Radio Spectrum Inventory: A 2010 Snapshot — Canada

Chapter 3 – Land Mobile

3.1 Background

3.1.1 Definition of Service

There are many definitions of land mobile either as a service or as an application. In this study, land mobile is considered as a sub-set of the mobile service with specific characteristics. The ITU-R Radio Regulations Article 1.24 defines mobile service as "A radiocommunication service between mobile and land stations, or between mobile stations." Article 1.67 defines mobile station as "A station in the mobile service intended to be used while in motion or during halts at unspecified points." Article 1.69 defines land station as "A station in the mobile service not intended to be used while in motion." Many bands below 1 GHz that are allocated to the mobile service are used for land mobile systems.

Land mobile systems are radiocommunication systems that generally include specific features:

  • push-to-talk, release to listen – a single button press opens communication on a radio frequency channel;
  • large coverage areas;
  • closed user groups and/or direct communication between radios; and
  • relatively narrow channel bandwidths (e.g. 6.25 kHz, 12.5 kHz and 25 kHz).

3.1.2 Broad description of type of service/applications

Land mobile systems are used to provide push-to-talk voice communications and low-speed data to users. Land mobile systems are comprised of base stations, repeaters, portables and mobiles. Base stations are fixed stations that are usually high power and at high elevations to provide service to portables and mobiles. Repeaters are essentially mobile base stations that are used to extend the base station coverage. Portables are handheld radios and mobiles, vehicle mounted radios which either communicate with a base station/repeater or with each other. Land mobile systems operate either in conventional mode or as trunked systems.

Conventional systems allow a user the use of only one channel. If that assigned channel is already in use, the user must wait until the channel becomes available. Management of the channels used in a conventional system is done by the users.

Trunked systems employ access control techniques to share channel capacity among multiple users. In a trunked system, a control channel is used and the decision as to which channel is used is invisible to the user. The design of a trunked system allows it to support more users on fewer channels than a conventional system.

The land mobile bands are also used for one-way and two-way paging systems and some low-speed data applications.

3.2 Current Allocations and Utilization

3.2.1 List of allocated bands

In general, the land mobile bands are allocated to the mobile service on a primary basis and are in frequency bands below 1 GHz. For the purposes of this study, the paging and narrowband  PCS bands are also considered, as they have similar rules. Table 3.1 provides a list of the bands and some notes on their utilization.

Table 3.1: Land Mobile Bands
Bands Utilization
27.41-28 MHz Land mobile
29.7-50 MHz Land mobile
72-76 MHz Land mobile
138-144 MHz Land mobile
148-174 MHz Land mobile, maritime mobile
216-222 MHz Land mobile, 15 pairs of 5 kHz channels are designated for public safety
406.1-430 MHz Land mobile
450-470 MHz Land mobile
768-776 MHz Land mobile band designated to public safety
798-806 MHz Land mobile band designated to public safety
806-824 MHz Land mobile, 821-824 MHz is designated for public safety
851-869 MHz Land mobile, 866-869 MHz is designated for public safety
896-901 MHz Land mobile
901-902 MHzFootnote 10 Narrowband PCS
929-930 MHz Paging
930-931 MHz Narrowband PCS
931-932 MHz Paging
935-940 MHz Land mobile
940-941 MHz10 Narrowband PCS

There is a total of 167.115 MHz of spectrum that has been allocated for land mobile systems. In some of these bands, the fixed service is also allowed but the main use is land mobile and, in the congested areas, mobile systems are given priority access.

Land mobile bands are often discussed using the following nomenclature:

  • 138-144 MHz and 148-174 MHz are called the VHF band;
  • 406.1-430 MHz and 450-470 MHz are called the UHF band;
  • 768-776 MHz and 798-806 MHz are called the 700 MHz band;
  • 806-824 MHz and 851-869 MHz are called the 800 MHz band; and
  • 896-902 MHz, 929-932 MHz and 935-941 MHz are called the 900 MHz band.

These are used in the discussion that follows.

