SAB-001-10 — Low-power Licensed Radiocommunication Devices, Including Wireless Microphones, in the Band 698-806 MHz

January 2010

Currently, the use of the band 698-806 MHz by low-power licensed radiocommunication devices is subject to licensing on a no-protection, no-interference basis in accordance with Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-1-11, Low-power Licensed Radiocommunication Devices, and Radio Standards Specification RSS-123, Low Power Licensed Radiocommunication Devices.

In September 2009, Industry Canada sought comments on proposed changes to the use, standards, certification and licensing for the operation of low-power licensed radiocommunication devices, including wireless microphones, in the band 698-806 MHz. Specifically, it was proposed that no new certification or licensing, for the operation of low-power radiocommunication devices, including wireless microphones, be issued in the band 698-806 MHz. It was further proposed that existing licensees be permitted to continue to operate low-power radiocommunication devices until March 31, 2011, provided that their operation does not create harmful interference to public safety systems operating in the bands 764-776 MHz and 794-806 MHz. Comments generally supported these proposals.

As noted, the bands 764-776 MHz and 794-806 MHz are already designated to public safety. The future use of the bands 698-764 MHz and 776-794 MHz is subject to separate consultation. However, given the nature of public safety operation and its stringent requirements for protection from interference, as well as the potential for possible future operation of mobile service in the band 698-806 MHz, no new licences for low-power licensed radiocommunication devices will be issued effective immediately.

Also effective immediately, the Department will no longer accept applications for certification of low-power licensed radiocommunication devices that operate in the band 698-806 MHz.

In addition, RSS-123 and CPC-2-1-11 will be modified in order to revise the applicable equipment standards and the licensing of these devices. The results of the modifications will be as follows:

  1. Once the RSS-123 standards are modified, it will be prohibited to manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale or sell any equipment that does not comply with the revised standards. This prohibition will apply to all equipment, including equipment that has been certified to meet the former standards.
  2. Similarly, the usage and operation of low-power licensed radio devices will be prohibited in the band 698-806 MHz. In the public safety bands, 764-776 MHz and 794-806 MHz, these devices will be permitted to operate until March 31, 2011. In the remaining bands (698-764 MHz and 776-794 MHz), these devices will be allowed to operate until a later date, which will be announced by the Department.

Manufacturers, importers, retailers and current licensed users are asked to carefully note these impending prohibitions.

Licensees are further advised that public safety systems may cause interference to devices that are covered by RSS-123. In such a case, licensees are encouraged to contact their local Industry Canada regional office to seek alternate channels.

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

________________
Pamela Miller
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

________________
Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

_________________
Fiona Gilfillan
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch

Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

BCS-001-10 — Dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence, y compris les microphones sans fil, exploités dans la bande 698-806 MHz

Janvier 2010

À l'heure actuelle, l'utilisation de la bande 698-806 MHz par les dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés sous licence est assujettie à la délivrance de licences en régime de non brouillage et de non-protection conformément à la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-1-11, Dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés sous licence, et au Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques CNR-123, Dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance sujets à licence.

En septembre 2009, Industrie Canada a invité le public à présenter des commentaires sur les changements que le Ministère proposait d'apporter à l'utilisation, aux normes, à la certification et à la délivrance de licences des dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence y compris les microphones sans fil exploités dans la bande 698- 806 MHz. En particulier, il était proposé qu'aucune nouvelle certification ou nouvelle licence ne soient délivrées pour des dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés, y compris les microphones sans fil exploités dans la bande 698-806 MHz. Le Ministère suggérait en outre que les titulaires de licence soient autorisés à poursuivre leur exploitation jusqu'au 31 mars 2011, pourvu que leurs opérations ne causent pas de brouillage aux systèmes de sécurité publique fonctionnant dans les bandes 764-776 MHz et 794-806 MHz. Les commentaires présentés étaient en général favorables à ces propositions.

Tel qu'indiqué, les bandes 764-776 MHz et 794-806 MHz sont déjà désignées pour la sécurité publique. L'utilisation future des bandes 698-764 MHz et 776-794 MHz fait l'objet d'une consultation distincte. Toutefois, étant donné la nature des opérations de la sécurité publique et les strictes exigences de protection de ces opérations contre le brouillage ainsi que la possibilité d'une future exploitation du service mobile dans la bande 698-806 MHz, aucune nouvelle licence ne sera délivrée pour des dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence à compter de maintenant.

De même, à compter de maintenant, le Ministère n'acceptera plus de demandes de certification de dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence pour exploitation dans la bande 698-806 MHz.

En outre, le CNR-123 et la CPC-2-1-11 seront tous deux modifiés afin de réviser les normes applicables au matériel et les dispositions relatives à la délivrance de licences pour ces dispositifs. Les modifications précitées auront les conséquences suivantes :

  1. Lorsque le CNR-123 aura été modifié, il sera interdit de fabriquer, d'importer, de distribuer, de louer, d'offrir pour la vente ou de vendre tout matériel non conforme aux normes révisées. Cette interdiction s'appliquera à l'ensemble du matériel, y compris le matériel certifié conformément aux anciennes normes.
  2. De même, l'utilisation/exploitation de dispositifs de radiocommunication de faible puissance autorisés par licence sera interdite dans la bande 698-806 MHz. Dans les bandes de la sécurité publique (764-776 MHz et 794-806 MHz), ces dispositifs pourront continuer d'être exploités jusqu'au 31 mars 2011. Dans les autres bandes (698-764 MHz et 776-794 MHz), ils pourront continuer de l'être jusqu'à une date ultérieure, qui sera annoncée par le Ministère.

Les fabricants, importateurs, détaillants et utilisateurs actuels autorisés par licence sont priés de bien prendre note de ces nouvelles dispositions d'interdiction.

Les titulaires de licence sont en outre avisés que les systèmes de sécurité publique pourront causer du brouillage aux dispositifs visés par le CNR-123. Dans ce cas, ils sont encouragés à communiquer avec les bureaux régionaux d'Industrie Canada afin de trouver des canaux de remplacement.

Publication autorisée en vertu de
la Loi sur la radiocommunication

La directrice générale,
Direction générale de la
Politique des télécommunications

______________
Pamela Miller

Le directeur général,
Direction générale du
Génie, planification et normes


______________
Marc Dupuis

La directrice générale,
Direction générale des
Opérations de la gestion du spectre

_______________
Fiona Gilfillan

Date de modification :