GL-08 — Guidelines for the Preparation of Radio Frequency (RF) Exposure Compliance Reports for Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems

Issue 1
November 2010

Preface

Issue 1 of GL-08 is hereby released.

These technical guidelines provide the key parameters required in radio frequency (RF) exposure reports prepared by proponents and/or operators of radiocommunication or broadcasting installations.

Issued under the authority of
the Minister of Industry

___________________________________
MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch


Contents


1. Background

As outlined in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, it is the responsibility of proponents and operators of radiocommunication and broadcasting installations to ensure that their facilities comply with Health Canada's Safety Code 6 Footnote 1 at all times, taking into consideration the local radio environment. Compliance with Safety Code 6 is an ongoing obligation. Therefore, at any time, antenna system operators may be required to provide a copy of their radio frequency (RF) exposure compliance reports Footnote 2 to Industry Canada as proof of ongoing compliance. Proponents and operators of existing antenna systems must retain copies of all information related to Safety Code 6 compliance, such as analyses and measurements.

This document provides guidelines to the key parameters required in RF exposure reports prepared by proponents and/or operators of radiocommunication or broadcasting installations. While this document provides guidance, it is the responsibility of the proponents and operators to provide all relevant information to demonstrate compliance with Safety Code 6. For inquiries related to the compliance of a site with Safety Code 6, proponents and/or operators may contact their local Industry Canada office. Footnote 3

top of page

2. Safety Code 6 Evaluation

Compliance with Safety Code 6 can be demonstrated by one or any combination of the following:

  1. providing calculations
  2. measurements
  3. implementing corrective measures

In the case of broadcasting applications, even though the following explanations and the models described in Section 3 remain valid, proponents and/or operators shall verify the specific requirements for demonstrating compliance with Safety Code 6 as outlined in Broadcasting Procedures and Rules-1 (BPR-1) — General Rules.

If calculations are used to show compliance, the mathematical prediction models should be included in the RF exposure report. In the case of computational evaluations, a description of the software should also be provided. Figure(s) (displaying north bearing and scale in the legend indicating distances) clearly identifying Safety Code 6 compliance contours should be provided (see Section 3.3.1). Near and far field considerations should be addressed in the report, as required.

If detailed calculations show that total RF exposure levels in publically accessible areas are equal or greater than 50% of Safety Code 6 uncontrolled environment limits, technical acceptability could be granted on condition that the applicant take measurements Footnote 4 as soon as the proposed facility is built and ready for testing. However, if calculations demonstrate that RF exposure levels exceed the limits for uncontrolled environments in publically accessible areas, then mitigation measures Footnote 5 must be implemented and detailed in the report before the station is made operational.

With respect to field measurements, information such as dates when measurements were taken, weather conditions, and whether transmitters were operating at maximum power at the time of measurement should be noted in the RF exposure evaluation report. In addition, the measurement methodology Footnote 6 used (i.e. time averaging versus spatial averaging) should be described (see Section 3.3.2).

A description of each piece of equipment used for measurement, as well as the uncertainty budget and calibration of each measurement device (e.g. the accuracy of measurements in dB), should be included. The measurement equipment uncertainty must be added to each measurement point, and the combined values shall be compared to Safety Code 6 limits to determine the compliance of the site. Footnote 7 The maximum normalized percentage (%) of the Safety Code 6 limit for uncontrolled environments, as well as their location, should be clearly identified in the report (see Section 3.3.2).

When measurements are used to determine Safety Code 6 compliance, these should be taken immediately after the station is turned on for testing. If the limits for uncontrolled environments are exceeded at locations accessible to the public, mitigating measures must be applied immediately in order to ensure compliance at all times. Footnote 8 All mitigating measures used to ensure compliance with Safety Code 6 should be detailed in the report.

Finally, the RF exposure report should conclude with a clear statement related to the Safety Code 6 compliance of the site (see Annex A for an example of the statement).

top of page

3. Template for RF Exposure Report

This section provides a template of the key parameters that should be included in the RF exposure report.