Land Mobile use from 52 MHz to 38 GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1):
Land Mobile use from 52 MHz to 38 GHz (for additional information, refer to Annex 1) [Description of Figure]

top of page

3.2.2 Band plans (pairing) where applicable

Land mobile bands are either paired for duplex operations or unpaired for simplex operations. The majority of the spectrum for land mobile is paired for trunked systems. In general, the upper pair of a land mobile band is used for the base station transmitters and the lower pair is used for mobile transmitters.

Figures 3.1 through 3.5 below provide the band plans for the majority of the bands listed in Table 3.1.

Figure 3.1 – VHF Band Plan
Figure 3.1 – VHF Band Plan [Description of Figure 3.1]
Figure 3.2 – UHF Band Plan
Figure 3.2 – UHF Band Plan [Description of Figure 3.2]

Figures 3.1 and 3.2 do not show the paired and unpaired portions for the UHF bands because the plans for both of these bands are very complex. Both bands have multiple paired blocks and multiple unpaired blocks.

Figure 3.3 – 700 MHz Public Safety Band Plan
Figure 3.3 – 700 MHz Public Safety Band Plan [Description of Figure 3.3]
Figure 3.4 – 800 MHz Band Plan
Figure 3.4 – 800 MHz Band Plan [Description of Figure 3.4]
Figure 3.5 – 900 MHz Band Plan
Figure 3.5 – 900 MHz Band Plan [Description of Figure 3.5]

The bands 27.41-28 MHz, 29.7-50 MHz and 216-220 MHz are not shown in the above figures because there is no national band plan to date. The band 220-222 MHz does have a simple band plan where 220-221 MHz is mobile transmit and 221-222 MHz is base transmit.

3.2.3 Type of licence (spectrum vs. frequency)

Land mobile systems are site licensed on a first-come, first-served basis. Some bands or channels are limited to public safety systems.

3.2.4 Comparison with the United States

In general, the Canadian land mobile bands align with the U.S. land mobile bands. Although the bands themselves are aligned, the way that the bands are used may not align with the United States. In some cases, there are different users, different channelling, a different duplex and trunking scheme, as well as different technical criteria for these bands in Canada and the United States.

For the most part, the United States has set up its land mobile bands for different users and users are limited to using designated channels. In Canada, some bands are designated for particular users, but those users are not limited to those bands. For example, the band 162-174 MHz is a National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) band in the United States and can only be used by federal users, whereas in Canada, it can be used by any type of user.

Another example of differences between Canadian band plans is the recent U.S. rebanding of the 800 MHz band. The United States moved its public safety users to the lower part of the band, whereas Canada has maintained them in the upper part of the band. In this case, there was no need for a change, as Canada did not encounter the same inference issues and the equipment would remain available.

In the more recently released land mobile bands, the channelling and duplexing schemes are aligned between Canada and the United States, but in some of the older bands, such as the VHF band, these schemes do not align due to the number of users and the cost that would be involved in harmonizing with the United States.

The technical criteria for land mobile systems in Canada are often different from those in the United States. The equipment certification standards are harmonized, but the allowable power levels and the interference criteria are often different.

top of page

3.3 Spectrum Inventory and Analysis

The analysis provided below focuses on the VHF, UHF, 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands. Given that each frequency was counted, and the mixture of duplex and simplex assignments in these bands, there may be cases where the numbers of assignments and/or licences could be doubled for duplex systems. However, the analysis still provides a useful snapshot of the use of the land mobile bands.

The 700 MHz band and the band 216-111 MHz are not included in the analysis below because they are fairly new bands where licensing has been minimal to date.

Additionally, the bands 27.41-28 MHz and 29.7-50 MHz are not included in this analysis. However, examining the current data, these bands are relatively lightly used across Canada and they are primarily used by the Department of National Defence and commercial enterprises (low-power communications used in retail establishments and restaurants).

3.3.1 Major users

Figures 3.6-3.9 below present, based on the number of frequency assignments, the current licensee distribution for the VHF, UHF, 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands.

