Radio Spectrum Inventory: A 2010 Snapshot — Canada

Chapter 1 – Commercial Mobile

1.1 Background

1.1.1 Definition of Service

Commercial mobile service providers offer radiocommunication services to the general public. The services offered consist of mobile access to the Public Switched Telephone Network (PSTN), i.e. mobile telephony and, more recently, mobile access to the Internet. A commercial mobile service provider or licensee of this service, operating as a radiocommunication carrier must comply on an ongoing basis with the eligibility criteria in subsection 10(2) of the Radiocommunication Regulations and must adhere to laws prescribed in both the Radiocommunication Act and Telecommunications Act.

1.1.2 Types of Service/Applications

Mobile access to the PSTN was being offered over traditional two-way mobile radio networks until the early 1980s. These services were only available to an exclusive number of wealthy individuals and corporations, as the available capacity was limited – there were only a few hundred frequency channels available – and consumer costs were high.

The original mobile telephone service had several limitations. For example, mobile telephone calls could only last until the user moved out of the coverage area of the base station. These problems were resolved with the introduction of the cellular network architecture. Enabled by the increased electronics miniaturization and processing power, the cellular networks are characterized by two specific features:

  1. Frequency reuse – the network consists of a large number of base stations, which use the same frequencies many times over, in a defined geometric pattern, to manage the radio interference. The service area of each tower is called a cell. The geometric pattern resembles a honeycomb, which is a common symbol used in related literature. By employing the frequency reuse concept, the capacity of the cellular networks can be scaled up to tremendous values by simply making the cells smaller (i.e. using more towers). In theory, the capacity of a cellular network is infinite; in practice, there are limitations.
    Figure 1.1 – Cellular frequency reuse pattern
    Figure 1.1 – Cellular frequency re-use pattern with 21 hexagons representing cells, each containing a re-use factor.
  2. Hand-off ("Handover" in European literature) – is the feature by which a mobile device moving from one cell into another during a call is directed by the network to change its radio frequency over which it will continue communicating in the target cell. To maintain communication, the network instantaneously changes the path of the traffic voice or data channel from the first to the second tower. This ensures that a mobile telephone conversation can be carried over any length of time and at any distance as long as the user does not leave the coverage area of the network.

Over time, additional features were added to the service, including roaming, which enables users to receive service while outside of the coverage footprint of their service providers. With the advent of digital technologies, the service migrated from circuit-switched voice telephony to packet switched data which allowed access to the Internet. The mobile IP protocol was introduced in early 2000 enabling continuous mobile data sessions.

Many additional technical capabilities are required for a fully deployable operational system, including authentication, billing systems, encryption, etc. All of these add up to a high level of complexity for the whole system.

The above features enable the deployment of high capacity, extensive coverage, scalable radio networks, which make possible mass service provisioning to the general public at affordable prices. These advantages come at the price of equipment and network complexity, as well as very high capital costs to implement the extensive infrastructure required.

All mobile commercial networks in all frequency bands employ a limited number of technology standards, and all make use of the cellular architecture principles described above. As a result, these services are often referred to as "cellular like" services. For simplicity, the term "cellular" is also used interchangeably with "commercial mobile systems" in this report. This should not be confused with the "Cellular band" (824-849/869-894 MHz) – the first band allocated to this type of service in Canada and the United States in the early 1980s.

The cellular networks were initially introduced to overcome scarcity of spectrum in large metropolitan areas. The large available customer base supported the high capital and operational expenses required by the networks. In a relatively short time frame (a few decades), cellular telephones and related services have become technological products with one of the fastest growth rates in history. The "wireless industry," largely referring to commercial cellular services and the related technical/economic ecosystem, has become one of the pillars of economic growth and a large portion of the telecommunications sector. From this point of view, the cellular radio service is a good example of a new technological capability meeting a social need at the end of the 20th century.

Due to the tremendous success and popularity of the cellular service, more bands have been allocated to this service over time, as discussed in Section 1.2.

