Extension of Implementation of Spectrum Usage Deadline for 2300/3500 MHz Licences

July 2, 2009

See below for list of recipients

Dear :

Industry Canada has received several requests from licensees of spectrum in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz bands seeking an extension to the deadline for the Implementation of Spectrum Usage licence condition.

Currently, this licence condition states that: "The licensee must demonstrate to the Department that their spectrum is being put to use at a level acceptable to the Department within five years of receipt of licence(s). The establishment of coverage to 50% of the population within the licensed service area, or some other indicator of usage that is acceptable to the Department ...will be required." The objective of this condition of licence is to ensure that the spectrum is used and to deter spectrum acquisition either for speculation or warehousing purposes. Industry Canada recognizes, however, that extenuating circumstances outside the licensee’s control may affect its deployment plans.

A number of licensees have requested that the implementation deadline be extended. Reasons cited for the extension for the 2300 MHz frequency band are that the equipment is not yet ready for commercial deployment and that the delay in the development of suitable and affordable equipment is a direct consequence of regulatory issues and uncertainties in the U.S. In December 2007, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) issued a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking to establish permanent rules for satellite digital audio radio services (SDARS) terrestrial repeaters and to propose changes to the rules governing this band, including relaxing the stringent out-of-band emission limits.

With respect to the 3500 MHz band, although WiMax equipment is available, the current version (802.16d) is not compatible with the next generation (802.16e), which incorporates technical improvements. Given that 802.16e is increasingly available, but not yet tested to the level that would give these licensees sufficient confidence to deploy, they claim that deploying 802.16d is not practical.

Following a careful review of submissions received, along with our own analysis, Industry Canada concurs that the reasons outlined justify an extension to the deadline for the Implementation of Spectrum Usage licence condition. The Department is therefore amending this licence condition and will now require that licensees demonstrate to the Minister of Industry that the spectrum has been put to use by the end of year eight of their licence term. For consistency and fairness, it was decided to provide this extension to all auctioned spectrum licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz bands.

Please note that you must submit an annual report for each year of the term of the licence indicating continued compliance with all licence conditions, including an update on your implementation. If at the end of your licence term the Department considers that you are in non-compliance with any of the licence conditions, including the implementation requirement, your licence(s) may not be renewed.

Should you have any questions or require further information, please contact Heather Hall, Manager of Emerging Networks at 613-990-4411.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michael D. Connolly
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting
Regulatory Branch

Recipients:

Andy Wood, YourLink Inc.
Luc Couture, Réseau TW s.e.c.
Michel Laurent, Cooptel
Don Falle, Inukshuk Wireless Partnership
Robert Allen, ABC Allen Business Communications Ltd.
Ron Mervis, Amtelecom Limited Partnership
George C. Alex, 4253311 Canada Inc.
Stuart Wilson, Birch Hill Telecom G.P. Corp.
Michael Fiorini, ccROUTE Inc.
Ron Mason, Pathfinder Property Corporation
Denis Bélanger, Cogeco Cable Inc.
Bill MacDonald, Barrett Broadband Networks Inc.
Glenn Grubb, Comcentric Networking Inc.
Wally Romansky, Chatham Internet Access
Randy Priore, Cranbrook Internet Network Technologies
Melvin Cohen, Distributel Spectrum Inc.
Joe Boutros, Mipps Inc.
Scott Nugent, Peoples Tel Limited Partnership
Kingsley S. Grant, RipNET Limited
Larry Wagman, Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Charles Clark, I-Netlink Incorporated
James D. Campbell, Source Cable Limited
Amedeo Bernardi, O.N. Tel Inc.
Alain Duhaime, Sogetel Inc.
John Barch, TbayTel
Ed Prior, Telus Communications Company
Pierre Dufresne, Télédistribution Amos Inc.
John Foss, Westcoast Energy Inc.

Date modified:

Prolongation des délais d'exploitation des licences d'utilisation des bandes de fréquence de 2300 et de 3500 MHz

Le 2 juillet 2009

Voir plus bas pour la liste des récipiendaires

Monsieur,

Industrie Canada a reçu plusieurs demandes de la part des titulaires de licence du spectre dans les bandes de fréquence de 2300 MHz et de 3500 MHz, demandant une prolongation du délai imposé pour la condition de licence de Mise en œuvre de l'utilisation du spectre.

