RSS-197 — Wireless Broadband Access Equipment Operating in the Band 3650–3700 MHz

Issue 1
February 2010

Spectrum Management and Telecommunications
Radio Standards Specification

Preface

Radio Standards Specification 197, Issue 1, dated February 2010, Wireless Broadband Access Equipment Operating in the Band 3650-3700 MHz, will be in force as of the publication date of Notice SMSE-003-10 in the Canada Gazette, Part I. Upon publication, the public has 120 days to submit comments. Comments will be taken into account in the preparation of the next version of the document.

Issued under the authority of
the Minister of Industry

Marc Dupuis
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch



1. Scope

This Radio Standard Specification (RSS) sets out certification requirements for radio transmitters and receivers of wireless access systems operating in Wireless Broadband Services (WBS) in the band 3650-3700 MHz.


2. General Information

Equipment operating in this band is classified as Category I equipment. A technical acceptance certificate (TAC) issued by the Certification and Engineering Bureau of Industry Canada or a certificate issued by a recognized Certification Body (CB) is required.

2.1 Licensing Requirements

Use of equipment covered by this standard is subject to licensing pursuant to subsection 4(1) of the Radiocommunication Act.

2.2 Radio Equipment List (REL)

As per Section 2.4 below, the type of contention-based protocol (restricted or unrestricted) employed by the equipment certified under this RSS shall be stated under the "Type of Equipment" category in Industry Canada's REL database, which is available on the departmental website at

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ceb-bhst.nsf/eng/h_tt00020.html.

2.3 Related Documents

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website:http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home under Official Publications.

In addition to the related documents specified in RSS-Gen, General Requirements and Information for the Certification of Radiocommunication Equipment, the following documents should be consulted:

CPC-2-1-26

Licensing Procedure for Wireless Broadband Services (WBS)    in the Frequency Band 3650-3700 MHz


SP 3650 MHz

Spectrum Utilization Policy, Technical and Licensing Requirements for Wireless Broadband Services (WBS) in the Band 3650-3700 MHz


SRSP-303.65

Technical Requirements for Wireless Broadband Services (WBS) in the Band 3650-3700 MHz

formatting dividing line
CPC - Client Circular Procedure
SP - Spectrum Utilization Policy
SRSP - Standard Radio System Plan

2.4 Definitions

Contention-based Protocol:
A protocol that allows multiple users to share the same spectrum by defining the events that must occur when two or more transmitters attempt to simultaneously access the same channel and by establishing rules by which a transmitter provides reasonable opportunities for other transmitters to operate. Such a protocol may consist of procedures for initiating new transmissions, procedures for determining the state of the channel (available or unavailable), and procedures for managing retransmissions in the event of a busy channel.
Restricted Contention Protocols:
Restricted contention protocols can prevent co-frequency interference only to radio equipment that uses the same or similar protocols. The IEEE 802.16 standard is an example of a restricted contention protocol. Equipment incorporating such a protocol relies on scheduling so as to avoid interference among multiple transmitters using the same protocol. Such equipment cannot, however, determine whether other equipment using a different protocol is operating co-channel, as it does not employ a sensing mechanism.
Unrestricted Contention Protocols:
Unrestricted contention protocols can prevent co-frequency interference to radio equipment that uses dissimilar contention protocols. The IEEE 802.11 standard is an example of an unrestricted contention protocol. Equipment incorporating such a protocol listens to the channel before transmitting. If the equipment senses that another radio is operating co-channel, it will not transmit, thereby avoiding co-channel interference to equipment using similar or dissimilar contention-based protocols.

3. General Requirements

3.1 RSS-Gen Compliance

RSS-197 shall be used in conjunction with RSS-Gen for general specifications and information relevant to the equipment for which this standard applies.


4. Certification Requirements

4.1 Test Report

In addition to the requirements in RSS-Gen, the certification applicant shall include in the test report the following, where applicable:

  1. for mobile equipment, a description of how the equipment implements the requirement to positively receive and decode an enabling signal from the base station before the mobile equipment can transmit.
  2. a description of the algorithm used to reduce the equivalent isotropically radiated power (e.i.r.p.) to the limit allowed in the case of overlapping beams if the equipment employs advanced antenna technology (see Section 5.6.3).