Figure 3.6 – VHF Band Licensees
Figure 3.6 – VHF Band Licensees [Description of Figure 3.6]
Figure 3.7 – UHF Band Licensees
Figure 3.7 – UHF Band Licensees [Description of Figure 3.7]
Figure 3.8 – 800 MHz Band Licensees
Figure 3.8 – 800 MHz Band Licensees [Description of Figure 3.8]
Figure 3.9 – 900 MHz Band Licensees
Figure 3.9 – 900 MHz Band Licensees [Description of Figure 3.9]

From the figures above, for the VHF, UHF, 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands, the major licensees are commercial entities. These bands are heavily used by utilities, oil and gas companies, logging companies and at industrial sites. However, many commercial systems are shared with or providing services for federal, municipal and provincial government agencies. For example, in Manitoba, there is a province-wide system that is owned and operated by a commercial provider where the majority of the users are from all three levels of government to provide public safety communications.

top of page

3.3.2 Number of Assignments and Geographic Information

Given the narrow bandwidth of land mobile systems, there are a significant number of assignments for each land mobile band. Currently, there are a total of 216,259 licences and 450,479 frequency assignments in the VHF, UHF, 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands.

Figures 3.10 to 3.17 show the distribution of the licences and frequency assignments by Region, and in the major metropolitan areas for the VHF, UHF, 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands.

Figure 3.10 – VHF Regional Distribution
Figure 3.10 – VHF Regional Distribution [Description of Figure 3.10]
Figure 3.11 – VHF Major Metropolitan Distribution
Figure 3.11 – VHF Major Metropolitan Distribution [Description of Figure 3.11]
Figure 3.12 – UHF Regional Distribution
Figure 3.12 – UHF Regional Distribution [Description of Figure 3.12]
Figure 3.13 – UHF Major Metropolitan Distribution
Figure 3.13 – UHF Major Metropolitan Distribution [Description of Figure 3.13]
Figure 3.14 – 800 MHz Regional Distribution
Figure 3.14 – 800 MHz Regional Distribution [Description of Figure 3.14]
Figure 3.15 – 800 MHz Major Metropolitan Distribution
Figure 3.15 – 800 MHz Major Metropolitan Distribution [Description of Figure 3.15]
Figure 3.16 – 900 MHz Regional Distribution
Figure 3.16 – 900 MHz Regional Distribution [Description of Figure 3.16]
Figure 3.17 – 900 MHz Major Metropolitan Distribution
Figure 3.17 – 900 MHz Major Metropolitan Distribution [Description of Figure 3.17]

The figures above show that, depending on the frequency band, there is a different distribution of assignments. This difference in distribution is related to the industry in the region and/or the coverage of other mobile systems. For example, in the VHF and UHF bands, the majority of the assignments are in the Prairie and Northern Region (PNR), as these bands are very heavily used by the oil and gas industry and in the north, where there are very few other mobile systems.

It is clear from the VHF and UHF figures above that, although there are systems in the major metropolitan areas, the majority of licenses fall outside of the bigger cities.

top of page

3.3.3 Spectrum Usage Maps

3.4 Trend Charts

Over the last 10 years, land mobile systems have been evolving, conventional systems have been replaced with trunked systems and simplex systems have been replaced with duplex systems. The following analysis is based on an extracts from Industry Canada's database and does not account for this evolution. For example, the number of licences in a band may have decreased, but if those systems were replaced by trunked systems, then the number of users in that band may have increased.

Figures 3.18 to 3.22 show the total annual number of clients, licences and frequency assignments since 1998 for the VHF, UHF, 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands and for all of them combined.

Figure 3.18 – VHF Trends
Figure 3.18 – VHF Trends [Description of Figure 3.18]
Figure 3.19 – UHF Trends
Figure 3.19 – UHF Trends [Description of Figure 3.19]
Figure 3.20 – 800 MHz Trends
Figure 3.20 – 800 MHz Trends [Description of Figure 3.20]
Figure 3.21 – 900 MHz Trends
Figure 3.21 – 900 MHz Trends [Description of Figure 3.21]
Figure 3.22 – Compiled VHF, UHF, 800 MHz and 900 MHz Trends
Figure 3.22 – Compiled VHF, Ultra High Frequency, 800 MHz and 900 MHz Trends [Description of Figure 3.22]

As can be seen in the above figures, assignments have been declining in the VHF band, increasing in the 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands, and have remained steady in the UHF band. Figure 3.22 shows that, overall, there has been a relatively stable number of frequency assignments, licences and clients in the land mobile bands.

