Gazette Notice SMSE-012-11

Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMSE–012–11 — Consultation on a Policy and Technical Framework for the Use of Non-Broadcasting Applications in the Television Broadcasting Bands Below 698 MHz

The intent of this notice is to initiate, through the release of the above–mentioned document, a public consultation on the use of non–broadcasting applications in television broadcasting frequency bands below 698 MHz.

Discussion

Through the release of its consultation paper, Industry Canada is initiating a consultation on a policy and technical framework for the use of non–broadcasting applications in television broadcasting frequency bands below 698 MHz. Comments are sought on the possible introduction of licence–exempt television white space devices, possible changes to the policy and regulatory framework for licensed remote rural broadband systems, and potential changes to the policy and regulatory framework for low-power apparatus, such as wireless microphones.

Television broadcasters, news and entertainment organizations, rural Internet service providers, manufacturers of wireless networking equipment and other stakeholders are encouraged to read the consultation document and to submit a reply to questions of interest to them.

Submitting comments

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF) to the following e-mail address: Spectrum.Engineering@ic.gc.ca, along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used.

Written submissions should be addressed to the Manager, Fixed Wireless Planning, Industry Canada, 19th Floor, 300  Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title and the notice reference number (SMSE-012-11). To ensure consideration, parties should submit their comments no later than November 4, 2011. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments received will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

The Department will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until December 2, 2011.

Following the initial comment period, the Department may, at its discretion, request additional information if needed to clarify significant positions or new proposals. In such a case, the reply comment deadline would be extended.

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Publishing and Depository Services at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

August 19, 2011

space to insert signature
MARC DUPUIS
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Avis de la Gazette SMSE-012-11

Ministère de l'Industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no SMSE–012–11 — Consultation sur un cadre politique et technique pour l'utilisation d'applications autres que la radiodiffusion dans les bandes de télévision inférieures à 698 MHz

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer, par la publication du document susmentionné, le lancement de la consultation publique au sujet de la politique proposée en vue de l'utilisation des bandes de télévision inférieures à 698 MHz.

Discussion

Par la publication de son document de consultation, Industrie Canada lance une discussion sur un cadre politique et technique visant l'utilisation d'applications autres que la radiodiffusion dans les bandes de télévision inférieures à 698 MHz. Des commentaires sont sollicités sur la potentielle arrivée sur le marché de dispositifs d'espaces blancs exemptes de licences pour le spectre de télévision, sur les changements qu'il faudra peut-être apporter au cadre politique et réglementaire concernant les systèmes à large bande en régions rurales éloignées, et, enfin, sur les modifications probables au cadre politique et réglementaire ayant trait aux appareils à faible puissance tels que les microphones sans fil.

Les télédiffuseurs, les agences de nouvelles et de divertissement, les fournisseurs de service Internet en régions rurales, les fabricants d'appareils de réseau sans fil, et autres parties intéressées sont encouragés à lire la consultation et soumettre leurs réponses aux questions qui leur sont d'intérêt.

Présentation des commentaires

Les répondants sont invités à soumettre leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF) à l'adresse électronique Genie–du–Spectre@ic.gc.ca, en y joignant une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation.

Les documents présentés par écrit doivent être adressés au Gestionnaire, Planification des communications fixes sans fil, Industrie Canada, 19e étage, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Tous les documents doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE–012–11). Pour garantir la prise en compte de leurs commentaires, les intéressés doivent les soumettre au plus tard le 4 novembre 2011. Peu après la fin de la période réservée aux commentaires, ces derniers seront versés sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

Le Ministère offrira également, aux personnes intéressées, la possibilité de répondre aux commentaires présentés par les autres parties. Ces commentaires seront acceptés jusqu'au 2 décembre 2011.

Après la période initiale de présentation des commentaires, le Ministère peut, à sa discrétion, demander des renseignements supplémentaires au besoin pour clarifier des opinions importantes ou des nouvelles propositions. Dans ce cas, la date limite de réaction aux commentaires sera reportée.

Pour obtenir des exemplaires

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont affichés sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada à l'adresse suivant : www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html. On peut également se procurer un exemplaire de la Gazette du Canada en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions et Services de dépôt au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 19 août 2011

Le directeur général,
Direction générale du Génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
MARC DUPUIS

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :
  • Plus

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.