Wireless Communications and Health - An Overview

A quick summary

What is the purpose of this handbook?

Wireless communications play an integral role in Canadian society. Millions of Canadians now use cellphones in their daily lives and nearly all Canadians use some sort of wireless device daily. For Canadian society to benefit from wireless technologies, including television and radio that entertain and inform us, all Canadians experience low levels of exposure to radiofrequency (RF) fields. This handbook describes what is known about the potential health risks from these fields. It also describes how the Government of Canada protects Canadians from excessive RF exposure.

What are radiofrequency fields and what do they have to do with cellphones?

When you, a friend or family member use a cellphone or any other wireless communications device, the information (voice, video, pictures, text message, email etc.) is carried through the air using RF fields from its antenna. A nearby outdoor antenna receives the information and responds in the very same way.

RF fields are produced by a variety of sources. In fact, even natural sources such as the sun and the earth emit low-level RF fields. In addition to cellphones, RF fields are used by baby monitors, cordless phones and various other consumer items in your home. As well, certain non-wireless devices, including computers and other digital devices, also emit RF fields.

How does the Government of Canada control public exposure to radiofrequency fields?

The Government of Canada has determined that there is no clear evidence that the use of wireless communications devices, including cellphones and their networks, is dangerous for human health provided its RF exposure guidelines are respected. The government has set exposure limits based on its knowledge of the effects of RF fields.

What are the health effects of radiofrequency fields?

Scientists have been studying the potential health effects of RF fields for decades. RF fields, no matter the source, can cause heating which can be harmful if uncontrolled. However, heating can also be very useful when used in devices that are properly designed: microwave ovens, for example, safely heat your food using RF. Scientists also know how much heat the human body can safely handle when exposed to the sun, RF or any other source. Based on this information, the Government of Canada has established RF field exposure guidelines.

Are there other effects?

Physical changes that do not involve heating are called non-thermal effects. The Government of Canada keeps current with research on these effects and asked an independent expert group (the Royal Society of Canada) to evaluate the scientific evidence on non-thermal effects of RF fields. The consensus of experts both in Canada and around the world is that there is no clear evidence of harm to human health from any of the known non-thermal effects of RF fields.

The word “radiate” is sometimes used to describe RF fields leaving an antenna, but it should not be misinterpreted for the word “radioactivity.” Radioactive material can be harmful. The radiating RF field is not a form of radioactivity so it does not present a health concern if exposure limits are met.

The Government of Canada continuously monitors the scientific literature on both thermal and non-thermal effects. This ensures that RF exposure limits are consistent with the current scientific consensus so that known potential health effects are prevented.

How will this handbook help me?

This handbook starts by explaining the basic nature of the RF fields that are used in wireless communications. It uses light as an example to explain a few important points about RF. Next, it describes ways in which the human body can be affected by RF fields. It then discusses how the Government of Canada sets limits to protect the public and how it ensures that those limits are respected. Finally, helpful suggestions are offered if you prefer to limit your RF exposure from your cellphone handset.

Understanding radiofrequency fields

What are radiofrequency fields and how are they used in wireless communications?

RF fields come from various sources and humans have always been exposed to them. In fact, the light that allows you to read this handbook is similar to RF fields.

Light travels from a source (the sun or a lamp) to the handbook and then reflects into your eyes. The light carries information in this handbook to your eyes through the specific pattern of light reflected by this handbook. Wireless communications work in a very similar way.

An outdoor antenna sends RF fields out into the local environment, much like a street lamp shines light on the surrounding area. A cellphone can detect the signal from the outdoor antenna and then understand the specific patterns of energy within the RF field. Simply put, the cellphone “sees” the RF fields and can “read” the information contained in them, similar to how your eye and brain can receive and process information sent in the form of visible light. This exchange of RF back and forth from the outdoor antenna to your cellphone allows you to talk with your friends, surf the web, and send and receive text messages and other information.

For a cellphone network to work properly, areas are divided into “cells.” Within the cell is a cell site, usually near the centre. Each cell site contains an antenna installation, usually on top of a tower, building or other tall structure, and your call automatically goes to the nearest one as you move about.

