Wireless: What does current research say?

Canadian radiofrequency (RF) exposure guidelines are based on a careful review of medical and scientific research from around the world. This review of evidence allows safety limits for RF exposure to be set.

The current scientific consensus is that exposure to RF fields at levels similar to those from cellphones or cell sites do not cause adverse health effects. The World Health Organization and the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) are among a number of scientific groups investigating possible health effects of RF exposure. The IARC is coordinating the 13-country INTERPHONE study, in which Canada is taking part, to assess whether RF exposure from mobile phones is associated with cancer risk.

What is the link between research and RF exposure?

Scientists have been studying the potential for health effects of RF fields for decades, long before cellphones were widely used. Consequently, scientists know that RF fields can generate heat when absorbed by the human body. They also know how much heat the human body can absorb without causing harm. Using this knowledge, the Government of Canada has developed RF exposure guidelines for the protection of the public. Considering all of the available scientific research, expert reviews have determined that there is no clear evidence of harm to human health, provided RF exposure guidelines are respected.

The Government of Canada regulates wireless devices and requires that these devices are designed, installed and operated so that public RF exposure is within established limits. As a result, wireless device manufacturers are required to design and test their models to make sure that established safety limits are respected. Wireless carriers are also required to design and locate their antennas to ensure that public exposure to RF energy respects Canadian guidelines.

How are Canadian RF exposure requirements kept up to date?

Government of Canada scientists research the effects of RF exposure and also monitor published findings. That way, if new, credible information suggests that amendments to the Canadian guidelines are required, then they would be made quickly.


More information: Research on Radiofrequency Energy and Health

Date modified:

Technologies sans fil : Ce qu’en disent les recherches actuelles

Les lignes directrices canadiennes sur l’exposition aux champs de radiofréquences ont été établies après un examen minutieux des recherches médicales et scientifiques effectuées dans le monde sur le sujet.

Les scientifiques s’entendent sur un point : l’exposition à des champs de radiofréquences similaires à ceux émis par les téléphones cellulaires ou les stations de base n’ont pas d’effets nocifs sur la santé. Divers groupes de scientifiques étudient les effets possibles de l’exposition aux radiofréquences sur la santé, notamment l’Organisation mondiale de la santé et le Centre international de recherche sur le cancer (CIRC). Le CIRC coordonne l’étude INTERPHONE, qui est menée dans 13 pays et à laquelle participe le Canada. Cette étude vise à évaluer si l’exposition aux champs de radiofréquences émis par les téléphones cellulaires est associée à un risque de cancer.

Quel est le lien entre la recherche et l’exposition aux radiofréquences?

Les scientifiques étudient les effets possibles des champs de radiofréquences sur la santé depuis des dizaines d’années, donc bien avant que les téléphones cellulaires ne soient largement utilisés. Ils savent que ces champs peuvent produire de la chaleur lorsqu’ils sont absorbés par le corps humain. Ils savent aussi quelle quantité de chaleur le corps humain peut absorber sans danger. Le gouvernement du Canada a utilisé ces connaissances pour élaborer des lignes directrices visant à protéger le public. À la lumière de toutes les recherches scientifiques disponibles, rien ne prouve clairement la nocivité des radiofréquences pour la santé humaine, à condition que les normes d’exposition soient respectées.

Le gouvernement du Canada réglemente les appareils sans fil et exige que ceux-ci soient conçus, installés et utilisés de manière à ce que l’exposition de la population aux radiofréquences ne dépasse pas les limites établies. Les fabricants d’appareils sans fil sont tenus de concevoir et de tester leurs modèles de façon à s’assurer du respect de ces limites. Les opérateurs de téléphonie sans fil sont également tenus de concevoir et de placer leurs antennes de sorte que l’exposition de la population aux radiofréquences respecte les lignes directrices canadiennes.

Comment les normes canadiennes sont-elles mises à jour?

Les scientifiques du gouvernement du Canada étudient les effets de l’exposition aux radiofréquences et surveillent également les travaux publiés dans ce domaine. Si de nouvelles données crédibles justifiaient la modification des exigences canadiennes, celles-ci seraient modifiées rapidement.


Plus de renseignements : Recherche sur l'énergie des radiofréquences et la santé

Date de modification :