4.2 Contention-based Protocol Declaration

The certification applicant shall include, in the application, a signed declaration from the equipment manufacturer that the equipment employs a contention-based protocol. The declaration shall include a description of the methodology used to meet the requirement that each transmitter employ a contention-based protocol and shall indicate whether the equipment is capable of avoiding co-frequency interference with equipment using all other types of contention-based protocols (restricted or unrestricted contention protocols).


5. Transmitter and Receiver Standard Specifications

5.1 Type of Modulation

The type of modulation used shall be digital.

5.2 Channel Bandwidth

The channel bandwidth shall be equal or greater than 1 MHz.

5.3 Transmitter Frequency Stability

The transmitter frequency stability limit shall be determined as follows:

  1. The frequency offset shall be measured according to the procedure described in RSS-Gen and recorded;
  2. Using a resolution bandwidth of 1% of the occupied bandwidth, a reference point at the unwanted emission level specified in Section 5.7 on the emission mask of the lowest and highest channel shall be selected, and the frequency at these points shall be recorded as fL and fH respectively.

The applicant shall ensure frequency stability by showing that fL minus the frequency offset and fH plus the frequency offset shall be within the 3650-3700 MHz band.

5.4 Contention-based Protocol

Equipment shall employ a contention-based protocol and the type of protocol implemented (restricted or unrestricted) shall be reported (see Section 4.2).

5.5 Operating Restriction for Mobile and Portable Equipment

Mobile and portable devices shall operate only for as long as they can receive and decode an enabling signal transmitted by a base station. This includes direct communications between mobile/portable devices where data is not transferred between the mobile/portable devices and the base station.

5.6 Transmitter Output Power and Equivalent Isotropically Radiated Power (e.i.r.p.)

5.6.1 The maximum e.i.r.p. density of mobile equipment shall not exceed 40 mW in any 1 MHz bandwidth.

5.6.2 The maximum transmitter output power density of equipment, other than mobile and portable equipment, shall not exceed 1W in any 1 MHz bandwidth.

5.6.3 In addition, equipment, other than mobile and portable equipment, employing antenna systems that emit multiple directional beams, simultaneously or sequentially, for the purpose of directing signals to individual receivers or to groups of receivers, shall comply with the requirements in SRSP-303.65.

5.7 Transmitter Unwanted Emissions

The unwanted emissions shall be measured at the frequencies of the highest and lowest channel of all bandwidths and types of modulation that the equipment can operate with a resolution bandwidth of 1 MHz or less, but at least 1% of the occupied bandwidth of the transmitter, provided that the measured power is integrated over a 1 MHz bandwidth.

The power of any emissions outside the frequency band 3650-3700 MHz shall be attenuated below the channel transmitter power P (dBW) by 43 + 10 Log (p), where p is measured in watts.

5.8 Receiver Spurious Emissions

Receiver spurious emissions shall comply with the limit specified in RSS-Gen.

Date modified:

CNR-197 — Matériel à accès à large bande sans fil fonctionnant dans la bande 3 650–3 700 MHz


1re édition
Février 2010

Gestion du spectre et télécommunications
Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques

Préface

Le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 197 (CNR-197), 1re édition, daté de février 2010 et intitulé Matériel à accès à large bande sans fil fonctionnant dans la bande 3 650-3 700 MHz, entrera en vigueur à la date de publication de l'avis SMSE-003-10 dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I. À compter de la date de publication, le public dispose de 120 jours pour soumettre ses observations. Les observations ainsi reçues seront prises en considération dans la préparation de la prochaine version du document.

Publication autorisée par
le ministre de l'Industrie

Le directeur général,
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Marc Dupuis



1. Objet

Le présent Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) établit les exigences de certification applicables aux émetteurs et aux récepteurs de systèmes à accès sans fil des services à large bande sans fil (SLBSF) fonctionnant dans la bande 3 650 à 3 700 MHz.


2. Généralités

Les appareils fonctionnant dans cette bande sont classés comme matériel de catégorie I. Il faut un certificat d'acceptabilité technique (CAT) délivré par le Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques (DEB) d'Industrie Canada ou un certificat délivré par un organisme de certification (OC) reconnu.