In an area where there are many cellphone users, more cell sites are required. The antenna installation is carefully designed and installed so that the established Canadian RF exposure standards are respected at all times. A cell site's design, including its antenna height and emitted RF, ensures good coverage within the area while not interfering with neighbouring cells. The cell network then allows the greatest number of people to connect with the highest quality of service.

Does the location of the antenna and my distance from it affect my exposure?

An RF field diminishes very quickly as you move further away from its source. Think of a street lamp near your home. The street lamp needs to light a large area. If you were sitting in your home, trying to read this handbook, the street lamp would not provide enough light for reading.

While a street lamp lights up a wide area below, cell antennas are more like lighthouses. A lighthouse will cast a horizontal beam to communicate with ships that are far from it. Similarly, most cell tower antennas will cast a horizontal beam to communicate with cellphones that are around the tower.

The bottom line is that exposure to RF fields from antennas is very low: usually hundreds to thousands of times below the established limit.

Effects of radiofrequency fields

What are some of the ways that radiofrequency fields could affect me?

It is important to keep in mind that although some things in life can affect you, their impact is not necessarily harmful. A number of scientific studies have looked into whether RF fields can cause adverse health effects. We can separate the effects of RF fields into two categories: thermal and non-thermal effects.

What are thermal effects?

Thermal effects are increases in body temperature that may be caused by the absorption of RF fields. Since the body has many ways to cope with slight increases in temperature, a certain amount of heating can be tolerated easily. Wireless communications equipment is designed and installed in order to ensure that the amount of heating that the public may experience is well below the level that might cause health problems.

It is important to note that although you may feel warmth while using your cellphone, you are likely only feeling the effect of your hand holding the phone at the side of your head and not due to RF exposure.

What are non-thermal effects?

Non-thermal effects are effects that may occur from RF exposure at levels that are low enough such that there is no noticeable rise in temperature. These effects can include various subtle biological and chemical changes within the cells that make up human tissue. It is important to remember that biological effects do not necessarily lead to adverse health outcomes. The current scientific consensus is that there is no clear evidence that cellphones and their cell sites cause non-thermal effects that are harmful to human health.

Are all Canadians protected?

Canadian safety guidelines for exposure to RF fields specifically include protection limits for the general public. These guidelines recognize that public exposure can be unavoidable. Because of this, an additional safety factor is included in these limits to provide for all possible conditions. General public exposure limits are set to ensure the protection of all Canadians including pregnant women, the aged, children and the chronically ill.

How much do scientists know about thermal effects and non-thermal effects?

Thermal effects are well known to medical scientists and are relatively easy to measure and predict. Your body also has a variety of mechanisms for coping with changes in temperature. For example, the circulation of blood in your body is constantly transferring heat from warmer spots to cooler spots, regardless of the source of the warmth.

Some may wonder why scientists have not concluded that non-thermal RF exposure is absolutely safe. As with all scientific research, it is very difficult to prove that something has no harmful effect. An example of this is the inability to test for every interaction between every potential use of RF fields and every potential biological effect.

Cellphones have been in use for a relatively short period of time so scientific research on their effects is still ongoing. While some biological effects are known to occur, there is no evidence that these effects are harmful to health. The inability of science to identify adverse health effects cannot be taken as absolute proof that adverse health effects are impossible. However, there is within the scientific community, a high degree of confidence that RF exposure from wireless communications devices, including cellphones and cell sites, is safe.

Setting limits to protect the public

Why is the public being exposed to radiofrequency fields?

Wireless communications is strongly desired by the vast majority of Canadians. This is clear from the widespread and increasing use of wireless technology throughout Canadian society. You, your friends and family can benefit from wireless communications by being able to communicate and, more importantly, communicate in an emergency. In Canada, approximately 50 percent of 911 calls are initiated by someone using a cellphone. Even if you do not use a cellphone, you or your family may, at some point, benefit from someone who does. Cellphones also improve personal security, which is most often appreciated when we feel physically vulnerable.

The use of RF fields for wireless communications is similar to many other societal decisions about new technologies. In many cases, our society accepts the risks and benefits provided the technology is properly controlled. Access to wireless communications essentially requires that everyone in our communities experience exposure to RF fields. Most Canadians have chosen to use wireless technology in one way or another — it is usually just a matter of degree.

