CPC-3-13-03 — Interference Resolution Services on a 24/7 Basis for Public Safety Agencies

Issue 1
September 2010

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
Spectrum Management and Operations Branch
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

Attention: Spectrum Management Operations

E-mail: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Contents

  1. Principle
  2. Mandate
  3. Background
  4. Policy
  5. Procedures
  6. References

Principle

The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the objectives of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister is responsible for developing national policies and goals for the effective use and management of the radio frequency spectrum.

Mandate

Paragraph 5(1)(l) of the Radiocommunication Act authorizes the Minister to make determinations as to the existence of harmful interferenceFootnote 1 and to issue orders to persons in possession or control of radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radiosensitive equipment that the Minister determines to be responsible for the harmful interference to cease or modify operation of the apparatus or equipment until such time as it can be operated without causing or being affected by harmful interference.

Background

Industry Canada recognizes that it has responsibilities in resolving harmful interference to radiocommunication systems and that support from Industry Canada to assist public safety agencies in resolving such interference outside of normal business hours may be required.

The Department has provided public safety agencies with after-hours services, based upon identified requirements, for the resolution of harmful interference to their radiocommunication systems. Such arrangements were instituted on either a formal or informal basis and developed at the national, regional and district office level.

The procedures in this document apply to public safety agencies that are entities of the provincial and federal governments providing services related to the preservation of life and protection of property. These entities are police, fire, emergency medical services, Canadian Coast Guard and Department of National Defence - Search and Rescue.

Policy

Public safety agencies must ensure that their radiocommunication systems are installed and operating as per their radio authorization and must collect the information necessary to resolve any interference situations. Furthermore, public safety agencies are expected to undertake reasonable and appropriate actions before contacting the Department for assistance in the resolution of harmful interference. As a minimum, public safety agencies are to have completed the actions outlined below before requesting assistance either during or outside normal business hours.

Procedures

This section outlines the procedures for requesting Industry Canada after-hours service in the resolution of harmful interference to public safety agencies.

Public Safety Agencies

  1. Public safety agencies are to identify key personnel or positions within their organization that will be authorized to request the assistance of Industry Canada outside normal office hours.
  2. When requesting after-hours service from Industry Canada, public safety agency personnel must ensure that the necessary actions outlined below have been completed before requesting assistance:
    1. evaluate the impact of the incident on communications to determine whether it constitutes harmful interference that endangers the protection of human life and property;
    2. determine whether the incident needs to be resolved immediately or whether it can be dealt with the following business day (e.g. intermittent interference; ability to migrate communications to an unaffected operational channel);
    3. consult with their technical experts (e.g. service representative) and confirm that the radiocommunication system being affected is operating within its authorized licensing parameters and that system components are functioning properly;
    4. confirm that the radiocommunication system's performance, as well as other radiocommunication systems under its control and operating in close proximity, are operating within their authorized licensing parameters;
    5. collect and record details on the nature of the interference, including but not limited to, whether the interference takes the form of identifiable words, music or other electrical noise, bit error rate, whether it is intermittent (time duration) or continuous, time of day when the interference occurs, geographical area where interference is experienced, and any other related information;
    6. record the actions taken to validate the existence of interference; and
    7. record the measures taken to eliminate the interference (e.g. additional filtering, squelch adjustments, etc.).
  3. During normal business hours (i.e. 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., local time) public safety agencies shall communicate directly with the appropriate Industry Canada District Office as per RIC-66Footnote 2.
  4. Outside normal business hours, public safety agencies shall communicate with the Industry Canada Call Centre:
    1. weekdays from 4:30 p.m. to 8:30 a.m., local time;
    2. weekends beginning Friday at 4:30 p.m. to Monday at 8:30 a.m., local time; and
    3. statutory holidays incorporating the time periods as noted in (i) and (ii), as applicable. Statutory holidays are: New Year's Day,* Good Friday, Easter Monday, Victoria Day, St. John the Baptist Day (Quebec only), Canada Day, Civic Holiday, Labour Day, Thanksgiving Day, Remembrance Day,* Christmas Day* and Boxing Day.*

* If the statutory holiday falls on a weekend, then the following business day becomes the designated holiday.

