Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of Spectrum Licences in the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Bands — Appendix 2

Appendix 2 – Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations for the 2300 MHz and 3500 MHz Bands

As part of this policy framework, the Department proposes the following provisional changes to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations to reflect the application of spectrum utilization policies for Wireless Communication Services (WCS) and Mobile Aeronautical Telemetry Services (MATS) in the 2300 MHz band and Radiolocation and Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) Systems in the 3500 MHz band. The modifications and footnotes, reflected below, will be incorporated into the next publication of the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations. The Department welcomes any comments on the language of these footnotes.

Changes under the 2300 MHz band have evolved through the Revisions to the Spectrum Utilization Policy for Services in the Frequency Range 2285–2483.5 MHz policy (DGTP-003-01). Changes under the 3500 MHz band have evolved through the 1998 policy entitled, SP 3400-3700 MHz, Spectrum Policy and Licensing Provisions for Fixed Wireless Access Systems in Rural Areas in the Frequency Range 3400–3700 MHz and the subsequent Gazette Notices released in February (DGTP-002-03) and April of 2003 (DGTP-006-03). The latter restructured the spectrum based on radiolocation and fixed service requirements.

1. Conventions Used to Make Modifications to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations

Underlining
When used in the Table, underlining proposes the addition of a radio service or footnote. It is also used in the text of Canadian footnotes to identify proposed additional text.
Strikeout
When used in the Table, a strikeout proposes the deletion of a radio service or footnote. It is also used in the text of Canadian footnotes to identify proposed deleted text.
5.XXX
This is the form of the designation of international footnotes.
ADD
This is used in a list of footnotes to indicate an international footnote created at WRC-2003 or a proposed new Canadian footnote.
CAN
This identifies a Canadian footnote.
MOD
This indicates an international footnote modified at WRC-2003 or a Canadian footnote proposed for modification. These appear in both the Table and in the lists of footnotes.
Table Entry
A Table Entry printed in text-uppercase letters are referred to as "primary" services, while those printed in lower case are referred to as "secondary" services. Refer to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations for the distinction between primary and secondary services.

2. 2 300 – 2 450 MHz

2. 2 300 – 2 450 MHz
2 300 – 2 450 MHz

FIXED
MOBILE  5.394 ADD C12 ADD C17
RADIOLOCATION
Amateur

5.150 5.282 5.396 ADD C13 C37
ADD C12 (CAN-03)
The band 2 360–2 400 MHz is designated for Mobile Aeronautical Telemetry Service (MATS) applications. The Government of Canada has priority on the use of this band. Access to spectrum by other entities for MATS applications may be permitted subject to coordination with the Government of Canada systems.
ADD C13 (CAN-03)
The bands 2 305–2 320 MHz and 2 345–2 360 MHz are designated for Wireless Communication Service (WCS) applications under the fixed and mobile service allocations. Use of these bands is subject to domestic spectrum utilization policy.
ADD C17 (CAN-03)
In the band 2 300–2 360 MHz, mobile aeronautical telemetry systems may be authorized on a secondary basis on certain military bases and vicinities where it does not constrain the implementation of wireless communication services and other services.
C37 (CAN-94)
Station operators in the band 2 400–2 500 MHz should be aware of the potential interference from microwave ovens and licence-exempt low power radio devices, particularly in urban areas.
5.150
The following bands:

13 553–13 567 kHz (centre frequency 13 560 kHz),

26 957–27 283 kHz (centre frequency 27 120 kHz),

40.66–40.70 MHz (centre frequency 40.68 MHz),

902–928 MHz in Region 2 (centre frequency 915 MHz),

2 400–2 500 MHz (centre frequency 2 450 MHz),

5 725–5 875 MHz (centre frequency 5 800 MHz), and

24–24.25 GHz (centre frequency 24.125 GHz)

are also designated for industrial, scientific and medical (ISM) applications. Radiocommunication services operating within these bands must accept harmful interference which may be caused by these applications. ISM equipment operating in these bands is subject to the provisions of No. 15.13.

