Notice Regarding the Operation of Wireless Medical Telemetry Systems Devices in Canada

June 19, 2009

1. WMTS Operation in the Bands 1395–1400 MHz and 1427–1429.5 MHz

With the publication of Canada Gazette Notice No. DGTP–006–09 − Spectrum Allocation and Utilization Policy Regarding the Use of Certain Frequency Bands Below 1.7 GHz for a Range of Radio Applications (SP–1.7 GHz), Industry Canada is designating the bands 1395–1400 MHz and 1427–1429.5 MHz specifically for WMTS use. Currently, the bands 174–216, 216–217 and 608–614 MHz are also available for WMTS use in Canada. WMTS applications in these bands will be permitted on a licence–exempt basis, i.e. there will be no protection from interference.

During its study of these new frequency bands (1395–1400 MHz and 1427–1429.5 MHz), the Department concluded that, in Sydney, Nova Scotia, and Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador, high power emissions from government radar operations prevent the possibility of WMTS equipment being used in the bands 1395–1400 MHz and 1427–1429.5 MHz due to an unacceptable risk of interference. Hence, the Department is urging hospitals in Sydney and Gander to use WMTS equipment designated for use in the band 608–614 MHz until further notice. Hospital administrators should also note that the band 216–217 MHz is available for medical telemetry as permitted by Industry Canada's Radio Standards Specification RSS–210, Low–power Licence–exempt Radiocommunication Devices (All Frequency Bands): Category I Equipment (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt–gst.nsf/eng/sf01320.html).

The Department is requiring that manufacturers of WMTS equipment provide clear notice of this information in their equipment documentation.

2. WMTS Operation in the Bands 470–608/608–614 MHz

The use of the band 608–614 MHz for WMTS is permitted by the Department pursuant to RSS–210. Some WMTS equipment can also be programmed to operate in bands below 608–614 MHz, i.e. in the band 584–608 MHz, which corresponds to TV channels 33–36.

Hospital administrators should note that new digital television (DTV) broadcasting services are currently being introduced in the band 470–608 MHz. Recent experience in the United States has demonstrated that WMTS equipment operating in proximity to digital television stations could receive significant interference. Hence, the continued use of WMTS equipment that operates in proximity to digital television stations in the band 584–608 MHz is not recommended.

Industry Canada recommends that WMTS equipment be retuned to operate only in the band 608–614 MHz. Alternatively, hospitals can also purchase equipment designed to operate in the new WMTS bands, i.e. bands 1395–1400 MHz and 1427–1429.5 MHz.

Hospitals that continue to use WMTS devices that operate in the band 470–608 MHz should be aware that, as DTV stations are brought on–air in their vicinity, it may be necessary to retune these devices to another frequency for the devices to continue to operate properly. In such cases, hospital administrators should contact their local Industry Canada regional/district office for information on television stations in their area.

3. WMTS Operation in the Band 174–216 MHz

Some WMTS devices operate in the band 174–216 MHz under RSS–210. Hospital administrators should note that new DTV broadcasting services are currently being introduced in the band 174–216 MHz. For the reasons described above, the continued use of WMTS equipment that operates in the band 174–216 MHz is not recommended.

As it is possible that this equipment may not be retunable to another band, the Department recommends that hospitals purchase equipment designed to operate in the WMTS bands, e.g. 608–614 MHz, 1395–1400 MHz and 1427–1429.5 MHz. Hospitals that continue to use WMTS devices that operate in the band 174–216 MHz should be aware that, as DTV stations are brought on–air in their vicinity, it may be necessary to retune these devices to another frequency in order for the devices to continue to operate properly. In such cases, hospital administrators should contact their local Industry Canada regional/district office for information on television stations in their area.

For further information, please contact your local Industry Canada regional/district office. For your convenience, a list of regional offices can be found in the Department's RIC-66 document at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt–gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html.

space to insert signature

Marc Dupuis
Director General
Spectrum Engineering Branch
Industry Canada

Date modified:

Avis sur l'utilisation des dispositifs de systèmes de télémesure médicale sans fil au Canada

Le 19 juin 2009

1. Utilisation des WMTS fonctionnant dans les bandes 1 395–1 400 MHz et 1 427–1 429,5 MHz

Par la voie de la publication de l'avis No DGTP–006–09 dans la Gazette du Canada, intitulé Politique d'attribution et d'utilisation du spectre visant l'utilisation de certaines bandes de fréquences au–dessous de 1,7 GHz destinées à une variété d'applications radio (PS–1,7 GHz), Industrie Canada désigne les bandes 1 395–1 400 MHz et 1 427–1 429,5 MHz expressément pour l'utilisation par les WMTS. À l'heure actuelle, les bandes 174–216, 216–217 et 608–614 MHz sont aussi disponibles pour utilisation par les WMTS au Canada. Les applications des WMTS dans ces bandes seront permises en régime d'exemption de licence – c.–à–d. qu'il n'y aura aucune protection contre le brouillage.