Specific to the cellular systems is the need for the spectrum licences to cover "bands" or "blocks" (rather than single channel frequencies) of frequencies over a specific geographic service area. Additional details on spectrum licensing are available in Section 1.2.3. The frequency reuse concept enables the cellular systems to make the most intensive use of spectrum. This has brought both economic and social benefits and, in a short time frame, the frequency spectrum became considered a valuable and limited resource. Initially, the licences were awarded based on fiat; later on, in recognition of the increased economic value and high demand for spectrum, the spectrum licences were auctioned.

As a service deployed in mass to the general public, and unlike many other specialized radio services, the cellular service (especially the handset portion) is subject to the technical and economic constraints impacting the consumer electronics industry, i.e. interoperability and economies of scale in manufacturing – recall VHS versus Betamax, etc. As Canada is a relatively small market, the technical standards and frequency bands of operations adopted here must be harmonized with larger international markets (United States, Europe, etc.) in order to ensure equipment availability at reasonable price points.

Although initially designed to overcome capacity limitations in high density areas, due to the popularity of the service over time, cellular services are also in high demand today in rural and remote areas. This is a challenging situation in many countries of the world, as this technology is neither geared towards, nor economically effective for deployment in remote and low density areas. From radio spectrum management, technological and economical perspectives, other services may be more appropriate to provide equivalent services in these areas.

Figure 1.2 below shows the technical evolution of cellular services from their introduction to present day.

Figure 1.2 – Evolution of cellular technology
Figure 1.2 – Evolution of cellular technology [Description of Figure 1.2]

It should also be noted that the large-scale deployment of a cellular system requires an extensive backhaul network, both with large capacity and wide geographical reach. As wireline/fibre optic backhaul is generally expensive, time-consuming to deploy and not always available, microwave backhaul is the preferred solution by many commercial mobile service providers to provide connectivity to the cell towers when wireline/fibre is not available in close proximity. Hence, commercial mobile systems have spectrum requirements not only for the "access" portion, but for the "backhaul" portion as well.

top of page

1.2 Current Allocations and Utilization

1.2.1 List of Allocated Bands

The following is a list of bands available or expected to be made available in the near term for commercial mobile services in Canada:

Table 1.1: List and Description of Allocated Bands for Commercial Mobile Services
Band Spectrum Available Year Licensed/ Auctioned Deployment Status Comments
Mobile Broadband Service (MBS)Footnote 2
(698-764/776-794 MHz)
Up to 35+35 MHz

12 MHz unpaired
to be auctioned in 2012 – 2013 pending DTV transition on August 31, 2011 MBS is the proposed term for the commercial mobile deployments in the band.
Cellular
(824-849 MHz/869-894 MHz)
25+25 MHz   100% licence extensively deployed Mature deployments, and available in less densely populated areas
1670-1675 MHz MHz Auction (part of AWS) completed in July 2008 Few licensees and no known usage One 5 MHz block 1670-1675 MHz range)
Advanced Wireless Services (AWS)
(1710-1755MHz/2110-2155 MHz)
45+45 MHz   100% licensed, with approx 33% in operation: usage by new entrants (no deployments by incumbents yet) Three 10+10 MHz of spectrum, three
5 + 5 MHz blocks in 40 MHz of spectrum (block B, C, D) set-aside for new entrants. Tier 2/3 based services areas.
Personal Communication Systems (PCS)
(1850-1915 MHz/1930 – 1995 MHz)
65+65 MHz 1995: awarded 14 companies licences, held in reserve: 30 MHz (block C/C') and 10 MHz (block E/E'). 2001: Block C/C' and block E/E' auctioned (plus returned TELUS holdings). 2008: auctioned 10 MHz block G as part of AWS auction 100% licensed; some currently in deployment stage (block G from AWS auction) Introduced spectrum aggregation limit to place limit on amount of spectrum any one entity could hold (see RP-021-now rescinded)
Broadband Radio Services (BRS)
(2500-2690 MHz)
70+70 MHz

50 MHz unpaired

Minimum of 30+30 MHz for auction
to be auctioned in 2012 – 2013 At least 60 MHz of paired spectrum in this band will be subject to auction; more in areas where there is currently only on MCS/MDS incumbent Incumbents to return 1/3 of current MCS/MDS holdings in order to convert to BRS and remain in the band

Beside the bands listed above, a cellular-like business oriented mobile telephone and data service based on iDEN technology is operated by TELUS in the 806-821/ 851-869 MHz band. This is a land mobile band which is covered in Section 3 of this report.