It is clear from the above figures that the VHF and UHF bands are heavily used, with many clients in each band. For the 800 MHz band, the above figures may be a bit misleading, as there are fewer assignments and clients; however, this band is used heavily by commercial operators with a large client base.

In comparison, the 900 MHz band is not used very heavily. The 800 MHz and 900 MHz bands have similar physical characteristics; however, in the 15 MHz of spectrum available in the 900 MHz band, only 11,059 frequency assignments currently exist, whereas in the 32 MHz spectrum available in the 800 MHz band, there are 98,887 frequency assignments. This may be due to a difference in rules and equipment availability between the two bands.

There are many other factors that could be taken into account when examining the trends for the land mobile bands. There are some barriers to growth in some bands, for example, in a portion of the UHF band, there is a Canada-United States agreement that requires updating to open the band for new, more efficient equipment. Some of the bands are very complex, with a mixture of duplex, simplex, trunking, conventional, as well as small and large systems, which would require a more thorough analysis in order to make comparisons between the land mobile bands.


Footnotes

  1. back to footnote reference 10 GHz made changes to this band to make it land mobile. Not yet been implemented.
Date modified:

Inventaire des fréquences radioélectriques : Aperçu 2010 — Canada

Chapitre 3 – Services mobiles terrestres

3.1 Contexte

3.1.1 Définition du service

Il existe plusieurs définitions pour le terme service mobile terrestre, en tant que service et en tant qu'application. Dans le cadre de la présente étude, le terme service mobile terrestre est considéré comme un sous-ensemble du service mobile ayant des caractéristiques précises. L'article 1.24 du Règlement des radiocommunications de l'UIT-R définit le service mobile comme étant « un service de radiocommunication entre des stations mobiles et terrestres, ou entre des stations mobiles ». L'article 1.67 définit une station mobile comme étant « une station du service mobile prévue pour une utilisation pendant un déplacement ou pendant des arrêts à des points non spécifiés ». L'article 1.69 définit une station terrestre comme étant « une station du service mobile dont la fonction n'est pas d'être utilisée pendant un déplacement ». Plusieurs bandes sous 1 GHz qui sont attribuées au service mobile sont utilisées pour les systèmes mobiles terrestres.

Les systèmes mobiles terrestres sont des systèmes de radiocommunication qui comportent généralement des caractéristiques précises :

  • Pressez pour parler, relâchez pour écouter – un simple bouton ouvre la communication sur un canal de fréquence radio
  • Couverture de vastes régions
  • Groupe d'utilisateurs fermé et/ou communication directe entre les appareils radios
  • Largeurs de bande à canaux étroits (p. ex, 6,25 kHz, 12,5 kHz et 25 kHz)

3.1.2 Description générale du type de services et des applications

Les systèmes mobiles terrestres sont utilisés pour fournir aux utilisateurs des communications de voix de type « pressez pour parler » et à faible vitesse de transmission de données. Les systèmes mobiles terrestres comprennent les stations de base, les répéteurs et les appareils portables et mobiles. Les stations de base sont des stations fixes, généralement de grande puissance et souvent dans un endroit élevé afin de fournir le service aux appareils portables et mobiles. Les répéteurs sont essentiellement des stations de base mobiles utilisées pour élargir la couverture de la station de base. Les appareils portables sont des récepteurs radio portatifs et des téléphones mobiles, des récepteurs radio installés sur des véhicules et qui communiquent soit avec la station de base ou les répéteurs, soit entre eux. Les systèmes mobiles terrestres fonctionnent en mode conventionnel ou en réseaux à partage de canaux.

Les systèmes conventionnels permettent aux utilisateurs d'utiliser un seul canal. Si le canal désigné est déjà occupé, l'utilisateur doit attendre qu'il se libère. La gestion des canaux utilisés dans un système conventionnel est faite par les utilisateurs.

