CPC-2-1-27 — Licensing Procedure for Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS) Stations

Issue 1
May 2011

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
Spectrum Management and Operations Branch
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

Attention: Spectrum Management Operations

E-mail: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Contents

1. Principle

The Minister of Industry, through the Department of Industry Act, the Radiocommunication Act and the Radiocommunication Regulations, with due regard to the objectives of the Telecommunications Act, is responsible for radio frequency spectrum management in Canada. As such, the Minister is responsible for developing national policies and goals for spectrum resource use and ensuring the effective management of the radio frequency spectrum.

2. Mandate

Section 5 of the Radiocommunication Act states that the Minister may issue radio licences in respect of radio apparatus, and may also fix the terms and conditions of any such licence. Furthermore, when exercising these powers, the Minister is subject to the regulations made by the Governor in Council under section 6 of the Act.

3. Background

To determine their geographic position, conventional global positioning system (GPS) receivers must acquire radio signals from at least three of 24 active GPS satellites currently in orbit around the Earth. Each satellite emits a unique signal, and the GPS receiver matches these signals to their respective satellites in order to calculate the relative distance from each, and determine the receiver’s actual position on the ground. The accuracy of this positioning information can vary due to various factors, including satellite positions, radio signal interference, atmospheric conditions and ground-based barriers. Consequently, accuracy of conventional GPS positioning information can vary by as much as 30 metres.

In the early 1990s, Industry Canada recognized a need to provide domestic seismic and survey industries with the authority to use a new type of radiolocationFootnote 1 technology, capable of providing precise ground-based positioning information for its users.

Differential Global Positioning Systems (DGPS) are comprised of fixed or transportable radio stations that receive conventional GPS satellite signals, and then transmit corrective radiotelemetry positioning data on GPS frequencies to authorized users within a specific geographic area.

Since their introduction in Canada, Industry Canada has provided specific VHFand UHF frequencies that may be used for DGPS purposes.

4. DGPS Licensing Principles

4.1 General Principles

All DGPS radio station authorizations are to be issued on a shared, no-interference, no-protection basis to other licensed radio users.

Frequencies available for DGPS are only to be used for the transmission of differential correction information. Accessorial applications (i.e. guidance systems, automatic vehicle location, etc.) must be accommodated by other means.

4.2 DGPS Frequencies and Operating Conditions

Table 1 below specifies frequencies that may be used for DGPS and applicable operating conditions:

Table 1 — DGPS Frequencies and Operating Conditions
Frequencies (MHz) Conditions
43.900, 43.980, 44.140, 44.240, 44.260 High and low power, Canada-wide
172.725 Low power, Canada-wide
463.750 and/or 468.750 High and low power in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Nunavut and northeastern British Columbia
464.6375 Low power, Canada-wide
469.9625 Low power, Alberta-wide
440.2875/445.2875, 440.3125/445.3125, 440.3375/445.3375,
440.3500/445.3500, 440.3750/445.3750, 440.4000/445.4000,
440.4250/445.4250, 440.4500,445.4500, 440.4750/445.4750,
440.5000/445.5000
High and low power, transmission via extended-range repeaters, Canada-wide
Note: In this document, low power is considered to be an effective radiated power (ERP) of 5 W or less, and high power is considered be an ERP of up to 30 W.

4.3 Department of National Defence and DGPS Issues

The Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations 9 kHz to 275 GHz (2009 Edition) currently indicates that the band 430-450 MHz is primarily allocated to the radiolocation service, and to the amateur and Earth exploration-satellite services on a secondary basis. DGPS operation within the 430-450 MHz frequency band is also permitted, on a no-interference, no-protection basis to other licensed radio users.

Industry Canada has also recently granted authority for the Department of National Defence (DND) to use specific portions of the 430-450 MHz band for its own position reporting systems, Canada-wide, on a no-interference, no-protection basis.

In order to minimize potential interference within the 430-450 MHz band, Industry Canada strongly encourages future DGPS licensees to operate within the 440-445 MHz band segment only. It should also be noted that although paired 440/445 MHz extended-range repeater frequencies shown in Table 1 seem to fall within the preferred 440-445 MHz DGPS sub-band, in actuality, the 445 MHz group of frequencies extend beyond it. Consequently, although use of extended-range frequencies in the 445MHz band may still be permitted, DGPS licensees must accept possible interference from DND.

