International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
Review of the International Telecommunication Regulations (ITRs)
2012 World Conference on International Telecommunications (WCIT-2012)
Canadian Preparatory Committee (CPC/ITU-WCIT)


Background

The International Telecommunication Regulations (ITRs) are a treaty-binding instrument of the ITU that establishes the general principles and the provisions governing international telecommunication services.

The ITRs and the Radio Regulations (RR) form the Administrative Regulations of the ITU and complement the Constitution and Convention of the ITU. The ITRs were adopted at the 1988 World Administrative Telegraph and Telephone Conference (WATTC-88) held in Melbourne, Australia. The ITRs have remained unchanged since coming into force on July 1, 1990.

A World Conference on International Telecommunications (WCIT) to review and update the ITRs is to be convened by the ITU. It will be held either in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, or in Geneva, Switzerland, in November 2012, immediately following the ITU World Telecommunication Standardization Assembly (WTSA).

Note:

The matters contained in the ITRs, such as accounting principles, are largely dealt with in the ITU Telecommunication Standardization Sector. However, the WCIT is a full ITU treaty conference.

Preparatory Process and Engagement of Canadian Stakeholders

A Canadian Preparatory Committee for WCIT (CPC/ITU-WCIT) is being established to enable inclusive and effective participation by Canada in the activities associated with the preparations for the ITU-WCIT and in negotiations at the conference.

The objective of the CPC/ITU-WCIT is to promote and coordinate Canada’s participation in the preparatory and regional meetings of the ITU-WCIT, so that an effective, consistent, agreed viewpoint is expressed by Canada. The establishment of the CPC/ITU-WCIT will also allow the Government of Canada to follow the preparatory meetings of regional telecommunication organizations, such as the Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL), the European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) and the Asia-Pacific Telecommunity (APT), among others.

The CPC/ITU-WCIT will be made up of representatives of Industry Canada, other government departments and representatives of Canadian entities incorporated in Canada that express an interest in the work concerning the ITRs. Canadian experts in the telecommunications field representing telecommunication providers, user groups, manufacturers, universities or other organizations are invited to participate. Consultants and lobbyists participating in the CPC/ITU-WCIT are responsible for ensuring full compliance with the terms and conditions of the Lobbyists Registration Act.

Contact

For further information on the CPC/ITU-WCIT and upcoming meetings, please contact Ms. Wennin Chiu, Policy Advisor, International Telecommunications Policy and Coordination, Industry Canada, at wennin.chiu@ic.gc.ca, telephone: 613-960-0139.

Links

ITU WCIT: http://www.itu.int/council/groups/cwg-wcit12/
ITRs: http://www.itu.int/osg/csd/wtpf/wtpf2009/documents/ITU_ITRs_88.pdf
Lobbyists Registration Act: http://www.ocl-cal.gc.ca/eic/site/lobbyist-lobbyiste1.nsf/eng/Home

Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT)
Révision du Règlement des télécommunications internationales (RTI)
Conférence mondiale de 2012 sur les technologies de l'information (CMTI-2012)
Comité préparatoire canadien (CPC/UIT-CMTI)


Contexte

Le Règlement des télécommunications internationales (RTI) est un outil de l’UIT ayant force obligatoire et la portée d’un traité. Il met en place des principes généraux et des dispositions régissant les services de télécommunications à l’échelle internationale.

Le RTI et le Règlement des radiocommunications (RR) constituent les règlements administratifs de l’UIT et sont complémentaires à la Constitution et à la Convention de l’UIT. Le RTI a été adopté dans le cadre de la Conférence administrative télégraphique et téléphonique internationale de 1988 (CAMTT-88), qui s’est déroulée à Melbourne, en Australie. Aucune modification n’a été apportée au RTI depuis son entrée en vigueur le 1er juillet 1990.

L’UIT organisera une conférence mondiale sur les technologies de l'information en vue d’examiner et de mettre à jour le RTI. L’événement se déroulera à Dubaï, aux Émirats arabes unis, ou à Genève, en Suisse, en novembre 2012, immédiatement après l’Assemblée mondiale de normalisation des télécommunications (AMNT) de l’UIT.

Note :

Les points qui figurent au RTI, comme les principes de comptabilité, seront traités en grande partie par le Secteur de la normalisation des télécommunications de l’UIT. Le CMTI reste toutefois une conférence du traité de l’UIT à part entière.

Processus préparatoire et participation des intervenants canadiens

Un comité préparatoire canadien au CMTI (CPC/UIT-CMTI) est mis en place afin de permettre la participation inclusive et efficace du Canada aux activités liées aux préparations du CMTI de l’UIT et aux négociations qui auront lieu dans le cadre de la conférence.

L’objectif du CPC/UIT-CMTI est de promouvoir et de coordonner la participation du Canada aux réunions préparatoires et régionales du CMTI de l’UIT afin qu’il puisse exprimer son point de vue de façon efficace, convenue et uniforme. De plus, le CPC/UIT-CMTI permettra au gouvernement du Canada de faire le suivi des réunions préparatoires des organisations régionales dans le domaine des télécommunications, notamment la Commission interaméricaine des télécommunications (CITEL), la Conférence européenne des administrations des postes et des télécommunications (CEPT) et la Télécommunauté Asie-Pacifique (APT).

Le CPC/ITU-CMTI sera composé de représentants d’Industrie Canada, d’autres ministères, ainsi que de représentants d’entités canadiennes constituées en personne morale au Canada qui souhaitent participer aux efforts liés au RTI. Des spécialistes canadiens des télécommunications représentant des fournisseurs de télécommunications, des groupes d'utilisateurs, des fabricants, des universités ou d'autres organismes sont invités à participer. Les experts-conseils et les lobbyistes qui prennent part au CPC/UIT-CMTI doivent assurer une conformité complète aux modalités de la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes.

Personne-ressource

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le CPC/UIT-CMTI et les réunions à venir, veuillez communiquer avec Madame Wennin Chiu, conseillère en politiques, Politique et coordination des télécommunications internationales, Industrie Canada, par courriel à wennin.chiu@ic.gc.ca, ou par téléphone au 613-960-0139.

Hyperliens

CMTI de l’UIT : http://www.itu.int/council/groups/cwg-wcit12/ (Disponible en anglais seulement)
RTI : http://www.itu.int/osg/csd/wtpf/wtpf2009/documents/ITU_ITRs_88.pdf
Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes : http://www.ocl-cal.gc.ca/eic/site/lobbyist-lobbyiste1.nsf/fra/accueil