Radio Spectrum Inventory: A 2010 Snapshot — Canada

Chapter 1 – Commercial Mobile

1.3 Spectrum Inventory and Analysis

1.3.1 Major Users

For the purpose of this study, the Cellular, PCS and AWS bands were investigated. The Cellular and PCS bands have been extensively deployed and deployments in the AWS band have recently begun. Given that the 700 MHz and BRS bands are still in developmental stages and deployments are not yet under way in these bands, preliminary information (prior to auctioning) regarding this band is provided below.

Tables 1.3 to 1.5 show spectrum holdings for service providers in Canada's three largest markets, Toronto, Vancouver and Montréal. In the BRS band, Rogers and Bell have formed a partnership, known as Inukshuk, and hold a large percentage of the BRS spectrum in Canada.

Table 1.3: Spectrum Holdings by Band: Toronto
Organization Cellular (MHz) PCS (MHz) AWS (MHz) BRS (MHz)
Rogers 25 50 20 120
Bell 25 30 20
TELUS 0 40 10 0
Globalive 0 0 20 0
Videotron 0 0 10 0
Mobilicity 0 0 10 0
Public Mobile 0 10 0 0
Industry Canada 0 0 0 60
Total Spectrum Available 50 130 90 180
Table 1.4: Spectrum Holdings by Band: Vancouver
Organization Cellular (MHz) PCS (MHz) AWS (MHz) BRS (MHz)
Rogers 25 60 20 120
Bell 0 40 10
TELUS 25 20 20 0
Globalive 0 0 10 0
Shaw 0 0 20 0
Mobilicity 0 0 10 0
Novus Wireless 0 10 0 0
Industry Canada 0 0 0 60
Total Spectrum Available 50 130 90 180
Table 1.5: Spectrum Holdings by Band: Montréal
Organization Cellular (MHz) PCS (MHz) AWS (MHz) BRS (MHz)
Rogers 25 60 20 120
Bell 25 20 10
TELUS 0 40 20 0
Globalive 0 0 0 0
Videotron 0 0 40 0
Mobilicity 0 0 0 0
Public Mobile 0 10 0 0
Industry Canada 0 0 0 60
Total Spectrum Available 50 130 90 180

Similar spectrum holding patterns are present in other large markets in Canada. The largest service providers in all major market areas tend to be Rogers, Bell and TELUS. Nevertheless, smaller service providers hold licences in specific bands and/or market areas. Videotron, for example, holds several PCS licences in Canada's six most densely populated markets across Canada (Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Ottawa, Toronto and Montréal).

The chart in Figure 1.3 illustrates the total spectrum holdings of various service providers in Cellular, PCS and AWS bands. For any given market, a total of 270 MHz of paired spectrum is available (that is, 50 MHz of Cellular, 130 MHz of PCS and 90 MHz of AWS spectrum). It should be noted that Bell does not have any spectrum holdings in Manitoba or Saskatchewan. SaskTel and MTS have significant spectrum holdings across the Cellular, PCS, and AWS bands in Saskatchewan and Manitoba respectively.

Figure 1.3 – The amount of spectrum (in the Cellular, AWS bands) licensed per service provider in Canada's nine largest cities
Figure 1.3 – The amount of spectrum (in the Cellular, Personal Communications Service and Advanced Wireless Services bands) licensed per service provider in Canada's nine largest cities [Description of Figure 1.3]

The major Canadian markets account for a large percentage of the population, but a small percentage of geographical area. In many cases, there exist smaller service providers that target specific markets. For example, Mobilicity can potentially service 50% of the Canadian population because it holds spectrum licences for several Tier 3 service areas (mainly in the Greater Toronto Area) in densely populated areas across Canada and particularly in southern Ontario. On the other hand, EastLink's licences cover larger service areas in rural Atlantic Canada (approximately three times more geographical area than that of Mobilicity); however, these service areas account for only 16% of the Canadian population.

Table 1.6 gives a breakdown of the service providers based on the territory and population covered by their spectrum licences. The population and area columns show how much coverage potential each service provider has. However, this does not necessarily mean that the service provides service to the entire geographic area of its licence.