Actuellement, cette condition de licence indique que : « Le titulaire de licence doit prouver au Ministère que les fréquences qui lui sont assignées sont mises en service à un niveau d'utilisation acceptable par le Ministère dans les cinq ans suivant la délivrance de la ou des licences. La desserte de 50 % de la population de la zone de service autorisée ou un autre indicateur d'utilisation acceptable par le Ministère ...sera exigé. » L'objectif de cette condition de licence est de faire en sorte que le spectre soit utilisé et pour décourager l'acquisition de fréquences aux fins de spéculations ou de stockage. Toutefois, le Ministère reconnaît qu'il peut survenir des circonstances particulières, hors du contrôle du titulaire de licence, qui pourraient influer sur les projets de déploiement.

Un certain nombre de titulaires de licence ont demandé que la date de la mise en œuvre soit repoussée. Les raisons citées pour repousser la date pour la bande de fréquence de 2300 MHz sont que l'équipement n'est pas encore pour la mise en marché commerciale et que le retard du développement d'équipement approprié et abordable résulte directement de questions et d'incertitudes relatives à la réglementation aux États-Unis. En décembre 2007, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) a émis un avis de proposition de règle (Notice of Proposed Rulemaking) portant sur l'établissement de règles permanentes pour les répéteurs terrestres des services de radio audionumérique par satellite (SDARS) et pour proposer des changements aux règles régissant cette bande, notamment en assouplissant les limites rigoureuses imposées aux émissions hors bande.

En ce qui concerne la bande de 3500 MHz, même si l'équipement WiMax est disponible, la version actuelle (802.16d) n'est pas compatible avec la prochaine génération (802.16e), qui comportera des améliorations techniques. Comme le 802.16e est de plus en plus répandue, mais comme elle n'a pas encore été mise à l'épreuve au point de donner aux titulaires suffisamment de confiance en son déploiement, les titulaires affirment qu'il n'est pas pratique de procéder au déploiement du 802.16d.

Après avoir soigneusement examiné les mémoires reçus, et après avoir procédé à notre propre analyse, Industrie Canada est d'accord que les raisons invoquées justifient une prolongation du délai pour la condition de licence relative à la Mise en œuvre de l'utilisation du spectre. Le Ministère modifiera donc cette condition de licence et obligera les titulaires à faire preuve au ministre de l'Industrie que le spectre a été utilisé au plus tard à la fin de la huitième année de la période de validité de leur licence. Pour être cohérent et équitable, cette prolongation s'appliquera à toutes les licences dans les bandes 2300 MHz et 3500 MHz vendues aux enchères.

Veuillez noter que vous êtes tenu de présenter un rapport annuel qui indique l'observation continue de toutes conditions de licence pour chaque année de validité de la licence, y compris une mise à jour du déroulement de la mise en œuvre. Si, à la fin de la période de validité de la licence, le Ministère considère que vous n'êtes pas conforme à une condition quelconque, y compris la condition relative à la mise en œuvre, votre ou vos licences risquent de ne pas être renouvelées.

Si vous avez des questions ou si vous avez besoin d'information supplémentaire, veuillez communiquer avec Heather Hall, Gestionnaire, Réseaux Émergents, au 613-990-4411.

Original signé par

Michael D. Connolly
Directeur général
Réglementation des radiocommunications
et de la radiodiffusion

Récipiendaires :

Andy Wood, YourLink Inc.
Luc Couture, Réseau TW s.e.c.
Michel Laurent, Cooptel
Don Falle, Inukshuk Wireless Partnership
Robert Allen, ABC Allen Business Communications Ltd.
Ron Mervis, Amtelecom Limited Partnership
George C. Alex, 4253311 Canada Inc.
Stuart Wilson, Birch Hill Telecom G.P. Corp.
Michael Fiorini, ccROUTE Inc.
Ron Mason, Pathfinder Property Corporation
Denis Bélanger, Cogeco Cable Inc.
Bill MacDonald, Barrett Broadband Networks Inc.
Glenn Grubb, Comcentric Networking Inc.
Wally Romansky, Chatham Internet Access
Randy Priore, Cranbrook Internet Network Technologies
Melvin Cohen, Distributel Spectrum Inc.
Joe Boutros, Mipps Inc.
Scott Nugent, Peoples Tel Limited Partnership
Kingsley S. Grant, RipNET Limited
Larry Wagman, Saskatchewan Telecommunications
Charles Clark, I-Netlink Incorporated
James D. Campbell, Source Cable Limited
Amedeo Bernardi, O.N. Tel Inc.
Alain Duhaime, Sogetel Inc.
John Barch, TbayTel
Ed Prior, Telus Communications Company
Pierre Dufresne, Télédistribution Amos Inc.
John Foss, Westcoast Energy Inc.

Date de modification :