MSS-ATC Special Authorization Issued to TerreStar Solutions Inc.

July 19, 2010

Mr. André Tremblay
President, TerreStar Solutions Inc.
1035 Laurier Avenue W., 2nd Floor,
Outremont, QC H2V 2L1

Dear Mr. Tremblay:

This is in response to your application submitted on May 14, 2010. In Radio Policy RP-023 Spectrum and Licensing Policy to Permit Ancillary Terrestrial Mobile Services as Part of Mobile Satellite Service Offerings (RP-023), the Department indicated that it will accommodate the development of an Ancillary Terrestrial Component (ATC) mobile service as an integral part of Mobile Satellite Service (MSS) offerings.

As TerreStar Solutions Inc. currently holds a valid MSS licence, the Department indicated in its letter of April 23, 2010, to Mr. Jan Skora that it was prepared to licence the ATC on an interim site-by-site basis pending the establishment of an MSS-ATC spectrum licensing procedure as contemplated in RP-023.

By this letter and under the authority of the Radiocommunication Act, TerreStar Solutions Inc. is hereby granted this special authorization for the Ancillary Terrestrial Component of its Mobile Satellite Service for all regions of Canada within the serving area of the related TerreStar MSS satellite, subject to the conditions attached.

This special authorization is a privilege accorded by the Minister that authorizes TerreStar Solutions Inc. to provide Ancillary Terrestrial Mobile Services in the band 2000-2010/2190-2200 MHz as an integral component of its MSS offerings, noting that prior to deployment, site-specific radio licences for each radio installation will be required until such time as an MSS-ATC spectrum licensing process has been established. This process will be established after a public consultation which will include proposed conditions of licence and a proposed fee.

The applicable licensing fees for each site licence are referred to in Section 66 and set out in Schedule III, Part V, item 1(a) of the Radiocommunication Regulations. The annual fee will be $116 per transmit and receive frequency per site in metropolitan areas as defined in Schedule IV of the Radiocommunication Regulations or $53 per transmit and receive frequency per site in areas outside of these metropolitan areas (i.e. in non-metropolitan areas). This equates to $232 "per channel" in the metropolitan areas and $106 "per channel" in the non-metropolitan areas. In the case of MSS-ATC systems, the Department defines a "channel" as being based on the necessary bandwidth of the system, which will be determined at the time of application for each site licence.

As the ATC can only be offered in connection with MSS, this special authorization is conditional upon TerreStar holding a valid MSS licence. This special authorization is valid until the end of the term of the related MSS spectrum licence, the discontinuation of the Mobile Satellite Service or the issuance of a MSS-ATC spectrum licence, whichever comes first.

If you have any questions regarding this special authorization, please contact Heather Hall at 613-990-4411 or heather.hall@canada.ca.

Sincerely,
Fiona Gilfillan
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch


Conditions of Special Authorization

The following conditions apply to the special authorization granted to TerreStar Solutions Inc. for the Ancillary Terrestrial Component of its Mobile Satellite Service offerings (MSS-ATC) in the band 2 GHz and the related radio licences issued under this special authorization.

1. Term

This special authorization will expire on the expiry date of the related Mobile Satellite Service spectrum licence, upon termination of TerreStar Solutions Inc.'s Mobile Satellite Service (MSS), or upon the issuance of a MSS-ATC spectrum licence, whichever comes first. This special authorization will continue upon annual renewal of the related MSS spectrum licence.

The Ancillary Terrestrial Component (ATC) mobile service must form an integral part of MSS offerings on an ongoing basis. A substantial level of MSS offerings (marketing and distribution capacity) must be provided with the ATC service. The ATC mobile service must cease operation, within a reasonable period, should the MSS be discontinued.

2. Transferability

TerreStar Solutions Inc. may apply in writing to transfer this special authorization in whole, or, as part of a subordinate agreement. Departmental approval is required for any proposed transfer of this special authorization. Both TerreStar Solutions Inc. and the transferee must provide attestations and other supporting documentation demonstrating that they meet the eligibility criteria and all other conditions, technical or otherwise, of this special authorization.