Industry Canada

  1. Industry Canada will publish a toll-fee telephone number so that public safety agency personnel are able to contact Industry Canada after hours;
  2. Upon receipt of a request to assist with harmful interference to a public safety agency's radiocommunication system, Industry Canada personnel will review with the public safety agency the information provided, as outlined above. If the information provided is deemed insufficient, the public safety agency may be required to undertake specific actions and/or provide additional information;
  3. Upon arriving at a decision that the interference is deemed harmful, Industry Canada will make a determination on the source of the interference in as timely a manner as possible, taking into consideration things such as the recurring nature of the interference, weather conditions, proximity of Industry Canada personnel to the station experiencing the interference, time of night, the ability to identify and contact the individual responsible for the source of harmful interference, and the availability of Industry Canada personnel;
  4. Industry Canada will issue orders, as necessary, to persons in control of radio apparatus or interference-causing equipment to cease or modify operation until such time as the radio apparatus or equipment can be operated without causing harmful interference to the public safety agency's radiocommunication system;
  5. Industry Canada will notify the public safety agency as soon as possible regarding the source of the harmful interference and the steps to be taken to resolve it (subject to confidentiality and privacy issues).

After-hours Contact Process

  1. Public safety agencies that have determined that their radiocommunication system is receiving harmful interference and have followed the steps outlined in the section entitled "Procedures" may contact the Industry Canada Call Centre toll-free at 1-877-536-2328.
  2. Public safety agency personnel shall provide the Industry Canada Call Centre with the following information:
    1. name of the public safety agency;
    2. name, title and telephone number of the individual calling;
    3. name, title and telephone number of the individual who is knowledgeable about the interference complaint (if different from (ii));
    4. city and province where the interference is being experienced;
    5. nature of the interference complaint (general description of the interference problem); and
    6. the location, if known, of the Industry Canada District Office responsible for locating the interference to the affected station (reference RIC-66, Addresses and Telephone Numbers of Regional and District Offices).
  3. Industry Canada personnel assigned to the interference complaint will contact the public safety agency's designated person to discuss and evaluate the information provided. Upon arriving at a decision that the interference is deemed harmful, Industry Canada will advise the public safety agency of the steps to be taken, including any foreseen limitations impacting Industry Canada's response.

References

Other spectrum documents can be found on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/home.

Date modified:

CPC-3-13-03 — Services de résolution des problèmes de brouillage 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7 à l'intention des organismes de sécurité publique

1re édition
Septembre 2010

Les personnes qui désirent faire part de leurs observations ou de leurs propositions peuvent les faire parvenir à l'adresse suivante :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

À l'attention de : Exploitation de la gestion du spectre

Adresse de courriel : ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

Toutes les publications de gestion du spectre et de télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Table des matières

  1. Principe
  2. Mandat
  3. Contexte
  4. Politique
  5. Procédures
  6. Documents de référence

Principe

En vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, dans le respect des objectifs de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le ministre d'Industrie Canada est responsable de la gestion du spectre au Canada. À ce titre, il lui incombe d'élaborer une politique et des objectifs nationaux en vue d'une utilisation et d'une gestion efficaces du spectre des fréquences radio.

Mandat

L'alinéa 5.(1)l) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication autorise le ministre à décider de l'existence de tout brouillage préjudiciable Note de bas de page 1 et à donner l'ordre aux personnes qui possèdent ou contrôlent tout appareil radio, matériel brouilleur ou matériel radiosensible qu'il juge responsable du brouillage de cesser ou de modifier l'exploitation de cet appareil ou de ce matériel jusqu'à ce qu'il puisse fonctionner sans causer de brouillage préjudiciable ou sans en être contrarié.

