Archived — Letter to Grant Thornton Limited regarding the conversion of its Multipoint Distribution System (MDS) authorizations for 26 sites in Ontario and Quebec to Broadband Radio Service (BRS) licences

July 16, 2009

Rea Godbold
Grant Thornton Limited
Royal Bank Plaza
19th Floor, South Tower
200 Bay Street, Box 55
Toronto ON M5J 2P9

Dear Mr. Godbold:

I refer to the request submitted by Grant Thornton Limited on behalf of Look Communications Inc and Look Mobile Corporation (the general partner) carrying on business as Look Communications L.P. (Look) to convert Multipoint Distribution System (MDS) authorizations for 26 sites in Ontario and Quebec to Broadband Radio Service (BRS) licences as per Industry Canada's DGTP-002-06Policy Provisions for the Band 2500-2690 MHz to Facilitate Future Mobile Service. This policy decision did not establish the prerequisites for a MDS authorization to be eligible for conversion to a BRS licence, however, this is currently the subject of a public consultation as announced in Gazette Notice DGRB-005-09Consultation on Transition to Broadband Radio Service (BRS) in the Band 2500-2690 MHz. Pending a decision, we are proceeding with converting MDS authorizations to BRS licences on a case-by-case basis.

As such, I am pleased to advise that your request has been approved in principle subject to written confirmation that Grant Thornton and Look are in agreement with the terms and conditions as set out in this letter.

This approval in principle is granted for 13 BRS spectrum licences covering the Tier 4 areas listed in Annex A to this letter based on the site locations and broadcast contours of Look’s MDS stations. Note that these BRS licences will serve as your spectrum authorization for the provision of broadcasting services in these areas in accordance with related broadcasting licences. As a result, we will arrange to cancel your Industry Canada Broadcasting Certificates for these sites.

In determining the geographic service area to be covered by the new BRS licences, the site locations and broadcast contours associated with your MDS authorizations were compared against the Department’s established service areas (Tiers). The sites and associated contours of the MDS authorizations fall almost entirely within the Tier areas indicated in Annex A. As a result, we have concluded that 13 Tier-4 BRS licences are warranted which would permit the alignment of your MDS authorizations with these customary tiers. The consultation referred to above has requested input on the appropriate geographic areas for conversions from MDS authorizations to BRS licences. Although the subsequent decision may vary from the interim decision applied in this letter, the areas covered by these particular licences will not be reduced irrespective of the outcome of the consultation.

As per the 2006 policy, approximately two-thirds of the spectrum allocated for your MDS authorization will be authorized for BRS under the conversion process. The remaining one-third will be retained by the Department for a further licensing process and as such the licences will indicate the frequency range 2596 – 2657 MHz. The 2006 policy also indicates that the Department will harmonize the band-plan to be compatible with international model(s). The decisions resulting from consultations regarding the band plan will necessitate that incumbents remain flexible in adoption of new assigned frequency blocks and technical spectrum sharing rules.

Finally, the licence conditions attached to your BRS licences are also considered to be interim conditions pending completion of the consultation process. These interim licence conditions are included in Annex B.

In respect of the licence fee, the fee order indicated in Canada Gazette Notice DGRB-013-99 will apply until a new fee for BRS is established.

Please respond indicating that you agree with all of the conditions of licence indicated in the attached Annex. Upon receipt of this confirmation, we will issue the 13 BRS licences and immediately transfer these licences to Inukshuk Wireless Partnership, as requested in your application dated June 8, 2009.

If you have any questions, please contact Heather Hall at (613) 990-4411.

Yours sincerely,

space to insert signature
Michael D. Connolly
Director General
Radiocommunications and Broadcasting
Regulatory Branch

Attachment: Look Communications L.P. Proposed Broadband Radio Service (BRS) Licences and Conditions

cc: Mr. Michael Cytrynbaum (Look)

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Grant Thornton Limited pour Look Communications Inc. et Look Mobile Corporation (l'associé commandité) faisant affaires sous le nom de Look Communications L.P.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Date modified:

Archivé — Lettre à Grant Thornton Limited concernant la conversion des autorisations de système de distribution multipoint (SDM) de 26 emplacements en Ontario et au Québec en licences de service radio à large bande (SRLB)

[Traduction]

Le 16 juillet 2009

Rea Godbold
Grant Thornton Limited
Royal Bank Plaza
19e étage, tour Sud
200, rue Bay, C.P. 55
Toronto (Ontario) M5J 2P9