Table 1.6: Geographical area and population covered by licences of the major service providers in Canada
Company Licence Coverage Area (All bands) Population within licensed area (% of Canada) Number of subscribers * (All Bands)
Area (km2) Cellular PCS AWS Subscribers
* Data from CWTA, 2010
Rogers 9755534 100 100 100 8626000
Bell 8459191 71 93 91 6987386
TELUS 9755534 27 100 100 6699000
Globalive 9244475 0 3 77 93882
Videotron 1559869 0 0 49 N/A
Shaw 3542209 0 0 31 N/A
Mobilicity 552110 0 0 54 N/A
Public Mobile 656179 0 59 0 N/A
Novus Wireless 1606721 0 23 0 N/A
EastLink 1705345 0 0 16 N/A
SaskTel 655407 3 3 3 541105
MTS 646936 4 4 4 469744

1.3.2 Number of Assignments and Geographic Information

As the commercial mobile bands are spectrum licensed, no specific frequency assignments are made. Within their spectrum licence, the licensees are free to deploy stations as required by their business and technical requirements. The licensees are required as part of their licence conditions to report specific technical data for each station deployed. This data becomes part of the departmental spectrum management database and was used to generate this report.

The three tables below show the number of base station sites for Cellular, PCS and AWS operations deployed by the major service providers in each of the five regions, as of August 2010. It should be noted that Prairies-based service providers SaskTel and MTS hold a significant amount of Cellular and PCS spectrum holdings in the central region, and have deployed significant infrastructure.

Table 1.7: Number of sites operating in the Cellular band
Company Atlantic Quebec Ontario Central Pacific Total
Rogers 284 858 1770 839 640 4391
Bell 478 380 1347 2 65 2272
TELUS - 108 - 454 528 1090
SaskTel - - - 471 - 471
MTS - - - 224 - 224
Total 762 1346 3117 1998 1244 8467
Table 1.8: Number of sites operating in the PCS band
Company Atlantic Quebec Ontario Central Pacific Total
Rogers 236 815 1753 763 622 4189
Bell - 422 971 232 214 1839
TELUS 38 369 748 325 254 1734
SaskTel - - - 142 - 142
Public Mobile - 133 111 - - 244
Total 278 1739 3583 1498 1090 8188
Table 1.9: Number of sites operating in the AWS band
Company Atlantic Quebec Ontario Central Pacific Total
Globalive - - 421 151 119 691
Mobilicity - - 172 - - 172
Videotron - 464 - - - 464
Total - 464 593 151 119 1327

As expected, most cellular and PCS sites (and deployments) are in Ontario, which accounts for approximately 40% of the Canadian population and has some of Canada's largest markets (Greater Toronto Area and Ottawa).

It should be noted that service providers co-locate their cellular and PCS sites to reduce costs of building and maintaining new towers and backhaul links. Most/all sites have transmitters in the cellular band, whereas PCS band is used mainly in the urban areas or along major transportation corridors. This is the reason that the figures for cellular are higher than PCS.

Atlantic Canada has more than five times more cellular sites than PCS, whereas Ontario and Quebec have one and a half times more cellular sites than PCS. One possible reason for this is that Atlantic Canada is much more rural and the market is not demanding as much capacity so that deployment of PCS is slower there.

top of page

1.3.4 Trend Charts

Commercial mobile technologies have evolved significantly over the last three decades. From simple 1G telephony, which supported voice-only transmission, to today's 4G technology, which supports voice plus increasingly higher data speeds, service providers are adopting newer technologies to meet consumer demands for higher data speeds, uninterrupted communication and user-transparent roaming.

Analog technologies, which have become obsolete in commercial mobile communication services, traditionally operate on 30 kHz bandwidths, i.e. one conversation takes up 30 + 30 kHz of bandwidth. Most new commercial mobile communications have now adopted digital technologies, such as Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM),Footnote 6 Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) and High-Speed Packet Access (HSPA), which use bandwidths of 200, 1250 and 5000 kHz respectively, and can accommodate multiple users (holding simultaneous multiple conversations or high data rate sessions) on each RF carrier.

The following two figures demonstrate how the use of various technologies has evolved in recent years relative to the implementation in Canada (based on the data from across the country reported by licensees). In figures 1.7 and 1.8, the term "frequency record" refers to an entry into the spectrum management database which indicates the use of a specific transmission mode (i.e. a specific technology, e.g. GSM, CDMA, etc.) at a specific site or sector of a sectorized site.