Applications for DGPS operation beyond the 440-445 MHz sub-band, or on frequencies other than those shown in Table 1, will be considered on a case-by-case basis by Industry Canada.

5. Licensing Procedure and Considerations

Fixed, transportable and mobile DGPS stations are to be licensed as radiodetermination service stations in accordance with the Radiocommunication Regulations.

Fixed and transportable DGPS stations may be authorized as multi-channel units, although only a single fee will apply to all authorized frequencies. Associated mobiles may also be licensed as multi-channel stations.

In addition, all requirements noted in Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-0-03, Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems, must be respected by DGPS licensees.

5.1 Eligibility

Licensees operating as radiocommunication users must comply on an ongoing basis with eligibility criteria set out in subsection 9(1) of the Radiocommunication Regulations. Licensees must provide advance notice to the Minister of Industry of any change that would have a material effect on such eligibility.

5.2 Licensing Issues

Licence applications for DGPS radio stations may be submitted directly to Industry Canada online via Spectrum Direct, accessible through Industry Canada’s website at http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/sd-sd.nsf/eng/home.

Alternatively, applicants may also choose to submit their applications to the nearest Industry Canada Spectrum Management office. Footnote 2 Regardless, applicants are encouraged to consult with their local office prior to submitting applications to ensure that frequencies requested are appropriate to meet their needs.

5.3 Licence Term

DGPS radio licences will expire on March 31 of each year. Licensees must pay the annual licence renewal fee before March 31 of each year for the subsequent year (April 1 to March 31).

5.4 Licence Fees

Licence fees for mobile and fixed or transportable stations will be charged in accordance with the Radiocommunication Regulations Schedules applicable to the radiodetermination service, as noted in subsections 60(3) and 62(1) respectively.

5.5 Service Standards

DGPS systems typically operate on a point-area basis. Consequently, the current departmental service standard for issuance of land mobile service licences apply. This standard allows up to seven weeks for the issuance of a radio station licence, effective the date that a complete application has been received, and for which coordination with a foreign administration or other agency is not required.

5.6 International Coordination

DGPS licensees must comply with current and future requirements of applicable cross-border frequency sharing and coordination arrangements established between Canada and other countries, as amended from time to time.

6. Technical Considerations

Licensees are required to comply with all existing and future Radio Standard Specifications (RSS), Standard Radio System Plans (SRSP) and other technical specifications relevant to their intended frequency band of operation.

7. Related Documents

Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations 9 kHz to 275 GHz (2009 Edition)

CPC-2-0-03 — Radiocommunication and Broadcasting Antenna Systems

RIC-66 — Addresses and Telephone Numbers of Regional and District Offices

SRSP-500 — Technical Requirements for Land Mobile and Fixed Radio Services Operating in the Bands 138-144 MHz and 148-174 MHz

SRSP-501 — Technical Requirements for Land Mobile and Fixed Radio Services Operating in the Bands 406.1-430 MHz and 450-470 MHz

RSS-119 — Land Mobile and Fixed Radio Transmitters and Receivers Operating in the Frequency Range 27.41-960 MHz

Date modified:

CPC-2-1-27 — Procédure de délivrance de licences aux stations de système mondial de positionnement différentiel (DGPS)

1re édition
Mai 2011

Les intéressés peuvent faire parvenir leurs observations ou leurs propositions à l'adresse suivante :

Industrie Canada
Direction générale des opérations
de la gestion du spectre
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H5

À l'attention de : Opérations de la gestion du spectre

Courriel : spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

Tous les documents de la Gestion du spectre et des télécommunications sont disponibles sur Internet, à l'adresse : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Table des matières

1. Principe

Conformément à la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, à la Loi sur la radiocommunication et au Règlement sur la radiocommunication et dans le cadre des objectifs de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le ministre de l'Industrie est responsable de la gestion du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques au Canada. À ce titre, il est chargé d'établir des politiques et des objectifs nationaux en vue de l'utilisation et de la gestion efficaces du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques.

2. Mandat

En vertu de l'article 5 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, le Ministre peut délivrer des licences radio à l'égard d'appareils radio et fixer les conditions de ces licences. En outre, dans l'exercice de ces pouvoirs, le Ministre est assujetti aux règlements pris par le gouverneur en conseil en vertu de l'article 6 de la Loi.