5.282
In the bands 435–438 MHz, 1 260–1 270 MHz, 2 400–2 450 MHz, 3 400–3 410 MHz (in Regions 2 and 3 only) and 5 650–5 670 MHz, the amateur-satellite service may operate subject to not causing harmful interference to other services operating in accordance with the Table (see No. 5.43). Administrations authorizing such use shall ensure that any harmful interference caused by emissions from a station in the amateur-satellite service is immediately eliminated in accordance with the provisions of No. 25.11. The use of the bands 1 260–1 270 MHz and 5 650–5 670 MHz by the amateur-satellite service is limited to the Earth-to-space direction.
5.394
In the United States, the use of the band 2 300–2 390 MHz by the aeronautical mobile service for telemetry has priority over other uses by the mobile services. In Canada, the use of the band 2 300–2 483.5 MHz by the aeronautical mobile service for telemetry has priority over other uses by the mobile services.
5.396
Space stations of the broadcasting-satellite service in the band 2 310–2 360 MHz operating in accordance with No. 5.393 that may affect the services to which this band is allocated in other countries shall be coordinated and notified in accordance with Resolution 33 (Rev. WRC-97). Complementary terrestrial broadcasting stations shall be subject to bilateral coordination with neighbouring countries prior to their bringing into use.

3. 3 400 – 4 200 MHz

3. 3 400 – 4 200 MHz
3 400 - 3 450 MHz FIXED C15
RADIOLOCATION 5.433 C5
Amateur
3 450 - 3 500 MHz FIXED ADD C18
RADIOLOCATION 5.433
Amateur 5.282

MOD C15
3 500 – 4 200 MHz FIXED ADD C18
FIXED-SATELLITE (space-to-Earth)
ADD C20
C5
For the exclusive use of the Government of Canada.
MOD C15 (CAN-03)
In the band 3 400 3 450 - 3 500 MHz, in certain locations in Canada the radiolocation service has priority over the fixed service. Consequently, the deployment of fixed systems will be subject to successful coordination with radar facilities operated by the Government of Canada. The Department will identify through spectrum policy the general area of radiolocation system operation.
ADD C18 (CAN-03)
The band 3 450 – 3 650 MHz is designated for fixed wireless access applications under the fixed service allocation.
ADD C20 (CAN-03)
In the band 3 500 – 3 650 MHz, the fixed-satellite earth-stations will be located in areas so as not to constrain the implementation of fixed wireless access systems.
5.149 In making assignments to stations of other services to which the bands:

13 360–13 410 kHz,
25 550–25 670 kHz,
37.5–38.25 MHz,
73–74.6 MHz in Regions 1 and 3,
150.05–153 MHz in Region 1,
322–328.6 MHz,
406.1–410 MHz,
608–614 MHz in Regions 1 and 3,
1 330–1 400 MHz,
1 610.6–1 613.8 MHz,
1 660–1 670 MHz,
1 718.8–1 722.2 MHz,
2 655–2 690 MHz,
3 332–3 339 MHz,
3 345.8–3 352.5 MHz,
4 825–4 835 MHz,
4 950–4 990 MHz,
4 990–5 000 MHz,
6 650–6 675.2 MHz,
10.6–10.68 GHz,
14.47–14.5 GHz,
22.01–22.21 GHz,
22.21–22.5 GHz,
22.81–22.86 GHz,
23.07–23.12 GHz,
31.2–31.3 GHz,
31.5–31.8 GHz in Regions 1 and 3,
36.43–36.5 GHz,
42.5–43.5 GHz,
42.77–42.87 GHz,
43.07–43.17 GHz,
43.37–43.47 GHz,
48.94–49.04 GHz,
76–86 GHz,
94.1–100 GHz,
102–109.5 GHz,
111.8–114.25 GHz,
128.33–128.59 GHz,
129.23–129.49 GHz,
130–134 GHz,
136–148.5 GHz,
151.5–158.5 GHz,
168.59–168.93 GHz,
171.11–171.45 GHz,
172.31–172.65 GHz,
173.52–173.85 GHz,
195.75–196.15 GHz,
209–226 GHz,
241–250 GHz,
252–275 GHz

are allocated, administrations are urged to take all practicable steps to protect the radio astronomy service from harmful interference. Emissions from spaceborne or airborne stations can be particularly serious sources of interference to the radio astronomy service (see Nos. 4.5 and 4.6 and Article 29). (WRC-2000)