Commercial Mobile use from 52 MHz to 38 GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1):
Commercial Mobile use from 52 MHz to 38 GHz [Description of Figure]

1.2.2 Types of Licences (Radio vs. Spectrum)

The Radiocommunication Act was amended in June 1996, to give the Minister of Industry the explicit authority to use auctions to select those to whom radio authorizations could be issued. This new method of licensing required a new class of radio authorizations that incorporated the concept of area licensing (also known as spectrum licensing).

Commercial mobile service providers are granted spectrum licence(s), as opposed to traditional radio licences,Footnote 3 which are granted for land mobile services. As defined in paragraph 5(1) of the Radiocommunication Act, a spectrum licence is a licence issued in respect of utilizing specified radio frequencies within a defined geographic area.

Spectrum licences are awarded through auction, based on tier sizes which define the geographic area to be served. The Department has established four tier sizes to meet requirements for different wireless services and applications:

  • Tier 1 is a single national service area;
  • Tier 2 consists of 14 large service areas (mainly provincial);
  • Tier 3 contains 59 smaller regional service areas; and
  • Tier 4 comprises 172 localized service areas.

A geographical interpretation of the above tier sizes is located in Annex 4. To minimize the impact in network deployments, borders between adjacent areas are located where the population density is lower.

In the past, the spectrum licences were generally valid for 10 years. In the Revised Framework for Spectrum Auctions released in March 2011, spectrum licenses are valid for up to 20 years based on the specific spectrum being offered and subject to a public consultation preceding the specific auction or renewal process.

To encourage competition and new entrant operations, the Department has allowed transfers and subordinate licensing agreements through secondary markets. These arrangements can be an effective way for licensees to establish commercial arrangements with third parties for the use of the spectrum. Licensees may apply to Industry Canada to transfer their spectrum licence, in whole or in part, to another entity where the two parties have come to a commercial agreement. Subordinate licensing allows licensees to enter into arrangements in which another party can operate within their licensed area without having to completely transfer their spectrum licence(s), i.e. leasing arrangements. Although these options are available to cellular and PCS licensees, there has been limited activity to date in this regard.

1.2.3 Comparison with United States

In the United States, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) licenses these frequency bands based on defined "licensing areas." These licensing areas, similar to tier sizes used in Canada, are as follows:

  • Cellular Market Areas (CMA)
  • Basic Trading Areas (BTA)
  • Major Trading Areas (MTA)
  • Regional PCS Areas (RPC)
  • Economic Areas (BEA)
  • Major Economic Areas (MEA)
  • Regional Economic Areas (REA)
  • Economic Area Groupings (EAG)

The licensing areas vary from band to band. Footnote 4

Table 1.2 below summarizes the commercial bands available in the United States and the deployment status in each of the bands.

Table 1.2: List and Description of Bands for Commercial Mobile Services in the United States
Band Spectrum Available Year Licensed/Auctioned Deployment Status
Commercial Mobile Radio Service (CMRS)
(698-763/776-793 MHz)
Up to 82 MHz Auction completed in 2008 Service started late 2010 (Verizon)
Cellular
(824-849 MHz/869-894 MHz)

50 MHz Auction 12 completed January 1997 100% used
1670-1675 MHz MHz Auction 43 completed March 2003 No known usage
Advanced Wireless Services (AWS)
(1710-1755 MHz/2110-2155 MHz)
90 MHz Auction 66 completed Sept. 2006 35% used
Personal Communication Services (PCS) 130 MHz Auctions completed in 2007 93% used
Broadband Radio Services (BRS)
(2495-2690 MHz)Footnote 5
195 MHz Auction 86 completed Oct. 2009 Deployments begun by Clearwire/Sprint (approx 35%)

Unlike Industry Canada, the FCC does not collect usage information from licensees.


