Archived—Gazette Notice DGSO-013-09

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGSO-013-09 – Amendments to Regulation by Reference 1, Technical Requirements for the Operation of Mobile Stations in the Aeronautical Service (RBR-1)

Notice is hereby given that Industry Canada is considering amendments to Regulation by Reference 1, Technical Requirements for the Operation of Mobile Stations in the Aeronautical Service (RBR-1), and seeks public comment thereon.

Section 34.1 of the Radiocommunication Regulations states that a person shall operate any radio apparatus on board an aircraft in the aeronautical service in accordance with RBR-1.

Certain administrations have recently expressed concern that the authority to use emergency locator transmitters (ELTs) capable of operating in the frequency range 406-406.1 MHz is not clearly stated on aeronautical mobile radio licences issued to aircraft registered in Canada. Industry Canada has recently undertaken targeted stakeholder consultations with other Canadian government agencies and aeronautical industry organizations. Based on these consultations, the Department is proposing to add item 9 to Schedule IV - Miscellaneous Frequencies for Mobile Stations Operating in the Aeronautical Service of RBR-1, which would include the use of frequency range 406-406.1 MHz for ELTs.

In addition, other revisions to RBR-1 have also been proposed by targeted stakeholders, mainly to provide updated frequency usage and service restrictions information for various Schedule tables. A copy of the proposed new version of RBR-1, complete with all proposed revisions highlighted, is available at the following Industry Canada web site: www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf09595.html.

General information

Interested parties should submit their comments within 30 days of the date of publication of this notice. It should be noted that in the absence of any public comments, Industry Canada will amend the technical requirements as noted above, and post the revised requirements on the Department’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site.

Submitting comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) to the following e-mail address: Spectrum.Operations@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director, Spectrum Management Operations, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title and notice reference number DGSO-013-09.

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

space to insert signature
Michael D. Connolly
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGOGS-013-09

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis No DGOGS-013-09 – Modifications à l'Incorporation par renvoi  1, Exigences techniques pour l'exploitation des stations mobiles dans le service aéronautique (IPR-1)

Le présent avis a pour but d'annoncer qu'Industrie Canada se propose de modifier l'Incorporation par renvoi 1, Exigences techniques pour l'exploitation des stations mobiles dans le service aéronautique (IPR-1), en vue de la soumettre aux commentaires du public.

L'article 34.1 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication stipule que la personne qui utilise un appareil radio à bord d'un aéronef aux fins du service aéronautique se conforme à l'IPR-1.

Certaines administrations ont récemment exprimé des préoccupations au sujet de l'autorisation d'utiliser des émetteurs de localisation d'urgence (ELT) fonctionnant dans la gamme de fréquences 406-406,1 MHz, utilisation qui, selon elles, n'est pas clairement énoncée dans les conditions de licences de radio mobile des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada. Industrie Canada a récemment entrepris des consultations ciblées de parties intéressées, soit d'autres entités gouvernementales canadiennes et organismes de l'industrie aéronautique. En se fondant sur ces consultations, le Ministère propose l'ajout de l'article 9 à l'Annexe IV- Fréquences diverses pour les stations mobiles fonctionnant dans le service aéronautique (IPR-1), qui comprendrait l'utilisation de la gamme de fréquences 406-406,1 MHz pour les ELT.

De plus, à la suite des propositions des parties intéressées, d'autres modifications seront apportées à l'IPR-1. Le but principal de ces modifications sera de mettre à jour les tableaux sur l'utilisation des fréquences contenus dans diverses Annexes ainsi que les renseignements concernant l'encadrement des services. Une copie de la nouvelle version de l'IPR-1, avec toutes les révisions proposées surlignées, est disponible sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada suivant : www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/h_sf09595.html.

Renseignements généraux

Les parties intéressées doivent présenter leurs commentaires dans les 30 jours suivant la publication du présent avis. Il est à noter qu'en l'absence de commentaires, Industrie Canada modifiera les exigences techniques tel qu'indiqué plus haut et affichera les exigences révisées sur son site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications.

Présentation d'observations

Les personnes qui présenteront des observations devront le faire en utilisant un format électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) et l'adresse courriel suivante : Spectrum.Operations@ic.gc.ca; elles devront accompagner leurs observations d'une note indiquant le logiciel, le numéro de la version et le système d'exploitation utilisés.

Les observations présentées sur papier devront être adressées au directeur, Exploitation de la Gestion du spectre, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Toutes les observations soumises doivent citer l'avis dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, sa date de publication, son titre et son numéro de référence (DGOGS-013-09).

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents d'Industrie Canada sont affichés sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html. On peut également se procurer un exemplaire de la Gazette du Canada un communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le

Le directeur général
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre

Champ de saisie de la signature

Michael D. Connolly