5.282
In the bands 435–438 MHz, 1 260–1 270 MHz, 2 400–2 450 MHz, 3 400–3 410 MHz (in Regions 2 and 3 only) and 5 650–5 670 MHz, the amateur-satellite service may operate subject to not causing harmful interference to other services operating in accordance with the Table (see No. 5.433). Administrations authorizing such use shall ensure that any harmful interference caused by emissions from a station in the amateur-satellite service is immediately eliminated in accordance with the provisions of No. 25.11. The use of the bands 1 260–1 270 MHz and 5 650–5 670 MHz by the amateur-satellite service is limited to the Earth-to-space direction.
5.433
In Regions 2 and 3, in the band 3 400–3 600 MHz the radiolocation service is allocated on a primary basis. However, all administrations operating radiolocation systems in this band are urged to cease operations by 1985. Thereafter, administrations shall take all practicable steps to protect the fixed-satellite service and coordination requirements shall not be imposed on the fixed-satellite service.

Date modified:

Politique et procédures pour la délivrance de licences de spectre par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 2 300 MHz et de 3 500 MHz — Annexe 2

Annexe 2 – Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences – Attribution aux bandes 2 300 MHz et 3 500 MHz

Dans le présent cadre de politique, le Ministère propose les modifications provisoires suivantes au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, qui refléteront l'application des politiques d'utilisation du spectre pour les services de communications sans fil (SCSF) et les services mobiles aéronautiques pour la télémesure (SMAT) dans la bande 2 300 MHz et les services d'accès fixes sans fil (AFSF) dans la bande 3 500 MHz. Les modifications et les renvois, indiqués ci-dessous, seront incorporés dans la prochaine publication du Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquence. Le Ministère souhaite recevoir tout commentaire sur le libellé de ces renvois.

Les modifications apportées à la bande 2 300 MHz ont été élaborées dans le document Révisions à la politique d'utilisation du spectre pour les services exploités dans la gamme de fréquences 2 285-2 483,5 MHz (avis no DGTP-003-01). Les modifications apportées à la bande 3 500 MHz ont été élaborées dans la politique de 1998 intitulé PS 3 400-3 700 MHz,intitulée Politique du spectre et disposition sur l'attribution de licences pour les systèmes fixes d'accès sans fil dans les régions rurales dans la gamme de fréquences de 3 400-3 700 MHz, et dans les avis dans la Gazette ultérieurs publiés en février 2003 (DGTP-002-03) et en avril 2003 (DGTP-006-03). Ce dernier restructure le spectre en fonction des exigences de radiolocalisation et des services fixes.

1. Conventions utilisées pour les modifications apportées au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences

Soulignement
Le soulignement dans le Tableau indique une proposition d'ajout d'un service radio ou d'un renvoi. Le soulignement sert aussi, dans le texte d'un renvoi canadien, à identifier un texte supplémentaire proposé.
Texte rayé
Utilisé dans le Tableau, un trait tiré sur du texte propose la suppression d'un service radio ou d'un renvoi. Dans un renvoi canadien, un trait identifie le texte dont on propose la suppression.
5.XXX
5.xxx est la façon de désigner un renvoi international.
ADD
Dans une liste de renvois, indique un renvoi international créé par la CMR-2003 ou un nouveau renvoi canadien proposé.
CAN
Identifie un renvoi canadien.
MOD
Indique un renvoi international modifié par la CMR2003 ou une proposition de modification de renvoi canadien. Apparaît aussi bien dans le Tableau que dans les listes de renvois.
Entrées
Les entrées imprimées en majuscules indiquent des services « primaires », et celles imprimées en minuscules indiquent des services « secondaires ». Se référer au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences pour connaître la distinction entre les services à titre primaire et à titre secondaire.