Footnotes

  1. back to footnote reference2 This band is pending DTV transition. As such, the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations will be updated to include a mobile allocation for the band and a spectrum utilization policy will soon be released to identify this band for commercial mobile radio services.
  2. back to footnote reference3 Radio licences are provided on a per radio apparatus basis.
  3. back to footnote reference4 FCC licensing areas: http://www.fcc.gov/oet/info/maps/areas/.
  4. back to footnote reference5 Note: This band begins 5 BRS band (2500-2690 MHz).
Date modified:

Inventaire des fréquences radioélectriques : Aperçu 2010 — Canada

Chapitre 1 – Service sans fil commercial

1.1 Contexte

1.1.1 Définition du service

Les fournisseurs de services sans fil commerciaux offrent des services de radiocommunication au grand public. Les services offerts comprennent un accès sans fil au réseau téléphonique commuté public (RTCP), c'est-à-dire la téléphonie cellulaire, et plus récemment un accès sans fil à l'Internet. Un fournisseur de services sans fil commerciaux, ou un titulaire de licence pour ces services qui agit à titre de fournisseur de radiocommunication, doit se conformer en tout temps au critère d'éligibilité de l'article 10(2) du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et doit suivre les lois prescrites par la Loi sur la radiocommunication et la Loi sur les télécommunications.

1.1.2 Types de services et applications

L'accès sans fil au RTCP a été offert par le biais des réseaux de radio mobile bidirectionnelle jusqu'au début des années 1980. Ces dispositifs étaient disponibles uniquement pour quelques individus et compagnies bien nantis, puisque la capacité était limitée – il n'y avait que quelques centaines de canaux de fréquences disponibles – et les coûts aux consommateurs étaient élevés.

Le premier service de téléphone sans fil avait plusieurs limites. À titre d'exemple, les appels de téléphones sans fil ne duraient que pendant que l'utilisateur était dans la zone de couverture de la station de base et se terminaient lorsqu'il sortait de la zone. Ces problèmes furent résolus avec l'apparition de l'architecture de réseau cellulaire. Les réseaux cellulaires, rendus possibles grâce à l'évolution de la miniaturisation et de la puissance de traitement, ont deux caractéristiques principales :

  1. Réutilisation des fréquences – le réseau est composé d'un grand nombre de stations de base qui utilisent les mêmes fréquences de nombreuses fois selon un motif géométrique, pour gérer le brouillage radio. La zone de service de chaque pylône se nomme cellule. Le motif géométrique ressemble à un nid d'abeilles, qui est un symbole couramment utilisé dans la documentation connexe. Comme le concept de réutilisation des fréquences est employé, la capacité des réseaux cellulaires peut être augmentée de façon formidable, simplement par une réduction de la grosseur des cellules (c'est-à-dire par une utilisation de plus de pylônes). En théorie, la capacité d'un réseau cellulaire est infinie, mais en pratique le réseau comporte des limites.
    Figure 1.1 – Modèle cellulaire de réutilisation des fréquences
    Figure 1.1 – Modèle cellulaire de réutilisation des fréquences avec 21 hexagones représentant des cellules, chacune contenant un facteur de réutilisation.
  2. Transfert intercellulaire (« transfert automatique intercellulaire » dans la documentation européenne) – ce transfert est la caractéristique selon laquelle une unité sans fil qui se déplace d'une cellule à l'autre pendant un appel reçoit une instruction du réseau de changer sa fréquence, de façon à pouvoir communiquer avec la cellule cible. Pour maintenir la communication, le réseau change instantanément le chemin du trafic de la voix du premier pylône au deuxième. Ce processus fait en sorte que la conversation avec le téléphone sans fil peut se dérouler pendant le temps qu'il faut et sur n'importe quelle distance, tant que l'utilisateur ne quitte pas la zone de couverture du réseau.