Figure 1.7 – Technology Trends in Cellular Band
Figure 1.4 – Technology Trends in Cellular Band [Description of Figure 1.7]

As can be seen from the above figure, most service providers have begun implementing newer technologies, such as HSPA, which provide higher data speeds and can accommodate more users on each RF carrier.

The trends in the PCS band show that HSPA use has increased substantially over the past year. CDMA use has seen a slight decrease recently, but is still quite common in the PCS band. GSM/GPRS/EDGE technology use has shown little changes, but HSPA is now almost as common as GSM/GPRS/EDGE in the PCS band.

Figure 1.8 – Technology Trends in PCS Band
Figure 1.8 – Technology Trends in Personal Communications Service Band [Description of Figure 1.8]

The GSM figures in figures 1.4 and 1.5 reflect the use of this technology by Rogers. The CDMA technology is used by the rest of the service providers, such as Bell, TELUS, MTS, SaskTel and TBayTel (i.e. the incumbent local exchange service providers); however, almost all operators are now deploying HSPA technology in their existing spectrum holdings.

As mentioned earlier, HSPA technology has been chosen as the latest generation technology by most service providers in Canada and has seen widespread deployment in recent years. New competitors in the AWS band, such as Globalive Wireless and Mobilicity, are using only HSPA on their networks. The figures below illustrate the technologies deployed by Canada's top three service providers in terms of number of sectors using a specific technology.

Figure 1.9 – Technologies used by top 3 Canadian service providers
Figure 1.6a–Technologies Used in Cellular Band Figure 1.6b – Technologies Used in Personal Communications Service Band [Description of Figure 1.9]

1.3.5 Spectrum Available for Licensing

The following analysis provides information regarding spectrum available for commercial mobile services, based on current utilization as noted in the previous sections.

1.3.5.1 Mobile Broadband Service (MBS)

Up to 80 MHz of spectrumFootnote 7 in the 700 MHz band (698-764/776-794 MHz) will be available for commercial mobile services following the DTV transition, which is slated for August 31, 2011. This spectrum will be auctioned in 2012 – 2013 across the country.

Figure 1.10 – Spectrum availability in 700 MHz band
Figure 1.10 – Spectrum availability in 700 Megahertz band [Description of Figure 1.10]
1.3.5.2 Cellular

In the Cellular band (824-849 MHz of commercial spectrum has been licensed to service providers across the country and the band is fully deployed, thus, no spectrum in this band remains.

1.3.5.3 1670-1675 MHz band

In this band, there are 5 MHz available for licensing in certain regions of Canada. See green shaded areas in Figure 1.11.

Figure 1.11 – Spectrum availability in the 1670-1675 band
Figure 1.11 – Spectrum availability in the 1670-1675 band [Description of Figure 1.11]
1.3.5.4 Advanced Wireless Services (AWS)

In the AWS band, there is currently no spectrum available for licensing.

1.3.5.5 Personal Communication Systems (PCS)

In PCS band, different amounts of spectrum are available for licensing, mostly in the areas shaded in green, as indicated in the following figure.

Figure 1.12 – Spectrum availability in the PCS band
Figure 1.12 – Spectrum availability in the Personal Communications Service band [Description of Figure 1.12]
1.3.5.6 Broadband Radio Service (BRS)

In the BRS band, there is spectrum available in every area across the country. The amount of spectrum available for auction is either 60 or 120 MHz, as shown in Figure 1.13.

Figure 1.13 – Spectrum availability in the BRS band
Figure 1.13 – Spectrum availability in the Broadband Radio Service band. This map shows that there is spectrum available in the 700 MHz band, across Canada. [Description of Figure 1.13]

Note: Manitoba school boards and commercial operation in Manitoba have been grandfathered and are occupying the BRS spectrum in most areas in southern Manitoba.


