NOTICE 2012-DRS0126

    Regulatory Standards Notice — Changes to RSS-Gen Issue 3 and RSS-310 Issue 3

    This is to give notice that Radio Standards Specification-Gen, RSS-Gen: General Requirements and Information for the Certification of Radio Apparatus, Issue 3, section 2.2 Receivers, has been revised. Note that RSS-Gen sets out general requirements applicable to Industry Canada certification of radio apparatus used for radiocommunication other than broadcasting. Furthermore, Radio Standards Specification 310, RSS-310: Licence-exempt Radio Apparatus (All Frequency Bands): Category II Equipment, Issue 3, section 3.1, is no longer required. The following is effective as of the publication date of this notice.

    2.2 Receivers

    2.2.1 Scanner Receivers

    Scanner receivers (analogue and digital) require equipment certification and are covered under their own specific RSS standards.

    2.2.2 Stand-alone Receivers Operating in the Band 30-960 MHz

    A stand-alone receiver is defined as any receiver that is not permanently combined together with a transmitter in a single case (transceiver), in which it functions as the receiver component of the transceiver.

    2.2.2.1 Stand-alone receivers that operate in the band 30 to 960 MHz shall comply with the limits for receiver spurious emissions set out in RSS-Gen. Testing is required, and the manufacturer, importer or distributor shall ensure that the results are compiled into a test report, to be made available to Industry Canada upon request. Equipment certification is not required for these receivers; however, labelling is required.

    Text for the Industry Canada Compliance Label:CAN RSS-Gen/CNR-Gen

    2.2.3 Receivers Excluded from Industry Canada Requirements

    Only radiocommunication receivers operating in stand-alone mode within the band 30-960 MHz and scanner receivers are subject to Industry Canada requirements, as described above. All other receivers are excluded from any Industry Canada certification, testing, labelling and reporting requirements.

    Note: Determination of Interference

    The following applies to all radiocommunication equipment whether or not the equipment complies with applicable standards, or whether or not applicable standards exist for the equipment.

    Where the Department determines that a model or several models of equipment cause or are likely to cause interference to radiocommunication or suffer from or are likely to suffer from adverse effects of electromagnetic energy, the Department shall give notice of the determination to persons who are likely to be affected thereby. No person shall manufacture, import, distribute, lease, offer for sale, sell, install or use equipment in respect of which a notice has been given.

    Where the Department determines that a unit of equipment causes or suffers from interference or adverse effects of electromagnetic energy, the Department shall order the persons in possession or control of the equipment to cease or modify operation of the equipment until such time as it can be operated without causing or being affected by such interference or such adverse effects.

    Hughes Nappert
    Manager, Regulatory Standards
    Industry Canada
    January 2012

AVIS 2012-DRS00126

    Avis sur les normes réglementaires — Modification du CNR-Gen, 3e édition et CNR-310, 3e édition

    La présente a pour but d’annoncer la révision de la 3e édition du Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR-Gen), intitulé Exigences générales et information relatives à la certification des appareils radio, à la section 2.2, intitulée « Récepteurs ». De plus, la section 3.1 du Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 310, 3e édition, intitulée Appareils radio exempts de licence (pour toutes les bandes de fréquences) : matériel de catégorie II, n’est plus applicable. Les dispositions suivantes entrent en vigueur à la date de cet avis.

    2.2 Récepteurs

    2.2.1 Récepteurs à balayage

    Les récepteurs à balayage (analogiques et numériques) doivent faire l’objet d’un certificat d’approbation de matériel. Ils sont assujettis à un CNR particulier.

    2.2.2 Récepteurs autonomes qui fonctionnent dans la bande 30-960 MHz

    On entend par « récepteur autonome » tout récepteur qui n'est pas combiné en permanence à un émetteur dans un boîtier unique (émetteur-récepteur), dans lequel il assure la fonction de réception de l'émetteur-récepteur.

    2.2.2.1 Les récepteurs autonomes qui fonctionnent dans la bande 30-960 MHz doivent se conformer aux limites de rayonnements non essentiels du récepteur énoncées dans le CNR-Gen. Les essais doivent être réalisés, et le fabricant, l’importateur ou le distributeur doit veiller à ce que les résultats soient réunis dans un rapport d’essai, qui sera transmis à Industrie Canada sur demande. Ces récepteurs ne sont toutefois pas soumis à des exigences de certification, cependant un étiquetage de conformité est requis.

    Texte pour l'étiquette de conformité d'Industrie Canada : CAN RSS-Gen/CNR-Gen

    2.2.3 Récepteurs exempts des exigences d’Industrie Canada

    Seuls les récepteurs de radiocommunication autonomes fonctionnant dans la bande 30-960 MHz et les récepteurs à balayage sont soumis aux exigences d’Industrie Canada données ci-dessus. Tous les autres récepteurs sont exempts de toute exigence d’Industrie Canada en ce qui concerne la certification, la mise à l’essai, l’étiquetage et la production de rapport.

    Note : Détermination de l’existence de brouillage

    Ce qui suit s'applique à tous les équipements de radiocommunication, peu importe s’ils sont conformes aux normes applicables ou si de telles normes existent pour ces équipements.

    Lorsque le Ministère détermine qu’un ou plusieurs modèles d’équipement brouillent ou sont susceptibles de brouiller la radiocommunication, ou qu’ils subissent ou risquent de subir les effets nuisibles d’une énergie électromagnétique, le Ministère avisera quiconque risquerait d’en être affecté. Il est interdit de fabriquer, d’importer, de distribuer, de louer, de mettre en vente, de vendre, d’installer ou d’utiliser du matériel au sujet duquel un avis a été donné.

    Lorsque le Ministère détermine qu’une pièce d’équipement cause ou subit du brouillage provenant des effets nuisibles de l’énergie électromagnétique, le Ministère avisera quiconque est en possession ou en contrôle de cet équipement d’en cesser ou d’en modifier l’utilisation jusqu’à ce que celui-ci puisse fonctionner sans causer ou sans être affecté par ce brouillage ou par ces effets nuisibles.

    Hughes Nappert
    Directeur des Normes réglementaires
    Industrie Canada
    Janvier 2012