Avec le temps, d'autres caractéristiques ont été ajoutées au service, notamment l'itinérance, qui permet aux utilisateurs de recevoir le service à l'extérieur de la zone de couverture propre à leurs fournisseurs de service. Avec l'arrivée des technologies numériques, le service a migré d'une liaison commutée de téléphonie de la voix à la commutation des paquets de données, permettant ainsi l'accès à Internet. Le protocole de téléphonie sur IP mobile a été introduit au début des années 2000, permettant des sessions sans fil continues pour les données.

Plusieurs capacités techniques supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour qu'un système opérationnel soit entièrement déployé, ce qui comprend l'authentification, les systèmes de facturation, l'encodage, etc. Toutes ces caractéristiques résultent en un niveau de complexité important pour l'ensemble du système.

Les caractéristiques décrites ci-dessus permettent le déploiement des réseaux radio échelonnables, d'une grande capacité et d'une couverture très large qui rendent possible la prestation de services de masse au grand public à coût abordable. Ces avantages ont cependant une contrepartie : la complexité de l'équipement et du réseau et un coût en capital élevé pour l'installation de toute l'infrastructure nécessaire.

Tous les réseaux sans fil commerciaux fonctionnant à toutes les fréquences utilisent un nombre limité de normes technologiques et se servent tous des principes d'architecture cellulaire décrits ci-dessus. Par conséquent, on les désigne souvent comme services « similaires aux cellulaires » (comme le fait la FCC, par exemple). Pour simplifier la discussion, le terme « cellulaire » est interchangeable avec « systèmes de communications sans fil » dans le cadre du présent rapport. Ce terme ne doit pas être confondu avec la « bande cellulaire » (824 à 849 et 869 à 894 MHz) – la première bande attribuée à ce type de service au Canada et aux États-Unis au début des années 1980.

Les réseaux cellulaires ont d'abord été introduits pour pallier la rareté du spectre dans les grandes régions métropolitaines. Le bassin important de clients a justifié l'ampleur des dépenses et de l'injection de capital nécessaires aux réseaux. En relativement peu de temps, soit quelques décennies seulement, les téléphones cellulaires et les services connexes sont devenus les produits technologiques ayant la plus forte croissance de tous les temps. « L'industrie du sans fil », faisant largement référence précisément aux services cellulaires commerciaux et à l'écosystème technique et économique connexe, est devenue l'un des piliers de la croissance économique et représente une importante proportion du secteur des télécommunications. Dans cette perspective, le service radio cellulaire est un bon exemple d'une nouvelle capacité ayant répondu à un besoin social de la fin du 20e siècle.

Suite au succès formidable et à la popularité du service cellulaire, des bandes supplémentaires ont éventuellement été attribuées à ce service et sont discutées à la section 1.2.

Le besoin particulier des systèmes cellulaires réside dans la nécessité, pour les licences de spectre, de couvrir des « bandes » ou des « blocs » (plutôt que des fréquences monovoies) de fréquences dans des zones de services géographiques précises. De plus amples détails sur la délivrance des licences pour l'utilisation du spectre sont disponibles à la section 1.2.3. Le concept de réutilisation des fréquences permet aux systèmes cellulaires de faire l'utilisation la plus intensive du spectre. Ceci offre des bénéfices à la fois économiques et sociaux et, en peu de temps, le spectre est devenu une ressource précieuse et limitée. Au début, les licences étaient accordées selon le principe d'ordonnance; subséquemment, suite à la reconnaissance de la valeur économique accrue et de l'importante demande au niveau du spectre, le processus de demande de licences s'est transformé en enchères.