3.1 Title Page

The title page should contain the company name, site name where the antenna system is located, name(s) of person(s) conducting the RF exposure compliance study including title and signature, and date on which the report was signed.

3.2 Description of Site and Proposed Installation

The RF exposure report should contain general information on the site such as the site name, address and coordinates. A description of the site location and antenna structure, as well as a summary of the proposed installation, should also be included
(see Tables 1, 2 and 3).

A description, including calculations and/or measurements, of all publically accessible locations of interest (e.g. balconies, viewing points, observation deck, parking lots, etc.) in the vicinity of the proposed antenna site where the general public may be exposed to higher levels of Electromagnetic Fields (EMF) should also be included in the report.

The RF exposure report should contain an elevation plan or sketch showing the location of all antenna systems at the proposed site, and the location of signage and access control mechanisms such as locked doors and fences. Rooftop sites should include a site plan clearly identifying access to the rooftop and showing the location of each transmit antenna on the rooftop.

Table 1: General Information on the Site
General Information
Site name:  
Address:  
Site Coordinates:
LAT/LONG
(NAD83/DDDMMSS.s Footnote 9)
 
Date:  

 

Table 2: Description of the Site Location
Site Description
New radiocommunication / broadcasting antenna-supporting structure YES / NO
Is structure shared? (if yes, list other users) YES / NO
Structure type (e.g. rooftop, water tower, monopole, mast, lattice tower, etc.)  
Owner of the structure  
Overall Height of the antenna-supporting structure from the ground level (m) (and above rooftop if applicable (m))  
Objects (e.g. reflectors or scatterers) in the vicinity of the proposed site that may affect the RF field strength  

 

Table 3: Summary of the parameters of the proposed installation
Parameters
Type of service currently at the site (e.g. TV, AM, FM radio, mobile, cellular, PCS, 3G, 4G, paging, etc.), including technology used (e.g. ATSC, NTSC, UMTS, CDMA, HSPA)  
Proposed services  
Number of Sector(s)  
Frequency band (MHz) (e.g. 825-890 MHz, 1850-1990 MHz, 2120-2130 MHz)  
Antenna model / manufacturer and description (i.e. overall dimension, number of bays, spacing between radiating elements, gain)  
Antenna patterns (details regarding vertical and horizontal radiation patterns) for each sector  
Height (m) above ground and / or roof top to the radiating center of the antenna  
Azimuth (degrees) for each sector  
Downtilt (electrical) for each sector  
Downtilt (mechanical) for each sector  
Transmitter power (Watts or dBW)  
Maximum EIRP (Watts or dBW) (specify if per sector, per channel and / or per polarization)  
Number of channels per antenna (if more than one) per frequency band per technology  
Polarization (e.g. horizontal, vertical, circular, elliptical)  
Antenna displacement from site coordinates in Table 1 (must indicate the number of metres north or south, number of metres east or west)  

top of page

3.3 Safety Code 6 Assessment

3.3.1 Detailed Calculations

If detailed calculations are used to demonstrate compliance, the following should be included:

  • description of mathematical prediction models used for calculations;
  • description of software (if any);
  • discussion on near field and far field, as needed;
  • technical description of RF installations Footnote 10 considered in calculations (using Table 3 format for each installation);
  • field levels should be determined at 2 metres above ground, structure floor, or rooftop level;
  • site plan clearly identifying any publically accessible areas (rooftop sites should identify rooftop access point and show location of each transmit antenna); and
  • north bearing and scale in legend for figures displaying compliance contours;
  • for two or three dimension simulations, the following parameters are recommended:
    • two or three dimensional contours at 1%, 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% of the limits for an uncontrolled environment in Safety Code 6, with distance grids in metres and originating point (0, 0, 0) Footnote 11 at the radiation centre of the antenna;
    • two dimensional plots should include a horizontal view at 2 metres above any roof or ground level, or a vertical view that clearly specifies the azimuth of the view; and
    • generic ground plane image area of 400 x 400 m or satellite ground plane image of 400 x 400 m.

