Archived — Gazette Notice No. SMSE-018-10

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMSE-018-10 — Consultation on a Policy and Technical Framework for the 700 MHz Band and Aspects Related to Commercial Mobile Spectrum

The purpose of this notice is to announce a public consultation on the use of the 700 MHz band by commercial mobile services. The consultation will also discuss various issues that are relevant to other bands that are currently licensed, or may be licensed in the future, for commercial mobile use.

General information

Through the release of its consultation paper, Industry Canada is initiating a consultation on a policy and technical framework to auction spectrum in the band 698-806 MHz (also known as the 700 MHz band). Comments are sought on general policy considerations related to commercial mobile broadband spectrum use, competition issues and on the use of the 700 MHz band for commercial mobile services. In addition, the Department is seeking comments on spectrum use for public safety broadband applications.

Noting that the Department will consult on licensing measures for the band 2 500-2 690 MHz in a separate consultation, this paper also seeks views on whether or not government measures are required to promote competition, in the context of spectrum being made available in both bands.

Commercial licensees, public safety entities, low-power television operators, prospective licensees in both this band and the band 2 500-2 690 MHz, equipment manufacturers, members of the public (in particular, those in the rural areas of Canada) and other stakeholders are encouraged to read this document and to submit a reply to questions of interest to them.

Submitting comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF), along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used, to the following email address: Spectrum.Engineering@ic.gc.ca.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Manager, Mobile Technology and Services, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (SMSE-018-10). Recognizing the scope of the paper and the holiday season, the Department is providing a longer than normal comment period. To ensure consideration, parties should submit their comments no later than February 28, 2011. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

The Department will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until March 30, 2011.

Following the initial comment period, the Department may, at its discretion, request additional information if needed to clarify significant positions or new proposals. In such a case, the reply comment deadline would be extended.

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on Industry Canada’s Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Publishing and Depository Services at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

November 30, 2010

MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

FIONA GILFILLAN
Director General
Spectrum Management Operations Branch

PAMELA MILLER
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

  • Email
  • RSS
Help us improve
Back to "Help us improve" section.
  
Back to "What's the problem?" section.
Got it, thanks!
Um, you didn't enter anything.
Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette No SMSE-018-10

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Ministère de l'Industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Affiché sur le site Web d'Industrie Canada : le 30 novembre 2010
Date de publication dans la Gazette du Canada : le 4 décembre 2010

Avis no SMSE-018-10Consultation sur un cadre politique et technique visant la bande de 700 MHz et les aspects liés au spectre mobile commercial

Le but de cet avis est d’annoncer la tenue d’une consultation publique sur l’utilisation de la bande 700 MHz par les services mobiles commerciaux. La consultation portera aussi sur diverses questions relatives à d’autres bandes qui sont actuellement autorisées, ou pourront l’être dans l’avenir, pour l’utilisation mobile commerciale.

Renseignements généraux

En publiant son document de consultation, Industrie Canada amorce une consultation sur un cadre politique et technique visant la mise aux enchères du spectre dans la bande 698-806 MHz (aussi appelée la bande 700 MHz). Le Ministère souhaite recevoir des commentaires d’ordre général sur la politique relative à l’utilisation du spectre large bande mobile commercial, sur les questions de concurrence et sur l’utilisation de la bande de fréquences 700 MHz pour les services mobiles commerciaux. Le Ministère sollicite aussi des commentaires au sujet de l’utilisation du spectre pour les applications large bande de sécurité publique.

Tenant compte du fait qu’il procédera à des consultations distinctes sur les mesures d’autorisation visant la bande de fréquences 2 500-2 690 MHz, le Ministère sollicite aussi dans le présent document les points de vue sur la nécessité ou non de prévoir des mesures gouvernementales pour promouvoir la concurrence, dans le contexte où des fréquences sont rendues accessibles dans les deux bandes.

Les titulaires de licences commerciales, les entités de sécurité publique, les exploitants de télévision à faible puissance, les titulaires de licence éventuels dans la bande 700 MHz et dans la bande 2 500-2690 MHz, les équipementiers, le grand public (notamment la population rurale canadienne) et les autres intervenants sont invités à lire le présent document et à répondre aux questions qui les intéressent.

Présentation des commentaires

Les répondants sont priés d’envoyer leurs commentaires sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) à l’adresse courriel suivante : Genie-du-Spectre@ic.gc.ca, accompagnés d’une note précisant le logiciel, la version et le système d’exploitation utilisés.

Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au Gestionnaire, Technologies et services mobiles, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Street, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Toutes les soumissions doivent citer la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de l’avis (SMSE-018-10) de la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. En tenant compte du contenu de la consultation et de la saison des fêtes, le ministère alloue une période de commentaire plus long que d’habitude. Pour garantir la prise en compte de leurs commentaires, les intéressés doivent les soumettre au plus tard le 28 février 2011. Peu après la clôture de la période de commentaires, toutes les observations reçues seront affichées sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le Ministère donnera la possibilité aux intéressés qui le souhaitent de répondre aux commentaires de tiers. Ces réponses seront acceptées jusqu’au 30 mars 2011.

Il est à noter qu’après la période de commentaires initiale, s’il y a lieu de clarifier des positions importantes ou de nouvelles propositions, le Ministère peut demander des renseignements supplémentaires s’il le juge bon. Le cas échéant, le délai de réponse serait prolongé.

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont affichés sur le site Web de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d’Industrie Canada, à l’adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis publiés dans la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html. On peut également se procurer un exemple de la Gazette du Canada en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions et Services de dépôt au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Original signé le 30 novembre 2010

Le directeur général,
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes,

______________
MARC DUPUIS

La directrice générale,
Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre,

__________________
FIONA GILFILLAN

La directrice générale,
Direction générale de la politique des télécommunications,

________________
PAMELA MILLER