3. Eligibility Criteria

TerreStar Solutions Inc., operating as a radiocommunication carrier, must comply on an ongoing basis with the eligibility criteria in section 10(2) of the Radiocommunication Regulations. TerreStar Solutions Inc. must notify the Minister of Industry of any change which would have a material effect on its eligibility. Such notification must be made in advance for any proposed transactions within its knowledge.

For more information, refer to the Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-15, "Canadian Ownership and Control," as amended from time to time.

4. Radio Station Installations

Site-specific radio licences will be required for each radio station. TerreStar Solutions Inc. must ensure that each radio station is installed and operated in a manner that complies with Industry Canada's Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, as amended from time to time.

5. Compliance with Legislation, Regulations and other Obligations

TerreStar Solutions Inc. is subject to, and must comply with, the Radiocommunication Act, the Radiocommunication Regulations and the International Telecommunication Union's Radio Regulations pertaining to the authorized radio frequency bands. This special authorization is issued on condition that the certifications made in its application are true and complete in every respect. TerreStar Solutions Inc. must use the assigned spectrum in accordance with the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations and the spectrum policy applicable to this band.

6. Technical Considerations

TerreStar Solutions Inc. must comply on an ongoing basis with the technical aspects of the appropriate Radio Standards Specifications and Standard Radio System Plans, as amended from time to time.

The frequencies used for the ATC system must be within the assigned spectrum of MSS system licensed to TerreStar Solutions Inc. and the ATC service will be limited to the satellite serving areas. The use of the MSS spectrum for ATC operation is subordinate to the spectrum being available for mobile-satellite service. The ATC operation must neither cause harmful interference to, nor claim protection from, MSS services and other primary radio services operating in adjacent bands. ATC operations will be subject to technical and operational requirements considered appropriate to mitigate potential interference.

In addition, TerreStar Solutions Inc. is to use dual-mode terminals capable of communicating with both the mobile satellite network and the terrestrial ATC system or make use of service and commercial arrangements that ensure the ATC service is an indefeasible part of the MSS service offerings.

7. General Technical and Operational Measures

TerreStar Solutions Inc. must comply with all technical and operational measures as specified in annexes Part A through Part D of Radio Systems Policy RP-023, Spectrum and Licensing Policy to Permit Ancillary Terrestrial Mobile Services as Part of Mobile Satellite Service Offerings, as amended from time to time, and which can be found at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf08174.html.

8. International and Domestic Coordination

TerreStar Solutions Inc. must comply with the current and future agreements established with other countries.

TerreStar Solutions Inc. must use its best efforts to enter into mutually acceptable sharing agreements with other parties, which will facilitate the reasonable and timely development of their respective systems, where applicable, and to coordinate with licensed users in Canada and internationally, where applicable.

9. Lawful Interception

TerreStar Solutions Inc., operating as a radiocommunication carrier and if using spectrum for circuit-switched voice telephony systems must, from the inception of service, provide for and maintain lawful interception capabilities as authorized by law. The requirements for lawful interception capabilities are provided in the Solicitor General's Enforcement Standards for Lawful Interception of Telecommunications (Rev. Nov. 95). These standards may be amended from time to time.

TerreStar Solutions Inc. may request the Minister of Industry to forbear from enforcing certain assistance capability requirements for a limited period. The Minister, following consultation with Public Safety Canada, may exercise the power to forbear from enforcing a requirement or requirements where, in the opinion of the Minister, the requirement is not reasonably achievable. Requests for forbearance must include specific details and dates indicating when compliance to the requirement can be expected.

10. Mandatory Antenna Tower and Site Sharing

TerreStar Solutions Inc., operating as a radiocommunication carrier, must comply with the mandatory antenna tower and site sharing requirements set out in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-17, Conditions of Licence for Mandatory Roaming and Antenna Tower and Site Sharing and to Prohibit Exclusive Site Arrangements, as amended from time to time.