3.3.2 Measurements

If measurements are used to demonstrate compliance, the following should be included:

  • date and weather conditions;
  • special conditions (e.g. stations not operating at authorized power or temporarily relocated);
  • measurement equipment (description and calibration data);
  • measurement methodology (including consideration to time and spatial averaging and near field environment);
  • uncertainty budget and discussion;
  • site plan showing measurement locations and publically accessible areas (rooftop sites should identify the location of each transmit antenna);
  • table of measured values normalized to percentage of Safety Code 6 limits for uncontrolled environment, with and without equipment uncertainty, at different locations (see Table 4).
Table 4: Examples of measurement values normalized to percentage of Safety Code 6 limit, with and without equipment uncertainty, at different locations identified on plan or sketch
Location Measured value normalized limit for uncontrolled environment (% of SC6) without measurement equipment uncertainty Measured value normalized limit for uncontrolled environment (% of SC6) with measurement equipment uncertainty
     
     

3.3.3 Mitigation and Corrective Measures

In this section, any new temporary or permanent mitigation measures required to ensure ongoing compliance of the proposed installation with Safety Code 6 should be discussed. Formal engagement and implementation schedules should be included. Detailed descriptions of signage and access controls should also be included and located on the plan.

3.4 Safety Code 6 Compliance Statement

A clear compliance statement should conclude every report. Refer to Annex A for an example.

top of page

4. Reference publications

The latest versions of the following publications should be used in conjunction with this guideline.

(1) Broadcasting Procedures and Rules (BPR-1) – General Rules

(2) Client Procedures Circular (CPC-2-0-03) – Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems

(3) Guidelines (GL-01) – Guidelines for the Measurement of Radio Frequency Fields at Frequencies from 3 kHz to 300 GHz

(4) GL-02 - Guidelines for the Protection of the General Public in Compliance with Safety Code 6
Issue 1, October 2005
Replaced March 2013 by CPC-2-0-20 — Radio Frequency (RF) Fields – Signs and Access Control

(5) Health Canada – Limits of Human Exposure to Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Energy in the Frequency Range from 3 kHz to 300 GHz — Safety Code 6

top of page

Annex A — Example of Declaration of RF Exposure Compliance

ATTESTATION: I attest that the information provided in this section is correct; that a technical report was prepared and information contained therein is correct; that the site evaluation was performed or supervised by me; that applicable measurement methods and evaluation methodologies have been followed; and that the site is in compliance with Safety Code 6 limits.

Signature: _________________________________________ Date: _________________

NAME (Please print or type): _________________________________________________

TITLE (Please print or type): _________________________________________________

COMPANY (Please print or type): ______________________________________________


Footnotes

1 Limits of Human Exposure to Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Energy in the Frequency Range from 3 kHz to 300 GHz — Safety Code 6

2 As proof of ongoing compliance, RF exposure compliance reports submitted to Industry Canada must reflect the current radio environment of the installation.

3 If you would like to contact Industry Canada's local district offices, consult the following: RIC-66 — Addresses and Telephone Numbers of Regional and District Offices at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/sf01742.html

4 See Industry Canada's GL-01, Guidelines for the Measurement of Radio Frequency Fields at Frequencies from 3 kHz to 300 GHz for details on measurements.

5 See Industry Canada's GL-02, Guidelines for the Protection of the General Public in Compliance with Safety Code 6, for details.

6 The surveyor should initially characterize the transmission site with regard to the temporal variation of the RF signals. If the field signal variations are above 20% (or power density 36%), time averaging over 6 minutes is required for the remaining measurements, as specified in Safety Code 6. In locations where the RF signal is close to the Safety Code 6 limit for the uncontrolled environment (e.g. equal or above 50 % of the Safety Code 6 limit for power density, including measurement equipment uncertainty), detailed measurements using temporal and/or spatial averaging are required.