2. 2 300 - 2 450 MHz

2. 2 300 - 2 450 MHz
2 300 - 2 450 MHz FIXE
MOBILE 5.394 ADD C12 ADD C17
RADIOLOCALISATION
Amateur

5.150 5.282 5.396 ADD C13 C37

ADD C12 (CAN-03)
La bande 2 360-2 400 MHz est désignée pour les applications du service mobile aéronautique de télémesure (SMAT). Le gouvernement du Canada est l'utilisateur prioritaire de cette bande. L'accès par d'autres entités du spectre pour le SMAT est assujetti à la coordination avec les systèmes du gouvernement du Canada.
ADD C13 (CAN-03)
Les bandes 2 305-2 320 MHz et 2 345-2 360 MHz sont désignées pour les applications des services de communication sans fil (SCSF) en conformité des attributions aux services mobile et fixe. L'utilisation de ces bandes est assujettie à la politique d'utilisation du spectre.
ADD C17 (CAN-03)
Le service mobile aéronautique de télémesure (SMAT) peut être autorisé dans la bande 2 300 - 2 360 MHz à titre secondaire sur certaines bases militaires et leurs environs, où la mise en oeuvre des services de communications sans fil et d'autres services ne sera pas entravée.
C37 (CAN-94)
Les exploitants de stations fonctionnant dans la bande 2 400 - 2 500 MHz doivent être conscients des possibilités de brouillage causé par les fours à micro-ondes et les dispositifs radio de faible puissance, exemptés de licence, surtout dans les zones urbaines.
5.150
Les bandes suivantes :

13 553-13 567 kHz (fréquence centrale 13 560 kHz),

26 957-27 283 kHz (fréquence centrale 27 120 kHz),

40,66-40,70 MHz (fréquence centrale 40,68 MHz),

902-928 MHz dans la Région 2 (fréquence centrale 915 MHz),

2 400-2 500 MHz (fréquence centrale 2 450 MHz),

5 725-5 875 MHz (fréquence centrale 5 800 MHz), et

24-24,25 GHz (fréquence centrale 24,125 GHz)

sont également utilisables pour les applications industrielles, scientifiques et médicales (ISM). Les services de radiocommunication fonctionnant dans ces bandes doivent accepter les brouillages préjudiciables qui peuvent se produire du fait de ces applications. Les appareils ISM fonctionnant dans ces bandes sont soumis aux dispositions du numéro 15.13.

5.282
Le service d'amateur par satellite peut fonctionner dans les bandes 435-438 MHz, 1 260-1 270 MHz, 2 400-2 450 MHz, 3 400-3 410 MHz (dans les Régions 2 et 3 seulement) et 5 650-5 670 MHz, à condition qu'il n'en résulte pas de brouillage préjudiciable aux autres services fonctionnant conformément au Tableau (voir le numéro 5.43). Les administrations qui autoriseront cette utilisation doivent faire en sorte que tout brouillage préjudiciable causé par les émissions d'une station du service d'amateur par satellite soit immédiatement éliminé, conformément aux dispositions du numéro 25.11. L'utilisation des bandes 1 260-1 270 MHz et 5 650-5 670 MHz par le service d'amateur par satellite est limitée au sens Terre vers espace.
5.394
Aux États-Unis, l'utilisation de la bande 2 300-2 390 MHz par le service mobile aéronautique pour la télémesure a la priorité sur les autres utilisations par les services obiles. Au Canada, l'utilisation de la bande 2 300-2 483,5 MHz par le service mobile aéronautique pour la télémesure a la priorité sur les autres utilisations par les services mobiles.
5.396
Les stations spatiales du service de radiodiffusion par satellite exploitées dans la bande 2 310-2 360 MHz selon le numéro 5.393 et susceptibles d'affecter les services auxquels cette bande est attribuée dans d'autres pays sont subordonnées à l'application des procédures de coordination et de notification exposées dans la Résolution 33 (Rév. CMR97). Les stations de radiodiffusion de Terre complémentaires doivent faire l'objet d'une coordination bilatérale avec les pays voisins avant d'être mises en service.