2.1 Exigences relatives à la délivrance de licences

Le matériel régi par la présente norme doit faire l'objet d'une licence conformément au paragraphe 4(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

2.2 Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR)

Tel qu'indiqué au paragraphe 2.4 ci-dessous, le type de protocole fondé sur la contention (restreinte ou sans restriction), employé pour le matériel certifié en vertu du présent CNR doit être précisé dans la catégorie « Type d'équipement » de la base de données de la NMR d'Industrie Canada. La base de données de la NMR est disponible à l'adresse du site Web du Ministère : www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ceb-bhst.nsf/fra/h_tt00020.html.

2.3 Documents connexes

Tous les documents de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre, à la rubrique Publications officielles.

En plus des documents connexes spécifiés dans le CNR-Gen, intitulé Exigences générales et information relatives à la certification du matériel de radiocommunication, les documents ci-dessous doivent être consultés :

CPC-2-1-26
Procédure de délivrance de licences pour les services à l'égard des services à large bande sans fil (SLBSF) dans la bande de fréquences 3 650-3 700 MHz

PS 3650 MHz
Politique d'utilisation du spectre et exigences techniques relatives à la délivrance des licences pour les services à large bande sans fil (SLBSF) dans la bande 3 650-3 700 MHz

PNRH-303,65
Prescriptions techniques relatives aux services à large bande sans fil dans la bande 3 650-3 700 MHz

ligne de démarcation
CPC - Circulaires des procédures concernant les clients
PS - Politique d'utilisation du spectre
PNRH - Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens

2.4 Définitions

Protocole à contention :
un protocole à contention s'entend d'un protocole qui permet à des usagers multiples d'utiliser les mêmes fréquences en définissant les événements qui doivent se produire lorsque deux émetteurs ou plus tentent d'accéder simultanément au même canal et en établissant de règles suivies par les émetteurs qui donnent aux autres émetteurs une possibilité raisonnable de fonctionner. Un tel protocole peut comprendre des procédures de début d'émissions, des procédures de détermination de l'état du canal (disponible ou non disponible) et de procédures de gestion des réémissions (si le canal est occupé).
Protocoles à contention restreinte :
les protocoles à contention restreinte permettent de prévenir le brouillage sur la même fréquence qu'à l'équipement radio utilisant le même protocole ou un protocole semblable. La norme IEEE 802.16 est un exemple de protocole à contention restreinte. L'équipement qui intègre un tel protocole fait appel à l'ordonnancement pour éviter le brouillage entre les émetteurs qui utilisent le même protocole. Cependant, ce type d'équipement n'est pas muni d'un mécanisme de détection et est donc incapable de déterminer si d'autres équipements utilisant un protocole différent sont exploités dans le même canal.
Protocoles à contention non restreinte :
les protocoles à contention non restreinte permettent de prévenir le brouillage sur la même fréquence pour l'équipement radio qui utilise des protocoles à contention différents. La norme IEEE 802.11 est un exemple de protocole à contention non restreinte. L'équipement qui intègre un tel protocole écoute le canal avant d'émettre. S'il détecte qu'une autre station émet dans le même canal, il n'émet pas, et évite ainsi de causer du brouillage dans le même canal à de l'équipement utilisant des protocoles à contention semblable ou différents.

3. Exigences générales

3.1 Conformité au CNR-Gen

La présente édition du CNR-197 doit être utilisée conjointement avec le CNR-Gen pour les spécifications générales et l'information relative au matériel régi par la présente norme.


4. Exigences de certification

4.1 Rapport d'essai

En plus des exigences du CNR-Gen qui doivent être satisfaites, le requérant doit inclure ce qui suit dans le rapport d'essai, le cas échéant, pour obtenir la certification :

  1. dans le cas de matériel mobile, une description de la façon dont le matériel se conforme à l'exigence de recevoir avec certitude et de décoder un signal d'autorisation en provenance de la station de base avant que le matériel puisse émettre.
  2. une description de l'algorithme servant à la réduction de la puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente (p.i.r.e.) à la limite permise dans le cas des faisceaux chevauchants si le matériel emploie une antenne évoluée sur le plan technique (voir la section 5.6.3).