Footnotes

  1. back to footnote reference 6 General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) and Enhanced Data Rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE) are subsequent GSM standards providing progressively higher speed data transmission rates.
  2. back to footnote reference 7 Possibly three blocks 6 + 6 SMSE-018-10)
Date modified:

Inventaire des fréquences radioélectriques : Aperçu 2010 — Canada

Chapitre 1 – Service sans fil commercial

1.3 Inventaire et analyse du spectre

1.3.1 Utilisateurs principaux

Pour les fins de cette étude, les bandes cellulaires, SCP et SSFE ont été analysées. Les bandes cellulaires et SCP ont été déployées sur une grande échelle et les déploiements de la bande SSFE ont débuté récemment. Étant donné que les bandes 700 MHz et SRLB sont encore à l'étape du développement et que les déploiements ne sont pas encore débutés, une information préliminaire portant sur ces bandes (antérieure aux enchères) est fournie ci-dessous.

Les tableaux 1.3 à 1.5 montrent les attributions du spectre aux fournisseurs de services du Canada dans les trois principaux marchés, soit Toronto, Vancouver et Montréal. En ce qui concerne la bande SRBL, Rogers et Bell ont formé un partenariat sous le nom d'Inukshuk et détiennent un important pourcentage du spectre SRBL au Canada.

Tableau 1.3 : Licences de spectre détenues par bande : Toronto
ORGANISATION Cellulaire (MHz) SCP (MHz) SSFE (MHz) SRBL (MHz)
Rogers 25 50 20 120
Bell 25 30 20
TELUS 0 40 10 0
Globalive 0 0 20 0
Vidéotron 0 0 10 0
Mobilicity 0 0 10 0
Public Mobile 0 10 0 0
Industrie Canada 0 0 0 60
Spectre total disponible 50 130 90 180
Tableau 1.4 : Licences de spectre détenues par bande : Vancouver
ORGANISATION Cellulaire (MHz) SCP (MHz) SSFE (MHz) SRBL (MHz)
Rogers 25 60 20 120
Bell 0 40 10
TELUS 25 20 20 0
Globalive 0 0 10 0
Shaw 0 0 20 0
Mobilicity 0 0 10 0
Novus Wireless 0 10 0 0
Industrie Canada 0 0 0 60
Spectre total disponible 50 130 90 180
Tableau 1.5 : Licences de spectre détenues par bande : Montréal
ORGANISATION Cellulaire (MHz) SCP (MHz) SSFE (MHz) SRBL (MHz)
Rogers 25 60 20 120
Bell 25 20 10
TELUS 0 40 20 0
Globalive 0 0 0 0
Vidéotron 0 0 40 0
Mobilicity 0 0 0 0
Public Mobile 0 10 0 0
Industrie Canada 0 0 0 60
Spectre total disponible 50 130 90 180

Des modèles similaires de détention de licences se retrouvent dans d'autres grands marchés canadiens. Les plus importants fournisseurs de services de tous les principaux marchés sont Rogers, Bell et Telus. Cependant, de plus petits fournisseurs de services détiennent des licences pour des bandes et/ou pour des zones de services précises. À titre d'exemple, Vidéotron détient plusieurs licences SSFE dans des parties du Québec et de l'Ontario, tandis que Shaw détient des licences dans l'Ouest du Canada. Les licences de spectre de Globalive, toutes de nature SSFE, se retrouvent dans presque tous les marchés canadiens sauf au Québec. Mobilicity détient des licences SSFE et Public Mobile détient des licences SCP dans les six marchés les plus peuplés du Canada (Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Ottawa, Toronto et Montréal).

Le graphique de la Figure 1.3 illustre l'ensemble des licences de spectre des divers fournisseurs de services des bandes cellulaires, SCP et SSFE. Dans chacun de ces marchés, un total de 270 MHz de spectre jumelé est disponible (c'est-à-dire 50 MHz de spectre cellulaire, 130 MHz de spectre SCP et 90 MHz de spectre SSFE). Soulignons que Bell ne détient aucune licence de spectre au Manitoba ni en Saskatchewan. SaskTel et MTS détiennent un nombre important de licences de spectre parmi les bandes cellulaires, SCP et SSFE en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, respectivement.