How does the Government of Canada protect me?

The Government of Canada takes various steps to protect Canadians from RF exposure that exceeds established limits.

Health Canada is the federal agency that has broad responsibility for the protection of the health of Canadians. Health Canada's RF exposure guidelines are written and maintained with the purpose of protecting Canadians from unsafe levels of RF exposure. These guidelines detail the maximum allowable exposure limits to RF fields, taking into account evidence of both thermal and non-thermal effects.

Industry Canada is the federal agency responsible for regulating wireless communications equipment in Canada. All of this equipment, including cellphones and cell sites, must comply with Industry Canada's RF exposure requirements.

How does the Government of Canada ensure these limits are respected?

The Government of Canada requires that all cellphones and wireless device models be certified as meeting the Canadian RF exposure standards. Additionally, the government operates a post-market surveillance program, which tests a random sample of products available for sale to Canadians against these standards. As a result, manufacturers design and test their products to respect Canadian RF exposure requirements. Wireless carriers must also design and locate their antennas to ensure that public exposure to RF fields from their wireless installations respect Canadian limits at all times.

What do independent experts have to say?

A number of independent expert groups have conducted detailed reviews of the potential health risks associated with RF field exposure. These groups include expert panels convened by the Royal Society of Canada (RSC), the World Health Organization, the American Cancer Society and the British Medical Association. All of the credible scientific reviews completed recently conclude that there is no clear evidence of adverse health effects associated with low-level RF fields, like those from cellphones or cell sites. The RSC, in particular, periodically publishes updates to its conclusions based on recent scientific evidence and findings.

"The balance of evidence to date suggests that exposures to RF radiation below [safety] guidelines do not cause adverse health effects to the general population."

National Radiological Protection Board

Studies continue in order to improve scientific knowledge. Findings to date demonstrate no clear evidence of adverse health effects associated with exposure to low-level RF fields. The Government of Canada has determined that the use of cellphones and cell sites is safe for individuals and society alike provided that Canadian guidelines and standards are met.

"All of the authoritative reviews completed within the last two years have concluded that there is no clear evidence of adverse health effects associated with RF fields."

The Royal Society of Canada's Expert Panel on Radiofrequency Fields

Can I reduce my exposure to radiofrequency fields?

Experts do not believe that changes are required to protect your health, but here are some things that you could choose to do to reduce your RF exposure from cellphones:

  • Limit the time spent on cellphone calls.
  • Alternate between ears periodically to reduce the duration of RF exposure.
  • Keep the phone away from your body when it is turned on. For example, you could avoid carrying it in your pocket or very close to your body.
  • Avoid making calls in areas where the coverage is poor because it requires the phone to use more power to communicate with the nearest cell site.
  • Use a “hands-free” mode or a wired headset to increase the distance between your head and the cellphone. Appropriate use of these products may reduce your RF exposure.

As well, when you are not using your cellphone (during a call or surfing the web, for example) it goes into “sleep” mode and only periodically emits any RF fields.

Where can I find out more?

The following resources are publicly available and may provide additional information on the potential health risks associated with RF exposure.

Date modified:

Les communications sans fil et la santé – Un aperçu

En bref

Objectif

Les communications sans fil font partie intégrante de la société. Des millions de Canadiens utilisent des téléphones cellulaires, et presque tous les Canadiens emploient chaque jour des dispositifs sans fil. Pour que les Canadiens puissent profiter des technologies sans fil, y compris de la télévision et de la radio qui sont sources de divertissement et d'information, la société accepte d'être exposée à des champs de radiofréquences de faible intensité. En consultant ce guide, vous découvrirez ce qu'on sait des effets possibles de ces champs de radiofréquences sur la santé, et comment le gouvernement du Canada protège les Canadiens contre une exposition excessive aux champs de radiofréquences.

Les champs de radiofréquences et les téléphones cellulaires

Quand une personne utilise un téléphone cellulaire ou un autre dispositif de communications sans fil, l'information (voix, vidéo, photos, messages textuels, courriel, etc.) circule au moyen des radiofréquences émises par l'antenne du téléphone ou du dispositif sans fil. Une antenne extérieure à proximité reçoit l'information et la traite de la même façon.

