Archived — Letter to Grant Thornton Limited regarding the conversion of Multipoint Distribution Service (MDS) authorizations for sites in Ontario and Quebec to Broadband Radio Service (BRS) licences

August 27, 2009

Rea Godbold
Grant Thornton Limited
Royal Bank Plaza
19th Floor, South Tower
200 Bay Street, Box 55
Toronto ON M5J 2P9

Dear Mr. Godbold:

I refer to the request submitted by Grant Thornton Limited on behalf of Look Communications Inc and Look Mobile Corporation (the general partner) carrying on business as Look Communications L.P. (Look) to convert Multipoint Distribution System (MDS) authorizations for sites in Ontario and Quebec to Broadband Radio Service (BRS) licences as per Industry Canada’s DGTP-002-06Policy Provisions for the Band 2500-2690 MHz to Facilitate Future Mobile Service and the subsequent transfer of the licences to Inukshuk Wireless Partnership (Inukshuk).

I am pleased to advise that the 13 BRS licences covering the Tier 4 areas listed in Annex A will be issued to Look, subject to the payment of the invoiced amount and receipt by our office of your agreement with the terms set out in my letter to you dated 16 July 2009. The term of these licences will expire on March 31, 2021. Approximately two-thirds of the spectrum allocated for the MDS authorizations (2596-2657 MHz) will be converted to BRS licences as set out in the aforementioned policy. The remaining one-third will be retained by the Department for a future licensing process. The Department recognizes the need for the orderly shut-down of the Look system. As a result, Look will be authorized the continued use of the frequencies 2590-2686 MHz for a period of 90 days from the date of this letter. At the end of that period, all of Look’s current authorizations to operate on any frequency in the 2500-2690 MHz range and the 2150-2162 MHz range as well as all Broadcasting Certificates issued to Look for these sites will be cancelled.

As noted in the July 16th letter, decisions resulting from consultations regarding the band plan and licensing of BRS services will necessitate that incumbents remain flexible in adoption of new assigned frequency blocks and technical spectrum sharing rules until the final decisions on the policy, licensing and technical rules have been established. The licences may be subject to amendment in order to align with future decisions.

In the current consultation DGRB-005-09 Consultation on Transition to Broadband Radio Service (BRS) in the Band 2500-2690 MHz, the Department requested input on the appropriate geographic areas for conversions from MDS authorizations to BRS licences. Although the decision on this issue has yet to be made, the areas covered by these particular licences will not be reduced irrespective of the outcome of the consultation. Should the decision be in favour of larger geographic service areas than what has been granted on an interim basis, these licences will be amended to reflect the larger geography irrespective of the subsequent transfer to Inukshuk.

Concerning the licence fee, the fee order indicated in Canada Gazette Notice DGRB-013-99 will apply until a new fee for BRS is established. An invoice in the amount of $ 262,114 will be generated for the licences to be issued in August 2009 in the name of Grant Thornton Limited on behalf of Look Communications Inc & Look Mobile Corp o/a Look Communications L.P. Upon payment of that invoice, the licences will be considered active and transferrable. Please note that although they will expire on March 31, 2021, the annual licence fee must be paid before March 31 of each year for the subsequent year (April 1 to March 31).

I strongly suggest that you carefully read the conditions that will be appended to the licences, and be advised that Look has an ongoing obligation to comply with all conditions of licence.

If you have any questions, please contact Heather Hall at (613) 990-4411.

Yours sincerely,

space to insert signature

Michael D. Connolly
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch

cc: Mr. Michael Cytrynbaum
Mr. Ken Engelhart
Mr. Barry Chapman
Mr. Laurence Dunbar

Attachment: Look Communications L.P. Tier 4 Broadband Radio Service (BRS) Licences

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Grant Thornton Limited on behalf of Look Communications Inc. and Look Mobile Corporation (the general partner) carrying on business as Look Communications L.P.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Date modified:

Archivé — Lettre à Grant Thornton Limited concernant la conversion des autorisations de système de distribution multipoint (SDM) d'emplacements en Ontario et au Québec en licences de service radio à large bande (SRLB)

[Traduction]

Le 27 août 2009

Rea Godbold
Grant Thornton Limited
Royal Bank Plaza
19e étage, tour Sud
200, rue Bay, C.P. 55
Toronto (Ontario) M5J 2P9

Monsieur,

Je vous écris au sujet de la demande présentée par Grant Thornton Limited au nom de Look Communications Inc. and Look Mobile Corporation (le commandité) exerçant ses activités à titre de Look Communications L.P. (Look) afin de convertir les autorisations de système de distribution multipoint (SDM) d'emplacements en Ontario et au Québec en licences de service radio à large bande (SRLB) conformément à l'Avis n° DGTP-002-06 d'Industrie Canada — Dispositions de politique applicables à la bande 2 500-2 690 MHz pour faciliter la fourniture future du service mobile et le transfert subséquent des licences à Inukshuk Wireless Partnership (Inukshuk).

