. Spectrum Policy for the FWA Band - 3500 MHz (3400 MHz - 3700 MHz)
  5. Treatment of Incumbent Licensees
  6. Eligibility and Spectrum Aggregation Limits
  7. Technical Considerations
  8. Licensing Process
  9. Financial Aspects of the Auction
  10. Consultation Process
  11. Submitting Your Comments
  12. Further Information

List of Tables:


Consultation on the Auction of Spectrum Licenses for Wireless Communication Services in the 2300 MHz Band and Fixed Wireless Access in the 3500 MHz Band - Proposed Policy, Licensing Procedures and Technical Considerations
(PDF Format, 141 KB, 41 pages)

To access the Portable Document Format (PDF) version, you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:

top of page

1. Introduction

The purpose of this document is to launch the consultation on licensing spectrum for Wireless Communications Services (WCS) in the 2300 MHz Band and Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) in the 3500 MHz Band. Industry Canada is seeking comments that will assist in the finalization of the spectrum policy and licensing process.

The Department notes that two telecommunications applications in particular require that additional spectrum be made available. The first is fixed telephony, where the high cost of implementing facilities-based service using wireline technology inhibits widespread competition from entering the market. With the advances in wireless technology, the potential for a competitive market now exists. As well, existing service providers may look to the proposed bands in order to complement their current facilities and services. The second application is advanced telecommunications services, in particular high-speed Internet access. The demand for Internet access has grown dramatically and the service providers are using many different technologies including dial-up modem, cable, Digital Subscriber Line (DSL), and satellite.

A significant level of investment and activity is being directed by the Canadian industry to provide high-speed Internet access in urban areas. Canadians are among the highest users of Internet of the leading industrialized countries. Canada has a high percentage of homes with computers on-line and has one of the lowest tariffs for high-speed Internet service. Some forecasts project that in the next 2-3 years 3040 % of Canadian households could be subscribing to high-speed Internet and that high-speed Internet access will surpass dial-up Internet modems. With this strong demand forecast for broadband Internet access, the Department believes that new terrestrial wireless technologies have an important and distinct role to play in accelerating high-speed access to the new broadband infrastructure. Hence, additional spectrum below 10 GHz is required to provide the range of interactive communication services that businesses and consumers need to fully participate in the information economy.

In the past three years the Department has licensed a number of fixed service frequency bands on a spectrum-area basis to provide opportunities for businesses and consumers to benefit from a range of advanced communications access services from a number of carriers. The Department has licensed spectrum at 24 GHz, 28 GHz and 38 GHz for a variety of broadband wireless applications. This spectrum is expected to support short distance high density high capacity wireless connections of multiple T-1 channels and will most likely serve businesses in large buildings and apartment complexes first. Some of these systems are being deployed to complement local wireline and fibre distribution networks.

In March 2000, the Department announced the winners of a licensing process for Multipoint Communication Systems (MCS) for fixed services in the band 2500-2596 MHz. This spectrum opened the door for a range of services including high-speed Internet access for consumers and small businesses. Equipment in this spectrum can provide line-of-sight transmission coverage of up to 30 km or more. The spectrum propagation characteristics at 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz permit relatively the same transmission reach as the MCS spectrum at 2500 MHz. The Department's Guidelines on the Licensing Process and Spectrum Release Plan (DGTP-04-99), identified the FWA band at 3500 MHz as one which, based on anticipated demand, would require a competitive licensing process when opened to urban areas and large communities. The spectrum at 2300 MHz designated for WCS in a recent utilization policy paper dealing with the frequency range 2285-2483.5 MHz (DGTP-003-01), has similar capabilities and anticipated demand as the spectrum for FWA at 3500 MHz. The Department expects that the demand for this spectrum will exceed the available supply in certain areas and that reliance on the marketplace to select licensees will be in the public interest. An auction was therefore selected as the most appropriate licensing process for these two bands. The similarities between the two bands makes a single consultation and licensing process efficient. Where necessary, however, issues specific to one band or the other have been dealt with individually. Interested parties are encouraged to provide comments to the Department on the various issues discussed in this consultation paper.