11. Annual Reporting

TerreStar Solutions Inc. must submit an annual report including the following information:

  • a statement indicating continued compliance with all conditions of this special authorization;
  • an update on the implementation and spectrum usage within the area covered by this special authorization;
  • existing audited financial statements with an accompanying Auditor's Report; and
  • a copy of any existing corporate annual report for TerreStar Solutions Inc.'s fiscal year with respect to this special authorization.

All reports and statements are to be certified by an officer of the company and submitted, in writing, within 120 days of TerreStar Solutions Inc.'s fiscal year end, to the address below. Confidential information provided will be treated in accordance with section 20(1) of the Access to Information Act.

Manager, Emerging Networks
Spectrum Management Operations Branch
Industry Canada
300 Slater Street, 15th floor
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0C8

Date modified:

SMS-ATC autorisation spéciale accordée à TerreStar Solutions Inc.

19 juillet 2010

Monsieur André Tremblay
Président, TerreStar Solutions Inc.
1035, avenue Laurier Ouest, 2e étage
Outremont (Québec) H2V 2L1

Monsieur le Président,

La présente fait suite à votre demande soumise le 14 mai 2010. Dans la Politique des systèmes radio PR-023, Politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences visant à permettre l'exploitation de services mobiles auxiliaires de Terre dans le cadre d'offres de services mobiles par satellite, le Ministère a indiqué qu'il autorisera l'établissement d'un service mobile de composante auxiliaire de Terre (ATC) dans le cadre des offres de services mobiles par satellite.

Comme TerreStar Solutions Inc. détient actuellement une licence du SMS valide, le Ministère a indiqué dans sa lettre du 23 avril 2010 à M. Jan Skora qu'il était disposé à autoriser par licence le service ATC à titre provisoire, emplacement par emplacement, en attendant l'établissement d'une procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour le SMS-ATC, envisagée dans la PR-023.

En vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, TerreStar Solutions Inc. se voit par la présente accorder une autorisation spéciale visant la composante auxiliaire de Terre (ATC) de son service mobile par satellite pour toutes les régions du Canada au sein de la zone de desserte du satellite SMS lié, sous réserve des conditions ci-jointes.

La présente autorisation spéciale constitue un privilège accordé par le ministre, qui autorise TerreStar Solutions Inc. à fournir des services ATC dans la bande 2000-2010/2190-2200 MHz en tant que partie intégrante de ses offres de SMS, étant entendu qu'avant le déploiement, des licences radio propres à chaque emplacement seront nécessaires pour chaque installation de station radio jusqu'à ce que soit établie une procédure de délivrance de licences de spectre pour les SMS-ATC. Cette procédure sera établie à l'issue d'une consultation publique, qui comprendra les conditions de licence proposées et les droits proposés.

Les droits de licence applicables pour chaque licence propre à un emplacement sont mentionnés à l'article 66 et établis à l'Annexe III, Partie V, Article 1a) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Les droits annuels seront de 116 $ par fréquence d'émission et de réception, par emplacement en régions métropolitaines, comme il est défini à l'Annexe IV du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, ou de 53 $ par fréquence d'émission et de réception, par emplacement dans les régions non métropolitaines (situé en dehors des régions métropolitaines). Cela équivaut à 232 $ « par canal » dans les régions métropolitaines et à 106 $ « par canal » dans les régions non métropolitaines. Dans le cas des systèmes SMS-ATC, le Ministère définit un « canal » comme étant fondé sur la largeur de bande nécessaire du système, laquelle sera déterminée au moment de la présentation de la demande pour chaque licence propre à un emplacement.

Comme l'ATC peut être offerte uniquement en association avec le SMS, la présente autorisation spéciale est conditionnelle à la détention par TerreStar d'une licence du SMS valide. Cette autorisation spéciale est valide jusqu'à la date d'expiration de la licence de spectre du SMS associée, à la cessation du service mobile par satellite (SMS) ou au moment de la délivrance d'une licence de spectre SMS-ATC, selon la première éventualité.