7 If the measured field strength levels plus the manufacturer's specified instrument uncertainty factor exceed the Safety Code 6 limits, corrective remedies must be taken to comply with Code requirements.

8 Industry Canada must be informed immediately in such cases and a close follow-up is required.

9 Seconds are to be represented up to one decimal point.

10 In addition to the RF installations at the site under study, nearby transmitting antennas can also impact the calculations, especially if they are high-power stations. It is important to assess the full radio environment when evaluating Safety Code 6 compliance. Mathematical predictions and field measurements have demonstrated that non-broadcast wireless stations beyond 100 metres have negligible impact on the overall exposure level. Close attention should be given to broadcast stations within 1 km of the proposed site. If it is suspected that there are stations nearby that may impact RF levels at the site under study, these must be taken into account in the detailed calculations. If any antenna systems have been excluded from the calculations, the rationale should be provided.

11 Note that (0,0,0) are the displacements in the x, y, z planes; x (east/west) and y (north/south) are the horizontal displacements and z is the vertical displacement.

Date modified:

LD-08 — Lignes directrices pour la préparation de rapports de conformité sur l'exposition aux radiofréquences (RF) pour les systèmes d'antenne de radiocommunication et de radiodiffusion

1re édition
Novembre 2010

Gestion du spectre et télécommunications
Lignes directrices

Préface

Par sa publication, le présent document constitue le numéro 1 des LD-08.

Ces lignes directrices techniques comprennent les principaux paramètres qui doivent être indiqués dans les rapports d'exposition aux RF, préparés par les promoteurs et/ou les opérateurs d'installations de radiocommunication ou de radiodiffusion.

Publication autorisée par le ministre de l'Industrie

Directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

______________
MARC DUPUIS


Table des matières


1. Contexte

Comme l'indique la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-03, Systèmes d'antenne de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion, les promoteurs et les opérateurs d'installations de radiocommunication et de radiodiffusion sont responsables de s'assurer que leurs installations sont conformes au Code de sécurité 6 1 de Santé Canada en tout temps, compte tenu de l'environnement radio local. La conformité avec le Code de sécurité 6 est une obligation permanente. Par conséquent, les opérateurs de systèmes d'antenne peuvent être tenus en tout temps de fournir à Industrie Canada une copie de leurs rapports 2 de conformité sur l'exposition aux radiofréquences (RF) comme preuve de leur conformité permanente. Les promoteurs et opérateurs de systèmes d'antenne actuels doivent conserver des copies de tous les renseignements qui se rapportent à la conformité au Code de sécurité 6 comme les analyses et les mesures pertinentes.

Le présent document propose des lignes directrices concernant les principaux paramètres qui doivent être indiqués dans les rapports d'exposition aux RF, préparés par les promoteurs et/ou les opérateurs d'installations de radiocommunication ou de radiodiffusion. Bien que le présent document propose des directives, il en va de la responsabilité des promoteurs et des opérateurs de fournir tous les renseignements pertinents afin de démontrer qu'ils se conforment au Code de sécurité 6. Afin d'obtenir des renseignements concernant la conformité d'un site au Code de sécurité 6, communiquer avec le bureau 3 local d'Industrie Canada.

haut de la page

2. Évaluation du Code de sécurité 6

La conformité au Code de sécurité 6 peut être démontrée par l'une ou l'autre ou une combinaison des éléments suivants :

  1. présentation de calculs détaillés
  2. mesures
  3. mise en œvre de mesures correctives

Toutefois, dans le cas des demandes de radiodiffusion, bien que les explications de cette section ainsi que les modèles décrits à la section 3 demeurent valides, les promoteurs et/ou les opérateurs doivent vérifier les exigences particulières visant à démontrer la conformité avec le Code de sécurité 6, comme l'énonce le document, Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion – 1 (RPR-1)Règles générales.