Figure 1.3 – Quantité de spectre (parmi les bandes cellulaires, SCP et SSFE) pour lequel des licences ont été accordées, par fournisseur de services dans les neuf plus grandes villes canadiennes
Figure 1.3 – Quantité de spectre (parmi les bandes cellulaires,  SCP et services sans fil évolués) pour lequel des licences ont été accordées, par fournisseur de services dans les neuf plus grandes villes canadiennes [Description de la figure 1.3]

Les principaux marchés canadiens représentent un large pourcentage de la population mais une faible zone géographique. Dans plusieurs cas, il existe de plus petits fournisseurs de services qui ciblent des marchés précis. À titre d'exemple, Mobilicity peut potentiellement servir plus de 50 % de la population canadienne car la compagnie possède des licences de spectre pour plusieurs zones de services de niveau 3 (principalement dans la région du Grand Toronto) ayant des populations denses à travers le Canada et plus particulièrement dans le Sud de l'Ontario. Par contre, les licences d'EastLink couvrent de grandes zones de services dans les régions rurales maritimes du Canada (environ trois fois plus de territoires que Mobilicity). Toutefois, ces territoires ne représentent que 16 % de la population canadienne.

Le tableau 1.6 offre une ventilation des fournisseurs de services, selon le territoire et la population couverts par leurs licences de spectre. Les colonnes de population et de territoire montrent le potentiel de couverture de chaque fournisseur de services. Cela ne veut toutefois pas dire qu'ils fournissent nécessairement des services à la totalité du territoire couvert par leurs licences.

Tableau 1.6 : Territoire et population couverts par les licences des principaux fournisseurs de services au Canada
Compagnie Couverture de la licence (toutes les bandes) Population à l'intérieur du territoire de la licence (% du Canada) Nombre d'abonnés* (toutes les bandes)
Surface (km2) Cellulaire SCP SSFE Abonnés
* Données obtenues de l'ACTS, 2010
Rogers 9755534 100 100 100 8626000
Bell 8459191 71 93 91 6987386
TELUS 9755534 27 100 100 6699000
Globalive 9244475 0 3 77 93882
Vidéotron 1559869 0 0 49 N/A
Shaw 3542209 0 0 31 N/A
Mobilicity 552110 0 0 54 N/A
Public Mobile 656179 0 59 0 N/A
Novus Wireless 1606721 0 23 0 N/A
EastLink 1705345 0 0 16 N/A
SaskTel 655407 3 3 3 541105
MTS 646936 4 4 4 469744

1.3.2 Nombre d'attributions et information géographique

Puisque les bandes mobiles commerciales reçoivent des licences de spectre, aucune assignation précise n'est attribuée. Les titulaires de licence sont libres de déployer des stations selon leurs exigences opérationnelles et techniques dans le cadre de leur licence de spectre. Ils sont tenus de faire rapport de l'information technique précise relative à chaque station déployée, en vertu des conditions imposées par leur licence. Ces données sont intégrées à la base de données de gestion du spectre du Ministère et ont servi à la préparation du présent rapport.

Les trois tableaux ci-dessous illustrent le nombre de sites de stations de base pour les opérations cellulaires, SCP et SSFE déployées par les principaux fournisseurs de services dans chacune des cinq régions en date du mois d'août 2010. Notons que les fournisseurs de services des Prairies, SaskTel et MTS, détiennent un nombre important de licences de spectre cellulaires et SCP dans la région du Centre du Canada et y ont déployé une importante infrastructure.

Tableau 1.7 : Nombre de sites en opération dans la bande cellulaires
Compagnie Atlantique Québec Ontario Centre Pacifique Total
Rogers 284 858 1770 839 640 4391
Bell 478 380 1347 2 65 2272
TELUS - 108 - 454 528 1090
SaskTel - - - 471 - 471
MTS - - - 224 - 224
Total 762 1346 3117 1998 1244 8467
Tableau 1.8 : Nombre de sites SCP
Compagnie Atlantique Québec Ontario Centre Pacifique Total
Rogers 236 815 1753 763 622 4189
Bell - 422 971 232 214 1839
TELUS 38 369 748 325 254 1734
SaskTel - - - 142 - 142
Public Mobile - 133 111 - - 244
Total 278 1739 3583 1498 1090 8188
Tableau 1.9 : Nombre de sites SSFE
Compagnie Atlantique Québec Ontario Centre Pacifique Total
Globalive - - 421 151 119 691
Mobilicity - - 172 - - 172
Vidéotron - 464 - - - 464
Total - 464 593 151 119 1327

Tel que prévu, la plupart des sites cellulaires et SCP (ainsi que leurs déploiements) se situent en Ontario, où se trouvent environ 40 % de la population canadienne et où se trouve certains des plus gros marchés du Canada (région du Grand Toronto et Ottawa).

