SAB-003-10 — Use of the Frequency Bands 18.8–19.3 GHz and 28.6–29.1 GHz by the Fixed-Satellite Service (FSS)

May 2010

Background

Satellite communications systems may employ either geostationary (GSO) satellite networks or non-geostationary (NGSO) satellite networks. GSO satellites utilize a circular orbit above the Earth's equator and, given their altitude of approximately 36,000 km, maintain the same position relative to the Earth's surface. On the other hand, NGSO satellites generally have orbits with varying altitudes and positions. It is generally recognized that GSO and NGSO satellite networks operating on a co-frequency basis are not technically compatible without interference mitigation mechanisms being employed by one or the other satellite system. Therefore, different frequency bands are typically allocated on a primary basis to each type of satellite radiocommunication service.

In order to accommodate the interest in NGSO fixed-satellite networks, at the International Telecommunication Union's 1995 World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC-95), the frequency bands 18.8-19.3 GHz (space-to-Earth) and 28.6-29.1 GHz (Earth-to-space) were allocated to the FSS on a primary basis to GSO and NGSO satellite networks.

Although Canada accepted the international frequency allocations, domestic implementation is subject to the formulation of a spectrum utilization policy. Industry Canada recognizes that spectrum policy decisions in other countries, particularly in the United States, will have an impact on how the spectrum will be designated for FSS systems. These decisions will be taken into consideration in the designation and authorization of spectrum for particular systems and technologies. 1 While the Department aligned its spectrum allocations between satellite and terrestrial services with the United States, it did not finalize the differentiation between FSS system implementations. Conversely, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) decided to make this differentiation and designated the bands 18.8-19.3 GHz and 28.6-29.1 GHz to NGSO-FSS on a primary basis in the United States. It should also be noted that both the FCC and Industry Canada have been licensing GSO FSS networks on a primary basis in the bands 18.3-18.8 GHz and 19.7-20.2 GHz.

Recent Developments

Despite the international designation in the mid-1990s, the bands 18.8-19.3 GHz and 28.6-29.1 GHz have remained underutilized in the North American market. However, over the last couple of years, in the United States, the FCC has granted authorizations to both NGSO-FSS and GSO-FSS systems utilizing the frequency bands 18.8-19.3 GHz and 28.6-29.1 GHz. The U.S. licensee of the NGSO-FSS system has primary operating authority, while non-U.S. satellite operators have been granted market access to the United States using their respective GSO-FSS system on a non-conforming, non-interference, secondary basis with respect to NGSO-FSS systems, and other systems, operating in accordance with the FCC's Rules.

More recently, in Canada, a number of satellite entities have expressed interest to the Department in gaining access to the above-mentioned bands for the deployment of GSO-FSS networks. These parties have requested that Industry Canada launch a public consultation with a view to developing a spectrum utilization policy.

Conclusion

As previously stated, the Department recognizes the importance of harmonizing spectrum use in a North American market, particularly for satellite services. Industry Canada is of the view that regional developments play an important role in determining access to spectrum for FSS networks in Canada. Although NGSO systems have yet to be implemented in the North American market, the Department notes the recent authorizations granted in the United States to these types of FSS systems. Therefore, the Department will continue to monitor these developments before initiating a process to establish a definitive spectrum utilization policy for these frequency bands.

The Department is, however, willing to consider applications proposing the use of the bands 18.8-19.3 GHz and 28.6-29.1 GHz by GSO-FSS systems on a non-standard basis, without prejudice to the development of any future spectrum policy. It should also be noted that the deployment and use of any system, standard or non-standard, must also take into account the radio environment and operations of neighbouring countries, such as the United States. Canadian licensees should consider the requirement for coordination to establish the conditions of compatible operation.

Issued under the authority
of the Radiocommunication Act

_____________________________________
MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch


1 See domestic footnotes C16E and C16F.

Date modified:

BCS-003-10 — Utilisation des bandes de fréquences 18,8–19,3 GHz et 28,6–29,1 GHz par le service fixe par satellite (SFS)

Mai 2010

Contexte

Les systèmes de communications par satellite peuvent utiliser soit des réseaux à satellite géostationnaire (OSG), soit des réseaux à satellite non géostationnaire (non OSG). Les satellites OSG utilisent une orbite circulaire au-dessus de l'équateur de la Terre, et, comme leur altitude est d'environ 36 000 km, leur position reste la même par rapport à la surface de la Terre. Par contre, l'orbite des satellites non OSG varie en altitude et en position. On reconnaît en général que les réseaux à satellite OSG et non OSG qui exploitent une fréquence commune sont techniquement incompatibles à moins que l'un ou l'autre des systèmes à satellites soit muni de mécanismes de réduction des interférences. Par conséquent, les diverses bandes de fréquences sont en général attribuées à titre primaire à chaque type de service de radiocommunications par satellite.