Les champs de radiofréquences sont produits par plusieurs sources, même naturelles. Le Soleil et la Terre, par exemple, produisent des champs de radiofréquences de faible intensité. Les téléphones cellulaires, les moniteurs de surveillance pour bébé, les téléphones sans fil, plusieurs produits de consommation présents dans nos maisons et même des dispositifs qui ne sont pas sans fil, comme les ordinateurs et d'autres appareils numériques, produisent des champs de radiofréquences.

Le gouvernement du Canada contrôle l'exposition de la population aux champs de radiofréquences

Le gouvernement du Canada a établi qu'il n'existait aucune preuve directe des dangers de l'utilisation d'appareils de communication sans fil, y compris les téléphones cellulaires et leurs réseaux, pour la santé humaine. Les lignes directrices concernant l'exposition aux radiofréquences doivent toutefois être respectées. Le gouvernement a fixé les limites d'exposition en fonction de ses connaissances des effets des champs de radiofréquences.

Effets des champs de radiofréquences sur la santé

Depuis plusieurs dizaines d'années, les scientifiques étudient les effets possibles des champs de radiofréquences sur la santé. Les champs de radiofréquences, peu importe la source, peuvent produire de la chaleur, et cette chaleur, peut être nuisible si elle n'est pas contrôlée. Cet effet thermique peut toutefois aussi être mis à profit dans des appareils bien conçus. Les fours à micro-ondes, par exemple, chauffent la nourriture en toute sécurité en utilisant des radiofréquences. Les scientifiques connaissent la quantité de chaleur que peut supporter sans danger le corps humain quand il est exposé au soleil, aux radiofréquences ou à d'autres sources. En s'appuyant sur cette information, le gouvernement du Canada a établi des lignes directrices sur l'exposition aux radiofréquences.

Autres effets

Les effets physiques non accompagnés de production de chaleur sont appelés « effets non thermiques ». Le gouvernement du Canada demeure au fait des recherches menées sur ces effets et a demandé à un groupe d'experts indépendant (de la Société royale du Canada) d'évaluer les données scientifiques sur les effets non thermiques des champs de radiofréquences. Les experts au Canada et dans le monde s'entendent pour dire que rien ne prouve clairement que les effets non thermiques connus des champs de radiofréquences nuisent à la santé humaine.

Le terme « irradier » est parfois employé pour décrire le mouvement des radiofréquences émises par une antenne, mais il ne faudrait pas associer cette réalité à la « radioactivité ». Les matières radioactives peuvent être nocives, mais les champs de radiofréquences ne sont pas radioactifs et ne présentent aucun danger pour la santé si les limites d'exposition sont respectées.

Le gouvernement du Canada suit de près, en permanence, les travaux scientifiques sur les effets thermiques et non thermiques. Il entend ainsi s'assurer que les limites relatives à l'exposition aux radiofréquences concordent avec le consensus scientifique actuel afin de prévenir les effets potentiels connus sur la santé.

En résumé

Après avoir lu ce guide, vous comprendrez un peu mieux la nature des champs de radiofréquences utilisés dans les communications sans fil. Vous découvrirez que leur fonctionnement s'apparente un peu à la propagation de la lumière. Vous en apprendrez davantage sur les effets possibles des champs de radiofréquences sur le corps humain, et comment le gouvernement du Canada établit des limites pour protéger la population et s'assurer que ces limites sont respectées. Enfin, vous y trouverez des conseils utiles pour limiter l'exposition aux radiofréquences émises par votre téléphone cellulaire.

Comprendre les champs de radiofréquences

Les champs de radiofréquences sont au service des communications sans fil

Les champs de radiofréquences proviennent de diverses sources, et les humains y ont toujours été exposés. En fait, la lumière qui permet de lire ce guide, par exemple, s'apparente aux radiofréquences.

La lumière se déplace d'une source (le Soleil ou une lampe) jusqu'à un objet, que les yeux peuvent voir grâce à la réflexion partielle de la lumière sur l'objet. La propagation de la lumière de la source à l'objet et de l'objet aux yeux ressemble beaucoup au fonctionnement des communications sans fil.