3. Contexte

Pour déterminer leur position géographique, les récepteurs classiques de système mondial de positionnement (GPS) doivent acquérir des signaux radio d'au moins 3 des 24 satellites GPS satellite émet un signal unique, et le récepteur GPS en fait le rapprochement avec les satellites qui y correspondent pour calculer la distance relative par rapport à chacun, puis déterminer la position réelle du récepteur au sol. La précision des données de positionnement peut varier en raison de facteurs comme la position des satellites, le brouillage causé aux signaux radio, les conditions atmosphériques et les obstacles au sol. Par conséquent, la précision des données de positionnement du GPS classique peut varier jusqu'à 30 mètres.

Au début des années 1990, Industrie Canada a reconnu le besoin de donner aux secteurs canadiens des levés et des données sismiques l'autorisation d'utiliser un nouveau type de technologie de radiolocalisation Note de bas de page 1, capable de fournir, aux utilisateurs, des données précises de positionnement au sol.

Les systèmes mondiaux de positionnement différentiel (DGPS) se composent de stations radio fixes ou transportables qui reçoivent des signaux de satellite GPS classique, puis émettent des données de radiomesure de correction à des fréquences autres que les fréquences GPS à l'intention des utilisateurs autorisés dans une zone géographique spécifique.

Depuis l'introduction des DGPS au Canada, Industrie Canada leur a assigné des fréquences VHF et UHF spécifiques.

4. Principes de délivrance des licences à l'égard des DGPS

4.1 Principes généraux

Toutes les licences destinées aux stations radio DGPS doivent être accordées selon le régime partagé de non-brouillage et de non-protection par rapport aux autres usagers radio autorisés.

Les fréquences disponibles pour les DGPS ne doivent servir qu'à l'émission de données concernant la correction différentielle. Les applications accessoires (c'est-à-dire les systèmes de guidage, la localisation automatique de véhicules, etc.) doivent être prises en charge par d'autres moyens.

4.2 Fréquences et conditions d'exploitation du DGPS

Le Tableau 1 ci-dessous précise les fréquences qui peuvent être utilisées pour les DGPS ainsi que les conditions d'exploitation applicables :

Tableau 1 — Fréquences et conditions d'exploitation du DGPS
Fréquences (MHz) Conditions
43,900, 43,980, 44,140, 44,240, 44,260 Haute et faible puissance, dans l'ensemble du Canada
172,725 Faible puissance, dans l'ensemble du Canada
463,750 et/ou 468,750 Haute et faible puissance, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Nunavut et dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.
464,6375 Faible puissance, dans l'ensemble du Canada
469,9625 Faible puissance, en Alberta
440,2875/445,2875, 440,3125/445,3125,
440,3375/445,3375,
440,3500/445,3500, 440,3750/445,3750, 440,4000/445,4000
,440,4250/445,4250, 440,4500,445,4500,
440,4750/445,4750,
440,5000/445,5000
Haute et faible puissance, émission au moyen de répéteurs à portée étendue, dans l'ensemble du Canada
Nota : Dans le présent document, il est à noter qu'on estime qu'une faible puissance est une puissance apparente rayonnée (p.a.r.) d'au plus 5 W et une haute puissance est une p.a.r. d'au plus 30 W.

4.3 Questions relatives au ministère de la Défense nationale et aux DGPS

Le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences 9 kHz à 275 GHz (édition 2009) indique que la bande de fréquences 430-450 MHz est attribuée au service de radiolocalisation à titre primaire et au service de radioamateur et au service d'exploration de la terre par satellite à titre secondaire. L'exploitation du DGPS est aussi permise à l'intérieur de la bande de fréquences 430-450 MHz, en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection par rapport à d'autres utilisateurs radio autorisés.

Par ailleurs, Industrie Canada a récemment donné au ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) l'autorisation d'utiliser certaines parties de la bande 430-450 MHz pour ses propres systèmes de signalement de position, pour l'ensemble du Canada, en régime de non-brouillage et de non-protection.