À la suite de l'étude de ces nouvelles bandes de fréquences, le Ministère a conclu que, à Sydney, en Nouvelle–Écosse, et à Gander, à Terre–Neuve–et–Labrador, des émissions de fortes puissances d'un radar appartenant au gouvernement empêchent l'utilisation par les WMTS dans les bandes 1 395–1 400 MHz et 1 427–1 429,5 MHz à cause d'un risque inacceptable de brouillage. Par conséquent, le Ministère encourage fortement les hôpitaux à Gander et à Sydney à utiliser l'équipement WMTS conçu pour utilisation dans la bande 608–614 MHz jusqu'à nouvel ordre. Les administrateurs d'hôpital devraient également noter que l'utilisation de la bande 216–217 MHz est autorisée par le Ministère dans son Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR–210), Dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance, exempts de licence (pour toutes les bandes de fréquences) : matériel de catégorie I (http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt–gst.nsf/fra/sf01320.html).

Le Ministère exige que les fabricants d'équipement WMTS indiquent clairement cette information dans la documentation accompagnant leur équipement.

2. Utilisation des WMTS fonctionnant dans les bandes 470–608 et 608–614 MHz

L'utilisation de la bande 608–614 MHz par les WMTS est autorisée par le Ministère dans son CNR–210. Certains dispositifs de WMTS peuvent également être programmés pour fonctionner dans des bandes au–dessous de 608–614 MHzp. ex. dans la bande 584–608 MHz, qui correspond aux canaux de télévisions 33–36.

Les administrateurs d'hôpital devraient noter que la télédiffusion dans la bande 470–608 MHz est en voie d'accueillir de nouveaux services de télévision numérique (TVN). De récentes expériences aux États–Unis ont démontré que l'équipement de télémédecine fonctionnant à proximité de stations de télévision numérique risque de subir un brouillage considérable. Par conséquent, il n'est pas recommandé de continuer l'utilisation d'équipement télémédecine qui fonctionne à proximité de stations de télévision numérique dans la bande 584–608 MHz.

Industrie Canada recommande que l'équipement WMTS soit accordé pour ne fonctionner que dans la bande 608–614 MHz. En revanche, les hôpitaux peuvent également acheter de l'équipement conçu pour fonctionner dans les nouvelles bandes désignées pour les WMTSc.–à–d. 1 395–1 400 MHz et 1 427–1 429,5 MHz.

Dans la mesure où des hôpitaux continuent à utiliser des dispositifs de WMTS qui fonctionnent dans des bandes 470–608 MHz, leurs administrateurs devraient être conscients que, à mesure que des stations TVN à proximité sont mises en service, il peut falloir accorder ces dispositifs sur une autre fréquence pour en assurer le bon fonctionnement. Dans ces cas, les administrateurs d'hôpitaux devraient communiquer avec le bureau régional ou le bureau de district d'Industrie Canada pour les renseignements à propos des stations de télévision dans leur secteur.

3. Utilisation des WMTS fonctionnant dans la bande 174–216 MHz

Certains dispositifs de WMTS fonctionnent dans la bande 174–216 MHz en vertu du CNR–210. Les administrateurs d'hôpital devraient noter que la télédiffusion dans cette bande est en voie d'accueillir de nouveaux services de télévision numérique (TVN). Pour les raisons décrites ci–dessus, il n'est pas recommandé de continuer à utiliser l'équipement WMTS qui fonctionne dans la bande 174–216 MHz.

Comme il se peut que cet équipement ne soit pas accordable sur une autre bande, le Ministère recommande que les hôpitaux touchés achètent de l'équipement conçu pour fonctionner dans les bandes désignées pour les WMTSp. ex. 608–614 MHz, 1 395–1 400 MHz et 1 427–1 429,5 MHz. Dans la mesure où des hôpitaux continuent à utiliser des dispositifs de WMTS qui fonctionnent dans la bande 174–216 MHz, leurs administrateurs devraient être conscients que, à mesure que des stations TVN à proximité sont mises en service, il peut falloir accorder ces dispositifs sur une autre fréquence pour en assurer le bon fonctionnement. Dans ces cas, les administrateurs d'hôpitaux devraient communiquer avec le bureau régional ou le bureau de district d'Industrie Canada pour les renseignements à propos des stations de télévision dans leur secteur.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional ou le bureau de district d'Industrie Canada. Les adresses et numéros de téléphone de ces bureaux se trouvent au site Web suivant : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt–gst.nsf/fra/sf01742.html.

Le directeur général
Direction générale du génie du spectre
Industrie Canada

space to insert signature

Marc Dupuis
Date de modification :