À titre de service déployé de façon massive auprès du grand public et à l'opposé de plusieurs autres services radio spécialisés, le service cellulaire (plus particulièrement l'appareil lui-même) est assujetti à des contraintes techniques et économiques qui ont des répercussions sur l'industrie des produits électroniques destinés aux consommateurs, c'est-à-dire l'interopérabilité et les économies d'échelle – souvenons-nous du VHS par rapport au Betamax, etc. Puisque le Canada est un marché relativement restreint, les normes techniques et les bandes de fréquences pour les opérations adoptées doivent être harmonisées avec les marchés internationaux plus vastes (États-Unis, Europe, etc.) pour faire en sorte que l'équipement soit disponible à des prix raisonnables.

Bien que les services cellulaires aient été conçus à l'origine pour surmonter les limites des capacités des régions à population dense, suite à la popularité du service au fil du temps, ils sont dorénavant très en demande dans les régions rurales et éloignées. Cette situation présente des défis dans plusieurs pays du monde, puisque cette technologie n'est pas conçue ni rentable pour un déploiement dans les régions éloignées et à faible densité de population. Du point de vue de la gestion du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques et d'un point de vue technologique et économique, d'autres services pourraient être plus appropriés pour fournir un service équivalent dans ces régions.

La Figure 1.2 ci-dessous illustre l'évolution technique des services cellulaires, depuis leur naissance jusqu'à ce jour.

Figure 1.2 – Évolution de la technologie cellulaires
Figure 1.2 – Évolution de la technologie cellulaires [Description de la figure 1.2]

Notons que le déploiement d'un système cellulaire sur une grande échelle demande un réseau de liaisons terrestres important, ayant à la fois une grande capacité et une grande portée géographique. Les réseaux de liaisons terrestres fixes et de fibre optique sont en général très coûteux, leur déploiement prend du temps, et ces réseaux ne sont pas toujours disponibles. Les solutions de liaisons terrestres à micro-ondes sont privilégiées par de nombreux fournisseurs de services mobiles commerciaux pour assurer la connectivité aux pylônes de services cellulaires lorsque les réseaux de liaisons terrestres fixes et de fibres optiques ne sont pas disponibles. Par conséquent, les systèmes mobiles commerciaux ont besoin de fréquences, non seulement pour la partie « accès » mais également pour la partie « liaison terrestre».

haut de la page

1.2 Attributions et utilisations actuelles

1.2.1 Liste des bandes attribuées

Le tableau suivant présente la liste des bandes disponibles, ou qui sont prévues pour devenir disponibles dans un avenir rapproché, pour les services mobiles commerciaux au Canada :

Tableau 1.1: Liste et description des bandes attribuées aux services mobiles commerciaux
Bande Spectre disponible Année de la licence/mise aux enchères État du déploiement Commentaires
Service à large bande mobile (SLBM)Note 2
(698-764/776-794 MHz)
Jusqu'à 35+35 MHz

12 MHz sans appariement
Sera mis aux enchères en 2012-2013 En attente de la transition à la télévision numérique (TVN) le 31 août 2011 Le SLBM est le terme proposé pour les déploiements mobiles commerciaux dans cette bande
Cellulaire
(824-849 MHz/869-894 MHz)
25+25 MHz Licences attribuées à 100 %, les systèmes sont largement déployés Les systèmes déployés ont fait leurs preuves et disponibles dans les régions à faible densité démographique
1670-1675 MHz MHz Enchères (partie des SSFE) terminées en juillet 2008 Peu de titulaires de licence et aucune utilisation Un bloc de 5 MHz (gamme entre 1 670 et 1 675 MHz)
Services sans fil évolués (SSFE)
(1710-1755MHz/2110-2155 MHz)
45+45 MHz Licences attribuées à 100 % et approximativement 33 % sont utilisées : utilisation par de nouveaux intervenants (aucun déploiement par les titulaires jusqu'à présent) Trois blocs de 10+10 MHz, trois de blocs 5+5 MHz dans 40 MHz de spectre (blocs B, C, D) mis de côté pour les nouveaux intervenants. Zones de services basées sur les niveaux 2/3
Systèmes de communications personnelles (SCP)
(1850-1915 MHz/1930-1995 MHz)
65+65 MHz 1995 : 14 licences accordées à des compagnies, gardées en réserve : 30 MHz (bloc C/C’) et 10 MHz (bloc E/E’). 2001 : bloc C/C’ et bloc E/E’ mis aux enchères (plus remise des licences de TELUS). 2008 : 10 MHz du bloc G mis aux enchères dans le cadre de l’enchèreSSFE Licences attribuées à 100 %; certaines sont présentement à l'étape du déploiement (bloc G de l'enchère SSFE) Une limite de regroupement du spectre a été mise en place pour restreindre la quantité du spectre pouvant être détenue par une seule entité (consulter la PR-021-maintenant annulée)
Services de radiocommunications à large bande (SRLB)
(2500-2690 MHz)
70+70 MHz