Once the consultation process is complete, the final policy and licensing procedures document will be published detailing the spectrum policy decisions, the spectrum auction rules, and the specifics on post-auction licensing procedures for these frequency bands.

top of page

2. Telecommunications Policy Objectives

The Minister, in exercising his discretionary powers under the Radiocommunication Act, may have regard to the policy objectives set out in the Telecommunications Act. The Telecommunications Act establishes several objectives of particular relevance to wireless telecommunications services that can be provided using WCS and FWA. These objectives include:

  • to enhance the efficiency and competitiveness, at the national and international levels, of Canadian telecommunications;
  • to render reliable and affordable telecommunications services of high quality accessible to Canadians in both urban and rural areas in all regions of Canada;
  • to foster increased reliance on market forces for the provision of telecommunications services and to ensure that regulation, where required, is efficient and effective; and,
  • to respond to the economic and social requirements of users of telecommunications services.

It is also noted that in the Speech from the Throne 2001, the Government has committed to work with the private sector to achieve the goal of making broadband access widely available to citizens, businesses, public institutions and to all communities by 2004.

It is clear that the telecom industry must play a key role in advancing this goal. At present, Canadians enjoy one of the world's highest levels of telephone penetration (99%), nearly 80% availability of basic cable TV and 75% availability of high speed Internet service.

With the release of this spectrum the Department is making an important step towards fulfilling the Government of Canada's goal.

top of page

3. Spectrum Policy for WCS Band - 2300 MHz (2305 - 2320 MHz and 2345 - 2360 MHz)

3.1 Background

In March 2000, the Department released a consultation paper entitled Proposed Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy (SP 1-20 GHz) for Services in the Band 2285-2483.5 MHz under Gazette Notice No. DGTP-003-00. One of the proposals included the alignment of the bands 23052320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz with the United States for WCS applications.

In the U.S., WCS is described as radiocommunications that may provide a range of services to individuals and businesses. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) issued licences in April 1997 through an auction process in 126 markets and to 176 individual winners. Initial expectations suggested that the WCS would be used to provide a variety of services. Current activity is focussed on multipoint fixed wireless access applications with considerable interest in offering high-speed access services to residential and business customers.

The public submissions to the consultation process supported the designation for WCS and encouraged the Department to proceed expeditiously to license. The Department subsequently designated this spectrum for WCS services in June 2001 in the document Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy for Services in the Frequency Range 2285 – 2483.5 MHz (DGTP-003-01).

"The spectrum in the bands 2305-2320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz is re-assigned from conventional microwave radio systems (point-to-point) to Wireless Communication Service applications."

The Revisions document (DGTP-003-01) recognizes that the defining line between fixed and mobile services is becoming less distinct in some scenarios envisaged for local broadband networks. Provision for applications which have elements of both services, depending on the user location or situation, are included in several broadband requirements. The Department wishes to provide full flexibility for the development of local broadband networks in this band and does not want to predetermine or prescribe the type of commercial services to be offered. However, Industry Canada envisages that the spectrum designated for WCS services will be used predominantly for the provision of local broadband access applications in fixed service point-to-multipoint configurations.

As outlined in Section 7.1, suitable technical rules will need to be adopted which facilitate interference free operation between systems, services and operating areas.

3.2 Proposed Band Plan for the WCS Spectrum at 2300 MHz

In 1997, the U.S. auctioned WCS Spectrum in 5 MHz blocks. Immediately following the auctions there was very little activity, however more recently the spectrum has been consolidated into larger blocks.

With the increasing interest in Canada to have sufficient spectrum to facilitate a strong business case for wireless services, the Department proposes making this spectrum (2305-2320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz) available in one paired block of 15+15 MHz for WCS service.

Preliminary views from industry on equipment technology indicate that segmenting the band in blocks less than the 15+15 MHz proposed would not be spectrum efficient (e.g. guard band requirements) and may be insufficient to support strong business plans.