Si on procède à des calculs afin de démontrer la conformité, les modèles de prévision mathématique utilisés doivent être inclus dans le rapport d'exposition concernant les RF. Pour ce qui est de l'évaluation computationnelle, il faut fournir une description du logiciel utilisé. Des figures où sont affichés clairement les contours de conformité au Code de sécurité doivent être fournies (voir la section 3.3.1). Le nord, ainsi qu'une échelle pour les distances, doivent être indiqués sur ces figures. Au besoin, les champs rapprochés et éloignés doivent être pris en considération dans le rapport.

Si les calculs détaillés démontrent que le niveau d'exposition total aux RF, dans les zones accessibles au public, sont égaux ou dépassent 50 % des limites des environnements non contrôlés du Code de sécurité 6, l'acceptabilité technique pourrait être accordée à condition que le demandeur procède immédiatement à des mesures 4 une fois l'installation proposée construite et mise en service pour les essais. Toutefois, si les calculs démontrent que les niveaux d'exposition dépassent les limites pour les environnements non contrôlés dans la zone accessible par le public, il faudra prendre des mesures d'atténuation 5 qui seront indiquées en détail dans le rapport avant que la station ne soit mise en service.

Pour ce qui est des mesures sur le terrain, les renseignements comme les dates où les mesures ont été prises, les conditions atmosphériques et si oui ou non les émetteurs fonctionnaient à la puissance maximale (au moment des mesures) devraient être inscrits dans le rapport d'évaluation d'exposition aux RF. De plus, la méthode de mesure utilisée 6 (c.-à-d. la moyenne temporelle par rapport à la moyenne spatiale) doit être décrite (voir la section 3.3.2).

Il faut de plus fournir une description de chaque pièce d'équipement utilisée pour les mesures de même que le budget d'incertitude et l'étalonnage de chaque dispositif de mesure (c.-à-d. l'exactitude des mesures en dB). L'incertitude de l'appareil de mesure doit être ajoutée à chaque point de mesure et les valeurs combinées comparées aux limites du Code de sécurité 6 afin d'établir la conformité du site 7. Le pourcentage normalisé maximal (%) de la limite prévue au Code de sécurité 6 dans un environnement non contrôlé de même que son emplacement doivent être indiqués dans le rapport (voir la section 3.3.2).

Lorsque des mesures sont utilisées pour determiner la conformité au Code de sécurité 6, elles doivent être prises dès que la station est mise en service pour les essais. Si les limites des environnements non contrôlés sont dépassées aux emplacements accessibles au public, des mesures d'atténuation doivent être prises immédiatement pour assurer la conformité en tout temps 8. Toutes les mesures d'atténuation utilisées pour assurer la conformité au Code de sécurité 6 doivent être détaillées dans le rapport.

Enfin, le rapport d'exposition aux RF doit conclure à l'aide d'un énoncé de conformité clair du site avec le Code de sécurité 6 (voir l'annexe A pour un exemple d'énoncé).

haut de la page

3. Modèle de rapport d'exposition aux RF

Cette section présente un modèle des principaux paramètres qui doivent être inclus dans le rapport d'exposition aux RF.

3.1 Page titre

Sur la page titre, on doit trouver le nom de la compagnie, le nom du site où se trouve le système d'antenne, les noms de ceux qui effectuent l'étude de conformité de l'exposition aux RF et leur titre et leur signature et enfin la date où le rapport a été signé.

3.2 Description de l'emplacement et des installations proposés

Le rapport d'exposition aux RF doit contenir des renseignements généraux sur le site comme l'adresse et les coordonnées du site. Une description de l'emplacement du site et de la structure d'antenne de même qu'un résumé de l'installation proposée doivent également être inclus (voir les tableaux 1, 2 et 3).

Une description, incluant les calculs et/ou les mesures, de tous les emplacements accessibles au public (c.-à-d. balcons, points d'observation, plateforme d'observation, stationnements, etc.) à proximité du site d'antenne proposé où le grand public peut être exposé à des niveaux élevés de champs électromagnétiques (EMF) doit également être incluse dans le rapport.