Pour toute question concernant la présente autorisation spéciale, veuillez communiquer avec Mme Heather Hall au 613-990-4411, ou par courriel, à heather.hall@canada.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Président, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice générale des
Opérations de la gestion du spectre,

Fiona Gilfillan


Conditions de l'autorisation spéciale

Les conditions suivantes s'appliquent à l'autorisation spéciale accordée à TerreStar Solutions Inc. visant la composante auxiliaire de Terre de ses services mobiles par satellite (SMS-ATC) dans la bande 2 GHz et les licences radio associées délivrées en vertu de la présente autorisation spéciale.

1. Durée

La présente autorisation spéciale expirera à la date d'expiration de la licence de spectre du SMS associée, à la cessation du service mobile par satellite (SMS) de TerreStar Solutions Inc., ou au moment de la délivrance d'une licence de spectre SMS-ATC, selon la première éventualité. La présente autorisation spéciale sera maintenue lors du renouvellement annuel de la licence de spectre du SMS associée.

Le service mobile ATC (composante auxiliaire de Terre) doit faire partie intégrante des offres de SMS à titre permanent. Un niveau substantiel d'offres de SMS (capacité de commercialisation et de distribution) doit accompagner le service mobile ATC. Le service mobile ATC doit cesser d'être exploité, dans un délai raisonnable, suivant la cessation des SMS.

2. Transférabilité

TerreStar Solutions Inc. peut demander par écrit le transfert de cette autorisation spéciale en tout ou dans le cadre d'un accord subordonné. L'approbation du Ministère est requise pour chaque transfert proposé de cette autorisation spéciale. TerreStar Solutions Inc. et les cessionnaires doivent fournir une attestation ainsi que d'autres documents justificatifs démontrant qu'ils répondent aux critères d'admissibilité et à toutes les autres conditions, techniques ou non, de cette autorisation spéciale.

3. Critères d'admissibilité

TerreStar Solutions Inc., en activité comme transporteur de radiocommunications, doit se conformer en permanence aux critères d'admissibilité formulés au paragraphe 10(2) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Elle doit signaler au ministre de l'Industrie toute modification susceptible d'avoir un effet important sur son admissibilité, assez longtemps à l'avance pour toute transaction proposée dont TerreStar Solutions Inc. est au courant.

De plus amples renseignements sont donnés dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-0-15 (CPC-2-0-15) d'Industrie Canada, intitulée Propriété et contrôle canadiens, modifiée de temps à autre.

4. Installations des stations radio

Il est nécessaire d'obtenir une licence radio propre à un emplacement particulier pour chaque station radio. TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit s'assurer que chaque station radio est installée et exploitée conformément à la CPC-2-0-03 d'Industrie Canada, intitulée Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion, modifiée de temps à autre.

5. Conformité aux lois, aux règlements et à d'autres obligations

TerreStar Solutions Inc. est assujettie et doit satisfaire aux dispositions de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, de la Loi sur les télécommunications, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT qui s'appliquent aux bandes de fréquences radioélectriques autorisées. La présente autorisation spéciale est délivrée à la condition que les certifications indiquées dans sa demande soient toutes véridiques et complètes à tous les égards. TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit se servir des fréquences qui lui sont assignées conformément au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences et à la politique d'utilisation du spectre applicable à la bande visée.

6. Aspects techniques

TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit se conformer en permanence aux aspects techniques des Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) et des Plans normalisés des réseaux hertziens (PNRH) applicables, modifiés de temps à autre.