Contexte

Industrie Canada reconnaît avoir des responsabilités relativement à la résolution des problèmes de brouillage préjudiciable causé aux systèmes de radiocommunications et pourrait être appelé à aider les organismes de sécurité publique dans la résolution de problèmes de brouillage en dehors des heures normales de travail.

Le Ministère a offert aux organismes de sécurité publique, en fonction des besoins établis, des services en dehors des heures normales de travail en vue de la résolution du brouillage préjudiciable causé aux systèmes de radiocommunications. De tels arrangements ont été instaurés soit sur une base formelle ou informelle et mis en œuvre sur la scène nationale, dans les régions ou dans les zones desservies par les bureaux de districts.

Les procédures élaborées dans le présent document s'appliquent aux organismes de sécurité publique des gouvernements provinciaux et de l'administration fédérale qui offrent des services rattachés à la sauvegarde de la vie humaine et à la protection des biens. Il s'agit des services de police, de lutte contre l’incendie, d'urgence médicale, de la Garde côtière canadienne et du ministère de la Défense nationale – Recherche et Sauvetage.

Politique

Les organismes de sécurité publique doivent s'assurer que leurs systèmes de radiocommunications sont installés et exploités conformément aux paramètres des autorisations et doivent réunir l'information nécessaire à la résolution de tout problème de brouillage. En outre, on s'attend à ce qu'ils prennent des mesures raisonnables et appropriées, pour résoudre les problèmes de brouillage préjudiciable avant de communiquer avec le Ministère pour lui demander de l'aide. Ils devront, à tout le moins, prendre les mesures décrites ci-après avant de demander de l'aide, durant ou après les heures normales de travail.

Procédures

La présente section établit les procédures à suivre avant de demander l'aide d'Industrie Canada après les heures de travail en vue de la résolution de problèmes de brouillage préjudiciable causé aux organismes de sécurité publique.

Organismes de sécurité publique

  1. Les organismes de sécurité publique doivent identifier les employés ou postes clés qui seront autorisés à demander l'aide d'Industrie Canada en dehors des heures normales de travail.
  2. Avant de demander l'aide d'Industrie Canada après les heures normales de travail, le personnel de tout organisme de sécurité publique doit s'assurer d'avoir pris les mesures suivantes :
    1. évaluer l'impact de l'incident sur les communications pour déterminer s'il constitue du brouillage préjudiciable pouvant mettre en péril la protection de la vie humaine et des biens;
    2. déterminer si l'incident doit être réglé immédiatement ou s'il peut être réglé le jour ouvrable suivant (p. ex., brouillage intermittent; capacité de faire passer les communications à un canal opérationnel non touché);
    3. consulter son spécialiste technique (p. ex., un représentant du service) et confirmer que le système de radiocommunications touché fonctionne selon les paramètres autorisés dans la licence d'exploitation et que les éléments du système fonctionnent correctement;
    4. confirmer que le rendement du système de radiocommunications et des autres systèmes sous son contrôle exploité à proximité fonctionnent selon les paramètres autorisés dans la licence d'exploitation;
    5. recueillir et consigner des renseignements sur la nature du brouillage, y compris, mais non de façon limitative, s'il prend la forme de mots intelligibles, de musique ou d'autres bruits électriques, le taux d'erreur sur let bits, s'il est intermittent ou continu, si le brouillage a lieu à un moment particulier de la journée, la zone géographique où le brouillage se produit et tout autre renseignement connexe;
    6. consigner les mesures prises pour valider l'existence du brouillage;
    7. consigner les mesures prises pour éliminer le brouillage (comme un filtrage supplémentaire ou un ajustement du réglage silencieux).
  3. Durant les heures normales de travail (de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30, heure locale), les organismes de sécurité publique doivent communiquer directement avec le bureau de district d'Industrie Canada, conformément à la CIR-66 Note de bas de page 2.
  4. En dehors des heures normales de travail, les organismes de sécurité publique doivent communiquer avec le centre d'appels d'Industrie Canada pour le service après les heures normales de travail :
    1. les jours de semaine, entre 16 h 30 et 8 h 30, heure locale;
    2. les fins de semaine, de 16 h 30 le vendredi à 8 h 30 le lundi, heure locale;
    3. les congés fériés, aux heures indiquées en (i) et en (ii), le cas échéant, soit le jour de l'An*, le Vendredi saint, le lundi de Pâques, la fête de Victoria, la fête nationale du Québec anciennement connue comme Saint-Jean-Baptiste (au Québec seulement), la fête du Canada, le congé civique, la fête du Travail, l'Action de grâces, le jour du souvenir*, le jour de Noël* et le lendemain de Noël*.