A diagram of the band is included in Appendix A.

Table 1 - 2300 MHz Frequency Block Pair of 15+15 MHz
Paired Block Lower Frequency Block
(MHz)
Upper Frequency Block
(MHz)
A/A' 2305-2320 2345-2360

Comments on the proposed spectrum band plan are invited.

3.3 Incumbents in the 2300 MHz Band

3.3.1 Mobile Aeronautical Telemetry in the Band 2300-2360 MHz

In the consultation paper on the spectrum utilization policy in the band 2285-2483.5 MHz (DGTP-03-00) Industry Canada established a moratorium on any further licensing of new fixed and mobile systems (in particular, Mobile Aeronautical Telemetry Systems or MATS) in the band 2285-2360 MHz. The Department at that time designated the band 2360-2400 MHz for MATS service for use by the Government of Canada. The paper requested comments on the issue of retaining the MATS designation around major military bases of the Department of Defence and vicinities in the band 2300-2360 MHz on a secondary basis.

The Department subsequently made policy provisions for MATS operation on a secondary basis in the band 2285 - 2360 MHz in June 2001 in the document Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy for Services in the Frequency Range 2285 – 2483.5 MHz (DGTP-003-01).

"Where MATS does not impact the implementation of WCS and other services, it may be authorized to the Department of National Defence, on a secondary basis, on major military bases and vicinities, in the band 2300-2360 MHz. However, if required, the Department of National Defence would have to cease MATS operation upon notification from the Department of Industry. The operation of MATS in the band 2320-2345 MHz is also subject to the conditions of the Canada/U.S. agreement on coordination with U.S. DARS."

A list of Canadian military bases where MATS operate is available at Industry Canada's Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf05518.html

3.3.2 Fixed Systems in Bands 2305-2320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz

The paired bands 2290-2350 MHz and 2390-2450 MHz have been used for fixed service applications. With the release of Spectrum Utilization Policy 1-20 GHz (SP 1-20 GHz) in January 1995, the Department changed the designation to pair the bands 2290-2360 MHz and 2520-2590 MHz for low-capacity (LC) and subscriber radio systems (SRS). Since that time, a number of spectrum policy decisions have limited the availability of these bands for LC, SRS and MATS. In the document Amendments to the Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the 1-3 GHz Frequency Range (SP 1-3 GHz), accommodation was made for LC systems in the band 2025-2110 MHz paired with 2200-2285 MHz. SRS systems were also accommodated in these bands in remote and distant rural areas, under the Geographical Differences Policy Guideline outlined in SP 1-20 GHz.

Currently in the band 2305 - 2320 MHz there are approximately 175 frequency assignments with 120 of those assignments held by 2 companies. These two licensees have systems which are mostly located in BC and in Ontario. In the band 2345 - 2360 MHz there are approximately 41 assignments used by 6 licensees, with 3 of those licensees holding 35 of the assignments. Two of these licensees have systems which are situated in BC while the third licensee has systems located mostly in Quebec.

In order to accommodate WCS applications, it is proposed that existing fixed systems licensed in the bands 2305-2320 MHz and 2345-2360 MHz be subject to displacement under the transition policy provisions and timing described in Section 5.2.

Interested parties can locate the frequency assignments licensed to incumbents that may be impacted in this process through a search of our radio frequency licensee database at Industry Canada's Web site at: http://spectrumdirect.ic.gc.ca/engdoc/main.html

Date modified:

Archivé — Consultation sur la mise aux enchères de licences de spectre pour les services de télécommunications sans fil dans la bande de 2300 MHz et pour l'accès fixe sans fil dans la bande de 3500 MHz - Projet de politique, procédures d'autorisation et considérations techniques

Gestion du spectre et Politique des télécommunications

Avis de la Gazette no DGRB-006-01

Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Objectifs de la politique de télécommunications
  3. Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour la bande STSF 2300 MHz (2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz)
  4. Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour la bande AFSF 3500 MHz (3400-3700 MHz)
  5. Traitement des titulaires de licence en place
  6. Admissibilité et limites de regroupement de fréquences
  7. Considérations techniques
  8. Processus d'autorisation
  9. Aspects financiers des enchères
  10. Processus de consultation
  11. Présentation des observations
  12. Renseignements supplémentaires

