Gazette Notice SMSE-010-11

Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMSE–010–11 — Consultation on Spectrum Utilization of Frequency Bands 71-76 GHz, 81-86-GHz and 92-95 GHz by the Fixed Service

The intent of this notice is to initiate, through the release of the above–mentioned document, a second round of public consultation on Industry Canada's proposed policy for the use of the bands 71–76 GHz, 81–86 GHz and 92–95 GHz by the fixed service.

Discussion

The Department has been approached by the wireless industry to make available the bands 71–76 GHz, 81–86 GHz and 92–95 GHz to the fixed service in support of the deployment of broadband applications. The unique propagation conditions that exist in these millimetre–wave frequency bands and the use of highly directional pencil–sized beams can provide for gigabit capacity in a spectrum environment where close proximity deployments can be achieved while minimizing the potential for interference.

This consultation provides an opportunity to comment on the future use of these bands by the fixed service, including designation, band plan, technical characteristics and the licensing approach.

Submitting comments

Interested parties should submit their comments no later than October 21, 2011. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received and any other relevant information will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) to the following e-mail addressSpectrum.Engineering@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch, Industry Canada, 19th Floor, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa Ontario K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (SMSE–010–11).

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Publishing and Depository Services at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

July 8, 2011

space to insert signature
MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Avis de la Gazette SMSE-010-11

Ministère de l'Industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no SMSE-010-11 — Consultation sur l'utilisation des bandes de fréquences 71-76 GHz, 81-86 GHz et 92-95 GHz par le service fixe

Dans le présent avis, Industrie Canada annonce, par la publication du document susmentionné, le lancement d'une deuxième ronde de consultation publique au sujet de sa politique proposée en vue de l'utilisation des bandes 71–76 GHz, 81–86 GHz et 92–95 GHz par le service fixe.

Discussion

Le Ministère a été invité par l'industrie du sans–fil à mettre les bandes 71–76 GHz, 81–86 GHz et 92–95 GHz à la disposition du service fixe à l'appui du déploiement d'applications à large bande. Les conditions uniques de propagation qui existent dans ces bandes de fréquences à ondes millimétriques, combinées à l'utilisation de faisceaux hautement directifs de la taille de bâtonnets, peuvent favoriser une capacité en giga–octets dans un milieu où il est possible d'effectuer des déploiements en étroite proximité, tout en maintenant les risques de brouillage au minimum.

La présente consultation fournit une occasion de faire part d'observations sur l'utilisation future de ces bandes par le service fixe, y compris la désignation, le plan de répartition des bandes, les caractéristiques techniques et le système d'attribution de licences.

Présentation d'observations

Les intéressés sont invités à faire part de leurs observations au plus tard le 21 octobre 2011. Peu après la clôture de la période de présentation d'observations, toutes les observations reçues et les autres renseignements pertinents seront versés sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les répondants sont invités à soumettre leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) à l'adresse électronique Spectrum.Engineering@ic.gc.ca, en y joignant une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation.

Les documents présentés par écrit doivent être adressés au Directeur général, direction générale du Génie, de la planification et des normes, Industrie Canada, 19e étage, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Tous les documents doivent citer la Gazette du Canada, partie I, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE–010–11).

Pour obtenir des exemplaires

Des exemplaires du présent avis et des documents cités sont disponibles par voie électronique sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada, à l'adresse www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Les intéressés peuvent consulter la version officielle des avis dans la Gazette du Canada, à l'adresse http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html, ou en obtenir des exemplaires imprimés en s'adressant au comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada, au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 8 juillet 2011

Le directeur général
Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
MARC DUPUIS

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :
  • Plus

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.