Gazette Notice SMSE-003-12

Department of Industry

Department of Industry Act
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. SMSE-003-12Consultation on the Licensing Framework for Fixed-Satellite Service (FSS) and Broadcasting-Satellite Service (BSS) in Canada

The intent of this notice is to initiate, through the release of the above-mentioned document, a public consultation on modifications to various elements of Industry Canada's satellite licensing framework. In particular, Industry Canada is seeking views on the use of a first-come, first-served process to assign satellite spectrum at orbital positions for fixed and broadcasting satellite services, the fee regime applicable to assignments of fixed and broadcasting spectrum, and the obligations associated with satellite licences.

Submitting comments

Interested parties should submit their comments no later than May 23, 2012. Soon after the close of the comment period, all comments will be posted on Industry Canada's Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

The Department will also provide interested parties with the opportunity to reply to comments from other parties. Reply comments will be accepted until June 30, 2012. All comments and reply comments will be reviewed and considered by the Department in arriving at a final position on the issues raised in the consultation.

Respondents are requested to provide their comments in electronic format (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word or Adobe PDF), along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used, to the following email address: satelliteconsultation@ic.gc.ca. Written submissions should be addressed to the Director General, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch, Industry Canada, 19th Floor, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, the title, and the notice reference number (SMSE-003-12).

Obtaining copies

Copies of this notice and of documents referred to herein are available electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

Official versions of the Canada Gazette notices can be viewed at www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html. Printed copies of the Canada Gazette can be ordered by telephoning the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 613-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

March 9, 2012

space to insert signature
MARC DUPUIS

Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

Avis de la Gazette SMSE-003-12

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie
Loi sur la radiocommunication

Avis no SMSE-003-12Consultation sur le cadre de délivrance des licences pour les services fixes par satellite et les services de radiodiffusion par satellite au Canada

Le présent avis a pour objet d'annoncer, par la publication du document susmentionné, le lancement de la consultation publique sur les modifications apportées aux divers éléments de son cadre de délivrance des licences pour les services par satellite. En particulier, Industrie Canada sollicite des avis sur l'utilisation d'un processus fondé sur le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi pour attribuer le spectre satellite, selon les positions orbitales, pour les services fixes par satellite et les services de radiodiffusion par satellite, le régime de droits applicables aux licences d'utilisation du spectre pour les services fixes par satellite et les services de radiodiffusion par satellite, et les obligations associées aux licences de services par satellite.

Commentaires

Les parties intéressées doivent présenter leurs commentaires au plus tard le 23 mai 2012. Après cette date, toutes les observations seront affichées sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada (www.ic.gc.ca/spectre).

Le Ministère offrira également aux parties intéressées la possibilité de présenter des réponses aux observations des autres parties. Les réponses aux observations seront acceptées jusqu'au 30 juin 2012. Toutes les observations et les réponses aux observations seront examinées et prises en compte par le Ministère lors de la prise de décision finale concernant les questions soulevées au cours de la consultation.

Les répondants sont invités à présenter leurs observations sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word ou Adobe PDF), accompagnées d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version et le système d'exploitation utilisés), à l'adresse satelliteconsultation@ic.gc.ca. Les commentaires sur papier doivent être adressés au directeur général, du génie, de la planification et des normes, Industrie Canada, 19e étage, 300 rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8.

Toutes les soumissions doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (SMSE-003-12).

Pour obtenir des copies

Le présent avis ainsi que les documents cités sont affichés sur le site Web de Gestion du spectre et télécommunications à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre.

On peut obtenir la version officielle des avis de la Gazette du Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/pl/index-fra.html. On peut également se procurer un exemplaire de la Gazette du Canada en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions et Services de dépôt au 613-941-5995 ou au 1-800-635-7943.

Le 9 mars 2012

Le directeur général Direction générale du génie,
de la planification et des normes

Champ de saisie de la signature
MARC DUPUIS