50 MHz sans appariement

Au moins 60 MHz pour les enchères
Sera mis aux enchères en 2012-2013 Au moins 60 MHz de spectre de cette bande avec appariement seront offerts aux enchères; une plus grande quantité dans les régions où il n'y a présentement qu'un seul titulaire STM/SDM Les titulaires devront remettre le tiers de leurs licences SDM actuelles pour se convertir au SRBL et demeurer dans cette bande.

Outre les bandes données ci-dessus, un service téléphonique mobile commercial apparenté au service cellulaire et un service de transmission de données fondé sur la technique iDEN offerts par TELUS fonctionnent dans les bandes 805-821/851-869 MHz. Ces bandes, qui font partie de la bande attribuée au service mobile terrestre, sont examinées dans la section 3 du présent document.

Utilisation mobile commerciale des fréquences entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, voir l'Annexe 1) :
Utilisation mobile commerciale des fréquences entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz [Description de la figure]

1.2.2 Types de licences (radio par rapport à spectre)

La Loi sur la radiocommunication a été modifiée au mois de juin 1996 afin de donner au ministre de l'Industrie l'autorité explicite d'utiliser les enchères pour déterminer à qui accorder des autorisations de radiocommunication. Cette nouvelle méthode de délivrance des licences a nécessité une nouvelle catégorie d'autorisations de radiocommunication qui intègre le concept de licence par zone (également appelé licence de spectre).

Les fournisseurs de services mobiles commerciaux se font délivrer des licences de spectre, à l'opposé des licences radio traditionnellesNote 3, qui sont délivrées aux services mobiles terrestres. Selon la définition donnée à l'alinéa 5(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, une licence de spectre doit utiliser des fréquences de radiocommunication précises à l'intérieur d'une zone géographique déterminée.

Les licences de spectre sont accordées au terme d'enchères et fondées sur les dimensions associées aux niveaux qui définissent la zone géographique à desservir. Les licences de spectre qui ne font pas l'objet d'enchères peuvent également être délivrées selon les polygones définis par les utilisateurs. Le Ministère a établi quatre niveaux pour répondre aux exigences des différents services et applications sans fil :

  • Le niveau 1 représente une zone de service nationale unique;
  • Le niveau 2 consiste en 14 grandes zones de service (principalement provinciales);
  • Le niveau 3 comprend 59 zones de service régionales plus petites;
  • Le niveau 4 comprend 172 zones de service localisées.

Une interprétation géographique des dimensions associées aux niveaux ci-dessus se trouve à l'Annexe 4. Pour réduire au minimum l'incidence sur le déploiement de réseaux, on a décidé d'établir la frontière entre zones adjacentes là où la densité démographique est la plus faible.

Dans le passé, généralement les licences de spectre étaient valides pour dix années. Dans le cadre de modifications à la Politique cadre sur la vente aux enchères du spectre au Canada libéré en mars 2011, les licences de spectre sont maintenant valide pour une période de 20 années basées sur le spectre spécifique étant offert et sujet à une consultation publique précédant l'enchère ou le processus de renouvellement spécifique.