Les réseaux à partage de canaux utilisent des techniques de contrôle d'accès pour effectuer le partage de la capacité des canaux parmi de nombreux utilisateurs. Dans un réseau à ressources partagées, un canal de contrôle est utilisé et la décision du canal à utiliser est invisible à l'utilisateur. La conception d'un réseau à ressources partagées lui permet de fournir le service à plusieurs utilisateurs avec moins de canaux qu'un système conventionnel.

Les bandes mobiles terrestres sont également utilisées pour des systèmes de radiomessagerie unidirectionnels et bidirectionnels ainsi que pour certaines applications de transmission de données à faible vitesse.

3.2 Attributions et utilisations actuelles

3.2.1 Liste des bandes attribuées

En règle générale, les bandes de services mobiles terrestres sont attribuées au service mobile à titre primaire, à des fréquences au-dessous de 1 GHz. Aux fins de la présente étude, les services de radiomessagerie et les SCP à bande étroite sont également pris en compte puisqu'ils sont l'objet de règlements similaires. Le Tableau 3.1 fait la liste des bandes et offre des notes concernant leur utilisation.

Table 3.1 : Bandes mobiles terrestres
Bandes Utilisation
27,41-28 MHz Mobile terrestre
29,7-50 MHz Mobile terrestre
72-76 MHz Mobile terrestre
138-144 MHz Mobile terrestre
148-174 MHz Mobile terrestre, mobile maritime
216-222 MHz Mobile terrestre, 15 paires de canaux 5 kHz sont réservées à la sécurité publique
406,1-430 MHz Mobile terrestre
450-470 MHz Mobile terrestre
768-776 MHz Mobile terrestre, bande réservée à la sécurité publique
798-806 MHz Mobile terrestre, bande réservée à la sécurité publique
806-824 MHz Mobile terrestre, 821-824 MHz réservée à la sécurité publique
851-869 MHz Mobile terrestre, 866-869 MHz réservée à la sécurité publique
896-901 MHz Mobile terrestre
901-902 MHzNote 10 SCP à bande étroite
929-930 MHz Radiomessagerie unidirectionnelle
930-931 MHz SCP à bande étroite
931-932 MHz Radiomessagerie unidirectionnelle
935-940 MHz Mobile terrestre
940-941 MHz10 SCP à bande étroite

Un total de 167,115 MHz de spectre est attribué aux systèmes mobiles terrestres. Parmi certaines de ces bandes, le service fixe est permis, mais l'utilisation principale est mobile terrestre, et les systèmes mobiles reçoivent un accès prioritaire dans les zones encombrées.

Les bandes mobiles terrestres sont souvent discutées selon la nomenclature suivante :

  • Les fréquences 138-144 MHz et 148-174 sont appelées bande VHF
  • Les fréquences 406,1-430 MHz et 450-470 MHz sont appelées bande UHF
  • Les fréquences 768-776 MHz et 798-806 MHz
  • Les fréquences 806-824 MHz et 851-869 MHz
  • Les fréquences 896-902 MHz, 929-932 MHz et 935-941 MHz sont appelées bande de 900 MHz

Les termes ci-dessus sont utilisés dans la discussion qui suit.

Utilisation mobile terrestre entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) :
Utilisation mobile terrestre entre 52 MHz et 38 GHz (pour de plus amples renseignements, reportez-vous à l'Annexe 1) [Description de la figure]

haut de la page

3.2.2 Plans d'attribution des bandes (appariement) lorsque c'est pertinent

Les bandes mobiles terrestres sont soit appariées pour une exploitation duplex, soit non appariées pour une exploitation simplex. La plus grande partie du spectre relatif aux services mobiles terrestres est appariée pour les réseaux à partage de canaux. En règle générale, la paire supérieure de la bande mobile terrestre est utilisée pour les émetteurs (Ém.) de la station de base, et la paire inférieure est utilisée pour les émetteurs mobiles.

Les figures 3.1 à 3.5 ci-dessous montrent les plans d'attribution des bandes pour la majorité des bandes énumérées au Tableau 3.1.