Le rapport d'exposition aux RF doit aussi contenir un plan ou un croquis d'élévation indiquant les emplacements de tous les systèmes d'antenne sur le site proposé de même que les emplacements des panneaux avertisseurs et des mécanismes de contrôle de l'accès comme les portes et clôtures verrouillées. Les sites sur les toits d'immeuble doivent comprendre un plan du site qui indique clairement l'accès au toit et l'endroit sur le toit où se trouve chaque antenne de transmission.

Tableau 1 : Renseignements généraux sur le site
Renseignements généraux
Nom du site :  
Adresse :  
Coordonnées du site : LATITUDE/LONGITUDE (NAD83/DDDMMSS.s 9 )  
Date :  


Tableau 2 : Description de l'emplacement du site
Description du site
Nouveau bâti d'antenne de radiocommunication / radiodiffusion OUI / NON
La structure est-elle partagée? (Si c'est le cas, énumérer les autres utilisateurs) OUI / NON
Type de structure (p. ex., toit d'un immeuble, réservoir d'eau, tour autoportante, mât, pylône à treillis, etc.)  
Propriétaire de la structure  
Hauteur globale du bâti d'antenne à partir du sol (en mètres) (et à partir du toit si applicable (en mètres))  
Objets (p. ex., réflecteurs ou diffuseurs) à proximité du site proposé qui peuvent avoir des effets sur la puissance du champ de RF  


Tableau 3 : Sommaire des paramètres de l'installation proposée
Paramètres
Type de services actuellement offerts sur le site (p. ex., TV, AM, FM, mobile, cellulaire, PCS, 3G, 4G, téléavertisseur, etc.), y compris la technologie utilisée (p. ex., ATSC, NTSC, UMTS, AMRC, HSPA, etc.)  
Services proposés  
Nombre de secteur(s)  
Bande de fréquence (MHz) (p. ex., 825-890 MHz, 1 850-1 990 MHz, 2 120 2 130 MHz)  
Modèle/fabricant d'antenne et description (c.-à-d. dimensions hors tout, nombre de baies, espacement entre les éléments radiants, gain)  
Diagramme d'antenne (annexer au rapport les détails concernant les diagrammes de rayonnement vertical et horizontal) pour chaque secteur  
Hauteur (m) au dessus du sol et/ou du toit d'immeuble jusqu'au centre de radiation de l'antenne Azimut (degrés) pour chaque secteur  
Inclinaison du faisceau (électrique) pour chaque secteur  
Inclinaison du faisceau (mécanique) pour chaque secteur  
Puissance d'émetteur (watts ou dBW)  
PIRE maximum (watts ou dBW)(préciser s'il s'agit de PIRE par secteur, par canal et/ou par polarisation)  
Nombre de canaux par antenne (s'il y en a plus d'un) par bande de fréquence et par technologie  
Polarisation (c.-à-d. horizontale, verticale, circulaire, elliptique)  
Positionnement de l'antenne à partir des coordonnées du site dans le Tableau 1 (doit indiquer le nombre de mètres vers le nord ou le sud, nombre de mètres vers l'est ou l'ouest)  
haut de la page

3.3 Évaluation en fonction du Code de sécurité 6

3.3.1 Calculs détaillés

Si des calculs détaillés servent à démontrer la conformité, il faut inclure ce qui suit :