Les antennes extérieures produisent des champs de radiofréquences dans l'environnement local, un peu comme les réverbères émettent de la lumière autour d'eux. Les téléphones cellulaires peuvent capter les signaux émis par les antennes extérieures et les différents profils d'énergie des champs de radiofréquences. Autrement dit, les cellulaires peuvent « lire » et traiter l'information contenue dans les champs de radiofréquences, tout comme vos yeux et votre cerveau peuvent recevoir et traiter les images rendues visibles sous l'effet de la lumière. Cet échange de radiofréquences entre l'antenne extérieure et votre téléphone cellulaire vous permet de parler avec des amis, de naviguer sur le Web, et d'envoyer ou de recevoir des messages texte et d'autres renseignements.

Pour qu'un réseau de téléphonie cellulaire fonctionne convenablement, les zones sont divisées en cellules. Il y a dans chaque cellule une station de base, située généralement près du centre. Chaque station de base comprend une installation d'antenne, généralement au sommet d'une tour, d'un bâtiment ou d'une structure de taille élevée. Votre appel est automatiquement transmis à la station la plus proche à mesure que vous vous déplacez.

Dans les régions où le nombre d'utilisateurs de téléphones cellulaires est élevé, il faut plusieurs stations de base. L'installation d'antenne est planifiée et effectuée avec soin afin que les normes canadiennes d'exposition aux radiofréquences soient respectées en tout temps. Lors de la conception d'une station de base, on prévoit notamment la hauteur de l'antenne et les radiofréquences émises, afin d'assurer une bonne couverture de la zone tout en évitant les interférences avec les cellules voisines. Le réseau cellulaire permet alors à un grand nombre de personnes de passer des appels tout en bénéficiant de la meilleure qualité de service possible.

L'emplacement de l'antenne et la distance qui me sépare d'elle influent-ils sur mon exposition?

L'effet des champs de radiofréquences diminue très rapidement dès que vous vous éloignez de la source, comme pour le réverbère. Ainsi, un réverbère peut éclairer une grande superficie, mais si vous essayez de lire un livre assis dans votre salon avec sa seule lumière, l'éclairage fourni ne suffira pas.

Alors qu'un réverbère éclaire une grande superficie, plutôt vers le bas, l'antenne cellulaire ressemble davantage à un phare qui projette un faisceau horizontal pour communiquer avec les navires qui en sont éloignés. De la même façon, la plupart des antennes de tours de téléphonie cellulaire émettront un faisceau horizontal pour communiquer avec les téléphones cellulaires présents autour de la station.

Au bout du compte, l'exposition aux radiofréquences provenant des antennes est très faible : généralement des centaines ou des milliers de fois inférieure aux limites établies.

Effets des champs de radiofréquences

Les champs de radiofréquences ont-ils des effets nuisibles?

Dans la vie, plusieurs choses peuvent vous toucher sans pour autant vous nuire. Plusieurs études scientifiques ont été menées afin de déterminer si les champs de radiofréquences pouvaient provoquer des effets néfastes sur la santé. Nous classerons les effets des radiofréquences en deux catégories : les effets thermiques et les effets non thermiques.

Effets thermiques

Les champs de radiofréquences peuvent avoir un effet thermique, c'est-à-dire qu'ils peuvent faire augmenter la température corporelle. Le corps s'adapte généralement aux légères variations de température et peut facilement tolérer une certaine quantité de chaleur. L'équipement de communications sans fil est conçu et installé de manière à assurer que la quantité de chaleur produite est bien inférieure aux niveaux que peut supporter la population et qui peuvent provoquer des problèmes de santé.

Il convient de noter que même si vous sentez une certaine chaleur lorsque vous utilisez votre téléphone cellulaire, il s'agit sans doute seulement de l'effet de votre main qui tient le téléphone à côté de votre tête, et non de l'exposition aux champs de radiofréquences.

Effets non thermiques

Les effets non thermiques peuvent découler d'une exposition à des radiofréquences à des niveaux suffisamment bas pour qu'il n'y ait aucune augmentation perceptible de la température. Ces effets peuvent inclure divers changements biologiques et chimiques mineurs dans les cellules qui constituent le tissu humain. N'oublions pas que les effets biologiques ne donnent pas nécessairement lieu à des effets néfastes sur la santé. Les scientifiques s'entendent à l'heure actuelle pour dire que rien ne prouve clairement que les téléphones cellulaires et leur station de base causent des effets non thermiques nocifs pour la santé humaine.