Dans le but de réduire au minimum les risques de brouillage dans la bande de fréquences 430-450 MHz, Industrie Canada incite fortement les futurs titulaires de licence de DGPS à fonctionner uniquement dans la partie de la bande 440-445 MHz. Il est également à noter que, bien que les fréquences appariées 440/445 MHz de répéteurs à portée étendue données au tableau 1 semblent faire partie de la sous-bande recommandée de 440-445 MHz des DGPS, en fait, le groupe de fréquences de 445 MHz va au-delà de cette gamme. Par conséquent, bien que l'utilisation des fréquences des répéteurs à portée étendue dans la bande 445 MHz soit encore permise, les titulaires de licence de DGPS doivent accepter les risques de brouillage de la part du MDN.

Les demandes d'exploitation du DGPS au-delà de la sous-bande de 440-445 MHz, ou à des fréquences autres que celles représentées au tableau 1, seront étudiées au cas par cas par Industrie Canada.

5. Considérations en matière de procédure de délivrance des licences

Les stations DGPS fixes, transportables et mobiles doivent faire l'objet d'une licence comme stations du service de radiorepérage conformément au Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

Les stations DGPS fixes et transportables peuvent être autorisées comme unités multicanaux, bien que des droits uniques s'appliquent à toutes les fréquences autorisées. Les stations mobiles connexes pourront également faire l'objet d'une licence comme stations multicanaux.

En outre, toutes les exigences mentionnées dans la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-03, Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunications et de radiodiffusion, doivent être respectées par les titulaires de licence DGPS.

5.1 Admissibilité

Les titulaires de licence qui agissent à titre d'usagers radio doivent se conformer en tout temps aux critères d'admissibilité établis au paragraphe 9(1) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Ils doivent informer à l'avance le ministre de l'Industrie de tout changement susceptible d'avoir un impact sur leur admissibilité.

5.2 Délivrance des licences

Les demandes de licence pour stations radio DGPS peuvent être présentées en ligne directement à Industrie Canada, à l'aide de Spectre en direct, accessible sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les requérants peuvent également présenter leur demande au bureau de Gestion du spectre Note de bas de page 2 le plus près d'Industrie Canada. Les requérants sont également encouragés à consulter leur bureau local avant de présenter des demandes pour s'assurer que les fréquences demandées conviennent à leurs besoins.

5.3 Durée des licences

Les licences radio de DGPS viennent à échéance le 31 mars de chaque année. Les titulaires de licence doivent en payer les droits annuels de renouvellement avant le 31 mars de chaque année pour l'année subséquente (du 1er avril au 31 mars).

5.4 Droits de licence

Les droits de licence pour les stations mobiles et fixes ou transportables seront facturés conformément aux annexes applicables au service de radiorepérage, comme l'indiquent les paragraphes 60(3) et 62(1) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication.

5.5 Normes de service

Les systèmes DGPS fonctionnent normalement en fonction de points-zones. Par conséquent, la norme de service du Ministère en vigueur à l'égard de la délivrance de licences pour le service mobile terrestre s'applique. Cette norme prévoit jusqu'à 7 semaines pour la délivrance d'une licence de station radio, à compter de la date de réception d'une demande complète et pour laquelle aucune coordination n'est requise auprès d'une administration étrangère ou d'un autre organisme.

5.6 Coordination internationale

Les licences de DGPS doivent satisfaire aux exigences en vigueur et à venir des arrangements applicables de coordination et de partage transfrontaliers des fréquences établis entre le Canada et d'autres pays et, modifiés de temps à autre.

6. Considérations techniques

Les titulaires sont tenus de se conformer à toutes les procédures sur les normes radioélectriques (PNR), aux plans normalisés de réseaux hertziens (PNRH) et autres procédures techniques existantes et à venir, applicables à la bande de fréquences prévue dans laquelle il est proposé d'exploiter les stations.

7. Documents connexes

Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences 9 kHz à 275 GHz (édition 2009)

Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-0-03, Systèmes d'antennes de radiocommunication et de radiodiffusion

Circulaire d'information sur les radiocommunications CIR-66, Adresses et numéros de téléphone des bureaux régionaux et de districts

PNRH-500, Prescriptions techniques relatives aux services radio terrestres mobiles et fixes fonctionnant dans les bandes 138-144 MHz et 148-174 MHz

PNRH-501, Prescriptions techniques relatives aux services radio terrestres mobiles et fixes fonctionnant dans les bandes 406,1-430 MHz et 450-470 MHz

CNR-119, Émetteurs et récepteurs radio mobiles terrestres et fixes fonctionnant dans la gamme de fréquences 27,41-960 MHz

Date de modification :