Je suis heureux de vous aviser que les 13 licences de SRLB couvrant les zones de service de niveau 4 énumérées dans l'annexe A seront délivrées à Look, sous réserve du paiement du montant facturé et de la réception à notre bureau de votre accord avec les termes énoncés dans ma lettre datée du 16 juillet 2009. Ces licences expireront le 31 mars 2021. Environ les deux tiers du spectre alloué aux autorisations de SDM (2596-2657 MHz) seront convertis en licences de SRLB comme le stipule la politique susmentionnée. L'autre tiers sera conservé par le ministère en vue d'un processus de délivrance de licences futur. Le ministère reconnaît la nécessité de fermer de façon ordonnée le réseau de Look. Par conséquent, Look pourra continuer à utiliser les fréquences 2 590 2 686 MHz pendant 90 jours à compter de la date de la présente lettre. À la fin de cette période, toutes les autorisations actuelles de Look pour l'exploitation de toute fréquence dans les bandes de 2 500-2 690 MHz et de 2 150 2 162 MHz, ainsi que tous les certificats de radiodiffusion délivrés à Look pour ces emplacements, seront annulés.

Comme nous le mentionnons dans la lettre du 16 juillet, les décisions découlant des consultations sur le plan de répartition des bandes et les licences de SRLB nécessiteront que les titulaires demeurent flexibles en ce qui a trait à l'adoption des nouveaux blocs de fréquence attribués et aux règles techniques de partage du spectre jusqu'à la prise des décisions finales portant sur la politique, la délivrance des licences et les règles techniques. Les licences peuvent faire l'objet de modifications en vue de les aligner sur les décisions futures.

Dans la consultation actuelle selon l'Avis n° DGRB-005-09Consultation portant sur la transition à un service radio à large bande (SRLB) fonctionnant dans la bande 2 500 2 690 MHz, le ministère a demandé aux intéressés de nous faire part de leurs avis sur les zones géographiques se prêtant à la conversion des autorisations de SDM en licences de SRLB. Même si la décision sur cette question n'a pas encore été prise, les zones couvertes par ces licences particulières ne seront pas réduites peu importe le résultat de la consultation. Si la décision est favorable à de plus vastes zones de service géographiques que ce qui a été attribué provisoirement, ces licences seront modifiées pour tenir compte de la zone géographique plus vaste sans égard au transfert subséquent à Inukshuk.

En ce qui a trait aux frais de licence, l'ordonnance concernant les droits à verser figurant dans l'Avis de la Gazette du CanadaDGRB-013-99 s'appliquera jusqu'à ce que de nouveaux frais pour le SRLB soient fixés. Une facture se chiffrant à 262 114 dollars sera produite pour les licences devant être délivrées en août 2009 au nom de Grant Thornton Limited pour le compte de Look Communications Inc & Look Mobile Corp o/a Look Communications L.P. Dès le paiement de cette facture, les licences seront considérées comme étant actives et transférables. Veuillez prendre note que, bien que les licences expirent le 31 mars 2021, les frais de licence annuels doivent être versés avant le 31 mars de chaque année pour l'année à venir (1er avril au 31 mars).

Je vous suggère fortement de lire avec attention les conditions dont sont assorties les licences, et de noter que Look demeure obligée de respecter toutes les conditions de licence.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Heather Hall au 613 990-4411.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Champ de saisie de la signature
Michael D. Connolly
La directeur general
Direction générale des operations
de la gestion du spectre

c.c. : M. Michael Cytrynbaum
M. Ken Engelhart
M. Barry Chapman
M. Laurence Dunbar

Pièce jointe : Licences de service à large bande (SRLB) attribuées à Look Communications L.P. pour les zones de service 4

Notes

Note 1

Grant Thornton Limited pour Look Communications Inc. et Look Mobile Corporation (l'associé commandité) faisant affaires sous le nom de Look Communications L.P.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Date de modification :