Figure 3.1 – Plan d'attribution de la bande VHF
Figure 3.1 – Plan d'attribution de la bande VHF [Description de la figure 3.1]
Figure 3.2 – Plan d'attribution de la bande UHF
Figure 3.2 – Plan d'attribution de la bande UHF [Description de la figure 3.2]

Les figures 3.1 et 3.2 ne montrent pas les portions de fréquences appariées et non appariées des bandes VHF et UHF parce que les plans d'attribution de ces deux bandes sont très complexes. Les deux bandes ont plusieurs blocs appariés et plusieurs blocs non appariés.

Figure 3.3 – Plan de répartition de la bande 700 MHz pour la sécurité publique
Figure 3.3 – Plan de répartition de la bande 700 MHz pour la sécurité publique [Description de la figure 3.3]
Figure 3.4 – Plan de répartition de la bande 800 MHz
Figure 3.4 – Plan de répartition de la bande 800 MHz [Description de la figure 3.4]
Figure 3.5 – Plan de répartition de la bande 900 MHz
Figure 3.5 – Plan de répartition de la bande 900 MHz [Description de la figure 3.5]

Les bandes 27,41-28 MHz, 29,7-50 MHz et 216-220 MHz ne sont pas montrées dans les figures ci-dessus parce qu'il n'existe à ce jour aucun plan de répartition de ces bandes. La bande 220-222 MHz a un plan simple de répartition où les fréquences 220-221 MHz sont assignées aux stations d'émission mobiles et les fréquences 221-222 MHz sont assignées aux stations d'émission de base.

3.2.3 Type de licences (spectre par rapport à fréquences)

Les systèmes mobiles terrestres reçoivent des licences selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. Certaines bandes et canaux sont restreints aux systèmes de sécurité publique.

3.2.4 Comparaison avec les États-Unis

En règle générale, les bandes mobiles terrestres canadiennes sont alignées avec les bandes mobiles terrestres des États-Unis. Bien que les bandes elles-mêmes soient alignées, la façon dont elles sont utilisées n'est pas nécessairement alignée avec celle des États-Unis. Dans certains cas, les utilisateurs sont différents, l'utilisation des canaux est différente, les modes duplex et le partage des ressources sont différents et les critères techniques canadiens et américains pour ces bandes sont différents.

Dans l'ensemble, les États-Unis ont organisé leurs bandes mobiles terrestres pour différents utilisateurs, et ceux-ci sont restreints aux canaux désignés. Au Canada, certaines bandes sont désignées pour des utilisateurs particuliers, mais ceux-ci ne sont pas restreints à ces bandes. À titre d'exemple, la bande 162-174 MHz est une bande de la National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) aux États-Unis et peut être utilisée uniquement par les utilisateurs fédéraux américains, tandis qu'au Canada, elle peut être utilisée par n'importe quel type d'utilisateur.

Un autre exemple au niveau des différences avec les plans canadiens de répartition des bandes est la réorganisation récente, par les États-Unis, de la bande de 800 MHz. Les États-Unis ont déplacé les utilisateurs de la sécurité publique vers la partie inférieure de la bande, tandis que le Canada les a maintenus dans la partie supérieure de la bande. Dans ce cas particulier, le changement n'était pas nécessaire puisque le Canada n'éprouvait pas les mêmes problèmes de brouillage que les États-Unis et que l'équipement demeurait disponible.

En ce qui concerne les bandes mobiles terrestres qui ont récemment été rendues disponibles, le plan de répartition des canaux et l'organisation du duplexage sont alignés entre le Canada et les États-Unis, mais pour certaines bandes plus anciennes, comme la bande VHF, ces plans ne sont pas alignés à cause du nombre d'utilisateurs et du coût que l'harmonisation avec les États-Unis entrainerait.

Les critères techniques pour les systèmes mobiles terrestres du Canada sont souvent différents de ceux des États-Unis. Les normes de certification de l'équipement sont harmonisées, mais les niveaux de puissance permise et les critères de brouillage sont souvent différents.

haut de la page

3.3 Inventaire et analyse du spectre

L'analyse ci-dessous met l'accent sur les bandes VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz. Puisque chaque fréquence a été comptée et étant donné le mélange des assignations duplex et simplex de ces bandes, il pourrait y avoir des cas où le nombre d'assignations et/ou de licences est doublé pour les systèmes duplex. Toutefois, l'analyse fournit quand même un portrait utile de l'utilisation des bandes mobiles terrestres.