3. 3 400 - 4 200 MHz

3. 3 400 - 4 200 MHz
3 400 - 3 450 MHz FIXE C15
RADIOLOCALISATION 5.433 C5
Amateur
3 450 - 3 500 MHz FIXE ADD C18
RADIOLOCALISATION 5.433
Amateur 5.282 MOD C15
3 500 – 4 200 MHz FIXE ADD C18
FIXE-SATELLITE (espace vers Terre)
ADD C20
C5
Cette bande est à l'usage exclusif du gouvernement du Canada.
MODC15 (CAN-03)
Dans la bande 3 400 3 450 - 3 500 MHz, le service de radiolocalisation a une priorité sur le service fixe dans certaines régions du Canada  En conséquence, le déploiement des systèmes fixes fera l'objet d'une coordination avec les entreprises radar exploitées par le gouvernement du Canada. Le Ministère identifiera dans le cadre d'une politique d'utilisation du spectre les zones dans lesquelles seront exploités les systèmes de radiolocalisation.
ADD C18 (CAN-03)
La bande 3 450 - 3 650 MHz est désignée pour les applications d'accès fixe sans fil en vertu de l'attribution du service fixe.
ADD C20 (CAN-03)
Dans la bande 3 500 - 3 650 MHz, les stations terriennes du service fixepar satellite seront localisées de façon à ne pas entraver la mise en oeuvre des systèmes d'accès fixe sans fil.
5.149
En assignant des fréquences aux stations des autres services auxquels les bandes :

13 360-13 410 kHz,
25 550-25 670 kHz,
37,5-38,25 MHz,
73-74,6 MHz dans les Régions 1 et 3,
150,05-153 MHz dans la Région 1,
322-328,6 MHz,
406,1-410 MHz,
608-614 MHz dans les Régions 1 et 3,
1 330-1 400 MHz,
1 610,6-1 613,8 MHz,
1 660-1 670 MHz,
1 718,8-1 722,2 MHz,
2 655-2 690 MHz,
3 260-3 267 MHz,
3 332-3 339 MHz,
3 345,8-3 352,5 MHz,
4 825-4 835 MHz,
4 950-4 990 MHz,
4 990-5 000 MHz,
6 650-6 675,2 MHz,
10,6-10,68 GHz,
14,47-14,5 GHz,
22,01-22,21 GHz,
22,21-22,5 GHz,
22,81-22,86 GHz,
23,07-23,12 GHz,
31,2-31,3 GHz,
31,5-31,8 GHz dans les Régions 1 et 3,
36,43-36,5 GHz,
42,5-43,5 GHz,
42,77-42,87 GHz,
43,07-43,17 GHz,
43,37-43,47 GHz,
48,94-49,04 GHz,
76-86 GHz,
92-94 GHz,
94,1-100 GHz,
102-109,5 GHz,
111,8-114,25 GHz,
128,33-128,59 GHz,
129,23-129,49 GHz,
130-134 GHz,
136-148,5 GHz,
151,5-158,5 GHz,
168,59-168,93 GHz,
171,11-171,45 GHz,
172,31-172,65 GHz,
173,52-173,85 GHz,
195,75-196,15 GHz,
209-226 GHz,
241-250 GHz,
252-275 GHz

sont attribuées, les administrations sont instamment priées de prendre toutes les mesures pratiquement réalisables pour protéger le service de radioastronomie contre les brouillages préjudiciables. Les émissions provenant de stations à bord d'engins spatiaux ou d'aéronefs peuvent constituer des sources de brouillage particulièrement importantes pour le service de radioastronomie (voir les numéros 4.5 et 4.6 et l'article 29). (CMR2000)

5.282
Le service d'amateur par satellite peut fonctionner dans les bandes 435-438 MHz, 1 260-1 270 MHz, 2 400-2 450 MHz, 3 400-3 410 MHz (dans les Régions 2 et 3 seulement) et 5 650-5 670 MHz, à condition qu'il n'en résulte pas de brouillage préjudiciable aux autres services fonctionnant conformément au Tableau (voir le numéro 5.433). Les administrations qui autoriseront cette utilisation doivent faire en sorte que tout brouillage préjudiciable causé par les émissions d'une station du service d'amateur par satellite soit immédiatement éliminé, conformément aux dispositions du numéro 25.11. L'utilisation des bandes 1 260-1 270 MHz et 5 650-5 670 MHz par le service d'amateur par satellite est limitée au sens Terre vers espace.
5.433
Dans les Régions 2 et 3, dans la bande 3 400-3 600 MHz, l'attribution au service de radiolocalisation est à titre primaire. Toutefois, toutes les administrations qui exploitent des systèmes de radiolocalisation dans cette bande sont instamment priées d'en cesser l'exploitation avant 1985. Après quoi, les administrations prendront toutes les mesures pratiquement possibles pour protéger le service fixe par satellite et faire en sorte que des besoins de coordination ne soient pas imposés au service fixe par satellite.

Date de modification :