*Si le jour férié tombe une fin de semaine, le prochain jour ouvrable devient le congé férié.

Industrie Canada

  1. Industrie Canada publiera un numéro de téléphone sans frais pour que le personnel désigné des organismes de sécurité publique puisse communiquer avec Industrie Canada après les heures normales de travail;
  2. À la réception d'une demande d'aide en cas de brouillage causé au système de radiocommunications d'un organisme de sécurité publique, le personnel d'Industrie Canada examinera avec lui les renseignements fournis, mentionnés plus haut. Si les renseignements fournis sont jugés insuffisants, l'organisme de sécurité publique peut avoir à prendre des mesures précises et/ou fournir des renseignements supplémentaires;
  3. S'il décide que le brouillage peut être considéré comme préjudiciable, le Ministère déterminera le plus rapidement possible la source du brouillage, compte tenu de facteurs comme la nature récurrente du brouillage, les conditions météorologiques, la proximité du personnel d'Industrie Canada de la station qui éprouve des problèmes de brouillage, l'heure de la nuit, la capacité d'identifier et de communiquer avec la personne responsable de la source du brouillage et la disponibilité du personnel d’Industrie Canada;
  4. Le cas échéant, Industrie Canada donnera aux personnes qui ont la garde de l'appareil radio ou du matériel à l'origine du brouillage l'ordre d'en cesser ou modifier l'exploitation jusqu'à ce qu'il soit possible de faire fonctionner l'appareil radio ou le matériel sans causer de brouillage au système de radiocommunications de l'organisme de sécurité publique.
  5. Industrie Canada informera l'organisme de sécurité publique le plus tôt possible de la source du brouillage et des mesures à prendre pour résoudre le problème (sans toutefois enfreindre les règles de confidentialité et de protection des renseignements personnels).

Le processus de contact pour le service après les heures normales de travail

  1. Les organismes de sécurité publique qui ont établi que leurs systèmes de radiocommunications subissent du brouillage préjudiciable, et qui ont suivi les étapes stipulées dans la section « Procédures », pourront communiquer sans frais avec le centre d'appels d'Industrie Canada en composant le numéro 1-877-536-2328.
  2. Les organismes de sécurité publique doivent fournir à Industrie Canada les renseignements suivants :
    1. nom de l'organisme de sécurité publique;
    2. nom, titre et numéro de téléphone de la personne qui appelle;
    3. nom, titre et numéro de téléphone de la personne au courant de la plainte de brouillage (s'il s'agit d'une autre personne que la personne identifiée en [ii]);
    4. ville et province où le brouillage se produit;
    5. nature de la plainte de brouillage (description générale du problème de brouillage);
    6. adresse, si connue, du bureau de district d’Industrie Canada chargé de localiser la source du brouillage à la station en question — CIR-66, Adresses et numéros de téléphone des bureaux régionaux et de districts.
  3. Le personnel d'Industrie Canada affecté à la plainte de brouillage communiquera avec la personne désignée par l'organisme de sécurité publique pour discuter et évaluer les renseignements fournis. S'il décide que le brouillage peut être considéré comme préjudiciable, le Ministère informera l'organisme de sécurité publique des mesures à prendre, y compris toute restriction imprévue pouvant influencer la prise de mesures par Industrie Canada.

Documents de référence

D'autres documents relatifs à la gestion du spectre sont disponibles sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/accueil.

Date de modification :