Liste des tableaux :


Consultation sur la mise aux enchères de licences de spectre pour les services de télécommunications sans fil dans la bande de 2300 MHz et pour l'accès fixe sans fil dans la bande 3500 MHz - Projet de politique, procédures d'autorisation et considérations techniques
(Format PDF, 143 Ko, 43 pages)

Pour consulter la version PDF (format de document portable), vous devez avoir un lecteur PDF sur votre ordinateur. Si vous n'en avez pas déjà un, il existe de nombreux lecteurs PDF que vous pouvez télécharger gratuitement ou acheter dans Internet :

haut de la page

1. Introduction

Le présent document a pour objet de lancer un processus de consultation sur la délivrance de licences à l'égard de services de télécommunications sans fil (STSF) fonctionnant dans la bande 2300 MHz et de services d'accès fixe sans fil (AFSF) fonctionnant dans la bande 3500 MHz. Industrie Canada sollicite des observations qui l'aideront à mettre la touche finale à la politique d'utilisation du spectre et au processus d'autorisation.

Le Ministère note que deux applications de télécommunications demandent la libération de nouvelles fréquences. La première de ces applications est la téléphonie fixe, où les coûts élevés de mise en oeuvre de services fondés sur des installations filaires nuisent à l'ouverture de ce marché à une concurrence accrue. Grâce aux progrès des technologies sans fil, un marché concurrentiel est aujourd'hui possible. De plus, les fournisseurs de services en place peuvent envisager d'utiliser les bandes proposées pour compléter leurs installations et services existants. La seconde application est la fourniture de services de télécommunications perfectionnés, en particulier l'accès Internet. La demande d'accès à Internet a connu une croissance phénoménale et les fournisseurs d'accès utilisent différentes technologies pour y répondre : modems téléphoniques, modems câbles, lignes numériques d'abonné (DSL) et liaisons par satellite.

L'industrie canadienne investit beaucoup d'efforts et d'argent pour offrir un accès Internet haute vitesse dans les régions urbaines. Les Canadiens et les Canadiennes sont parmi les plus grands utilisateurs d'Internet des principaux pays industrialisés. Le Canada compte un pourcentage élevé de foyers branchés à Internet et les frais d'accès haute vitesse y sont parmi les plus avantageux du monde. Certains prédisent que de 30 à 40 % des ménages canadiens pourraient être abonnés à un fournisseur d'accès Internet haute vitesse d'ici deux à trois ans, et que l'accès haute vitesse sera alors plus populaire que l'accès par modem commuté. Compte tenu de ces prévisions de forte demande d'accès Internet à large bande, le Ministère est d'avis que les nouvelles technologies sans fil de Terre ont un rôle important et distinct à jouer pour accroître l'accès haute vitesse à la nouvelle infrastructure à large bande. En conséquence, de nouvelles fréquences au-dessous de 10 GHz sont nécessaires aux fins de la fourniture d'une vaste gamme de services de communications interactifs qui permettront aux entreprises et aux consommateurs de participer pleinement à l'économie de l'information.

Au cours des trois dernières années, le Ministère a délivré des licences à l'égard de fréquences des bandes du service fixe sur une base spectre-zone pour offrir aux entreprises et aux consommateurs des occasions de profiter d'une gamme de services d'accès de pointe fournis par différentes entreprises de télécommunications. Le Ministère a délivré des licences aux fins de diverses applications sans fil à large bande exploitées dans les bandes 24 GHz, 28 GHz et 38 GHz. On s'attend à ce que ces fréquences servent à de courtes connexions sans fil haute densité et haute capacité au moyen de multiples canaux T1, destinées probablement à de grands ensembles commerciaux et résidentiels. Certains de ces systèmes sont mis en oeuvre comme compléments aux réseaux de distribution filaires et optiques locaux.