Protection de la population canadienne

Les lignes directrices canadiennes sur l'exposition aux champs de radiofréquences établissent des limites d'exposition afin de protéger la population canadienne. Comme l'exposition de la population est inévitable, on a prévu un facteur de sécurité additionnel afin de couvrir toutes les conditions possibles. Les limites ont donc été établies dans le but de protéger l'ensemble des Canadiens, y compris les femmes enceintes, les personnes âgées, les enfants et les malades chroniques.

Connaissances scientifiques au sujet des effets thermiques et non thermiques

Les effets thermiques sont bien connus des scientifiques médicaux et relativement faciles à mesurer et à prévoir. Le corps humain possède divers mécanismes pour faire face aux changements de température. Par exemple, grâce à la circulation du sang dans le corps, la chaleur est constamment transférée des endroits les plus chauds aux endroits les moins chauds, peu importe la source de chaleur.

Certains se demandent peut-être pourquoi les scientifiques n'ont pas conclu que l'exposition aux radiofréquences non thermiques était absolument sans danger. Comme pour toute recherche scientifique, il est très difficile de prouver que quelque chose n'a pas d'effet néfaste. Il est aussi impossible de vérifier chaque interaction entre toute utilisation possible des champs de radiofréquences et tout effet biologique possible.

Les téléphones cellulaires sont utilisés depuis relativement peu de temps, et la recherche scientifique sur leurs effets n'est pas terminée. Même si l'on sait qu'il y a des effets biologiques, rien ne prouve qu'ils nuisent à la santé. L'incapacité de la science de relever des effets néfastes pour la santé ne peut être considérée comme une preuve absolue de l'impossibilité de ces effets. Toutefois, le milieu scientifique est fortement convaincu que l'exposition aux champs de radiofréquences provenant d'appareils de communication sans fil, y compris les téléphones cellulaires et les stations de base, est sans danger.

Limites visant à protéger la population

Pourquoi la population est-elle exposée aux champs de radiofréquences?

Les communications sans fil répondent à un souhait profond des Canadiens, comme en témoigne l'utilisation accrue et généralisée des technologies sans fil par la population. Les gens utilisent des dispositifs de communications sans fil pour communiquer entre eux, mais aussi — et cela est plus important encore — pour communiquer en cas d'urgence. Au Canada, près de la moitié des appels au 911 sont faits à partir de téléphones cellulaires. Et même si vous ne possédez pas de sans-fil, vous pourriez un jour en bénéficier, tout comme les membres de votre famille, en utilisant celui d'un autre. Les téléphones cellulaires permettent aussi d'accroître la sécurité personnelle, ce qui est souvent très apprécié quand on se sent physiquement vulnérable.

La société accepte les effets de l'utilisation des champs de radiofréquences pour les communications sans fil de la même manière qu'elle accepte les effets liés aux nouvelles technologies. Dans la plupart des cas, notre société accepte les risques et les avantages, pour autant que la technologie soit bien contrôlée. Pour avoir accès aux communications sans fil, chacun au sein de la collectivité n'a d'autre choix que d'être exposé aux champs de radiofréquences. La plupart des Canadiens ont choisi d'utiliser d'une façon ou d'une autre les technologies sans fil. C'est en général seulement la fréquence d'utilisation qui varie.

Comment le gouvernement du Canada me protège-t-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada prend diverses mesures pour protéger les Canadiens contre l'exposition aux radiofréquences qui dépassent les limites établies.

Santé Canada est l'organisme fédéral qui assume la responsabilité générale de la protection de la santé des Canadiens. Les lignes directrices de Santé Canada concernant l'exposition aux radiofréquences sont rédigées et maintenues en place en vue de protéger les Canadiens contre des niveaux dangereux d'exposition aux radiofréquences. Ces lignes directrices présentent les limites d'exposition maximales autorisées aux champs de radiofréquences, en tenant compte des éléments de preuve sur les effets thermiques et non thermiques.