La bande 700 MHz et la bande 216-222 MHz ne font pas partie de l'analyse ci-dessous puisque ce sont des bandes relativement nouvelles et que le nombre de licences délivrées est minime jusqu'à présent.

En outre, les bandes 27,41-28 MHz et 29,7-50 MHz ne font pas partie de la présente analyse. Toutefois, lorsque nous examinons les données actuelles, ces bandes ne sont que légèrement utilisées à travers le Canada et elles le sont principalement par le ministère de la Défense nationale et des entreprises commerciales (communications à faible puissance utilisées dans les restaurants et les commerces de détail).

3.3.1 Principaux utilisateurs

Les figures 3.6 à 3.9 ci-dessous présentent la répartition actuelle des détenteurs de licence en fonction du nombre d'attributions des fréquences, pour les bandes VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz.

Figure 3.6 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande VHF
Figure 3.6 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande VHF [Description de la figure 3.6]
Figure 3.7 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande UHF
Figure 3.7 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande UHF [Description de la figure 3.7]
Figure 3.8 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande de 800 MHz
Figure 3.8 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande de 800 MHz [Description de la figure 3.8]
Figure 3.9 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande de 900 MHz
Figure 3.9 – Titulaires de licence dans la bande de 900 MHz [Description de la figure 3.9]

Les figures ci-dessus, pour les bandes VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz, montrent que les principaux titulaires de licence sont des entités commerciales. Ces bandes sont très utilisées par les compagnies de services publics, les compagnies de pétrole et de gaz, les compagnies forestières et les sites industriels. Toutefois, plusieurs systèmes commerciaux sont partagés avec ou fournissent des services aux organismes gouvernementaux fédéraux, municipaux et provinciaux. À titre d'exemple, le Manitoba compte un système à l'échelle de la province qui est détenu et exploité par un fournisseur commercial où la majorité des utilisateurs se trouvent aux trois paliers de gouvernement et fournissent des communications relatives à la sécurité publique.

haut de la page

3.3.2 Nombre d'attributions et information géographique

Étant donné les bandes passantes étroites des systèmes mobiles terrestres, on compte un nombre important d'assignations pour chaque bande mobile terrestre. Il y a présentement un total de 216 259 assignations de licences et 450 479 assignations de fréquences au niveau des bandes VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz.

Les figures 3.10 à 3.17 montrent la répartition des assignations de licences et de fréquences par région et dans les principales régions métropolitaines, pour les bandes VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz.

Figure 3.10 – Répartition régionale pour la bande VHF
Figure 3.10 – Répartition régionale pour la bande VHF [Description de la figure 3.10]
Figure 3.11 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande VHF
Figure 3.11 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande VHF [Description de la figure 3.11]
Figure 3.12 – Répartition régionale pour la bande UHF
Figure 3.12 – Répartition régionale pour la bande UHF [Description de la figure 3.12]
Figure 3.13 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande UHF
Figure 3.13 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande UHF [Description de la figure 3.13]
Figure 3.14 – Répartition régionale pour la bande de 800 MHz
Figure 3.14 – Répartition régionale pour la bande de 800 MHz [Description de la figure 3.14]
Figure 3.15 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande de 800 MHz
Figure 3.15 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande de 800 MHz [Description de la figure 3.15]
Figure 3.16 – Répartition régionale pour la bande de 900 MHz
Figure 3.16 – Répartition régionale pour la bande de 900 MHz [Description de la figure 3.16]
Figure 3.17 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande de 900 MHz
Figure 3.17 – Répartition dans les principales régions métropolitaines pour la bande de 900 MHz [Description de la figure 3.17]

Les figures ci-dessus montrent que la répartition des assignations est différente selon les bandes de fréquences. Cette différence de répartition est liée aux industries de la région et/ou à la couverture d'autres systèmes mobiles. À titre d'exemple, dans le cas des bandes VHF et UHF, la majorité des assignations se situe dans la Région des Prairies et du Nord (RPN) car ces bandes sont très utilisées par l'industrie pétrolière et gazière et dans le Nord où il y a très peu d'autres systèmes mobiles.