En mars 2000, le Ministère a annoncé les gagnants du processus d'autorisation de systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) fixes dans la bande 2500-2596 MHz. Ces fréquences permettent d'offrir une gamme de services, dont des services d'accès Internet haute vitesse, aux consommateurs et aux petites entreprises. Le matériel fonctionnant dans cette bande assure des liaisons en visibilité directe sur des distances pouvant dépasser 30 km. Les caractéristiques de propagation des bandes 2300 MHz et 3500 MHz permettent d'offrir une couverture similaire à celle de la bande STM de 2500 MHz.

Dans le document intitulé Lignes directrices sur le processus d'autorisation et plan de libération de fréquences (DGTP-04-99), le Ministère notait que, compte tenu de la demande prévue, la bande AFSF 3500 MHz serait l'une des bandes qui devra faire l'objet d'un processus d'autorisation concurrentiel quand elle deviendra disponible dans les régions urbaines et dans les grandes agglomérations. La bande de fréquences 2300 MHz, désignée aux fins des STSF dans un récent document de politique d'utilisation de la gamme de fréquences 2285-2483,5 MHz (DGTP-003-01), se caractérise par une capacité et une demande prévue similaires à celles de la bande AFSF 3500 MHz. Le Ministère prévoit que la demande pour ces fréquences dépassera l'offre dans certaines régions, et il est d'avis que le recours aux forces du marché pour la sélection des titulaires de licence servira l'intérêt public. Le Ministère a donc décidé que le processus d'autorisation qui convenait le mieux à ces deux bandes était la tenue d'enchères. Compte tenu de la similarité de ces deux bandes, il est plus efficace de traiter des deux bandes dans le cadre d'un même processus de consultation et d'autorisation. Cependant, au besoin, les questions propres à une bande particulière font l'objet d'un traitement distinct. Les intéressés sont invités à communiquer au Ministère leurs observations sur les différentes questions soulevées dans le présent document de consultation.

à la fin du processus de consultation, un document décrivant la politique et les procédures d'autorisation définitives sera publié, lequel exposera la politique d'utilisation du spectre, les règles de mise aux enchères du spectre et les détails concernant les procédures d'autorisation après les enchères s'appliquant à ces bandes de fréquences.

haut de la page

2. Objectifs de la politique de télécommunications

Le Ministre, dans l'exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire qui lui est conféré en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, peut tenir compte des objectifs de politiques énoncés dans la Loi sur les télécommunications. La Loi sur les télécommunications établit différents objectifs qui s'appliquent aux services de télécommunications sans fil qui peuvent être offerts au moyen des STSF et de l'AFSF. Il s'agit notamment des objectifs suivants :

  • améliorer l'efficacité et la compétitivité des télécommunications canadiennes, au pays et à l'étranger;
  • mettre des services de télécommunications de haute qualité, fiables et abordables, à la disposition des Canadiens et des Canadiennes des régions urbaines et rurales partout au Canada;
  • compter davantage sur les forces du marché pour la fourniture de services de télécommunications et s'assurer que, le cas échéant, la réglementation est adéquate et efficace;
  • répondre aux besoins économiques et sociaux des utilisateurs de services de télécommunications.

Dans le discours du Trône de 2001, le gouvernement s'est engagé à collaborer avec le secteur privé pour réaliser l'objectif de mettre l'accès à large bande généralement à la disposition des citoyens, des entreprises, des institutions publiques et de toutes les collectivités d'ici 2004.

Il est évident que l'industrie des télécommunications doit jouer un rôle clé dans l'atteinte de cet objectif. Actuellement, le taux de pénétration du service téléphonique au Canada (99 %) est l'un des plus élevés au monde. De plus, près de 80 % des Canadiens et des Canadiennes ont accès au service de câblodistribution de base et 75 %, au service Internet haute vitesse.