4.2 Déclaration de protocoles fondés sur la contention

Pour obtenir la certification, le requérant doit inclure dans sa demande une déclaration signée par le fabricant du matériel pour attester que le matériel emploie un protocole fondé sur la contention. La déclaration doit comprendre une description de la méthodologie utilisée pour satisfaire aux exigences selon lesquelles chaque émetteur emploie un protocole fondé sur la contention et indiquer si le matériel peut éviter le brouillage à la même fréquence par rapport au matériel utilisant tous les autres types de protocoles fondés sur la contention (protocoles fondés sur la contention restreinte ou sans restriction).


5. Spécifications concernant l'émetteur et le récepteur

5.1 Type de modulation

Le matériel certifié en vertu du présent CNR doit utiliser la modulation numérique.

5.2 Largeur de bande de canal

La largeur de bande de canal doit être égale ou supérieure à 1 MHz.

5.3 Stabilité en fréquence de l'émetteur

La limite de la stabilité en fréquence de l'émetteur doit être déterminée comme suit :

  1. Le décalage de fréquence doit être mesuré d'après la procédure décrite dans le CNR-Gen et enregistré.
  2. Au moyen d'une largeur de bande de résolution de 1 % de la largeur de bande occupée, un point de référence au niveau des rayonnements non désirés précisé à la section 5.7 dans le masque d'émission du canal inférieur et du canal supérieur doit être choisi, et la fréquence à ces points doit être enregistrée respectivement comme fL et fH.

Le requérant doit assurer la stabilité en fréquence en montrant que fL moins le décalage de fréquence et fH plus le décalage de fréquence doivent être situées à l'intérieur de la bande 3 650-3 700 MHz.

5.4 Protocole fondé sur la contention

Le matériel doit employer un protocole fondé sur la contention, et le type de protocole fondé sur la contention (restreinte ou sans restriction) mis en œuvre doit être signalé (voir la section 4.2).

5.5 Restriction de fonctionnement du matériel mobile et portatif

Les dispositifs mobiles et portatifs doivent fonctionner uniquement pendant la réception et le décodage d'un signal d'autorisation émis par une station de base, y compris des communications directes entre dispositifs mobiles/portatifs en l'absence de transfert de données entre les dispositifs mobiles/portatifs et la station de base.

5.6 Puissance de sortieet puissance isotrope rayonnée équivalente (p.i.r.e.) de l'émetteur

5.6.1 La densité de p.i.r.e. de maximum du matériel mobile ne doit pas dépasser 40 mW dans n'importe quelle largeur de bande de 1 MHz.

5.6.2 La densité de puissance de sortie de maximum des matériels autre que le matériel mobile et portatif, ne doit pas dépasser 1 W dans n'importe quelle largeur de bande de 1 MHz.

5.6.3 En outre, les matériels autre que le matériel mobile et portatif, qui emploient des systèmes d'antennes qui émettent des faisceaux dirigés multiples, simultanément ou en séquence, dans le but de diriger les signaux en direction de chaque récepteur ou de chaque groupe de récepteurs, doivent être conformes aux exigences du PNRH-303,65.

5.7 Rayonnements non désirés de l'émetteur

Les rayonnements non désirés doivent être mesurés aux fréquences du canal supérieur et du canal inférieur de toutes les largeurs de bande et pour tous les types de modulation que le matériel peut employer dans une bande de résolution de 1 MHz ou moins, mais d'au moins 1 % de la largeur de bande occupée de l'émetteur, pourvu que la puissance mesurée soit intégrée dans une largeur de bande de 1 MHz.

La puissance de toute émission à l'extérieur de la bande de fréquences 3 650-3 700 MHz doit être atténuée au-dessous de la puissance d'émission du canal P (dBW) de 43 + 10 Log (p), dB, où p est mesurée en W.

5.8 Émissions non essentielles du récepteur

Les émissions non essentielles du récepteur doivent satisfaire aux limites établies dans le CNR-Gen.

Date de modification :