Les fréquences utilisées pour le système des ATC doivent se situer à l'intérieur des bandes de fréquences assignées à TerreStar Solutions Inc., et le service des ATC sera limité aux zones de desserte des satellites. L'utilisation du spectre des SMS pour l'exploitation des ATC est subordonnée à la disponibilité de fréquences pour le service mobile par satellite. L'exploitation des ATC ne doit causer aucun brouillage préjudiciable aux SMS ni aux autres services radio assurés à titre primaire dans des bandes adjacentes, et n'exiger aucune protection contre ces services. L'exploitation des ATC sera assujettie aux exigences techniques et d'exploitation considérées pertinentes pour réduire les éventuels problèmes de brouillage.

En outre, TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit utiliser des stations à deux modes capables de communiquer avec le réseau mobile à satellite et le système ATC de Terre, ou recourir à des arrangements commerciaux et de service garantissant que les services ATC constituent une part indissociable des offres de SMS.

7. Mesures générales techniques et opérationnelles

TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit respecter toutes les mesures techniques et opérationnelles spécifiées aux parties A à D de l'annexe de la Politique des systèmes radio PR-023, Politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences visant à permettre l'exploitation de services mobiles auxiliaires de Terre dans le cadre d'offres de services mobiles par satellite, modifiée de temps à autre, accessible à http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf08174.html.

8. Coordination internationale et nationale

TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit respecter les accords actuels et futurs conclus avec d'autres pays.

TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit s'efforcer de conclure avec d'autres parties des accords de partage mutuellement acceptables qui faciliteront le développement raisonnable et opportun de leurs systèmes respectifs, le cas échéant, et assurer la coordination avec d'autres utilisateurs titulaires de licence au Canada et à l'étranger, le cas échéant.

9. Interception licite

TerreStar Solutions Inc., en activité comme transporteur de radiocommunications et si elle utilise les fréquences pour la téléphonie à commutation de circuits, doit, dès la mise en service, prévoir et maintenir des fonctions d'interception licite, comme la loi l'autorise. Les exigences en matière de capacités d'interception licite sont établies dans les Normes d'application du Solliciteur général sur l'interception licite des télécommunications (rév. nov. 95). Ces normes peuvent être modifiées de temps à autre.

TerreStar Solutions Inc. peut demander au ministre de l'Industrie de s'abstenir d'appliquer, pendant une période limitée, certaines exigences en matière de capacité d'aide. Le ministre peut, après consultation auprès de Sécurité publique Canada, exercer son pouvoir de s'abstenir d'appliquer des exigences lorsqu'à son avis, les exigences en question ne peuvent pas être respectées par des moyens raisonnables. Les demandes d'abstention de réglementer doivent comporter des détails et des dates spécifiques où l'on peut s'attendre à la conformité aux exigences.

10. Partage obligatoire des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements

TerreStar Solutions Inc., en activité comme transporteur de radiocommunications, doit se conformer aux exigences relatives au partage obligatoire des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements énoncées dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-17, Conditions de licence concernant l'itinérance obligatoire, le partage des pylônes d'antennes et des emplacements, ainsi que l'interdiction des emplacements exclusifs, modifiée de temps à autre.

11. Rapports annuels

TerreStar Solutions Inc. doit soumettre un rapport annuel comprenant les renseignements suivants :

  • une déclaration indiquant la conformité continue avec toutes les conditions de licence;
  • l'information actualisée concernant la mise en service et l'utilisation du spectre dans la zone couverte par l'autorisation spéciale;
  • les états financiers vérifiés existants, accompagnés du rapport du vérificateur;
  • un exemplaire d'un rapport annuel d'entreprise pour l'exercice financier de TerreStar Solutions Inc. en ce qui concerne l'autorisation spéciale.

Les rapports et états doivent tous être certifiés par un dirigeant de l'entreprise et soumis, par écrit, dans les 120 jours suivant la fin de l'exercice financier de TerreStar Solutions Inc., à l'adresse indiquée ci-dessous. Les renseignements confidentiels fournis seront traités conformément au paragraphe 20(1) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Gestionnaire, Réseaux émergents
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre
Industrie Canada
300, rue Slater, 15e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8

Date de modification :