Monsieur,

Je vous écris au sujet de la demande présentée par Grant Thornton Limited au nom de Look Communications Inc. and Look Mobile Corporation exerçant ses activités à titre de Look Communications L.P. (Look) afin de convertir les autorisations de système de distribution multipoint (SDM) de 26 emplacements en Ontario et au Québec en licences de service radio à large bande (SRLB) conformément à l'Avis n° DGTP-002-06 d'Industrie Canada — Dispositions de politique applicables à la bande 2 500-2 690 MHz pour faciliter la fourniture future du service mobile. Cette décision n'a pas établi les conditions préalables à la conversion d'une autorisation de SDM en une licence de SRLB, mais cela fait actuellement l'objet d'une consultation publique comme on l'a annoncé dans l'Avis de la GazetteDGRB-005-09Consultation portant sur la transition à un service radio à large bande (SRLB) fonctionnant dans la bande 2 500 2 690 MHz. En attendant une décision, nous procédons cas par cas à la conversion des autorisations de SDM en licences de SRLB.

À cet égard, je suis heureux de vous aviser que votre demande a été approuvée en principe sous réserve de la confirmation écrite que Grant Thornton et Look acceptent les conditions énoncées dans la présente lettre.

Cette approbation de principe est accordée pour 13 licences de spectre du SRLB couvrant les zones de service de niveau 4 énumérées dans l'annexe A de la présente selon les emplacements et les zones de radiodiffusion xxxxxx des stations SDM. Veuillez prendre note que ces licences de SRLB serviront d'autorisation de spectre en vue de fournir des services de radiodiffusion dans ces zones conformément aux licences de radiodiffusion connexes. Par conséquent, nous prendrons des dispositions pour annuler vos certificats de radiodiffusion délivrés par Industrie Canada pour ces emplacements.

Dans le but de définir la zone géographique de service qui sera couverte par les nouvelles licences de SRLB, les emplacements et les zones de radiodiffusion liés à vos autorisations de SDM ont été comparés aux zones de service établies par le ministère (niveaux). Les emplacements et leurs zones d'autorisations de SDM se situent presque tous intégralement dans les zones de niveau mentionnées dans l'annexe A. Nous en avons donc conclu que les 13 licences de SRLB de niveau 4 sont justifiées, ce qui permettrait d'aligner vos autorisations de SDM sur ces niveaux habituels. Par ailleurs, dans le cadre de la consultation mentionnée ci-dessus, nous demandons aux intéressés de nous faire part de leurs avis sur les zones géographiques se prêtant à la conversion des autorisations de SDM en licences de SRLB. Bien que la décision prise subséquemment puisse différer de la décision provisoire appliquée dans la présente lettre, les zones couvertes par ces licences particulières ne seront pas réduites peu importe le résultat de la consultation.

Conformément à la politique de 2006, environ les deux tiers du spectre alloué à votre autorisation de SDM pourront être autorisés pour le SRLB dans le cadre du processus de conversion. Le ministère conservera l'autre tiers en vue d'un processus de délivrance de licences ultérieur et, à ce titre, les licences indiqueront la gamme de fréquences 2 596 2 657 MHz. La politique de 2006 stipule également que le Ministère harmonisera le plan de répartition des bandes afin de le rendre compatible avec les modèles internationaux. Les décisions découlant des consultations portant sur le plan de répartition des bandes nécessiteront que les titulaires demeurent flexibles en ce qui a trait à l'adoption des nouveaux blocs de fréquence attribués et aux règles techniques de partage du spectre.

Enfin, les conditions de licence dont sont assorties vos licences de SRLB sont également considérées comme étant provisoires en attendant la fin du processus de consultation. Ces conditions de licence provisoires sont exposées dans l'annexe B.

En ce qui a trait aux frais de licence annuels, l'ordonnance concernant les droits à verser figurant dans l'Avis de la Gazette du CanadaDGRB-013-99 s'appliquera jusqu'à ce que de nouveaux frais pour le SRLB soient fixés.

Veuillez répondre en indiquant que vous acceptez toutes les conditions de licence énoncées dans l'annexe ci-jointe. Dès la réception de cette confirmation, nous délivrerons les 13 licences de SRLB et transférerons sans attendre ces licences à Inukshuk Wireless Partnership, comme vous en avez fait la demande en date du 8 juin 2009.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Heather Hall au 613-990-4411.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Champ de saisie de la signature
Michael D. Connolly
Le directeur général,
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre

Pièce jointe :Proposition de licences et de conditions pour le service radio à large bande (SRLB) de Look Communications L.P.
c.c. : Mr. Michael Cytrynbaum (Look)

Notes

Note 1

Grant Thornton Limited pour Look Communications Inc. et Look Mobile Corporation (l'associé commandité) faisant affaires sous le nom de Look Communications L.P.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Date de modification :