Les chiffres relatifs aux bandes VHF et UHF ci-dessus montrent de façon évidente que, bien qu'il y ait certains systèmes dans les principales régions métropolitaines, la majorité des titulaires de licence se trouve à l'extérieur des grandes villes.

haut de la page

3.4 Cartes des tendances

Au cours des dix dernières années, les systèmes mobiles terrestres ont évolué. Les systèmes conventionnels ont été remplacés par des réseaux à partage de canaux et les systèmes simplex ont été remplacés par les systèmes duplex. L'analyse suivante est fondée sur une extraction de la base de données d'Industrie Canada et ne rend pas compte de cette évolution. À titre d'exemple, le nombre de licences relatives à une bande peut avoir diminué, mais si les systèmes ont été remplacés par des réseaux à partage de canaux, le nombre d'utilisateurs de la bande peut avoir augmenté.

Les figures 3.18 à 3.22 montrent le nombre annuel total de clients, les licences et les assignations de fréquences depuis 1998 pour les bandes VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz et pour toutes ces bandes combinées.

Figure 3.18 – Tendances relatives à la bande VHF
Figure 3.18 – Tendances relatives à la bande VHF [Description de la figure 3.18]
Figure 3.19 – Tendances relatives à la bande UHF
Figure 3.19 – Tendances relatives à la bande UHF [Description de la figure 3.19]
Figure 3.20 – Tendances relatives à la bande de 800 MHz
Figure 3.20 – Tendances relatives à la bande de 800 MHz [Description de la figure 3.20]
Figure 3.21 – Tendances relatives à la bande de 900 MHz
Figure 3.21 – Tendances relatives à la bande de 900 MHz [Description de la figure 3.21]
Figure 3.22 – Tendances pour les bandes VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz combinées
Figure 3.22 – Tendances combinées VHF, UHF, de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz [Description de la figure 3.22]

Les figures ci-dessus indiquent que les assignations de la bande VHF ont diminué, celles de la bande de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz ont augmenté et celles de la bande UHF sont demeurées stables. La Figure 3.22 montre que dans l'ensemble, le nombre des assignations de fréquences, de licences et de clients est resté relativement stable au niveau des bandes mobiles terrestres.

Ces mêmes figures montrent de façon évidente que les bandes VHF et UHF sont utilisées de façon intensive et comptent de nombreux clients par bande. Quant à la bande de 800 MHz, ces figures peuvent s'avérer inexactes lorsqu'elles indiquent qu'il y a moins d'assignations et de clients, car cette bande est très utilisée par les exploitants commerciaux qui ont des vastes bassins de clients.

Par contre, la bande de 900 MHz n'est pas très utilisée. Les bandes de 800 MHz et de 900 MHz ont des caractéristiques physiques similaires, mais les 15 MHz de spectre disponible dans la bande de 900 MHz comptent seulement 11 059 assignations de fréquences actuellement, tandis que les 32 MHz de spectre disponible dans la bande de 800 MHz comptent 98 887 assignations de fréquences. Cette situation est probablement due à une différence de règlements et de disponibilité entre les deux bandes.

Plusieurs autres facteurs peuvent influencer l'examen des tendances pour les bandes mobiles terrestres. À titre d'exemple, il existe des barrières à la croissance de certaines bandes. Plus particulièrement, une entente Canada-États-Unis relative à une partie de la bande UHF exige une mise à jour qui ouvre la bande à des nouveaux équipements plus efficaces. Certaines bandes sont très complexes et comptent un mélange de systèmes duplex et simplex, de ressources partagées et conventionnelles, ainsi que des petits et grands systèmes. Cette variété de systèmes demanderait une analyse plus détaillée pour mieux comparer les bandes mobiles terrestres.


Notes de bas de page

  1. retour à la référence de la note 10 La PS 1,7 GHz comprend des modifications à cette bande, afin de la rendre mobile terrestre, mais ces modifications n'ont pas encore été mises en vigueur.
Date de modification :