Notons que les fournisseurs de services installent leurs sites cellulaires et SCP au même endroit afin de réduire les coûts relatifs à la construction et à l'entretien des nouveaux pylônes et aux liens de réseau. La plupart ou tous les sites ont des émetteurs dans la bande cellulaire, tandis que la bande SCP est utilisée principalement dans les zones urbaines ou le long des principaux corridors de services. C'est la raison pour laquelle les chiffres sont plus élevés pour les cellulaires que pour les SCP.

L'Atlantique détient au-delà de cinq fois plus de sites cellulaires que de sites SCP, tandis que l'Ontario et le Québec possèdent une fois et demie plus de sites cellulaires que de sites SCP. L'une des raisons possibles est que le Canada atlantique est beaucoup plus rural et que le marché ne demande pas une aussi grande capacité, ce qui fait que le déploiement des SCP y est plus lent.

haut de la page

1.3.4 Graphique de tendance

Les technologies sans fil commerciales ont évolué de façon significative au cours des trois dernières décennies. De la simple téléphonie 1G qui offrait la transmission de la voix seulement, jusqu'à la technologie actuelle 4G qui, en plus de la voix, permet la transmission des données à une vitesse de plus en plus grande, les fournisseurs de services adoptent les nouvelles technologies afin de répondre à la demande des consommateurs pour des vitesses de transmission de données supérieures, des communications sans interruption et une itinérance transparente pour l'utilisateur.

Les technologies analogiques, qui deviennent de plus en plus périmées au niveau des communications mobiles, fonctionnent traditionnellement sur une largeur de bande de 30 kHz, c'est-à-dire qu'une conversation requiert jusqu'à 30 + 30 kHz de largeur de bande. La plupart des nouvelles communications mobiles commerciales ont maintenant adopté les technologies numériques, telles que le système mondial des communications avec les mobiles (GSM)Note 6 , l'accès multiple par répartition en code (AMRC), et l'accès par paquets haut débit (HSPA) qui utilisent les largeurs de bandes de 200, 1 250 et 5 000 kHz, respectivement, et peuvent accommoder de nombreuses conversations simultanées et des transmissions de données de plus en plus rapides.

Les deux figures qui suivent illustrent la façon dont l'utilisation de diverses technologies a évolué, au cours des dernières années, relativement à leur mise en application au Canada (d'après les données obtenues des titulaires de licence à travers le pays). Dans les Figures 1.7 et 1.8, le terme « dossier d'attributions de fréquences » réfère à une entrée dans la base de données de gestion du spectre, qui indique l'utilisation d'un mode de transmission précis (c'est-à-dire une technologie précise, par exemple le GSM, l'AMRC, etc.) à un site précis ou dans un secteur d'un site sectorisé précis.

Figure 1.7 – Tendances au niveau des technologies de la bande cellulaire
Figure 1.7 – Tendances au niveau des technologies de la bande cellulaire [Description de la figure 1.7]

Selon ce qui apparaît dans la figure ci-dessus, la plupart des fournisseurs de services ont commencé à mettre en application les nouvelles technologies comme l'accès HSPA, qui permet des vitesses de transmission de données plus élevées et peut servir plus d'utilisateurs.

Les tendances de la bande SCP montrent que l'utilisation de la technologie HSPA a augmenté de façon importante au cours de l'année dernière. L'utilisation de la technologie AMRC a récemment connu une légère diminution mais demeure néanmoins très présente dans la bande SCP. Le taux d'utilisation des technologies GSM, GPRS et GPRS amélioré a connu très peu de variations, mais la technologie HSPA est maintenant aussi courante dans la bande SCP que les technologies GSM, GPRS et GPRS amélioré.