Avec la libération de ces nouvelles fréquences, le Ministère franchit une étape importante vers l'atteinte de l'objectif du gouvernement du Canada.

haut de la page

3. Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour la bande STSF 2300 MHz (2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz)

3.1 Contexte

En mars 2000, le Ministère a publié un document de consultation intitulé Projet de révision de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre (PS 1-20 GHz) pour les services exploités dans la bande 2285-2483,5 MHz (avis dans la Gazette DGTP-003-00). Ce document proposait notamment d'aligner l'utilisation canadienne des bandes 2305-2320 et 2345-2360 MHz sur leur utilisation américaine aux fins d'applications STSF.

Aux E.-U., les STSF sont définis comme une gamme de services de radiocommunications destinés aux particuliers et aux entreprises. En avril 1997, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) a délivré, suite à des enchères, des licences visant 126 marchés à 17 soumissionnaires distincts. On prévoyait initialement que les STSF offriraient une gamme diversifiée de services. Les efforts portent actuellement sur des applications d'accès fixe sans fil multipoint, notamment sur des services d'accès haute vitesse destinés à des clients résidentiels et commerciaux.

Les observations présentées pendant la consultation publique étaient favorables à la désignation de la bande aux fins des STSF et invitaient le Ministère à procéder dans les plus brefs délais à la délivrance de licences à l'égard de ces systèmes. En juin 2001, le Ministère a désigné ces fréquences aux fins des STSF dans un document intitulé Révisions de la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la gamme de fréquences 2285-2483,5 MHz (DGTP-003-01).

« Les fréquences des bandes 2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz sont réassignées des systèmes hertziens classiques (point-à-point) aux applications du service de communications sans fil. »

Dans le document intitulé Révisions de la politique d'utilisation du spectre (DGTP-003-01), on reconnaît que la ligne de démarcation entre les services fixes et les services mobiles devient moins distincte dans certains scénarios envisagés pour les réseaux locaux à large bande. Des dispositions relatives à des applications qui comptent des éléments des deux services, selon l'emplacement ou la situation de l'utilisateur, sont comprises dans plusieurs spécifications visant des systèmes à large bande. Le Ministère désire fournir la souplesse maximale pour la mise en oeuvre de réseaux locaux à large bande dans cette bande et il ne veut pas définir à l'avance ni prescrire le type de services commerciaux offerts. Cependant, Industrie Canada prévoit que les fréquences désignées aux fins des STSF serviront principalement pour la fourniture d'accès local à large bande dans des configurations point-multipoint du service fixe.

Conformément aux dispositions de la section 7.1, des règles techniques appropriées devront être adoptées pour faciliter l'exploitation libre de brouillage de différents systèmes, services et zones de desserte.

3.2 Plan de bande proposé pour la gamme de fréquences STSF 2300 MHz

Aux E.-U., en 1997, des blocs de 5 MHz de fréquences STSF ont été mis aux enchères. Il y a eu très peu d'activité immédiatement après les enchères, mais, récemment, des fréquences ont été regroupées pour créer de plus gros blocs.

Compte tenu de l'intérêt croissant au Canada pour l'obtention d'assez de fréquences pour présenter un solide dossier commercial à l'appui des services sans fil, le Ministère propose d'assigner ces bandes (2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz) aux STSF en un bloc apparié de 15+15 MHz.

Les observations préliminaires de l'industrie sur l'état technologique du matériel indiquent que la segmentation de la bande en des blocs plus petits que le bloc proposé de 15+15 MHz n'offrirait pas un bon rendement spectral (p. ex. besoin de bandes de garde) et pourrait empêcher l'établissement de plans d'affaires solides.

L'annexe A présente un diagramme de la bande.

Tableau 1 - Blocs appariés de 15+15 MHz dans la bande 2300 MHz
Blocs appariés Bloc inférieur (MHz) Bloc supérieur (MHz)
A/A' 2305-2320 2345-2360

 

Le Ministère sollicite des observations sur le plan de fréquences proposé.