  • une description des modèles de prédiction mathématique utilisés pour les calculs;
  • une description du logiciel utilisé (le cas échéant);
  • une discussion du champ rapproché et du champ lointain selon le besoin;
  • une description technique des installations 10 de RF considérées dans les calculs (utiliser la présentation du tableau 3 pour chaque installation);
  • les niveaux de champ devraient être calculés à deux mètres au dessus du sol, d'un plancher construit ou du niveau du toit d'immeuble;
  • il faut inclure un plan de situation indiquant clairement tous les endroits accessibles au public (les emplacements sur le toit doivent indiquer les points d'accès au toit et l'emplacement de chaque antenne d'émission);
  • les figures qui affichent les contours de conformité doivent comprendre l'indication du Nord et une échelle pour les distances en légende;
  • pour des simulations à deux ou trois dimensions, on recommande les paramètres suivants :
    • la localisation des contours à deux ou trois dimensions de 1 %, 25 %, 50 %, 75 % et 100 % de la limite du Code de sécurité 6 pour un environnement non contrôlé établis sur une grille de distance en mètres et ayant pour point d'origine (0, 0, 0) 11 le centre de rayonnement de l'antenne;
    • les tracés à deux dimensions doivent comprendre une vue horizontale à 2 mètres au dessus des toits d'immeubles ou au-dessus du niveau du sol ou une vue verticale qui précise clairement l'azimut de la vue;
    • une image du sol générique de 400 x 400 m ou une image satellite du plan de sol de 400 x 400 m.

3.3.2 Mesures

Si les mesures sont utilisées pour démontrer la conformité, il faut inclure ce qui suit :

  • date et conditions météorologiques;
  • conditions spéciales (c. à d. les stations qui n'émettent pas à la puissance autorisée ou qui sont temporairement déménagées);
  • équipement de mesure (description et données d'étalonnage);
  • méthode de mesure (y compris la prise en compte des moyennes temporelles et spatiales et de l'environnement du champ proche);
  • budget d'incertitude et discussions connexes;
  • un plan de situation indiquant les emplacements des mesures et les zones accessibles au public (les emplacements sur les toits d'immeubles doivent indiquer l'emplacement de chaque antenne d'émission);
  • le tableau des valeurs de mesure normalisées selon les limites du Code de Sécurité 6 pour un environnement non contrôlé (avec et sans incertitude) à différents endroits (voir tableau 4).

Tableau 4 : Exemples de valeurs de mesure normalisées selon le pourcentage de limite du Code de sécurité 6 avec et sans incertitude d'équipement à différents endroits (indiqué sur le plan ou le croquis)
Emplacement Limite normalisée pour l'environnement non contrôlé de la valeur mesurée (% du CS6) sans incertitude d'équipement de mesure Limite normalisée pour l'environnement non contrôlé de la valeur mesurée (% du CS6) avec incertitude d'équipement de mesure
     
     

3.3.3 Mesures d'atténuation et correctives

Dans cette section, il faut discuter de toutes nouvelles mesures d'atténuation temporaires et permanentes nécessaires afin d'assurer la conformité continuelle avec le Code de sécurité 6. Il faut aussi inclure un engagement formel et un calendrier de mise en œuvre. Il faut de plus inclure et situer sur un plan une description détaillée des panneaux de démarcation et des mécanismes de contrôle d'accès.

3.4 Énoncé de conformité avec le Code de sécurité 6

Un énoncé de conformité clair doit terminer chaque rapport. Voir l'Annexe A pour obtenir un exemple.

haut de la page

4. Ouvrages de référence

Les versions les plus récentes des publications suivantes doivent être utilisées de concert avec les présentes lignes directrices.

(1) Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion (RPR-1) — Règles générales

(2) Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-03 — Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion

(3) Lignes directrices (LD-01) — Lignes directrices relatives à la mesure des champs radioélectriques de la gamme de fréquences de 3 kHz à 300 GHz

(4) LD-02 - Lignes directrices pour la protection du grand public, établies conformément au code de sécurité 6
1re édition, octobre 2005
Retirée en mars 2013 — Consultez la CPC-2-0-20 — Champs de radiofréquences – Panneaux et contrôle de l’accès

(4) Lignes directrices (LD-02) — Lignes directrices pour la protection du grand public, établies conformément au code de sécurité 6

(5) Santé Canada — Limites d'exposition humaine à l'énergie électromagnétique radioélectrique dans la gamme des fréquences de 3 kHz à 300 GHz : Code de sécurité 6

haut de la page

Annexe A — Exemple de déclaration de conformité aux limites d'exposition aux RF

ATTESTATION : J'atteste par la présente que l'information fournie dans cette section est correcte, qu'un rapport technique a été rédigé et que les renseignements qu'il contient sont corrects, que l'évaluation du site a été faite ou surveillée par moi, que les méthodes de mesure et d'évaluation applicables ont été respectées et que le site est conforme aux limites d'exposition du Code de sécurité 6.