Figure 1.8 – Tendances au niveau des technologies de la bande SCP
Figure 1.8 – Tendances au niveau des technologies de la bande services de communication personnelles [Description de la figure 1.8]

Les chiffres relatifs à la technologie GSM qui se trouvent dans les figures 1.4 et 1.5 reflètent l'utilisation de cette technologie par la compagnie Rogers. La technologie AMRC est utilisée par le reste des fournisseurs de services comme Bell, Telus, MTS, SaskTel et TBayTel (c'est-à-dire les fournisseurs titulaires du service téléphonique local). Toutefois, presque tous les exploitants déploient maintenant la technologie HSPA parmi leurs avoirs de spectre actuels.

Comme mentionné un peu plus tôt, la technologie HSPA a maintenant été choisie comme technologie de la plus récente génération par la plupart des fournisseurs de services au Canada et a donc connu un déploiement généralisé au cours des dernières années. Les nouveaux concurrents dans la bande SSFE, par exemple Globalive Wireless et Mobilicity, n'utilisent que la technologie HSPA pour leurs réseaux. Les figures ci-dessous illustrent les technologies déployées par les trois principaux fournisseurs des services au Canada, en matière de quantité de secteurs utilisant une technologie précise.

Figure 1.9 – Technologies utilisées par les 3 principaux fournisseurs de services canadiens
Figure 1.6a – Technologies utilisées dans la bande cellulaire Figure 1.6b – Technologies utilisées dans la bande services de communication personnelles [Description de la figure 1.9]

1.3.5 Spectre disponible pour la délivrance des licences

L'analyse qui suit offre de l'information concernant le spectre disponible pour des services mobiles commerciaux, d'après l'utilisation actuelle décrite dans les paragraphes précédents.

1.3.5.1 Service à large bande mobile (SLBM)

Jusqu'à 80 MHzNote 7 dans la bande 700 MHz (698-764/776 794 MHz) deviendront disponibles pour les services mobiles commerciaux suite à la transition vers la TVN, prévue le 31 août 2011. Cette partie du spectre sera mise aux enchères en 2012 et 2013 à travers le pays.

Figure 1.10 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande 700 MHz
Figure 1.10 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande 700 MHz [Description de la figure 1.10]
1.3.5.2 Bande cellulaire

Au niveau de la bande cellulaire (824-849 MHz du spectre commercial a été attribuée à des fournisseurs à travers le pays et la bande est entièrement déployée. Par conséquent, aucune partie du spectre n'est disponible pour cette bande.

1.3.5.3 Bande 1 670-1 675 MHz

Cette bande comporte une disponibilité de 5 MHz pour des licences dans certaines régions du Canada. Veuillez vous référer aux zones montrées en vert sur la Figure 1.11.

Figure 1.11 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande 1 670-1 675 MHz
Figure 1.11 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande 1 670-1 675 MHz [Description de la figure 1.11]
1.3.5.4 Services sans fil évolués (SSFE)

Il n'y a présentement aucune partie du spectre disponible pour des licences dans la bande SSFE.

1.3.5.5 Systèmes de communications personnelles (SCP)

Au niveau de la bande SCP, différentes parties du spectre sont disponibles pour les licences, la plupart se situant dans les zones montrées en vert sur la figure qui suit.

Figure 1.12 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande SCP
Figure 1.12 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande services de communication personnelles [Description de la figure 1.12]
1.3.5.6 Service radio à large bande (SRLB)

Des parties du spectre dans la bande SRLB sont disponibles dans toutes les régions à travers le pays. La quantité de spectre disponible aux enchères est de soit 60 MHz, soit 120 MHz tel qu'illustré à la Figure 1.13.

Figure 1.13 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande SBRL
Figure 1.13 – Disponibilité du spectre au niveau de la bande SBRL. Cette carte montre la disponibilité du spectre dans la bande 700 MHz pour l’ensemble du Canada. [Description de la figure 1.13]

Note : Les commissions scolaires du Manitoba et les exploitations commerciales du Manitoba bénéficient de droits acquis et occupent le spectre SRBL dans la plupart des régions du Sud du Manitoba.


Notes de bas de page

  1. retour à la référence de la note 6 Le service général de paquets radio (GPRS) et le taux de données améliorées pou l'évolution globale GSM (EDGE) représentent des normes GSM ultérieures qui procurent progressivement des taux de transmission de données plus élevés.
  2. etour à la référence de la note 7 Possibilité de trois blocs de 6+6 SMSE-018-10.
Date de modification :