Pour répondre aux intérêts des réseaux du service fixe par satellite non OSG, lors de la Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications de 1995 (CMR-95) de l'Union internationale des télécommunications, les bandes de fréquences 18,8-19,3 GHz (espace vers Terre) et 28,6-29,1 GHz (Terre vers espace) ont été attribuées au SFS à titre primaire aux réseaux à satellite OSG et non OSG.

Bien que le Canada ait accepté les attributions de fréquences internationales, la mise en œuvre des services est assujettie à l'établissement d'une politique d'utilisation du spectre. Industrie Canada reconnaît que les décisions de politique du spectre des autres pays, notamment celles des États-Unis, influeront sur la façon de désigner le spectre pour les systèmes SFS. Ces décisions seront prises en considération au moment de désigner et d'autoriser le spectre pour certains systèmes et certaines technologies1 Bien que le Ministère ait harmonisé ses attributions de spectre entre les services par satellite et terrestres avec celles des États-Unis, il n'a pas terminé la différenciation entre les implantations des systèmes SFS. À l'inverse, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) a décidé d'établir cette différenciation et de désigner les bandes 18,8-19,3 GHz et 28,6-29,1 GHz pour le SFS non OSG à titre primaire aux États-Unis. Il est aussi à noter que la FCC et Industrie Canada ont attribué des licences de réseaux SFS OSG à titre primaire dans les bandes 18,3-18,8 GHz et 19,7-20,2 GHz.

Développements récents

Malgré que les bandes 18,8-19,3 GHz et 28,6-29,1 GHz aient reçu une désignation internationale au milieu des années 1990, elles sont toujours sous-utilisées dans le marché nord-américain. Par contre, aux États-Unis, au cours des deux dernières années, la FCC a autorisé l'utilisation des bandes de fréquences 18,8-19,3 GHz et 28,6-29,1 GHz par les systèmes SFS non OSG et SFS OSG. Le titulaire de licences aux États-Unis pour le système SFS non OSG a l'autorité opérationnelle principale, tandis que les exploitants de satellite d'autres pays ont été autorisés à accéder à ce marché en utilisant leur système SFS OSG respectif en régime secondaire, de non brouillage et de non-conformité par rapport aux systèmes SFS non OSG, et à d'autres systèmes, exploités conformément aux règles de la FCC.

Plus récemment, au Canada, divers intervenants dans le domaine des satellites ont signalé au Ministère qu'ils aimeraient accéder aux bandes susmentionnées afin de déployer des réseaux SFS OSG. Ils ont demandé à Industrie Canada de lancer un processus de consultation publique en vue de développer une politique d'utilisation du spectre.

Conclusion

Comme il est mentionné précédemment, Industrie Canada reconnaît l'importance d'harmoniser l'utilisation du spectre sur le marché nord-américain, notamment pour les services par satellite. Le Ministère est d'avis que les développements régionaux influent énormément sur la détermination de l'accès au spectre pour les réseaux SFS au Canada. Bien que les systèmes non OSG n'aient pas encore été implantés dans les marchés nord-américains, le Ministère a signalé les dernières autorisations accordées aux États-Unis pour ces types de systèmes SFS. Il continuera donc de surveiller les développements avant de lancer un processus visant à établir une politique définitive d'utilisation du spectre pour ces bandes de fréquences.

Par contre, le Ministère est prêt à examiner les demandes portant sur l'utilisation des bandes 18,8-19,3 GHz et 28,6-29,1 GHz par les systèmes SFS OSG en régime non normalisé, sans nuire au développement d'une nouvelle politique sur le spectre. Il est à noter que le déploiement et l'utilisation d'un système, normalisé ou non normalisé, doivent tenir compte de l'environnement radio et des activités des pays voisins, comme celles des États-Unis. Les titulaires de licence canadiens devraient examiner le besoin de coordination afin d'établir les conditions de fonctionnement compatible.

Publié en vertu des dispositions
de la Loi sur la radiocommunication

Le directeur général
Direction général du génie, de la
planification et des normes,

______________
MARC DUPUIS


1Voir les renvois canadiens C16E et C16F

Date de modification :