Dans le but d'encourager la concurrence et les opérations des nouveaux intervenants, le Ministère a permis les transferts et les ententes de licences subordonnées au moyen des marchés secondaires. Ces ententes peuvent représenter un moyen efficace pour les titulaires de licences d'établir des arrangements commerciaux avec des tierces parties pour l'utilisation du spectre. Les titulaires de licence peuvent faire une demande auprès d'Industrie Canada pour transférer leur licence de spectre, en tout ou en partie, à une autre entité lorsque les deux parties en sont venues à une entente commerciale. Les licences subordonnées permettent aux détenteurs de prendre des arrangements par lesquels une tierce partie peut exploiter leur zone de services sans qu'ils ne soient obligés de transférer complètement leur(s) licence(s) de spectre, c'est-à-dire qu'elles correspondent à un accord de location. Bien que ces options soient disponibles aux titulaires de licence cellulaires et SCP, il n'y a eu que peu d'activités dans ce domaine jusqu'à présent.

1.2.3 Comparaison avec les États-Unis

Aux États-Unis, la Federal Communications Commission (FCC) accorde des licences pour ces bandes de fréquences, d'après des « zones de licences ». Ces zones de licences, similaires au système de niveaux du Canada, sont définies comme suit :

  • Zones de marchés cellulaires (CMA)
  • Zones commerciales de base (BTA)
  • Zones d'échanges principales (MTA)
  • Zones SCP régionales (RPC)
  • Zones économiques (BEA)
  • Zones économiques principales (MEA)
  • Zones économiques régionales (REA)
  • Zones de regroupements économiques (EAG)

Les zones de licences varient d'une bande à l'autreNote 4.

Le tableau 1.2 ci-dessous fait le sommaire des bandes commerciales qui sont disponibles aux États-Unis et de l'état de déploiement dans chacune de ces bandes.

Tableau 1.2 : Liste et description des bandes pour les services mobiles commerciaux aux États-Unis
Bande Spectre disponible Année de la licence/mise aux enchères État du déploiement
Service de radio mobile commerciale (SRMC)
(698-763/776-793 MHz)
Jusqu'à 82 MHz Enchère terminée en 2008 Service lancé à la fin de 2010 (Verizon)
Cellulaire
(824-849 MHz/869-894 MHz)
50 MHz Enchère 12 terminée au mois de janvier 1997 Utilisée à 100%
1670-1675 MHz MHz Enchère 43 terminée au mois de mars 2003 Aucune utilisation connue
Services sans fil évolués (SSFE)
(1710-1755 MHz/2110-2155 MHz)
90 MHz Enchère 66 terminée au mois de septembre 2006 Utilisée à 35%
Systèmes de communications personnelles (SCP) 130 MHz Enchère terminée en 2007 Utilisée à 93%
Services Radio à large bande (SRLB)
(2495-2690 MHz)Note 5
195 MHz Enchère 86 terminée au mois d'octobre 2009 Déploiements commencés par Clearwire/Sprint (approximativement 35%)

À l'opposé d'Industrie Canada, la FCC ne recueille pas d'information sur l'utilisation auprès des titulaires de licence.


Notes de bas de page

  1. retour à la référence de la note2 Cette bande est en attente de la transition à la TVN. Par conséquent, le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences sera mis à jour pour inclure une attribution au sans-fil dans cette bande, et une politique d'utilisation du spectre sera bientôt publiée pour identifier cette bande à l'égard des services de radiocommunications mobiles.
  2. retour à la référence de la note3 Les licences radios sont accordées en fonction du nombre d'appareils radio.
  3. retour à la référence de la note4 Zones de licences de la FCC : http://www.fcc.gov/oet/info/maps/areas/.
  4. retour à la référence de la note5 Nota : Cette bande commence 5 SRLB canadienne (2 500-2 690 MHz).
Date de modification :