Industrie Canada est l'organisme fédéral responsable de la réglementation de l'équipement de communications sans fil au Canada. Tout l'équipement de communications sans fil, y compris les téléphones cellulaires et les stations de base, doivent respecter les exigences d'Industrie Canada en matière d'exposition aux champs de radiofréquences.

Comment le gouvernement du Canada s'assure-t-il que les limites d'exposition sont respectées?

Le gouvernement du Canada exige que tous les téléphones cellulaires et les modèles d'appareil sans fil soient homologués comme étant conformes aux normes canadiennes d'exposition aux radiofréquences. Par ailleurs, le gouvernement mène un programme de surveillance après la mise en marché, dans le cadre duquel un échantillon aléatoire de produits offerts en vente aux Canadiens est vérifié par rapport à ces normes. Par conséquent, les fabricants conçoivent et testent leurs produits pour assurer qu'ils respectent les exigences canadiennes en matière d'exposition aux radiofréquences. Les opérateurs sans fil doivent également concevoir et placer leurs antennes de sorte que l'exposition de la population aux radiofréquences émanant de leurs installations sans fil respecte en tout temps les limites canadiennes.

Opinion de groupes d'experts indépendants

Plusieurs groupes d'experts indépendants ont examiné à fond les risques éventuels pour la santé associés à l'exposition aux champs de radiofréquences. Des groupes d'experts ont notamment été mandatés par la Société royale du Canada, l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, l'American Cancer Society et la British Medical Association. Tous les examens scientifiques crédibles menés à bien récemment arrivent à la même conclusion, à savoir que rien n'indique clairement l'existence d'effets nocifs pour la santé associés aux champs de radiofréquences de faible intensité, comme ceux des téléphones cellulaires ou de leurs antennes. La Société royale du Canada publie périodiquement des mises à jour de ses conclusions à la lumière de récentes données et conclusions scientifiques.

« Les données recueillies à ce jour donnent à conclure que l'exposition aux radiofréquences en dessous des normes de sécurité n'a pas de répercussions nuisibles sur la santé du grand public. »

[Traduction]

National Radiological Protection Board

Les études se poursuivent afin d'améliorer les connaissances scientifiques. Selon les résultats à ce jour, rien n'indique clairement l'existence d'effets néfastes pour la santé associés à l'exposition à des champs de radiofréquences de faible intensité. Le gouvernement du Canada a déterminé que l'utilisation de téléphones cellulaires, et de stations de base était sans danger pour les citoyens et la société, à condition que les lignes directrices et normes canadiennes soient respectées.

« Tous les examens rigoureux effectués au cours des deux dernières années ont conclu à l'absence de preuves claires concernant les effets néfastes pour la santé associés aux champs de radiofréquences. »

[Traduction]

Groupe d'experts sur les champs de radiofréquences de la Société royale du Canada

Comment réduire mon exposition aux champs de radiofréquences?

Les spécialistes ne croient pas que vous deviez apporter des changements pour protéger votre santé, mais si vous voulez tout de même réduire votre exposition aux radiofréquences provenant des téléphones cellulaires, voici quelques conseils bien simples : 

  • Limitez la durée des appels effectués avec un téléphone cellulaire.
  • Changez périodiquement d'oreille pour réduire la durée de l'exposition aux radiofréquences.
  • Gardez votre téléphone loin du corps quand il est sous tension. Évitez, par exemple, de le porter dans la poche.
  • Évitez de faire des appels dans des régions où la couverture est mauvaise, car le téléphone doit alors utiliser plus de puissance pour communiquer avec la tour d'antenne cellulaire la plus proche.
  • Utilisez le mode « mains libres » ou un casque d'écoute à fil pour accroître la distance entre la tête et le téléphone cellulaire. Une utilisation appropriée de ces produits peut réduire l'exposition aux radiofréquences.

De plus, lorsque vous n'utilisez pas votre sans-fil pour faire un appel ou naviguer sur le Web, celui-ci se place automatiquement en mode veille et n'émet que périodiquement des champs de radiofréquences.

Pour en savoir plus

Les ressources suivantes sont accessibles au public et peuvent fournir de l'information supplémentaire sur les risques possibles pour la santé associés à l'exposition aux radiofréquences.

Date de modification :