Signature : _____________________________________ Date : ________________

NOM (En lettres moulées ou dactylographiées : ______________________________

FONCTION (En lettres moulées ou dactylographiées : _________________________

ENTREPRISE (En lettres moulées ou dactylographiées) : _______________________


Notes en bas de page

1 Limites d'exposition humaine aux champs de radiofréquences électromagnétiques dans la gamme de fréquences de 3 kHz à 300 GHz — Code de sécurité 6 (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1)

2 À titre de preuve de conformité permanente, les rapports de conformité d'exposition aux RF fournis à Industrie Canada doivent indiquer l'actuel environnement radio de l'installation. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 2)

3 Si vous souhaitez communiquer avec les bureaux de district locaux d'Industrie Canada, consultez le site suivant :
CIR-66 — Adresses et numéros de téléphone des bureaux régionaux et de districts à : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/fra/sf01742.html (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 3)

4 Voir LD-01 – Lignes directrices relatives à la mesure des champs radioélectriques de la gamme de fréquence de 3 kHz à 300 GHz d'Industrie Canada, pour les détails sur les mesures. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 4)

5 Voir LD-02 – Lignes directrices sur la protection du grand public, établies conformément au Code de sécurité 6 d'Industrie Canada pour de plus amples détails. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 5)

6 L'évaluateur doit d'abord caractériser le site de transmission en ce qui a trait à la variation temporelle des signaux RF. Si les variations du champ électrique dépassent 20 % (ou 36 % en densité de puissance), il faut effectuer des moyennes temporelles sur 6 minutes pour toutes les mesures tel qu'indiqué dans le Code de sécurité 6. Dans des endroits où le signal RF est près de la limite du Code de sécurité 6 pour les environnements non contrôlés (c. à d. sont égaux ou plus de 50 % des limites de l'environnement non contrôlé du Code de sécurité 6 pour la densité de puissance, y compris l'incertitude de l' équipement de mesure), il faut procéder à des mesures détaillées en utilisant les moyennes temporelle et/ou spatiale. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 6)

7 Si les niveaux de mesure d'intensité des champs plus les facteurs d'incertitude des instruments précisés par le fabricant dépassent les limites du Code de sécurité 6, des mesures correctives doivent être prises afin de se conformer aux exigences de ce code. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 7)

8 Industrie Canada doit être immédiatement informé de telles situations et on s'attend à ce qu'il y ait un suivi très serré. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 8)

9 Les secondes seront représentées à un point décimal près. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 9)

10 En plus des installations de RF à l'emplacement qui fait l'objet de l'étude, les antennes de transmission qui se trouvent à proximité peuvent également avoir des répercussions sur les calculs, surtout s'il s'agit de stations à haute puissance. Il est important d'évaluer l'environnement radio total lorsque l'on évalue la conformité au Code de sécurité 6. Les prévisions mathématiques et les mesures sur le terrain ont démontré que les stations sans fil autre que de radiodiffusion qui sont éloignées de plus de 100 mètres ont des effets négligeables sur le niveau d'exposition global. Pour les stations de radioffusion, il faut prendre en compte celles qui se trouvent à moins de 1 kilomètre du site proposé. Si l'on pense que des stations à proximité peuvent avoir des conséquences pour les niveaux de RF sur le site étudié, il faut tenir compte de ces stations dans les calculs détaillés. Si on exclut des systèmes d'antenne des calculs, il faut le justifier. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 10)

11 Notez que (0,0,0) sont les déplacements dans les plans x, y et z; x (est/ouest) et y (nord/sud) sont dans les déplacements horizontaux et z est dans le déplacement vertical. (retour à la référence de note en bas de page 11)

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :
  • Plus

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.