3.3 Systèmes existants dans la bande 2300 MHz

3.3.1 Télémesure mobile aéronautique dans la bande 2300-2360 MHz

Dans le document de consultation sur la politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande 2285-2483,5 MHz (DGTP-03-00), Industrie Canada a imposé un moratoire sur la délivrance de toute nouvelle licence à l'égard de systèmes fixes ou mobiles (plus particulièrement, de systèmes mobiles aéronautiques de télémesure [SMAT]) dans la bande 2285-2360 MHz. Le Ministère avait alors désigné la bande 2360-2400 MHz pour le service SMAT du gouvernement du Canada. Le document de consultation sollicitait alors des observations sur la question de conserver la désignation SMAT, à titre secondaire, dans la bande 2300-2360 MHz dans les environs des grandes bases militaires du ministère de la Défense.

Le Ministère a par la suite pris des dispositions de politique relatives à l'exploitation de services SMAT à titre secondaire dans la bande 2285-2360 MHz dans le document intitulé Révisions de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la gamme de fréquences 2285-2483,5 MHz (DGTP-003-01), publié en juin 2001.

« Dans la mesure où les systèmes du service mobile aéronautique de télémesure (SMAT) ne touchent pas la mise en place du service SCSF et d'autres services, les systèmes SMAT peuvent être autorisés à titre secondaire pour les opérations du ministère de la Défense nationale dans les bases militaires et à proximité dans la bande 2300-2360 MHz. Les systèmes SMAT exploités dans cette bande par le ministère de la Défense nationale seraient tenus de cesser de fonctionner sur notification du ministère de l'Industrie. L'exploitation du SMAT dans la bande 2320-2345 MHz est également assujettie aux conditions de l'accord Canada/Etats-Unis sur la coordination avec le service DARS américain. »

La liste des bases militaires canadiennes qui exploitent des systèmes SMAT est donnée au site Web d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf05518.html

3.3.2 Systèmes fixes exploités dans les bandes 2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz

Les bandes appariées 2290-2350 MHz et 2390-2450 MHz ont été utilisées aux fins d'applications du service fixe. Dans la Politique d'utilisation du spectre 1-20 GHz (PS 1-20 GHz) publiée en janvier 1995, le Ministère a modifié la désignation pour apparier les bandes 2290-2360 MHz et 2520-2590 MHz aux fins des systèmes de faible capacité (FC) et des réseaux hertziens d'abonnés (RHA). Depuis lors, une série de décisions relatives à la politique d'utilisation du spectre ont restreint la disponibilité de ces bandes aux fins des systèmes FC, RHA et SMAT. Dans un document intitulé Modifications aux politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1-3 GHz (PS 1-3 GHz), des dispositions sont prises pour permettre l'exploitation de systèmes de faible capacité dans la bande 2025-2110 MHz appariée à la bande 2200-2285 MHz. Les systèmes RHA sont également accueillis dans ces bandes dans les régions éloignées et les régions rurales distantes, en vertu des lignes directrices concernant la politique des différences géographiques énoncées dans la PS 1-20 GHz.

Dans la bande 2305-2320 MHz, il y a actuellement environ 175 assignations, et 120 de celles-ci sont détenues par deux entreprises. Ces deux titulaires exploitent des systèmes principalement en Colombie-Britannique et en Ontario. Dans la bande 2345-2360 MHz, il y a environ 41 assignations utilisées par six titulaires de licence, dont trois grands utilisateurs qui détiennent 35 assignations. Deux de ceux-ci exploitent des systèmes en Colombie-Britannique et le troisième, principalement au Québec.

Pour accueillir les applications STSF, il est proposé que les systèmes fixes actuellement autorisés dans les bandes 2305-2320 MHz et 2345-2360 MHz soient assujettis aux exigences de déplacement conformément au calendrier et aux dispositions de la politique de transition exposés à la section 5.2.

Les intéressés peuvent prendre connaissance des assignations de fréquences existantes qui pourraient être touchées par le présent processus en consultant le site Web d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse http://spectrumdirect.ic.gc.ca/frndoc/main.html

Date de modification :